728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

This organic pest control formula is ideal for killing ants, earwigs, cockroaches, silverfish, crickets, millipedes and centipedes. The Safer Brand ant and crawling insect killer utilizes diatomaceous earth (AKA silicon dioxide) which includes a bait formula that kills insects by ingestion/dehydration within 48 hours. Works indoors and outdoors when kept dry. The efficient nature of this organic pest control product makes it the most economical and convenient solution to the wide array of garden annoyances on the market. OMRI Listed and compliant for use in organic gardening.
Overall rating:
2.786 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product7 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product7 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Review 1 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

DE works great

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used DE on our garden this summer with PHENOMENAL results. Out of 40 pounds of broccoli that was put up, only 1 (ONE) insect found. ONE!!!! Rest of garden produce was also clear of damage... our FIRST year without losing significant product to cut worms and other free-loaders!!! Requires re-dusting after rain, but a small price to eliminate using toxic dusts and chemicals.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Stamford, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works quite well.

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Seems to be very effective on our sugar ants. We still have a few stray sugar ants here and there, but better control then paying for the exterminator to come through and spray 'safe' chemicals all over. Side note, the 7oz bottle’s pour spout is a little ‘tricky’, the product tends to push out of spout in large 'puffs" rather then what I had expected, a smaller steady stream. Therefore just be careful about when you go to dispense.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

Ant Killer

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product arrived safe and sound. Easy to apply. Too early to know its effectiveness.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Riverview, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I litterally put this around an ant bed in the yard; days and even weeks later the ants were still trucking along. I was hoping this would be a good natural way to deal with the ants in our yard, but was very disappointed.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

Did not work

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It didn't work at ALL.
Not one single ant was killed! I would have been better off using boiling water, and much cheaper.
Though in it's defense, I believe I have super fire ants. I've seen then carrying away my dogs toys and playing catch with them.
Cons: did not work
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does work, be patient

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
D/earth does work. It just takes a day or two. It does work on adult ants, contrary to some posts. The biggest downside is using it outdoors as it washes away.
Pros: non toxic
Cons: washes away
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Newark, New Jersey

Good product

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far so good. Solved my ant infestation in 48 hours of use.
+21points
29out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

Worked a little bit, but not well enough for me

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this and it killed some of the fire ants, but not nearly enough. I bought 2 other brands, and the fire ants are now GONE!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Columbia, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product, that puts my mind at ease.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I work in a field where I have to conduct home visits. With the many scares about bed bugs, it's nice to know I have something to help to keep them out of my home , if I unfortunately come in contact with a customer who has them.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from washington dc

It don't work for roaches

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this product may work for minuscule ants and what not, but it does nothing for pest that will survive the apocalypse. Good luck if you purchase this item.
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

Product doesnt work at all for fleas.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This this product fails completely for killing fleas. I put some of this powder into a ziplock bag with a flea residing inside. Five days later the flea was still walking around with no ill effects.
-3points
8out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

total waste

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The description sounded very promising. I also liked the "green" appeal. However, it does not help with ants. I used it in various amounts all over my ant holes, covered it to protect from rain. The powder is still there, and so are the ants. Unfortunately, this was the waste of money.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

Will not affect most hard body insects, actually works by causing microscopic cuts on insect larvae.

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product will have limited results on the adult population. It works as most preventive care non-toxic materials do, by killing larvae thus preventing a next generation. If you have a serious problem use something stronger to kill those already present, in combination with this destroying both present and future populations.
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7 oz. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

NOT ENOUGH

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This all-natural hippie good for the earth stuff is not even close to what u will need, >> u need a destroy everything insecticide<<< dont bother with anything else when it comes to bed bugs. THIS WILL NOT WORK ON BED-BUGS
-21points
4out of 29found this review helpful.