728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

The EcoSmart PAR38 18-Watt (75W) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)* uses 18 watts of power and puts out 850 lumens for up to 25,000 life hours. The energy-efficient LED bulbs offer you an estimated energy savings of $157 per bulb over the span of the bulb's life. The light bulb is a flood light, suitable for indoor or outdoor use. (E)* means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product16 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.6 out of 5.0
1.6 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product16 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
Review 1 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Houston, TX

Bright, white and narrow

PostedApril 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This bulb is wonderfully bright- much brighter than 75w halogen flood that it was replacing in one of my recessed light fixtures. In addition to being bright, it was also quite white, appearing to be a much cooler shade of white than the 3000k color temperature led me to expect. I wouldn't call it blue, but I would say it's much more like like the 4000k+ bulbs I've found elsewhere. It turned on in about a third of a second. A smidge slower than my halogens but MUCH faster than my CFLs.
Two other notes: First, calling this light a "flood" light is a bit generous. I'd describe its beam as more of a spotlight than floodlight. Second, beware its outdoor use claim. While the box says "indoor/outdoor" and even shows a picture of hanging fixtures, the box says in bold letters "not for use where exposed directly to the weather ... For use in totally enclosed recessed fixtures." I didn't see that warning before bringing it home.
Bottom line, I found this to be a bright, white spotlight, and if that fits your needs then this bulb may fit the bill.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Rawlins, Wyoming

If it last as promised, it is a great light

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these lights in October of 2010. I bought six more to replace the dying noname lights in my kitchen ceiling. These puppies are not cheap but if they last as promised I will be very happy. My wife and I like the "white" light effect and it makes the kitchen a much brighter place. Lights do take a second or two to come on but by the time I enter the room all 8 are on and bright. I seem to get a good floodlight effect and do not notice any "spotlighting."
I have been using cfl's for the past 6-7 years and I burn them out fast. Most are on and off in 3-4 minutes and not on for the specified 15 minute minimum. So again I hope these live up to their predictions.
When ordered on-line the packaging was a plain white cardboard box and not the plastic and cardboard bubble purchased in the store.
I would like to know where the one gentleman received coupons for $$ off as I was not so lucky. However as incandes. lights go away, I like many, hope the price of led's start coming down. It is strange to think of selling my home with a hundred maybe a thousand dollars worth of lights in the fixtures.
So far I like these lights!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Lake Worth Florida

Great Product

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At our Homeowner Association we have purchased more than 100 of these for the card rooms in our clubhouse. They are on from 9 to 12 hours a day 7 days a week. The color is great like daylight and the savings in electricity and heat is remarkable. They are brighter than the 65 watt PAR 38 lamps they replaced. In our application they will pay for themselves in less than 1 1/2 years. We have also installed them in a lobby area. Great Product!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

broken too soon

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this expensive LED bulb so that it would be instant on compared to a CFL. However the bulb started blinking and is non functional after less than a year. I don't think it is worth such a high price tag yet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Portland, OR

Good light, dimmer issues.

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This light is excellent at full brightness, actually too bright. The color is good. The beam spread is a little narrow, but OK for my use. There is a slight delay when turning the bulb on. My main issue is with dimming. I bought a LUTRON LED dimmer at the same time as the light. The dimmer has a switch and a slide. The slide allows you to set the brightness and then later turn the light on already set to the desired brightness. This doesn't work with this light. Unfortunately it only dims down a fraction, maybe a 1/4 dimmer. The dimmer has an internal adjustment which allows it to dim further. Unfortunately with the adjustment the light doesn't come on unless you move the dimmer to full bright. Once on you can slide it down to the desired light. The dimmer seems to work with other ecosmart bulbs.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Simi Valley, CA

Nice bright light

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am more of a tech guy than environmentalist. Since I can no longer purchase incandescent bulbs of substantial wattage, choosing between poisonous CFL and LED was easy. I was replacing 3 150 incandescents with 3 of these rated at 75W. I was worried about the amount of light these would put out. They are far brighter than the incandescents and it is a nice clean white light. Another bonus is that they are actually very dimmable unlike every dimmable CFL I have tried. Very pricey but if they last as promised they will be well worth it.
I do however find it ironic that a so-called enviro friendly product uses such a massive amount of packaging.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

OK at best

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a nice first try for an LED bulb, but I expect better ones out soon. The one I tried failed after a year. It started taking 10s then 20s to turn on....not it doesn't turn on at all but still gets hot and uses electricity.
I guess I can now waste more time and money trying to get a replacement under warranty.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Laramie, WY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just installed track lighting on a very high ceiling... 10 to 15 feet. The fixtures are designed in a way that would make it very difficult to replace these bulbs with a telescopic device. I rented a hydraulic lift because even getting to these with a ladder would be difficult. Also, we have dimmer switches in place. In choosing these bulbs, I was looking for: 1) energy efficiency; 2) long use-life; 3) good light; 4) dimmability. The last thing I want to do is to have to replace these bulbs frequently. In this size, I found no CFL's that are dimmable, so really these were my only option. I bought ten of them. That was a painful lightbulb purchase. Who has ever spent nearly $400 on lightbulbs for their house in a single purchase?
So far (one week in), I am very happy. The light is bright white, something I like. If you are accustomed to the yellowish hue of incandescents, it make take some time to get used to these. The light is fairly direct (not spread out), but we aimed them at the walls, which produces a nice diffuse reflection.
We reduced our energy consumption nearly 70% compared to the old bulbs. I have to say, though, that I have some skepticism that these bulbs will last 50,000 hours (about 20 years by my calculation). LED light bulbs have not been around for more than a few years, so is there any way we can possibly know that they will last that long? I am hoping they do. In 3-5 years, I should recover the cost of the upfront investment, and beyond that they should more than pay for themselves.
I should also note that I like the range of dimming. It's not 0-100% but more like 30-100%. That works well for our space.
For now, I will just hold my breath every time I flip the switch hoping that they all come on. But given our constraints, there wasn't really another option. Despite the cost upfront, LED seemed like the obvious choice.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Keizer, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Loved this bulb until it went out.

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought two of these bulbs. I spent the money to get a LED bulb to fit in an old can light. When I put it in I loved that the light came on and was at full lumes; as opposed to other bubs. But after less than two years one of the two bulbs now does not come on. Hope that the warranty from Ecosmart is good.
Cons: Burns Out
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Ohio

good choice in the right applications

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This bulb is excellent for outdoor floods, its a little pricey but in time as LED's come down in price it should overtake the market. Great for motion sensing floods or on all the time. If its used a lot or in a hard to reach place its worth the money in cost savings in electricity alone.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from New York CIty

Good, but with problems

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried to use these lights in my kitchen, where they do a good job of lighting that space for a low cost.
Pros:
- pays for itself with saved energy
- lights cool without extra heat (important for me in that confined space).
- turns on quickly and dims well with my standard dimmer.
Cons
- can "burn out"; I've already had one of these go bad, and getting a replacement under the warranty is possible but time consuming.
- light quality is not good enough for public spaces; similar bulbs have been fine in a basement, but I had to return these units that I installed in the kitchen, as the light was very flickery and the overall quality just wasn't good enough.
- light is focused and not spread out. If you need the light from this bulb to light a large radius, it simply won't do that job. The light is very focused in whatever direction the bulb is pointing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

Dimming Problem

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product claims that it is dimmable, but brand new Insteon dimmers (sold by Home Depot among others) do not work with this product. Dimming these lights causes significant flickering at any setting other than 100%. I tried a number of different lights and a number of different Insteon dimming products. The Insteon dimmers work great with several different dimmable CFL bulbs that I have tried, but not with the EcoSmart LED bulbs that I have tried. I tried circuits with different numbers of bulbs (1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6) in case the issue was load related, but this did not turn out to be the case.
In general, if I were to ignore the dimming issue, I really like this light and I think it’s getting close to the right price point for a 40-year LED bulb. The light from this bulb is somewhat directed, but it is very bright. I like this characteristic of the bulb because you don’t get glare from the recessed CAN lighting that you get with CFL bulbs (because they stick out further than incandescent bulbs) and sometimes you really want a lot of light. However, often you want less light. This is where dimming comes in. Get a brighter bulb than you normally need/use and attach a dimmer. Run the light at a dim setting most of the time, but crank up the dimmer when you need a lot of light. This is where Insteon comes in. They make a standard decora style on/off switch that you hold in the “on” position to brighten the light and hold in the “off” position to dim the light. You can set a default brightness setting so that when you turn on the light, it turns on to that preset brightness. When you need more light, you can double-tap the switch to turn it on to full brightness. Insteon offers so much more than this, but it’s really off topic for this product review.
I gave it one star because dimming is very important to me and my application. If the dimming problem were resolved I would give it four stars. If the light was a little less directed and if the dimming problem were resolved then I would give it five stars.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

Getting there, not quite there yet

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bulb works well in small rooms. It's only hang up is the spread (or lack thereof) of light. I think it's about 25 degrees out, when 40 to 45 would work great. Also the bulb is quite heavy. Much heavier then I anticipated.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Brookings, OR

Best Buy So Far!

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been watching LED lighting in general for some time. Suddenly this PAR 38 launches on the Home Depot site at about half the price of other bulbs in it's category. I decided to take the plunge and buy one. I'm glad I did. I was using a CFL before installing this one. It took forever to come to full brightness. It was like waiting for the sun to rise and just wasn't well suited to the on and off use I needed in my bathroom. The LED takes about a second then turns on at full brightness. And is it bright! It is a spot light more then a flood light, with what I would guess is about a 35 degree beam, but illuminates my bathroom nicely. It doesn't have the greenish tint that other warm white LEDs suffer from. The light is crisp and bright. I noticed when I turned on my incandescent lights over the sink that the LED was a little cooler white then from the standard bulbs, but this was only when I could see both lights at the same time. When only the LED was lit, the light seemed warm and inviting. I like the way the bulb looks sleek and modern. Once these bulbs hit the $10 to $15 range, I'm sure they will be very popular!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

Amazing Bulbs, Clear Bright Light!

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been eyeing these bulbs for about three months for my commercial office. I was using 100w CFL's in the can lights but I realized, it was time to make a change. When I received two coupons to take $10 off per bulb, I immediately jumped at the opportunity. I am glad I did.
The packaging of the bulb is fine, being in business, I understand the need for the pretty box to secure such an expensive bulb. I took the bulb from the packaging and it weighed a lot more than I had expected. I am sure this is for the chasis to secure the bulb and disappate the heat.
The bulb itself is a little bigger than 1/3 the size of a flood light. If you have low ceilings, the light from the bulb will feel more like a spot light. My ceilings are about 10' high so the beam has more space to spread out. This minimized any 'shadow' spots.
The light itself is really bright. 850 lumens lights up my office well, providing quality similar to commercial grade lighting. The light is also more of a warm white color, unlike my 100w CFL's which are more of a warm yellow color. I feel the 75w bulb is nearly as bright as the 100w CFL's, it is very close.
The packaging on the bulb states 50,000 hours. At an average of 10 hours per day, 6 day a week, I expect to enjoy these bulbs at my office for over 16 years. Time will tell.
However, when the prices of the bulbs drop $10-15 or I get more coupons, I will continue to change out my CFL's for LEDs. I hope when you make the change to LEDs, you will be as satisifed as I am.
:)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

brought 4, 2 in trash another getting ready

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I brought four to put in various recessed cans in the house.
In no time, they would start flashing on and off. If put a
regular good ole bulb in or a cfl all was fine. Either poor
quality, or tech just not there yet. These are not worth
the money
Pros: none
Cons: Burns Out, expensive for short life
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

Color Temp Very Inconsistent

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just bought two of these for recessed fixtures in my kitchen and they could not be more different in the color of the light they put out. One matches the 3000k "soft white" florescent lights but the other is WAY COOLER, somewhat bluish by comparison, probably around 4100k. I checked two make sure they were identical models and they were. Disappointing when you pay that much.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from Bishop, CA

Excellent light.

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just received and installed two of these PAR38 LED bulbs. The light quality and brightness is excellent. Actually the quality of the light is better than I expected. If I didn't know, I would guess the light was coming from a halogen bulb, as the "temp" is 3,000K. Bright and clean.
The only quirk about the bulbs, and it's not enough for me to downgrade their overall rating, is that there's about a 1 second hesitation after the switch has been thrown before they light up. But once they're on, they come on at full brightness. It's a minor quirk, but I can get used to it. I wonder if other LED bulbs act in the same manner?
One more thing, I had the bulbs shipped with the cheapest shipping and was surprised at how quickly they arrived.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*

Nice for Outdoor use. Much better than Compact FL.

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought four to replace some CFL I was using outside. They come on instantly (about 1 second delay at times), and are far better than the compact fluorescents that take 15 to 20 minutes to come to full brightness with the cold temperatures (faster in summer).
They work well with the regular incandescent Lutron Diva Dimmer. It is a 25 degree angle light, so is more focused than the regular CFL or incandescent floods. It is definitely visibly "brighter," but this could be because the light is more "focused." I wish Home Depot will also get the 40 degree version for more dispersed lighting.
The con of it is that it's still expensive compared to CFL or incandescent. But you're not going to get anything better in a dimmable LED PAR38 for anywhere near this price. Home Depot is really leading the way.
Recommended.
Bonus: These are the same ones as the gray Sylvania at $10 less than the other home improvement store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PAR38 18-Watt (75W) Bright White (3000K) LED Flood Light Bulb (E)*
from New Hampshire

Nice light, worth it.

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These are with the price. They are as bright as the normal 75 watt bulbs. The only thing I don't like is when regular incandescent bulbs dim, its noticeable. The LED's do not dim as much as regular bulbs, and they modulate before kicking into full brightness. I will still keep them for the 10 year life span.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>