728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors

Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors

The Fenwick Collection Fireplace Glass Door has decorative arch detail prairie cabinet-style doors with graphic trim detailing. The Oil Rubbed Bronze powder-coated finish enhances a traditional masonry fireplace hearth. This one-piece frame construction is designed as a surface mount and sits outside the fireplace opening against a flat surface. A Fireplace Glass Door assists in reducing heat loss or cool air loss up the chimney by as much as 90%. That equals a year-round energy savings when the fireplace is not in use. The Fireplace Glass Doors all come with easy grip handles, hidden damper control knobs for air flow control and heat resistant thick insulation. Always keep mesh panels closed and glass doors open when fire is burning in fireplace. For masonry fireplaces only ? not for prefabricated. Made in the U.S.A.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product55 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product55 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
Review 1 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Door is great but watch out when you try to install the handles!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got the door installed and everything was perfect until we tried to put the handles on. The glass has installed incorrectly and covered the holes for the screws. There is no way to adjust the glass and the door must be replaced by the manufacturer. They were very helpful but it took TWO more doors before we received one that allowed us to install the handles. Otherwise, a piece of cake! We love the color and can't wait for our first fire this year!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Traverse City, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good looking doors

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The doors arrived in good shape directly at the house. Installation was easy and straight forward. Doors look good. I haven't had a fire with the new doors so I don't know how clean the glass will stay.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from DC Metro

Looks great - Works perfectly

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I moved into an older home (1961) with an era-appropriate but kinda ugly fireplace cover that consisted of a mesh screen suspended from a copper 'hood'. Once that was removed and these doors were installed in their place, the whole room looked much more elegant. Even people who don't know I made the change have commented on how nice the fireplace looks.
I love that the glass doors keep hot air from rushing out of my house and add a measure of safety when I have toddlers around.
I lucked up and got these at a deep discount, but think they are worth much more than the price I paid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Seals Well, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Centennial
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my 1983 original bright brass fire place doors. They were awful and finally my living room looks like it belongs in this century. It was really easy to install and looks great once it’s in there. I was worried about the measurements because they're not very specific in the description so I thought it might not fit, but it fit beautifully and came with an extra part in case I needed it to be taller. I didn't, but nice to know that I had it if I needed it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product , nice design, very pleased.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was a little worried that item would not fit, but fit like a charm. Would highly recommend item.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, High Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stylish doors. Have gotten good comments on how they look in the room.

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble. The glass DID have the holes for the door handles in the correct position so everything lined up.
Doors arrived well packaged and with no damage. The shipment was timely as promised, and delivered 1 day early.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Marion
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

BEAUTIFUL

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Purchased to install in a stacked stone fireplace and it is beautiful!!! Heavy duty construction and looks even more beautiful in person.
Very easy to install too.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Wilmington, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Love it

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Shipped it super fast- nothing broken upon delivery (miracle! Packing seemed insufficient, but was fine). Assembly for my engineer hubby wasn't too bad, but he commented that the glass didn't line up properly in the frame. He had to undo the metal, slide the glass into it's proper spot and reattach. It looks GREAT and we love it .
Pros: Performs Well, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Forked River, NJ 08731, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product looks very goog installed...

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to call the company the glass would not allow to install the right handle, per their instructions, I had to take the clips out and move the glass, still can't get all the clipa in, I don't want to break the glass
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Westchester County, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This item is well made and relatively easy to install. It is a good value.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well made doors and fire screen. It is strong and held up well during installation process. Have not used it much since installation but it looks great. I bought two of these in separate orders and everything was perfect on both shipments.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: needs more insulation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Chicago, IL

Beautiful, but..

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fireplace glass doors are gorgeous! However, our fireplace measures 44" wide and the Fenwick doors measure 44 1/2" wide overall. The specs say that the Large fireplace will fit a 44" wide fireplace. However, after installation, only .25 inches are left on each side. Since fireplaces are brick, there is a gap between the bricks and mortar, which allows you to see right through into the fireplace. I would suggest that if Fenwick says a Large is to fit a 44" wide fireplace, that they make the actual overall width a bit larger, say, 45" wide, therefore, there will be 1.25" coverage on each side.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Carson City, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built and nice looking.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The install went smoothly. Very simple. The issue with the glass in the doors (see prior reviews) seems to have been resolved as mine was perfect. My fireplace is stone so I had to fiddle with the brackets a bit but it worked fine. A brick fireplace would be easy. I don't do DIY stuff very well and this made me look good.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Dallas, TX

Very nice, but size listed is misleading

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fireplace door is excellent quality and very appealing, however unfortunately I think we are going to have to return it because it's not wide enough. 44.75" is the width INCLUDING the lips at the top/bottom. The actual coverage area for this is only 43 & 5/8ths inches.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Middletown CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Fenwick Fireplace Doors arrived only a few days after I ordered them. It comes mostly assembled and only needed the handles attached. Because our fireplace is extremely large, I did attach the optional riser bar (also easy to attach). I did watch the video (on-line) and that made attaching the doors to the fireplace simple. My wife came home from shopping and was delighted with how the doors looked. We are extremely happy with the look and construction of the doors. Definitely a great purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Wheaton, IL

Only for brick fireplaces

PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I ordered this online, it arrived and the first thing I saw was the guide to the product with a big warning saying this is only for fully brick fireplaces. I have one that is brick, but with a steel interior - pre-fab. So now I have to return it. Nowhere on this site does it say anything about it - a big waste of my time. Wish it said that somewhere in the specifications or in the description. Looks pretty online. I'll never know.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks Great...But

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Fenwick bronze finish glass fireplace door system really finished off our fireplace. It is well made and heavey. It has the feel and looks of quality. That is the good news, now for the bad news.
I had read the reviews and learned some units were shipped with one or both doors having glass that was too big at the handle side for the screws to fit in. I took a chance hoping that we would not have this problem. Wrong! The left door had that flaw. I contacted the company and a new door was sent.
It takes four mounting screws to attach the door, What should have been a simple job took an hour of cursing and swearing. There are metal brackets with theaded taps to insert the screws. These brackets were not secured so they moved around. Had they been spot welded inplace, mounting the doors would have been a snap. I ended up glueing them in with instant glue.
I will say Home Depot did make a fair adjustment on the bill and the manufacturer send a replacement in a timely fashion, so in a year I probably won't remember the furstration. It is a beautifull addition, but heads up on the downside.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

love it

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
looked around at fireplace stores and for the same doors i bought from homedepot, they wanted almost $1000.00, what a savings, sturdy, classy, only problem when putting together was the glass wasnt measured properly for screws but hubby was able to fix and we love love love our purchase and it saved us 500 bucks...thank you homedepot, we love our new fireplace doors.it totally changed the look of our home replacing the doors....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Shelby Township, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fireplace doors came quickly, and were perfect. I really like them. Came well ahead of schedule.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Central Texas

Frank likes it

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nicely built, beautiful finish and delivered in just a few days.
This fireplace enclosure's glass doors open 180 degrees and the hinged screens open easily with one hand providing easy access to tend to the fire. It's an amazing improvement over the bi-fold doors and screen curtain unit I replaced.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Order came very quickly! Looks great!

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful and half the price as other stores. Less than Amazon too!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>