728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb

50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb

Replace a PAR20 50-watt bulb with the EcoSmart PAR20 8-Watt (50 Watt) LED Flood Light Bulb for energy efficiency and long-lasting use. The LED light bulb puts out 350 lumens using 8 watts of power and can last up to 25,000 hours, saving you up to $116 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb can be used indoors or outdoors and can be dimmed to allow for light customization. (E)* means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards.
Overall rating:
4.037 / 5
4
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product63 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(27)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product63 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from PA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

ENERGY EFFICIENT INDOOR LED LIGHT HITS THE SPOT

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this EcoSmart 8W PAR 20 LED bulb to illuminate a dart board in our basement. The bulb is in a bullet-type light fixture mounted at ceiling height about 6' away from the dart board. The bulb projects a nice 4' circle of white light (not warm white) around the dart board and is bright enough to play darts without any additional lighting as shown in the attached pictures; the pictures were taken with the light only from the EcoSmart 8W PAR 20 LED.
The bulb has a 36 degree light beam which means that it is more of a "flood light" rather than a "narrow spotlight". The metal light fixture does get a little warm from the EcoSmart LED bulb but not as hot as a halogen bulb.
Overall, I am very pleased with the quality of this LED light bulb and the fact that I am saving 42 watts of power compared to the 50W halogen PAR20 bulb that it replaced.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Michigan

Decent

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought 6 of these for recessed lighting we put in our living room after remodeling. The lights are great and I bought them for the dimmable feature. However when dimmed they flicker terribly, almost like a strobe light going off. At first I thought it was maybe the dimmer switch's due to the magnet being bad but they flickered every once in a while on a normal toggle switch. I would recommend these lights if you can get them cheaper. At the time I bought them it was around $200 for 6, about a year or 2 ago.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: flicker on dimm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Finally an affordable Par 20 spot/flood that is as bright as the incandescent version

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since I have about 25 combined PAR 20, 30 & 38 spots and floods in my house, I have been paying a lot of attention to the LED market, as it progresses, to see if I could eventually save some money, by finally replacing at least some of these halogen bulbs, with LED type.
I have seen (on display and in advertising) many LED bulbs be introduced to the market over the years, but the lumens (measured amount of light given off), never really approached the level of the incandescent bulb it would be replacing, and the prices of these bulbs were extremely high. However, much advancement has now taken place in the LED world. At around $20, this EcoSmart PAR 20 bulb is definitely (IMO) now very much cost effective (bang vs. buck).
I have found this bulb produces the same amount of light (rated at 350 lumens), maybe even more, compared to your standard halogen PAR 20 spot or flood (typically around 450 lumens), consuming only 8 watts, while the halogen consumed 50 watts. The color (see CRI) is more white-ish, compared to the standard halogen lamp it is meant to replace, but to me, that makes colors more realistic and vibrant, so I prefer it - some may not.
I initially bought 9 of these PAR 20 LED bulbs, and have been living with them for about a month now. One failed after about 2 weeks. Since they have a 5 year warranty (I urge you to keep all of your receipts and packaging, so you can return one if it fails), I'm betting you may never have to buy another one to replace it. Home Depot easily exchanged the failed one for a new one.
I find the bulbs to be well built, and easily fit into tight fitting track lighting cans, and other fixtures. I have an outdoor fixture that needed nothing but the standard PAR 20 type bulb, as it was extremely tight fitting to the middle of the bulb. This EcoSmart bulb fit the fixture perfectly. That had also been a concern of mine.
The beam spread of this bulb (a lot of people don't pay much attention to this, but they should), is a nice mix between a spot (typically 10 degrees-narrow spread) and a flood (typically 30 degrees-wider spread). I don't think a figure is given for this bulb though. Those are the pros of the bulb, on to the cons.
They sometimes buzz and flicker at low dimming levels, so be careful as to where you place them. I have used them on a variety of dimmers, with some dimmers performing better than others regarding less flickering, but then some of these LED bulbs still buzz at low dim levels - just so you know. I highly recommend these LED bulbs for Par 20 fixtures that you don't need to dim.
These bulbs (this model in particular) also give off a high level of RF (radio frequency) energy. Unfortunately this is typical with a lot of LED bulbs. What that means is that if you listen to an AM or FM radio in your house or garage, those stations that you listen to, may now have a lot more static on them, when you have these bulbs turned on (maybe you have noticed this same type of interference when waiting at a LED stop light, listening to the radio-same thing). This will probably be more noticeable on AM stations compared to FM stations, but if the FM station is distant, you may no longer even be able to receive the station, as the noise will now block it out (happened to me, and there isn't much I can do about it except now listen to the station on-line, or remove all of these bulbs). These emissions are able to travel long distances (10, 20 and 30 feet) from these LED bulbs, so as your neighbor installs LED light bulbs, even if you don't, this still may affect *your* radio reception. This goes for HAM radio operators as well. Audiophiles should also pay close attention to this, if you're like me, and try and achieve extremely low noise floors with your audio equipment. Having worked in radio for the past 35 years, this will not be good for radio stations, as many consumers switch over to this type of bulb, and are unknowingly bombarded by tons of static on their favorite radio stations at home or at work. I'm not sure why, but the CFL's (compact fluorescent light bulbs) don't seem to give off the high amount of RF energy that these LED bulbs now give off. Some people may not know that dimmers also give off tons of RF noise, thus also invading radio reception in the home or garage.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Spokane, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Good For My Application

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just installed a new Broan range hood and wanted to use two of these in place of Halogens. The Broan hood uses a two setting switch to reduce the voltage and dim the lights to half power. While these were sold as "dimmable", in my application the dim was no where near 1/2 and they flickered very badly. I left them on for about 1/2 hour to warm hoping that would eliminate the flicker but it didn't and after warm the difference between the full and the 1/2 power was virtually indistinguishable. They also threw a very narrow spot so they failed to light the work surface evenly, and there was a noticeable difference in the light cast between the two, side by side lamps in color, in brightness and direction of aim. Finally, they were longer than a Halogen and stuck out of the fixture about 1/2". I am sure they are a good choice for some applications but not for mine.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Seattle, WA

Home Depot hits a home run

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first really good household LED lamp I've purchased. If it holds up to the expected life (and some LED lamps haven't done so), you will save money and replacement chores over time. Be aware this is a spotlight, not a floodlight, and the color temperature is a bit whiter that incandescent lamps, but perfect for reading or spotlighting artwork. These fit nicely in my track lights with smallish cans. This lamp is not right for general room lighting, but excellent in the right place. It works great with the dimmer I already had in the wall, no noise or flickering, and dims to a very low level. Much better than the CFLs I've tried in the same spot. Good job, Home Depot.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from San Diego

Sturdy, Very Bright, Time Will Tell

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My review is mediocre mostly because there is no way to tell if they will last as advertised, which is the only thing that makes them cost-effective. They are very bright (much more so than the 40 watt spotlights they replaced). Caution: Although they are advertised as being dimmable, I have learned that this is somewhat theoretical. Most existing wall dimmers are apparently unable to dim very low wattage bulbs. They apparently need a much higher "load" on the circuit. This results in serious flickering, etc., that makes the dimmable claim meaningless unless you have a special dimmer switch. There are new switches that will purportedly dim LED lights, but they are expensive and hard to find. So yes, these may be dimmable, but probably not without a new wall switch or switches. A work-around I found in an application with five of these bulbs is to leave a regular incandescent in one of the receptacles. This increases the wattage enough that the dimmer switch works for all four LEDs and the incandescent.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Nebraska

Fanatastic LED Bulb!!

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hestitated at first at this purchase because of the inconsistant claims by some LED bulbs towards light output however I noted this claimed to have 350 Lumens. They are correct about it's output. I replaced my Reveal R-20 (45 watt) bulbs with these LED and I was astounded they actually put out more light and the color rendering is better! I am sold on this bulb. If you havn't tried it don't hesitate they are great! While the bulb is little on the expensive side you wont have to replace it for years and the enrgy savings from 40-45 watts down to 8 watts are great. They also produce no heat what so ever.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb

Bright, cool light, best run at full throttle (not dimmed)

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this bulb. My wife can barely tolerate it. It's bright, making it good for spaces where you might be trying to read small print with aging eyes (e.g., over the medicine cabinet). Light distribution is narrower than incandescent or CFL -- closer to a spotlight than a floodlight, I'd say.
Like many LED bulbs, the color temperature is much higher than incandescents. This is especially true when dimmed. The color becomes bluer as you turn the light down. This is what my wife objects to, and I have to agree that the yellower light of incandescents is much more aesthetically pleasing to me, too. And when dimmed, the color is positively ghoulish.
We've installed them in two places -- the pantry, which is usually out of sight, and the basement, where the wife seldom hangs out. Neither is on dimmers.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Central Connecticut

Not a fan

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up a pair of these to try out. Ended up bringing them back to return.
Light output was very close to the incandescent, and they dimmed very well with Lutron Diva 600W dimmers. But we didn't care for the light. Thought it would be much warmer. It had a bit of that "alien autopsy" look to it, especially compared to the other incandescent bulbs in the room (same fixtures). Honestly, I installed T8 fluorescent strip lights in the unfinished portion of the basement that had a warmer light output than these. :(
LED bulbs have come a long way, but these ones are not there yet for me. We didn't hate them, but about the only way we'd consider purchasing them is if they were below the price point of standard incandescents. Energy savings is not as big of a factor for us as light quality.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Generally like them but mis-labeled

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I generally like them because of their natural light and only 8-watt usage. However, Home Depot online mis-labeled the description as 50w, while the package with the same SKU in the store says 40w. Both are 350 lumen.
I really wish there was a brighter PAR20 LED, since 350 lumen is on the low side. I'd still recommend them as I now own 7 of these.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Austin, TX

Pleasant Surprise

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these bulbs to try in my track lighting. After reading the reviews, I was concerned about the potential for noise/humming, the color, intensity & pattern of the light, and the size of the bulb. I was pleasantly surprised on all counts. The bulbs make no noise, at least, none that I could hear. I have an old Lutron dimmer on that track that I have used for years with halogens, and it seems to work fine with these LED's. Even when dimmed, still no noise. The color is white, not blue and not warm, but crisp white. Reminds me of the light in retail stores like Pottery Barn. The brightness is good and the pattern is a very even narrow flood. I was afraid the bulbs might be too big to fit in my Juno track fixtures, but the fit is perfect.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb

Just not quite good enough

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased these for recessed ceiling lights for kitchen/dining nook area. For an 8ft ceiling, with a housing every 3ft, they are not strong enough to light up a kitchen properly. They do function well with the appropriate dimmer, however. Was looking for a good warm white, and these fit the bill at 3000k (they are not a bright white). When running they have no humming, no flicker. Ended up moving to another brand PAR20 that had 500lumens and was a perfect fit (sylvania HD).
One item to mention - the diameter of them all was a bit larger than PAR20 recepticles, making the effort of pulling them in/out of the recepticles really really tough. On the edge of damaging them just to pull them out. Two guys at the HD store tried to remove one bulb for 15minutes before they just gave me the money back for the recessed recepticle also.
Pros: lower cost, dimmable, no flicker or noise
Cons: needs more lumens, hard installation - diameter
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An almost perfect replacement for my 65W Incadescent Reflector Flood lights

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the Philips 65W PAR30 / BR30 Incandescent Reflector Flood lights in my kitchen ceiling and I removed one bulb and installed this EcoSmart 8W PAR20 LED Bulb that is recommended for replacing 40W flood bulbs and I can't really tell the difference other than it is just a hint brighter than my 65W incandescent floods. The light output seems to be nearly the same color and brightness as my 65W incandescent bulbs.
I tried the recommended 65W and 45W replacement LED bulbs of other brands like TCP's Wide Angle PAR30 & PAR20 from OSH, but they were way too bright & blinding white, over powered the other lights and had a lousy beam dispersion angle for its so called wide 40 degree beam. This EcoSmart, model # 866 623, LED bulb is cheaper to purchase then any other bulbs I have seen anywhere for this wattage and produces the most pleasant light I've seen from an LED bulb, not blue or purple and not an over powering and blinding white light.
The only complaint I have is that this PAR20 LED bulb is not as long as my 65W PAR30 Incandescent Reflector bulbs and the bulb is now sucked up higher into my ceiling light fixture, possibly reducing the beam angle slightly. I can't really tell any difference in my kitchen, but in my hallway, I can see a lower shadow on the wall caused by the ceiling fixture. If I could get a PAR30 40W LED bulb, that would solve this minor complaint, but I have been unable to locate any PAR30 LED bulbs under 65W anywhere yet.
Some of the other reviewers had me a little worried because they said they had problems with this light not lasting long outdoors or the bulb didn't work well with their dimmer, but if you read the box, it says that this bulb is not suitable for outdoor applications where it may get exposed to weather or water and although it says it is a dimmable bulb, it also says that it is only recommended for use with the newer dimmers specifically made for LED bulbs. So if those are the only real complaints, I think this bulb is a really good choice for my application.
Although the initial investment for these LED bulbs are high at under $20.00 EA, the real deal is that this bulb is supposed to last for 50,000 hours or 45 years and even though it only has a 5 year warranty, according to my calculations and based on my California PG&E electricity bill at $0.18 / KWH, this bulb will more than pay for itself in less than 2 years time in energy savings over my 65W Incandescent flood lights with an average usage of 3 hours per day, which seems quite modest, I think.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Saint Paul, MN

Nice, but barely fits my fixture

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very glad to see (semi-) affordable, quality LED lamps at Home Depot! The previous generation of "accent lamps" with small light output weren't good for much.
This lamp seems well made and is very bright. Light is a little whiter than my halogens.
Only 2 downsides I can see:
* Too much packaging! For an "eco solution" way to much plastic wrapping it up.
* Diameter seems slightly large; it barely fit into the gimbal on my track light. I had to modify the gimbal a little to make it fit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Reno

Great LED flood light bulb

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got one of my clients to change out all his ceiling cans and track light cans to LED bulbs.
These Ecosmart bulbs are perfect. They work with existing ELV dimmers with no flicker. These LED floods offer a more direct light than CFL floods and you can control the light more affectively. They are cheaper than the Phillips brand and Phillip bulbs are not dimmable.
If they last they will certainly be worth the initial coast If you buy them with a Home Depot card they give you 10% off
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Kennewick, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

PAR 20 LED rocks!

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The light quality of these LED's are so close to halogen with 20% of the power requirements. To those who complain about the light quality casting an alien autopsy light, I'm guessing you are rating the wrong product, probably rating the "daylight" type A21 bulbs. I tried those and agree, not appropriate for most indoor lighting. But the PAR type LED ecosmart bulbs are all I use in the kitchen and living room can lights. After 8 months so far so good. I think 3100K lights are the best for indoor lighting. Now if only they could come out with a A21 bulb at 3100K I'd be in heaven. 27-2800K just is too soft, and daylight too harsh.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb

Good, but won't convince everybody

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought four of these bulbs, three to use in the kitchen cooking area, one to be used in the kitchen eating/reading area. They are all on the same dimmer switch.
In short, these are good bulbs and a great advance in efficiency over the similarly-bright 50w halogens they replaced, but they simply are not perfect substitutes. Here's why:
(1) At anything below full power on the dimmer, they flicker and buzz slightly, whereas the halogens never did.
(2) While they are a reasonably warm light for cooking (and actually increase contrast considerably), they are pretty unacceptable for reading. The light is just too harsh and blue. It turns printed pages from warm yellow to bluish white.
While I'm keeping 3 bulbs for the cooking area, I'm returning the one over the eating/reading area, and putting my hot, power-guzzling halogen back in. I'm still saving a lot of energy, but I simply couldn't compromise on eye comfort while sitting/reading.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Coitsville, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DIMMABLE

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this for a range hood that required this wattage and had to be dimmable. The bulbs are fine, but on the lowest setting, the bulbs flicker. I really like the brightness of the lights. After I purchased them, I read that these type of bulbs do not arc enough electricity at the low setting. Otherwise, yes I would purchase an LED, but not a dimmable.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb

Meh. Light too cool and they constantly buzz.

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are OK so far. I bought one as an experiment, but I won't be buying anymore. The light isn't as warm as I'd like (noticeably cooler than halogens) and they buzz all the time (dimmed or not). I do have them on a lutron dimmer designed for LEDs and CFLs and they dim just fine and have a decent range.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR20 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Granite Bay, Ca

Best decision I made for lighting

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a home with almost 100 four inch can lights. I put these lights in my family room (12 of them). I am hoping i can reduce the $900.00 a month utility bill, after replacing all my existing light bulbs with these. (i will somehow let you know).
First, they burn cool. Second, the lighting is excellent. It dims perfect with my dimmer and there is no noise at all.
My major issue is the fact that i cant find these things any where close to my area. All home depot stores are out of stock.
They are stylish in a 4" can. The color blends good witha white can and trim.
I recommend this bulb, no questions asked.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>