728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door

Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door

The Cottage Rose security door design makes an attractive addition to homes in a wide variety of architectural styles. A heavy-duty frame combined with decorative 1/2 in. square forged-steel pickets enhances forced-entry deterrence. The expanded metal screen also enhances forced-entry deterrence and is constructed from galvanized steel for increased durability.
Overall rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product16 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product16 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
Review 1 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Fountain Valley, CA

A lot less than a/c

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this double security door more for comfort than security. The door is very well constructed and the cost could not be beat. The product was ordered on line and was delivered free of charge. Installation will require two people and should not take too long if you are handy.
I have seen doors of similar quality for over $3000.00 without installation.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These doors fit real nice.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The doors are much nicer looking than I thought they would be, since I'd only seen a picture of them online. They did arrive with a small paint-chipped area. I called the company and they sent out touch-up paint immediately.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Spanaway, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Preparation is the tough part

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose White Outswing Double Security Door
The double security door arrive and I noted quite a few places where the paint chipped off. This was easily fixed since it was white paint and matched rustolium white enamel spray paint. I removed the edge mouldings from the siding and door jam noting there was a different elevation that would need to be corrected before installing the door so it would be a level surface for mounting. Compounding the problem was the two locking pins for the fixed side of the door. The is an upper and lower 1/2 inch pin that are made so the fixed side can be opened for cleaning or whatever. Problem being that the pin assembly for the top was higher than the top of the door which required a cut out for the door to fit properly. I needed to use a hacksaw to cut 1 inch off the pin for it to fit just right. When the upper pin is secured it is behind the bar assembly so it is very secure, however the lower pin does not have the bar to prevent it being pulled out so I drilled it through the door threshold (which did not get into wood meat because it is too close to the door), so I added a 1 inch cedar board below the door to hide the issue and give the door some security. It was a day long job but after spot painting the door (again) I am very happy with the product. Important to note... If you get white or black doors, paint shouldn't be a problem, matching the off colors may be. though.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Crawfordville, FL 32327, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is good.

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose White Outswing Double Security Door
This Security Door is a great addition to my house, looks good and easy to install. One door was warped and we did a weather strip quick fix.
My brother and I are proud of our install work.
Love It
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The doors look great installed

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose White Outswing Double Security Door
I have had my own home repair business for 14 years now, been in the trades for 36 years total, I have installed a lot of items and in comparison, installing these doors was fairly easy, they are heavy so be prepared, If you are some what handy with tools and follow the instructions you should be fine installing these doors.
This was my first time installing a security door set, the install went good, I had to trim off the 2 (3/16"X1/4" flat stock) tabs that were longer than the frame, they were catty-corner from each other and were in the way, the one on the bottom was in the way to install the door level as I installed a 2"X4"s to the face of the house as a kicker and to frame in the doors, other than that the install wasn't bad, the doors look great.
I purchased 6= 3/16" X 2 1/2" lag bolts and used them to install and align the doors, after everything was done I switched out the lags (1 at a time) for the one way lag screws that came with the doors, i would highly recommend doing this as it will make adjusting door gaps much easier.
I did notice that the powder coat finnish scratches off pretty easily, I had grabbed a can of touch up paint when I picked up the doors, Im glad I had the foresight getting the extra lag bolts and paint.
Hope this helps
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Prescott Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for the price

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose Black Outswing Double Security Door
The doors are about what I expected for the price.
The screen is pop riveted to the tubular upright bars, but not nearly enough pop rivets are installed. I added extras to stop the screen "oil canning" when the door swings. This probably means the edges are not plumb, but I was careful to set the door supports plumb and then drilled centre holes through the pre-drilled attachment holes in the side pieces. I think the pre-drilled holes are slightly too large for the supplied lag bolts and so the door settled a little. This is not noticeable when looking at the doors, the doors are the same height at the top and meet with a constant gap along the whole length, hence the doors are very nearly plumb but the screens "pop" every time a door is opened.
The finish looks good, but after one rain shower I can see rust makes when steel is placed on top of steel (e.g. where the screen meets the bars, the bolts is over the bars etc.).
The doors and the bolts have a good solid feel, the finish was even, the door appeared square, the welds good.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Redlands, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great deal for a double door!!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose Black Outswing Double Security Door
I was shopping online and in stores for quite a long time for a front security double door and finally landed on this item. Fit my budget...The door finally arrived after some shipping delays (it took 2 orders and lotsa calls to customer care to get things resolved)...But in the end, customer service was good, knew what they were doing and solved the issues in a timely manner.
If you are looking for a real good security door for the front which will may also be used to let the cool air in and intruders out...this is it :)
By the way, this door fits on the outside of the wooden frame of the current door, so there will be a gap in between the inner door and this one...I got some weather stripping to cover it up...And last, but not the least, follow the instructions carefully...once the screws are in, there's no taking them out easily (cause its a security door).
Hope this review is helpful.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door

Love the security it provides

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose White Outswing Double Security Door
I love the security this door provides as well as the overall look. It did take a couple of guys to install the door. Also, one of the doors is a bit "tweaked". Only about .25". Can't hardly tell once it was installed. Had to have happened during manufacturing since the boxes were undamaged.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Lancaster, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid and secure door.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose Black Outswing Double Security Door
Great purchase! Only complaint is a large scratch possibly done during shipping. Easy fix with textured spray paint. I would suggest using the proper bit to install the lag bolts. The door came with a design that did not match the picture but it looks great and we have a secure set of french doors. Thanks Home Depot!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, Great Detail
Cons: some shipping damage
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Santa Rosa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive, heavy duty, but disappointing.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Cottage Rose Copper Outswing Double Security Door
I had to return the first set of doors to damage that someone tried to "cover up". The second set of doors arrived with cosmetic defects I could live with, but craftsmanship was not what I expected for the price. Package did not include all the accessories one would expect to make the security doors, "secure". I expected to buy my own deadbolt and door knob, but they at least need to include the same amount of screws for the number of holes in the frame. Also, they should have included the plates for the slide bolts. Installation required modifying the bottom of our door jam to be able to secure the slide bolts. My biggest issue with the doors now that they are all installed, is the loud popping noise they make the you open them. It's not just a little squeek that you can eliminate with some WD40.
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 22, 2014
"Any missing parts will be replaced free of charge or, at our discretion based on the part(s) in question, we may replace the entire door.

Due to the wide variation of installation scenarios the door must accommodate, we do not include plates with the pins. The installer must drill the hold for the pins once final alignment has been determined. Popping sounds during operation are typically caused by a door that is not installed or is no longer fully plumb and level or the hardware that has been installed in the door.
"
Review 11 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Skagit Valley, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am so happy with this door!

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose Black Outswing Double Security Door
I LOVE this door! My husband put it on, and I didn't hear many complaints from him. He did it quicker than I expected. It is more beautiful in person than the picture shows.We chose the black and purchased a black (slightly bronzed) handle and lock, and it looks fantastic. My ONLY complaint would be that the paint does seem to come off rather easily. We will have to touch up after installation, because "life happens" when you install. Overall, I am so glad we ordered this.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door

Excellent Door

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose Black Outswing Double Security Door
Great looking door. Well worth the price for the looks and piece of mind. Not much harder to install than the standard single size doors. Would definitely buy again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Double security screen door

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose Black Outswing Double Security Door
Instructions were lacking but YouTube video helped
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door

Poor value for the price

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose White Outswing Double Security Door
This door set is a major disappointment. Delivery was slow, and the fit is poor at best. There are significant gaps at the edges, and this door will be virtually worthless in the summer because it simply cannot keep bugs out of my house. My contractor hated installing this ill-fitting unit and said it was one of the most difficult jobs he's ever done. When combined with the other door purchased on this order, I'm sufficiently disappointed/disgusted with the product(s) to make this my last Home Depot online purchase.
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Modesto Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disappointed

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Cottage Rose Black Outswing Double Security Door
Less than a year old, under a porch and they are already showing signs of rust
Cons: Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 9, 2014
Unfortunately, all steel doors will rust. Proper manufacturing, preparation and powder coating will inhibit and delay it, but will NOT prevent it. Our steel doors are routinely tested to insure that these parameters are at or above industry standards. Doors constructed from aluminum alloy that carry a lifetime, rust-free guarantee and are up to 6x stronger than steel are available at Home Depot."
Review 16 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Mt Shasta, CA 96067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well built product

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose Black Outswing Double Security Door
All in all the product did it,s job. I found the sliding top & lower pins in excess length. Their operation with the existing trim made for clumsy installation. I think there needs to be more guide lines available before installation. Ideal trim thickness,s and such.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Central Coast, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Serves its purpose

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
Looks a bit like a jail cell with the vertical bars but does have some decoration. There wasn't much choice when it came to double doors so it is satisfactory in looks. The Navaho white color is perfect. One big warning: make sure you have plenty of room to install. From the dimensions given it should have just fit perfect in our space (door is flanked by brick pillars) but it didn't. We had to grind down the brick about 1/4 inch on each side to get it to fit and it is still too tight to close properly.
Pros: Sturdy, Functional, Well Made
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door

You get what you pay for... or less.

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Cottage Rose White Outswing Double Security Door
After waiting 5 weeks for it to be shipped to my house I found out the door had imperfections not easily etected by the untrained eye. The screen had two folds in it, like it had been folded into three, then put on the frame without any straightening. The flat stock used on the sides to mount the mesh screen was bent. The frame inserts were not plumb and set in too close, so the door wouldn't close right. The door that they would have to pre fab seemed alright, but the side that had the handle and should be available in any home depot to take right off the shelf was built with poor craftsmanship. Header wasn't straight. Bows in all the metal peices. nothing was truly plumb. paint didn't match on both the doors, one side was lightly powder coated while the other was heavily powder coated. I couldn't find anything else on the internet for double security doors, so i was stuck using home depot or lowes. If I was given the chance to pay more somewhere else, i would have. After calling to return said product, I waited three weeks with no response. After calling back I finally got things moving again. What was supposed to be a mothers day present to my wife was finally received to be installed mid July.
Cons: Quality, nothing lines up, both sides aren't the same size
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 22, 2014
While some of these problems were likely related to proper plumb and level of the installation, the screen, powder coat, and bowing issues all sound like they were well outside of acceptable quality parameters. If possible, products can be returned directly to your local store - no call is necessary - for a free replacement or a complete refund."
Review 19 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty, excellent quality. Comes as two doors with a top bar connecting the two doors. Installs easily.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose White Outswing Double Security Door
Heavy duty, excellent quality. Comes as two doors with a top bar connecting the two doors. Installs easily.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cottage Rose Navajo White Outswing Double Security Door
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Sturdy with good appearance.

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Cottage Rose White Outswing Double Security Door
Door is sturdy and esthetic. A bit difficult to install both doors on same level and parallel. Opening for locks are very close together, but this does not create much of a problem. Paint comes off very easily.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>