728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass

36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass

The Guardian security door, a member of the Unique Home Designs premium steel line, offers superior quality, security and flexibility. Unique Home Designs premium steel doors feature a precision-welded, heavy-duty frame and hinges for maximum strength and security, as well as professionally mitered corners for strength and corrosion resistance. This Guardian model is outfitted with shatter-resistant glass inserts.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
Review 1 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from Columbia, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was sturdy, an excellent choice for my front entranceway.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two security doors, one for the front and one for the back entryway. My wife informed me now she has an added sense of security because she can now answer the doorbell and have the security door between herself and a potential intruder. The doors are sturdy and does double duty as a storm door. I should have had these a couple of years ago before my front door was kicked while we were away on vacation.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good door so far

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In spite of what the door description says there is NO special tool with the package to drive the one way screws into the jamb. Trying to do this when all the hardware stores in my area are closed. Nearest hardware to me is 15 miles away. I bought 2 doors. I have installed the glass and it is ready to mount to the jamb. Also the temporary screws to hold the door in place when leveled are some big ones also, and of course I don't have these in the size required. So if you buy these doors get the driver for the one way screws before you start work and some temp screws.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this door myself, but my wife had to help to put the door in place to get it level using shims. Hardest part for me was getting the door off the truck and walking it to the front door. I would not recommend using the one-way screws. We had to back out a few to get the other screws to start since the guide holes were off a bit. No burglar is going to take the time to back out regular bolts when they can just break a window and go in. The door is top quality (and heavy). It looks great on our entry door at our bay house. Door hardware, closer and wind-guard attachments sold separately.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from Peoria Az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome storm /security door

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the screens also but was a little disappointed to see that I had to remove several screws to change from glass to screens. I would have liked to see a swivel lever that would make it easier to change
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I LOVEEEEE this door

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I LOVEEEEE this door. I feel very safe. Now too worried when strangers come to my door. mainly annoyed. Just as good as more expensive ones. I am trying to get a custom fit to fit my back door even if it's not the exact same one. Well worth the money, I'd recommend this to anyone looking for great peace of mind and security. Plus, it LOOKS very nice on my house. I know it LOOKS plain on here in the pictures, but it's a VERY sharp looking door. My house is a brown brick with black shutters and it's very pretty. Oh, and a word of advice I'd get the two keyed entry deadbolt instead of one with the flippy switch, that way, BY the very slim CHANCE someone were to somehow get through the glass and stick their hand in and unlock the inside and deadbolt and they couldn't flip the flippy switch and open the door. and also, if you have young kids who might open the door and get out, you wouldn't have to worry about that, either. :-) That's what I did, anyway. Highly highly highly recommend this door!! And I had Home Depot install it.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality & good price with MANY features!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In storm doors there's a WIDE price range and you DON'T always 'get what you pay for'. This steel product was actually cheaper than some "brand name" aluminum stuff (with poor reviews). Even after additional cost of handset & deadbolt, it's a far superior value! Pleasantly surprised by multiple features (all-around weatherstripping, double floor sweeps, one-way security hardware, shatterproof glass OR screen). Everyone who's seen it is impressed; I've now 'bear-proofed' my porch...and couldn't be more pleased! Installation does take some extra time but instructions are clear. Only downside: after 1st rain some surface rust discoloration @ a few weld joints was easily touched-up w/ paint.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass

Terrible one-way bolts

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My only significant complaint about this product are the lousy one-way bolts used to secure the security door jams. The heads are painted with the same enamel-type finish used for the rest of the door. Unfortunately, the finish makes the bolt heads very slick and slightly rounds over the very small flats that are all you have to provide purchase for driving. The bolts are also longer than necessary (unless the zombie-apocolypse is real to you) - which wouldn't be an issue except when you realize it means the driver has jumped off the bolt head for the hundredth time and scratched the finish of the door again. They have touch-up paint on the recommended tool list and I totally understand why. Also, they say to drill 3/16th pilot holes, but do yourself a favor and drill a 1/4 inch pilot, it's still going to be a pain to drive the bolts even then (nobody is ever getting them out). The door looks great when it's up and it is quite sturdy and swings very smoothly on its hinges.
Pros: Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: one-way bolts are a headache
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from Lakeside, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

everything I was looking for

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This door was everything I was looking for. Glass for the winter and I purchased the insect screen for the summer. Price was great! Good, heavy construction and looks good too.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from Killeen, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is my second buy on this door

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second buy on this door. It is a storm door and security door in one. Very well made with a good grade of glass. Will buy another one when the occasion arises.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Security Storm Door was easy to install and looks great.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Door is extremely durable and looks great. Additionally, it was easier to install that I had anticipated.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from San Angelo, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Guardian security door

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife wanted a new screen door. I bought the Guardian screen/glass door online and saved money. It fits like a glove and is very secure. I wish I had done this years ago. A++
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass

Sturdy and Secure Door

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Door is well packaged and arrived safely. Clear instructions. The door and frame are strong and appear durable. Good buy.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from ca

Beautiful Door

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This door is an excellent entry way door. It looks good and offers the advantage of the glass insert which allows you to view the world outside your home without sacrificing the air conditioning or heat.
Affordable price and more economical than most doors sold in my local stores.
+9points
17out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass

Great Product!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this door for an elderly lady whose house had been broken into.
Had to do a little modification to pieces on door bottom.
Overall a great product for the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
from WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Purchase

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This security storm door is well-built, beautiful and easy to install. We were so pleased with this door we purchased two!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 36 in. x 80 in. Guardian Black Surface Mount Outswing Steel Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product