728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer

22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer

HD 1500 heavy duty utility & hauling; turn your ATV or lawn tractor into an all-purpose hauling machine. The Polar HD 1500 takes you to another level, hauling 1,500-lb.s with an impressive 22 Cu. ft. load capacity. The HD 1500 is a great compliment to your ATV or UTV, adding endless utility and extra hauling capacity.
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
Review 1 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Bozrah, CT

Incredibly Beefy Trailer

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trailer is huge, I mean like bathtub sized would be putting it mildly. Really tough construction all square tubing frame with lag bolt connections. Fat tires that look like it would be no problem to go anywhere my quad can go. Assembly was very easy and took about a half an hour.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from vermont

one major weak point

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
it's a very useful trailer but you need to keep an eye on your load. the front of the tub is only attached to the frame by 2 bolts. if your cargo weight shifts behind the wheels, it doesn't take much for those bolts to pop through the plastic and bend the frame. replacing the frame part isn't a huge issue, but it costs $60 plus $115 for shipping which is an issue. the manufacturer doesn't care how little the trailer is used or that it can fail well below rated capacity. also, the bolts require a giant philips screwdriver which i can't find anywhere (not tractor supply, HD or local hardware store) so you may have to get resourceful and hope you don't strip the heads.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wonderful product!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have only been using it a week but I am very pleased with it's performance.
It was easy to assemble. It didn't even take me long.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: doesn't dump all the way you have to push out rest
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As good as it gets

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If anyone can manufacture a better trailer than Polar can, I would like to know about it. This is one terrific product. If I can assemble it in 30 minutes, most can do it in 20 minutes. I have filled the bed to the top with fire wood and hauled it out of my pasture. This trailer is so smooth and quiet, I barely knew I was hauling anything. The hitch probably works fine with just the pin but I would recommend getting the Polar Trailer 2 in. ball coupler kit. The employees of Polar should feel good about themselves for manufacturing such quality products.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Home owner from Boston

Super strong, large capacity and easy to assemble

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I almost bought the typical metal trailer you see everywhere when I stumbled across the Polar offerings. I'm so glad I chose this trailer.
It's got plenty of capacity and is really well built. Assembling it couldn't have been any easier.
So far I've used it to haul brush (stacked at least 6' over the top, tied down with a strap) into the woods and granite out of the woods.
I wasn't able to lift some of the granite high enough to get it over the sides and safely place it inside, so for the biggest pieces I had to roll them into the trailer when it was in the dump position and then struggle to lower the trailer back to level.
I've put massive rocks in it with no issues. The plastic shell is strong enough to hold anything you can lift. I had it filled with stone.
The dumping action is great. A simple lever that locks into place is real easy to open and close.
I could nit pick about a couple of issues with the bolts, (like not being galvanized), but this trailer is already making my life much easier!
I got it sooner than expected. Shipped the next day. Freight carrier requires one day for scheduling, so don't expect it on the day your shipping notice estimates. They call you and set up a date at least the day after.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer

heavy duty and lightweight utility trailer

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembled easily. Trailer has great clearance- same as my Polaris Sportsman which will be towing it. It's lightweight so atv's tow capacity isn't partially used up by excessive trailer weight and it's a snap to move around by hand, though its also rugged - I've been hauling tons of gravel onto my house site for several days now. I don't know how well the plastic cargo bed will hold up to extreme cold yet. Frame is larger diameter than many other trailers I looked at. One negative feature is the "scooped" back end. Don't expect to dump a load of fill and pull away. You have to pull every bit of fill out with a hoe, rake etc... So if you're shopping for a trailer to haul gravel, soil, sand etc. you might want to look for a design with a removable tailgate. Also, it is pricey (as are any of the better quality models) - I paid less for my new 4x8 road use trailer with much more steel, lights, included ball coupler,and road tires.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from West Michigan

Awesome ATV Trailer

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this Polar HD 1500 ATV trailer to haul firewood out of the woods to one of the two tracks on some property we have here in West Michigan. It worked very well for this job. The loaded trailer rolled right over logs I thought for sure would be a problem. I was able to stack what turned out to be about a quarter of a cord of hardwood (after I split it) in the trailer at a time. A full cord of wood with four trips out of the woods sounds pretty good to me. I thought about buying the metal side extensions, but I don't think I will. The wood stacked easily, and only three or four pieces rolled out here and there - even driving over logs on the way out of the woods.
One of the nice features of the dump and swivel assembly is that you can load this trailer into or onto another trailer and "break it down". You can fold the tongue so it sticks out to one side and then tip the trailer up on one wheel, securing the tongue with tie-downs. You can point the tongue under the ATV in front of it and leave the trailer level on both wheels. Very nice features I didn't think about when I made the purchase.
Assembly was straight-forward and took about 30 minutes or so. When it was together the bed looked slightly twisted down the long axis, but that didn't affect performance.
I considered one of the steel ATV trailers, and I'm glad I spent a little more for this heavy-duty product. I expect it will last for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from WISCONSIN NORTH WOODS

ILIKEIT

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
STURDY, EASY TO PUT TOGETHER, I USE IT FOR HAULING STUFF AROUND WOODED ACREAGE BEHIND ATV, SIDES LOW ENOUGH TO LIFT HEAVY ROCKS OR WOOD ROUNDS INTO TRAILER, NICELY BALANCED, I GOT IT FOR $429 FREE SHIPPING PLUS ADDED TRAILER HITCH OPTION LATER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Sierra Foothills

Polar Trailer

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to haul wood and wood debris around our five acres of forested land. The trailer serves that need very well. The fat tires float over the rocks and ruts with ease behind our ATV. Time will tell, but the trailer appears to be very tough and capable of standing up to the abuse it is getting.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Souteast Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy Trailer

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Fast delivery for in-store pick-up. Shipping box & pallet is quite large
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer

Excellent Value Easy to Assemble

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipment of this trailer was extremely fast. Easy to assemble. Very sturdy. Great value for the money. I tow it behind my utility golf cart for yard work.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Maine

Great trailer!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is very well built and rugged. Works great on my atv and lawn tractor. I love it!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer

Just one thing

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trailer has many strong points.
1. It is lightweight and easy to move when necessary
2. The 22 foot capacity gives me plenty of room to carry
heavy and /or large loads
3. Easy to assemble. Did not even need directions.
4. The trailer can swivel when try to empty a load
Just one problem: the wheels are nice but wider than the trailer. I have been caught a couple of times when the tractor goes between two trees, but the wheel are too wide to make it. Not a biggy, but just one thing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wheels too far apart
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer

Great trailer, awful shipping

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trailer is a great trailer with super high quality construction. Once it finally got to me it took about 20-30 minutes to put it together. I also ordered the additional side railings and a hitch package (from somewhere else) so I could pull w/ my quad. So far this trailer is a monster. The pivot dump feature is great, but note that it's not a 'true' dumping trailer. You'll have to rake stuff out of the back after triggering the dump feature. Regardless, it appears this thing will last far longer than the last trailer I was towing around.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: slow delivery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great trailer

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy assembly, large size, very sturdy. Got it to haul firewood and tools around 24 acres of woods. Pulling it with a compact tractor. Goes everywhere no problem. Got the ball hitch and side panels as well. Note about assembly, if you buy the side panels, don't attach the two bolts on the top ridge of the trailer before you put on the panels. The panels have three bolts on each side and the middle one uses the same hole. I did not notice that and had to remove the bolt to install the panels. You won't be disappointed with this purchase
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Westport, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
2 holes didn't line up so I had to drill new holes. No big deal. I also made a plate/washer to reinforce the hole as it was close to the existing hole. Otherwise I'm very happy with it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too early

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a dump cart for use around a 6 acre lot. The weather has stormy, I have not used it yet. It went together easily, is easy to attach to a riding mower, and looks very sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good overall

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have not be able to put it to the heavy test yet but overall it appears to be a great trailer. Dont expect to use it as a dump trailer with out working at it. You will have to pull out what ever it is your dumping but you can pull it out instead of unloading it. The side ways dump feature is handy. The trailer is light weight to move around but well built enough to not worry about loading it up.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built; easy to assemble. Well thought out design.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As I pulled it out of the box for assembly, I was impressed with the simplicity of the design and how well built it actually was. Have not used it to pull any heavy loads yet, but I don't expect any problems.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 cu. ft. HD 1500 Trailer
from Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A 12 on the Ten Scale

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I give the 1500 HD Polar trailer 6 Stars out of five and a 12 on the Ten Scale. Easy 20 minute assembly. Really, really sturdy, yet light as feather empty. Unbelievably handy with swivel and dump features, made even better if you load onto a large plastic tarp. Park your wheelbarrow and garden cart. Hook the Polar 1500 HD to your ATV and triple your production! Worth every penny and free shipping to boot!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>