728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

The Poulan Pro PR624ES is a great solution for any sized driveway. Boasting a 24 in. clearing width and an electric engine starting system, this unit make snow clearing simple. With a powerful 208 cc engine the PR624ES can throw snow over 50 ft.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product65 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(20)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product65 of 70reviews
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from East Granby, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great. I am very happy with this snow blower! All Metal

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snow blower can through snow. This last storm was heavy wet snow and It cleared the driveway with ease.
When I received my snow blower it took about 30 minutes to unpack and assemble. I read the manuals and check the oil and gas it up. The electric start works really good started right up. Also starts right up with pull rope. There is no throttle that's all factory set. The motor has plenty of power, and not to loud. This machine has plenty of forward speeds and one reverse speed. I found I could pull it back faster by myself then to use reverse. It rolls with ease. It took me a few minutes to get the hang of using the snow blower, but now I can handle it with ease. I look forward to years of using my poulan pro. plus the paint color sticks out. I did a lot of research and feel I got the biggest bang for my buck. You won,t be disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blizzard of 2013 was NO PROBLEM. This is a work horse!

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This snowblower is very easy to use. It is also very easy to set up and get running right out of the crate. It takes a few minutes of hooking up cables from the easy to follow directions, but other than that it is pretty much ready for gas-N go!. I am writing this review after just clearing my driveway after the blizzard of 2013 in New Hampshire.. We got about 26" of snow in one shot..which means the snow plows leave a GIANT ridge across my driveway which was up to my waist ( See the pics). The snow was very light and powdery and this machine cut right through it without a problem. The light fluffy snow can be thrown as far as 30+ feet! I have used the machine in heavier snow this year as well and it still did not get clogged and was a breeze.. The auger is more spaced out between the serrated blades, which helps chew through the snow. I have the 24" inch width and it is plenty of wide for me. I have a small 2 car driveway and it doesnt take many passes. If you have a larger driveway, perhaps opt for the 27" size. The intake height is also higher than most machines, which allows to get more of that ridge across the driveway better.. It simply allows more snow to be consumed. The controls are easy to use and it is easily maneuverable. The only downside ( If any) is that I have to adjust the chute from time to time manually. My neighbors live close, so I had to turn it down a little to prevent launching snow into their yard. Other than that, this machine was well worth the money and is a very sturdy, well built machine. I am very pleased with the purchase and I think if you are looking for a nice, well built machine, this is for you.. Again, we just got 26" inches of snow.. if you need to clean more than that, you are looking for the wrong product to help you out.. LOL..
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, intake height, wider spaced auger
Cons: manual chute
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Fair Lawn, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good machine.

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is my first purchase and use of a snow thrower. I did a lot of research before purchasing this machine and used it for the first time in January 2012. Overall I am quite happy with it. However, there are two issues that I have with it.
1. The knob that has to be loosened and tightened to adjust the position of the show deflector needs to constantly be tightened as the machine's vibration loosens it during use.
2. The two handles that adjust the main operation of the machine are positioned in such a way that, unless you have very large hands, they are quite difficult to manipulate. Also there is no non-slip grip on them which makes them more difficult to use when wearing gloves.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Minnesota
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm impressed

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this snow blower yesterday expecting about 10" of snow. We got about 3-4" of the wet heavy snow. Assembly took about a half hour, pretty simple. I had to use the electric start for the first start and primed it a lot. After that it starts very easy. The snow blower was hopping on me quite a bit, A simple adjustment of the guides on the side and it worked great. It only threw the snow about 15 feet, but it was wet and heavy as I mentioned. As usual when I got done the plow came by and then I got to tackle the ridge at the end of the driveway. WOW, this snow blower is great. It went through that ridge with ease. I highly recommend this machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Self-Propelled
Cons: its yellow
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from West Monroe, NY 13167, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great machine!!! great features!!

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
well worth it, i live in an area where we get heavy wet lake effect snow, alot,, this eats it up very well, i used it to clear snow through the yard to the back of my house,, no problem, with these tire's i won't need chain's either, the tires have large lug's that get "great traction ", the chute control makes it fast and easy to change chute direction, no cranking a handle, run's quiet and smooth
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, overall great performance, nice tire's great traction
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Upstate NY

Great snowblower, reasonable price

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought online, was delivered right to my garage. Easy assembly.
Works terrific! I live in a heavy snow area, and it has been able to handle everything with ease. The one handed operation and easy chute control are nice features. I have a gravel driveway with an uneven surface, and it works great on it.
I would definitely recommend this snowblower to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great snow thrower

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought it at homedepot online had to assemble a few parts less that a hour. I paid $699 and I'm reall happy with it. The snow blower moved a little faster that I like but it does not dd4486get rammed in snow. I live in Worcester ma. Had a storm October 28 and 29 2011. It thrown the fluffy snow no problem then I tried the heavy wet slushy snow and again no problem
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Groton, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

What a great machine, just need more snow!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
On the day I got it, we had 3 inches of wet slushy snow! It took maybe 30 minutes to put together, filled it with oil and gas, and started up right away! This thing powered through piles of slush and snow, was so easy to adjust and control! I could almost hear the motor singing "Gimme More" by Britney Spears!!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poulan Pro 24 IN. is a beast - defeated MN winters

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snowblower is SOLID & POWERFUL. I purchased last fall (2012). It has taken me through two Minnesota winters now. Starts easily (the choke open/close isn't clear which is why I rated ease of use 4 vs. 5). I start by hitting the primer 5-7 times and pulling. I haven't tried the electric starter (I always seem to spill gas all over it when I fill the tank...). It was -30 degrees or so and it still started easily.
Last week we got hit with a blizzard. I plowed my driveway + two of my neighbors. Due to wind/drifts, some of the snow was almost up to my shoulders. This snowblower seems to be able to handle any amount of snow. Literally when I went through those drifts only the chute was sticking out!! Metal chute is a good idea... I hit a ice chunk and had it been plastic, probably would've cracked it...
I wish it had hand-warmers, however if you don't live in an iceberg like I do then a pair of nice warm gloves should be all you need. I contemplated getting a more expensive snowblower with a headlight... however I'm glad I didn't as that has not been an issue at all. I used my father-in-law's blower with a headlight and that didn't make much of a difference for me.
At the time of purchase, I ordered online via homedepot.com. Delivered via free shipping. Pretty easy to setup. I'd recommend first starting it, let it run for a while, then change the oil right away. Use non-oxygenated gasoline.
I couldn't be happier with this snowblower. Keep the oil clean & a fresh plug in and I'm expecting it'll last 30-years or so!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Madison, OH 44057, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built machine

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I started reviewing snow blowers to replace my old one, I looked at a lot of machines. I thought I'd settle on the Troy Bilt model, but after reading some reviews which told of broken belts in the first year, and broken plastic parts which make up the controls, I decided to pay a bit more and get something I wouldn't have to worry about as far as quality ... the Husqvarna built Poulan Pro. It's very well made, like all Husqvarna equipment, starts easily and looks like it could bury my house with snow if I had the inclination. Delivery and light assembly were easy and quick. This should be the last snow blower I'll need to buy.
+17points
30out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

poulan pro pr624es

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The snow blower worked very well; however, the nut that secures the impeller pulley came off about an hour after I was removing snow. The machine does a very good job removing snow and is easy to operate. Hopefully the problem with the nut will not be recurring.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Wisconsin, USA

Great Machine for the price

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the Poulan Pro blower a few weeks ago at my Local Home Depot store. Since we have had a pretty weak winter in SE WI this year, I didn’t expect to use it this year. A week or so after purchasing it and test running the blower it snowed about 4-6" of the wet heavy stuff.
I didn’t get a chance to remove the snow until after work in the evening. By that time the sun had melted it a little actually forming a layer of ice to the ground. This was not a problem for the Poulan Pro. It went straight through it with ease and tossed it a pretty good distance as well.
This machine has nice features with the electric and pull start, the shoot is made of metal and has a knob that controls the angle and direction to point it; which beats the hand crank models. Clean out tool is included and the motor seems strong enough to handle anything. The top forward speed is a bit fast and really jumps when you hit the lever.
I felt that the unit was slightly hard to handle at first but I think that’s because I am used to a mini single stage blower. It'll take time but I’ll get used to it.
Some other cons are there is only 1 reverse gear and it is very slow. The machine doesn’t seem to handle well on uneven surfaces (chains might help this) and it is hard to control if you hit the edge of the lawn (dropping it down to a slower forward gear seemed to take care of this).
All in all, this is a great blower for the price. It says that it is an online only machine, but I found mine in the store.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This blower works great.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Brought the blower home from the store already assembled and put it to work right away. The electric start was great. The blower was strong enough to plow through 8" of snow without bogging down. Did about 130' of driveway and 200' of sidewalk with no trouble. The only feature I think I might miss are heated handles. Otherwise, two thumbs up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: Limited Features
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Long Island, New York, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great snowblower

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went and bought this the other day before we got 6 inches of snow on Long Island.
Open the box a few cotter pins and bolts and we were all set. Set up is easy, simple to use right out of the box.
Started first pull. I forgot it has the electric start. I was surprised by all the power it had. I have 80 ft driveway with a hill and no problems.
Wanted to buy a Snotek but they sold out. Glad I didn't. Can't beat the price and this is the same as the Huskvarna but hundreds cheaper.
If you're on the fence buy it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

What a piece of garbage

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the thing twice, the first time I used it was beautiful. Then tried to use it the next season, and it wouldn't start. Fine I replaced the spark plug after a year that's good. Well the next storm came, and at least it started. 18 inches of snow fell, and half way through it it stop spitting out the snow, excellent. So I read the manual it says to clear the snow(check) check augar belt and replace. That's good info but it doesn't tell you where it is, and how to replace it. A 800 dollar piece of garbage. This is the second poulan product I've bought, and the lawn mower also a piece of garbage. So do yourself a favor DO NOT BUY THESE PRODUCTS! I know I will never again.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Westminster, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. Home Depot delivered it inside my garage.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Thanks to other Reviews, I was able to find and tighten loose
nuts. They need to be very tight.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used once so far in 10 inches of heavy, wet snow. Worked great! I've got a pretty wide driveway and it threw even that heavy stuff as far as I needed it. Easy assembly. Seemed like it's very ruggedly made - thicker guage metal than Ariens even. LIked the feature that allows you to keep moving and blowing with one hand free to adjust chute.
Only negative was that it was a little hard to find the lowest gear forward, but I'll get used to it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Front Range of the Rockies
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built really stout.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was bought as a replacement for a similar sized snow blower I had stolen a few years ago. It was delivered right to my garage by the trucking company and I had it up and running in less than half an hour. Easy!
It sat for several weeks before we had a snow deep enough to give it a try. I found that it required quite a bit of priming at approx. ten degrees to get it to fire the first time. Even had to use the electric starter. The second time I did a cold start it fired right up by hand by priming a little extra.
It works fine. It is a little difficult to control with one hand while changing the chute direction and the interlock that keeps the impeller running until you release the drive control is really clunky, makes a terrible racket. I would have rather had it independently controlled.
Overall a well built machine for the money. I could have done without some of the bells and whistles but it sure beats shoveling 400 feet of sidewalk and a double wide driveway
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Northern Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent snow thrower

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot delivered mine fully assembled for free.
I do not need the electric starter, it starts fine on one pull if you follow instructions exactly.
The auger "cruise control" mechanism jammed after use in very cold weather, and then failed completely, but this isn't a big concern to me.
I also found that I really didn't need the remote control for the discharge deflector.
Very good value.
Eats fresh snow as deep as the intake chute.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Great Falls, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Snow Blower for the Price!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used the Blower twice now this winter and both times it started right up with no issues. Second use was on heavier wet snow and it was powerful enough to still throw the heavy wet snow 20 to 25 feet.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>