728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

The Marathon 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows is made from micro-cellular polyurethane to help prevent flats. This steel-rimmed wheel is airless, lightweight and non-marking to provide the feel of pneumatic tires.
Overall rating:
4.463 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product48 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product48 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Review 1 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For axles EXACTLY 5/8" or 3/4" only!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The concept here is great but its application is limited. If your axle is precisely 5/8" or 3/4" then this works like a charm and I recommend it for it is a good quality tire replacement that won't ever go flat. BUT if your axle (like mine) is just a FRACTION OFF those two sizes, forget it. In my case, the axle was just barely larger than 5/8" (maybe by 1/32") so it would not fit through the bearings. They do include another set of bearings for a larger opening of 3/4" but that was too large and the axle would then wobble. I've attached a photo of my old wheelbarrow which is a very popular, inexpensive one widely used. If you have one like that, you might want to pass on this tire.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: limited to only two sizes of axle
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, Good Fit

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up this tire to replace a worn out tire that ended up getting shredded when we replaced our roof.
this tire kit came with some wheel spacers to help with replacing the wheel that came with your wheelbarrow. there was not an exact fit bit there have been no issues with the wheel rubbing or wobbling during use. I have used this to move about 2 yards of mulch and gravel and garbage. I'm pretty happy with the tire.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Middleton, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more having to inflate the tire!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wheelbarrow was a free hand-me-down from some neighbors, and was greatly appreciated; however, it showed up with some serious wear and tear. One of my biggest problems right off the bat was that the tire was really, really flat, so the whole wheelbarrow was riding really low to the ground, and that, of course, meant that every time I pushed it, I risked running one of the handles into my most sensitive areas. So, I had two options: 1) inflate the old, semi-cracked tire and hope that it didn't leak air too quickly; or 2) install the Universal Fit Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® from Marathon Industries. I chose the latter option, and couldn't be happier.
I had never changed a wheelbarrow tire before, but the packaging claimed that the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® would be "easy to install," so I went for it. The claim was right: it's a really easy process (especially since the instructions that came with the tire were clear and easy to follow). It took me less than 5 minutes to take off the old tire and bearings and install the new tire.
Another great thing about the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® is that it's made to fit many different types of wheelbarrows and other lawn and garden equipment including utility/dump carts, spreaders, and double-wheel wheelbarrows. For example: although the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® is not as wide as my wheelbarrow's old tire, it comes with several adjustment spacers which allowed me to install the Tire securely. I was also happy to find that the Tire was compatible with my wheelbarrow's existing axle because it came with both pre-installed 5/8" ball bearings and an extra set of 3/4" ball bearings.
My wheelbarrow now rides at full height, and I never need to worry about getting out the air compressor just to fill up this one tire. Really, the only thing about the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® that I don't understand is why they made it a whitewall tire. The white looks sleek when first installed but won't stay white for very long once I use it on more projects; however, this doesn't affect the utility or performance of the Tire, so it's not a big deal at all.
I'm totally happy with this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, adaptable, flat-free
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Napa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does a fine job of keeping my wheel barrel off the ground and it makes back breaking work a joy...in deed

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Fastest wheel barrow on my street, people walk by and stare in shear amazement at the beauty of it..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: $35. for a wheelbarrow wheel.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Castle Pines, Co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more flat tire!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With 20 yards of dirt to haul in the back yard I wore my wheel barrel tire out. Next time I won't have to stop in the middle of my next project to get a new tire for the wheel barrel.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More Constant Airing Up The Tire

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an old (30 plus years) wheelbarrow and the tire is weather checked and in constant need of airing up before I can use it.
Although the flat-free tire is not the same width or diameter as the original tire, it works just fine with the spacers that are included. In fact, maybe better because the wheelbarrow turns easier.
It comes with 5/8 inch bearings loaded in the spindle, which is what mine is, but it also comes with a 3/4 inch bearings. There is also a zerk fitting so that the bearings can be lubed.
The hardest part of replacing the tire was getting the nuts that have been on the spindle all these years to break loose so that I could get one nut off, slide it out of the old tire and into the new tire. I used penetrating oil and let it set. When that didn't work, I used some more penetrating oil and let it set. Finally the nut broke loose. When I got the new tire on, I lubed it, spun the tire around a few times, and took the wheelbarrow for a test drive.
Pros: Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Tucson
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One problem....

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After installing it on the wheel barrow I wanted to pump it full of grease, simple enough, I thought! To begin,the zirc fitting was loose, no biggie, snug it up and continue. I have 5 different grease guns and NONE of them would fit the fitting! I removed the stupid thing and found that it is a much larger diameter than the fittings I've been greasing for years! I replaced it with an American fitting, all better now. Do they have quality control in China???
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own two very old wheelbarrows and through the years I have had to replace many wheels due to flats. It usually happens in the middle of a project, which means adding air several times or stopping the project to run to the store to buy another wheel. I am so excited about this flat-free wheelbarrow tire because project interruptions and frustration will be a thing of the past. I only have one new wheel now, but plan to get a second for my other wheelbarrow!
The wheel was easy to put on and center and the quality is very good. I expect it to last a long time!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Broadview IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needed to purchase this wheel. The wheel that came with wheelbarrow that we had gotten that day had popped after using it once.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you purchase a wheelbarrow, best to get this flat free wheel. Since the one they give you with the wheelbarrow will not last. Would have been nice if they provided you with a decent wheel with the purchase of the wheelbarrow.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from phoenix

Hold your nose literally

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks great but the "rubber" that Marathon uses in their tires has an incredibly strong chemical odor and it will stink up your garage. Had to return it to the store.
Cons: odorous
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

All wheel barrel s should have flat free wheels

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far I put this wheel to use about 50 times.
Each time I use it I wish I bought it years ago.
It has same feel as tube tire but without the hassle of pumping up tire due to a slow leak. The assemble was easy and there were plenty of spacers to adjust the rim on the shaft.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beware if 3/4 inch axle

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is probably a very good product if you have a 5/8 inch axle. The bearings are already installed. Different story for 3/4 inch. The bearings simply would not fit. I destroyed one after trying the wood blocks and everything else to get it to fit. . I read another reviewer with the same problem. He solved it by using the bearings from his old wheels. Yes my old bearings fit these very well with out much effort. Did not want to use old bearings but either had to do that or ream out the hub or take them back. I needed to get some work done so I took the quickest remedy. I bought two for my tow cart because I was tired of finding one or both tires flat too often when I needed to use it. Based on the ratings I'm guessing that most buyers do not have 3/4 inch axels. Disappointed that engineering and quality control let these oversized 3/4 inch bearings out the door. I hope Home depot takes them out of stock or reduce the price and warn that they may not work on 3/4 inch.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No More Flats!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This universal flat free tire is just perfect. No more dealing with low or flat tires on your wheelbarrow again. The tire comes with just about every adapter you will need to fit your wheelbarrow.
Pros: All In One, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Camarillo, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wheelbarrow Wheel Replacement

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wheel replaced an older wheel with a tire that had broken down with age and would not hold air any longer. It was easy to install and worked well.
Pros: Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Gloucester, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good solution.

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For anyone who has tired of replacing old leaky tubs for new leaky tubes, this noflat replacement is a quick fix. The tire is a little narrow and the it seems as if the tire itself is a little thin but overall I have faith in my old reliable wheel barrow again. Time will tell if it will last at least a few years.
Honestly, it doesnt make sense to put air tires on barrows or carts anymore if these foam filled ones are almost the same cost.
(Sorry tube manufacturers. You should have made better tubes)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like these tires. I have installed them on my pull cart and now on my wheel barrow. They are a bit pricey, but so far I have not had to replace any of them....ever.
The tire is fairly easy to install on any size axle. The directions are fine, but not great. For example, to remove the inner bushing you need to hammer it out from the opposite side with something sturdy, I used a 6" piece of steel. I then replaced it with one of the bushings that fit my axle. Also, the tire was not centered on my wheel barrow, so I used some of the extra bushings provided to make up the distance between the edge of the hub and the tire itself.
Pros: Durable, All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No air required

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this tire to replace the one on my wheelbarrow. Didn't want to hassle with air anymore, especally since the stem broke. So far so good
Pros: Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Baytown, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Iam truly amazed at the way they are made

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I pick the's up at the store one of the store employee show me the part good price and they are holding up good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Mechanicsville, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great, easy to install and comes with additional hub sizes

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great problem solver. no more flat tires. have put them on my generator, hand cart and not tow behind lawn trailer. sure is peace of mind as to will I need the compressor before I can use the item.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Ocala, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very easy to install

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Should have done this years ago. Every time I wanted to use my wheelbarrow I had to inflate the tire. Finally I purchased a Marathon replacement tire.
Installation was simple and trouble free. It took about half an hour, working at a very liesurely pace. The only tools I needed were a 1/2" box wrench and a saw. (Needed the saw to adjust the length of the plastic bushings.)
To my surprise, the wheelbarrow is, now, much easier to push.
Looks durable but, I don't know how it's going to last.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>