728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors

Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors

The Fenwick Collection Fireplace Glass Door has decorative arch detail prairie cabinet-style doors with graphic trim detailing. The Oil Rubbed Bronze powder-coated finish enhances a traditional masonry fireplace hearth. This one-piece frame construction is designed as a surface mount and sits outside the fireplace opening against a flat surface. A Fireplace Glass Door assists in reducing heat loss or cool air loss up the chimney by as much as 90%. That equals a year-round energy savings when the fireplace is not in use. The Fireplace Glass Doors all come with easy grip handles, hidden damper control knobs for air flow control and heat resistant thick insulation. Always keep mesh panels closed and glass doors open when fire is burning in fireplace. For masonry fireplaces only ? not for prefabricated. Made in the U.S.A.
Overall rating:
4.71 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product99 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(84)
4
(18)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product99 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
Review 1 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Lake Orion, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fireplace doors!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The doors were packed really well. That meant there was absolutely no shipping damage. The instructions were surprisingly coherent and helpful. Because the fireplace is curved and the doors are not, I needed to modify the doors by adding some sheet metal and extra insulation. This meant an extra trip to Home Depot, but it was well worth the effort. The doors look great and the wife is very happy. Happy wife equals happy life.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Chesapeake,VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful doors

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It wasn't to hard to install. Our opinion is that the insulation that comes with the doors isn't enough. We added more insulation. It really looks expensive.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Door is great but watch out when you try to install the handles!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We got the door installed and everything was perfect until we tried to put the handles on. The glass has installed incorrectly and covered the holes for the screws. There is no way to adjust the glass and the door must be replaced by the manufacturer. They were very helpful but it took TWO more doors before we received one that allowed us to install the handles. Otherwise, a piece of cake! We love the color and can't wait for our first fire this year!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Grealt looking Doors!!!!

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very simple to install with common tool. The fireplace doors really brings the whole room together. So glad I purchased this
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors

Very nice fireplace doors

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Two issues: one of the door magnets was broken when we installed it. However, there is enough of the magnet still attached to hold the door closed. Second, the doors will open (magnets will release the doors) if the whole unit is tipped forward. I had one door fly open when installing and scraped it on the brick, causing some minor damage. Be careful when tilting the doors and you should be fine.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Centennial
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to replace my 1983 original bright brass fire place doors. They were awful and finally my living room looks like it belongs in this century. It was really easy to install and looks great once it’s in there. I was worried about the measurements because they're not very specific in the description so I thought it might not fit, but it fit beautifully and came with an extra part in case I needed it to be taller. I didn't, but nice to know that I had it if I needed it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Harmony, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautified the Fireplace

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My house was built in 1955, and the fireplace is larger than most. I wanted glass doors to help with holding outside air out. My son installed for me and it looks great. The color looks like it was made for the house. The look is also elegant.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Benicia, CA

Impressed!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall, great value and easy install. Received item very quickly. Only negative was quality control. I had to reset the glass in one door to install the handle and one of the magnets for the door closure was damaged. I called customer service and they stated they would ship replacements (its been a week and still waiting).
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors

Beautiful!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love the look. With doors closed it still looks beautiful. Easy install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Findlay Township, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was easy to install and looks great for the price. I was somewaht disappointed that the doors needed to remain open when you are burning in the fireplace. I knew before I purchased, but all of the photos of the doors showed the doors closed with a fire burning. Oh well!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Marion
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

BEAUTIFUL

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Purchased to install in a stacked stone fireplace and it is beautiful!!! Heavy duty construction and looks even more beautiful in person.
Very easy to install too.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from DC Metro

Looks great - Works perfectly

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I moved into an older home (1961) with an era-appropriate but kinda ugly fireplace cover that consisted of a mesh screen suspended from a copper 'hood'. Once that was removed and these doors were installed in their place, the whole room looked much more elegant. Even people who don't know I made the change have commented on how nice the fireplace looks.
I love that the glass doors keep hot air from rushing out of my house and add a measure of safety when I have toddlers around.
I lucked up and got these at a deep discount, but think they are worth much more than the price I paid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Seals Well, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice looking but still not usable

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the glass doors was made such that you couldn't attach the handle. (glass mounted wrong) Then, when they sent a replacement and I removed the original door, the new door would not attach to the unit. I'm still looking for some way to attach the new door.
Pros: Sturdy, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportNovember 14, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportNovember 14, 2014
Hey Bill,

Please give us a call and we can assist you with installing the new door. 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 14 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors

Good doors

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The height extender on the bottom has no air vents and it reduces air flow to the fire. Otherwise it is easy to install and attractive and seems well-made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Chicago, IL

Beautiful, but..

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The fireplace glass doors are gorgeous! However, our fireplace measures 44" wide and the Fenwick doors measure 44 1/2" wide overall. The specs say that the Large fireplace will fit a 44" wide fireplace. However, after installation, only .25 inches are left on each side. Since fireplaces are brick, there is a gap between the bricks and mortar, which allows you to see right through into the fireplace. I would suggest that if Fenwick says a Large is to fit a 44" wide fireplace, that they make the actual overall width a bit larger, say, 45" wide, therefore, there will be 1.25" coverage on each side.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors

Good Choice

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice door, sturdy construction, easy assembly.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Dallas, TX

Very nice, but size listed is misleading

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fireplace door is excellent quality and very appealing, however unfortunately I think we are going to have to return it because it's not wide enough. 44.75" is the width INCLUDING the lips at the top/bottom. The actual coverage area for this is only 43 & 5/8ths inches.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product , nice design, very pleased.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was a little worried that item would not fit, but fit like a charm. Would highly recommend item.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, High Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Carson City, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built and nice looking.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The install went smoothly. Very simple. The issue with the glass in the doors (see prior reviews) seems to have been resolved as mine was perfect. My fireplace is stone so I had to fiddle with the brackets a bit but it worked fine. A brick fireplace would be easy. I don't do DIY stuff very well and this made me look good.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fenwick Large Glass Fireplace Doors
from Wilmington, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Love it

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Shipped it super fast- nothing broken upon delivery (miracle! Packing seemed insufficient, but was fine). Assembly for my engineer hubby wasn't too bad, but he commented that the glass didn't line up properly in the frame. He had to undo the metal, slide the glass into it's proper spot and reattach. It looks GREAT and we love it .
Pros: Performs Well, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>