728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

The Marathon 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows is made from micro-cellular polyurethane to help prevent flats. This steel-rimmed wheel is airless, lightweight and non-marking to provide the feel of pneumatic tires.
Overall rating:
4.459 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product51 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(43)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product51 of 57reviews
Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Review 1 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For axles EXACTLY 5/8" or 3/4" only!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The concept here is great but its application is limited. If your axle is precisely 5/8" or 3/4" then this works like a charm and I recommend it for it is a good quality tire replacement that won't ever go flat. BUT if your axle (like mine) is just a FRACTION OFF those two sizes, forget it. In my case, the axle was just barely larger than 5/8" (maybe by 1/32") so it would not fit through the bearings. They do include another set of bearings for a larger opening of 3/4" but that was too large and the axle would then wobble. I've attached a photo of my old wheelbarrow which is a very popular, inexpensive one widely used. If you have one like that, you might want to pass on this tire.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: limited to only two sizes of axle
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, Good Fit

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up this tire to replace a worn out tire that ended up getting shredded when we replaced our roof.
this tire kit came with some wheel spacers to help with replacing the wheel that came with your wheelbarrow. there was not an exact fit bit there have been no issues with the wheel rubbing or wobbling during use. I have used this to move about 2 yards of mulch and gravel and garbage. I'm pretty happy with the tire.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

Flat free

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Flat free... Whats not to love. Very easy to swap out the old wheel...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Napa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does a fine job of keeping my wheel barrel off the ground and it makes back breaking work a joy...in deed

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Fastest wheel barrow on my street, people walk by and stare in shear amazement at the beauty of it..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: $35. for a wheelbarrow wheel.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Northeast PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money.

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
$30+ for a replacement wheel seemed like a lot, but my wheelbarrow was in good shape so I went for it. Glad I did, when I got it home I noticed the plastic items were just spacers to center the wheel on the axle, real ball bearings, and a zerk fitting to grease it. Nice touch. Feels like a tubed tire.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Phoenix, AZ, USA

good product, east to install

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
comes with lots of adapters to make fitting easy... solid product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Castle Pines, Co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more flat tire!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With 20 yards of dirt to haul in the back yard I wore my wheel barrel tire out. Next time I won't have to stop in the middle of my next project to get a new tire for the wheel barrel.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Middleton, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more having to inflate the tire!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My wheelbarrow was a free hand-me-down from some neighbors, and was greatly appreciated; however, it showed up with some serious wear and tear. One of my biggest problems right off the bat was that the tire was really, really flat, so the whole wheelbarrow was riding really low to the ground, and that, of course, meant that every time I pushed it, I risked running one of the handles into my most sensitive areas. So, I had two options: 1) inflate the old, semi-cracked tire and hope that it didn't leak air too quickly; or 2) install the Universal Fit Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® from Marathon Industries. I chose the latter option, and couldn't be happier.
I had never changed a wheelbarrow tire before, but the packaging claimed that the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® would be "easy to install," so I went for it. The claim was right: it's a really easy process (especially since the instructions that came with the tire were clear and easy to follow). It took me less than 5 minutes to take off the old tire and bearings and install the new tire.
Another great thing about the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® is that it's made to fit many different types of wheelbarrows and other lawn and garden equipment including utility/dump carts, spreaders, and double-wheel wheelbarrows. For example: although the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® is not as wide as my wheelbarrow's old tire, it comes with several adjustment spacers which allowed me to install the Tire securely. I was also happy to find that the Tire was compatible with my wheelbarrow's existing axle because it came with both pre-installed 5/8" ball bearings and an extra set of 3/4" ball bearings.
My wheelbarrow now rides at full height, and I never need to worry about getting out the air compressor just to fill up this one tire. Really, the only thing about the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® that I don't understand is why they made it a whitewall tire. The white looks sleek when first installed but won't stay white for very long once I use it on more projects; however, this doesn't affect the utility or performance of the Tire, so it's not a big deal at all.
I'm totally happy with this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, adaptable, flat-free
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Apple Valley CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Things are getting 'cheaper' -in quality- every day.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation instructions were not easy to understand. The wheel spacers were made of plastic and because of these plastic parts, the life of the assembly is questionable...
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No More Flats!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This universal flat free tire is just perfect. No more dealing with low or flat tires on your wheelbarrow again. The tire comes with just about every adapter you will need to fit your wheelbarrow.
Pros: All In One, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More Constant Airing Up The Tire

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an old (30 plus years) wheelbarrow and the tire is weather checked and in constant need of airing up before I can use it.
Although the flat-free tire is not the same width or diameter as the original tire, it works just fine with the spacers that are included. In fact, maybe better because the wheelbarrow turns easier.
It comes with 5/8 inch bearings loaded in the spindle, which is what mine is, but it also comes with a 3/4 inch bearings. There is also a zerk fitting so that the bearings can be lubed.
The hardest part of replacing the tire was getting the nuts that have been on the spindle all these years to break loose so that I could get one nut off, slide it out of the old tire and into the new tire. I used penetrating oil and let it set. When that didn't work, I used some more penetrating oil and let it set. Finally the nut broke loose. When I got the new tire on, I lubed it, spun the tire around a few times, and took the wheelbarrow for a test drive.
Pros: Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Gloucester, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good solution.

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For anyone who has tired of replacing old leaky tubs for new leaky tubes, this noflat replacement is a quick fix. The tire is a little narrow and the it seems as if the tire itself is a little thin but overall I have faith in my old reliable wheel barrow again. Time will tell if it will last at least a few years.
Honestly, it doesnt make sense to put air tires on barrows or carts anymore if these foam filled ones are almost the same cost.
(Sorry tube manufacturers. You should have made better tubes)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

good product

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
got tires for a wagon. have not had a problem with them yet.
Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

All wheel barrel s should have flat free wheels

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far I put this wheel to use about 50 times.
Each time I use it I wish I bought it years ago.
It has same feel as tube tire but without the hassle of pumping up tire due to a slow leak. The assemble was easy and there were plenty of spacers to adjust the rim on the shaft.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Ocala, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very easy to install

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Should have done this years ago. Every time I wanted to use my wheelbarrow I had to inflate the tire. Finally I purchased a Marathon replacement tire.
Installation was simple and trouble free. It took about half an hour, working at a very liesurely pace. The only tools I needed were a 1/2" box wrench and a saw. (Needed the saw to adjust the length of the plastic bushings.)
To my surprise, the wheelbarrow is, now, much easier to push.
Looks durable but, I don't know how it's going to last.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

Easy install

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to put on and switch to fix axel , so far so good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from fairfield ct
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

consider other options

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
while a quality product I have found a Flat-Free on the Wheel Barrow is hard to push - would have prefered an inflatable tire with an intertube -
Pros: good quality
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No air required

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Got this tire to replace the one on my wheelbarrow. Didn't want to hassle with air anymore, especally since the stem broke. So far so good
Pros: Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Central Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All new wheelbarrows should have this wheel.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This replacement wheel is exactly what I needed. Came with adjustment bushings and the wonderful no flat tire. Great product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I own two very old wheelbarrows and through the years I have had to replace many wheels due to flats. It usually happens in the middle of a project, which means adding air several times or stopping the project to run to the store to buy another wheel. I am so excited about this flat-free wheelbarrow tire because project interruptions and frustration will be a thing of the past. I only have one new wheel now, but plan to get a second for my other wheelbarrow!
The wheel was easy to put on and center and the quality is very good. I expect it to last a long time!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>