728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Security Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts

Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts

The Guardian security door, a member of the Unique Home Designs premium steel line, offers superior quality, security, and flexibility. Unique Home Designs premium steel doors feature a precision-welded, heavy-duty frame and hinges for maximum strength and security, as well as professionally mitered corners for strength and corrosion resistance. This Guardian model is outfitted with shatter-resistant glass inserts.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
Review 1 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
from Columbia, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was sturdy, an excellent choice for my front entranceway.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two security doors, one for the front and one for the back entryway. My wife informed me now she has an added sense of security because she can now answer the doorbell and have the security door between herself and a potential intruder. The doors are sturdy and does double duty as a storm door. I should have had these a couple of years ago before my front door was kicked while we were away on vacation.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
from Peoria Az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome storm /security door

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the screens also but was a little disappointed to see that I had to remove several screws to change from glass to screens. I would have liked to see a swivel lever that would make it easier to change
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts

Terrible one-way bolts

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only significant complaint about this product are the lousy one-way bolts used to secure the security door jams. The heads are painted with the same enamel-type finish used for the rest of the door. Unfortunately, the finish makes the bolt heads very slick and slightly rounds over the very small flats that are all you have to provide purchase for driving. The bolts are also longer than necessary (unless the zombie-apocolypse is real to you) - which wouldn't be an issue except when you realize it means the driver has jumped off the bolt head for the hundredth time and scratched the finish of the door again. They have touch-up paint on the recommended tool list and I totally understand why. Also, they say to drill 3/16th pilot holes, but do yourself a favor and drill a 1/4 inch pilot, it's still going to be a pain to drive the bolts even then (nobody is ever getting them out). The door looks great when it's up and it is quite sturdy and swings very smoothly on its hinges.
Pros: Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: one-way bolts are a headache
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts

Great Product!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this door for an elderly lady whose house had been broken into.
Had to do a little modification to pieces on door bottom.
Overall a great product for the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality & good price with MANY features!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In storm doors there's a WIDE price range and you DON'T always 'get what you pay for'. This steel product was actually cheaper than some "brand name" aluminum stuff (with poor reviews). Even after additional cost of handset & deadbolt, it's a far superior value! Pleasantly surprised by multiple features (all-around weatherstripping, double floor sweeps, one-way security hardware, shatterproof glass OR screen). Everyone who's seen it is impressed; I've now 'bear-proofed' my porch...and couldn't be more pleased! Installation does take some extra time but instructions are clear. Only downside: after 1st rain some surface rust discoloration @ a few weld joints was easily touched-up w/ paint.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts

Strong and solid

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very sturdy. Have not yet installed the door, so I rated it average in installation. Seems to be well built.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Security Storm Door was easy to install and looks great.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Door is extremely durable and looks great. Additionally, it was easier to install that I had anticipated.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
from Killeen, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is my second buy on this door

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second buy on this door. It is a storm door and security door in one. Very well made with a good grade of glass. Will buy another one when the occasion arises.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
from San Angelo, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Guardian security door

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife wanted a new screen door. I bought the Guardian screen/glass door online and saved money. It fits like a glove and is very secure. I wish I had done this years ago. A++
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts

Sturdy and Secure Door

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Door is well packaged and arrived safely. Clear instructions. The door and frame are strong and appear durable. Good buy.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
from ca

Beautiful Door

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This door is an excellent entry way door. It looks good and offers the advantage of the glass insert which allows you to view the world outside your home without sacrificing the air conditioning or heat.
Affordable price and more economical than most doors sold in my local stores.
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Guardian 36 in. x 80 in. Black Outswing Security Door with Shatter-Resistant Glass Inserts
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product