728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

The Marathon 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows is made from micro-cellular polyurethane to help prevent flats. This steel-rimmed wheel is airless, lightweight and non-marking to provide the feel of pneumatic tires.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product45 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product45 of 48reviews
Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Review 1 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For axles EXACTLY 5/8" or 3/4" only!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The concept here is great but its application is limited. If your axle is precisely 5/8" or 3/4" then this works like a charm and I recommend it for it is a good quality tire replacement that won't ever go flat. BUT if your axle (like mine) is just a FRACTION OFF those two sizes, forget it. In my case, the axle was just barely larger than 5/8" (maybe by 1/32") so it would not fit through the bearings. They do include another set of bearings for a larger opening of 3/4" but that was too large and the axle would then wobble. I've attached a photo of my old wheelbarrow which is a very popular, inexpensive one widely used. If you have one like that, you might want to pass on this tire.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: limited to only two sizes of axle
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, Good Fit

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up this tire to replace a worn out tire that ended up getting shredded when we replaced our roof.
this tire kit came with some wheel spacers to help with replacing the wheel that came with your wheelbarrow. there was not an exact fit bit there have been no issues with the wheel rubbing or wobbling during use. I have used this to move about 2 yards of mulch and gravel and garbage. I'm pretty happy with the tire.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Middleton, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more having to inflate the tire!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wheelbarrow was a free hand-me-down from some neighbors, and was greatly appreciated; however, it showed up with some serious wear and tear. One of my biggest problems right off the bat was that the tire was really, really flat, so the whole wheelbarrow was riding really low to the ground, and that, of course, meant that every time I pushed it, I risked running one of the handles into my most sensitive areas. So, I had two options: 1) inflate the old, semi-cracked tire and hope that it didn't leak air too quickly; or 2) install the Universal Fit Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® from Marathon Industries. I chose the latter option, and couldn't be happier.
I had never changed a wheelbarrow tire before, but the packaging claimed that the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® would be "easy to install," so I went for it. The claim was right: it's a really easy process (especially since the instructions that came with the tire were clear and easy to follow). It took me less than 5 minutes to take off the old tire and bearings and install the new tire.
Another great thing about the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® is that it's made to fit many different types of wheelbarrows and other lawn and garden equipment including utility/dump carts, spreaders, and double-wheel wheelbarrows. For example: although the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® is not as wide as my wheelbarrow's old tire, it comes with several adjustment spacers which allowed me to install the Tire securely. I was also happy to find that the Tire was compatible with my wheelbarrow's existing axle because it came with both pre-installed 5/8" ball bearings and an extra set of 3/4" ball bearings.
My wheelbarrow now rides at full height, and I never need to worry about getting out the air compressor just to fill up this one tire. Really, the only thing about the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® that I don't understand is why they made it a whitewall tire. The white looks sleek when first installed but won't stay white for very long once I use it on more projects; however, this doesn't affect the utility or performance of the Tire, so it's not a big deal at all.
I'm totally happy with this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, adaptable, flat-free
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Castle Pines, Co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more flat tire!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With 20 yards of dirt to haul in the back yard I wore my wheel barrel tire out. Next time I won't have to stop in the middle of my next project to get a new tire for the wheel barrel.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Napa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does a fine job of keeping my wheel barrel off the ground and it makes back breaking work a joy...in deed

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Fastest wheel barrow on my street, people walk by and stare in shear amazement at the beauty of it..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: $35. for a wheelbarrow wheel.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More Constant Airing Up The Tire

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an old (30 plus years) wheelbarrow and the tire is weather checked and in constant need of airing up before I can use it.
Although the flat-free tire is not the same width or diameter as the original tire, it works just fine with the spacers that are included. In fact, maybe better because the wheelbarrow turns easier.
It comes with 5/8 inch bearings loaded in the spindle, which is what mine is, but it also comes with a 3/4 inch bearings. There is also a zerk fitting so that the bearings can be lubed.
The hardest part of replacing the tire was getting the nuts that have been on the spindle all these years to break loose so that I could get one nut off, slide it out of the old tire and into the new tire. I used penetrating oil and let it set. When that didn't work, I used some more penetrating oil and let it set. Finally the nut broke loose. When I got the new tire on, I lubed it, spun the tire around a few times, and took the wheelbarrow for a test drive.
Pros: Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own two very old wheelbarrows and through the years I have had to replace many wheels due to flats. It usually happens in the middle of a project, which means adding air several times or stopping the project to run to the store to buy another wheel. I am so excited about this flat-free wheelbarrow tire because project interruptions and frustration will be a thing of the past. I only have one new wheel now, but plan to get a second for my other wheelbarrow!
The wheel was easy to put on and center and the quality is very good. I expect it to last a long time!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Camarillo, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wheelbarrow Wheel Replacement

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wheel replaced an older wheel with a tire that had broken down with age and would not hold air any longer. It was easy to install and worked well.
Pros: Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No More Flats!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This universal flat free tire is just perfect. No more dealing with low or flat tires on your wheelbarrow again. The tire comes with just about every adapter you will need to fit your wheelbarrow.
Pros: All In One, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like these tires. I have installed them on my pull cart and now on my wheel barrow. They are a bit pricey, but so far I have not had to replace any of them....ever.
The tire is fairly easy to install on any size axle. The directions are fine, but not great. For example, to remove the inner bushing you need to hammer it out from the opposite side with something sturdy, I used a 6" piece of steel. I then replaced it with one of the bushings that fit my axle. Also, the tire was not centered on my wheel barrow, so I used some of the extra bushings provided to make up the distance between the edge of the hub and the tire itself.
Pros: Durable, All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

All wheel barrel s should have flat free wheels

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far I put this wheel to use about 50 times.
Each time I use it I wish I bought it years ago.
It has same feel as tube tire but without the hassle of pumping up tire due to a slow leak. The assemble was easy and there were plenty of spacers to adjust the rim on the shaft.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Northern Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved my old wheel barrow

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a new wheel for my heavy-duty wheel barrow for some time, but couldn’t find a proper replacement. This wheel came with an assortment of spacers and bushings so I was able to get it to fit the axle perfectly. I’m thrilled that I now have my heavy-duty wheel barrow back in service. So far I’ve used it to carry several loads of gravel and the tire felt like a regular pneumatic tire. This airless tire is the way to go for this application.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, versatile installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Baytown, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Iam truly amazed at the way they are made

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I pick the's up at the store one of the store employee show me the part good price and they are holding up good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Boise, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sturdy wheel

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great sturdy replacement wheel for my old wheelbarrow. Easy to put on.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Mechanicsville, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great, easy to install and comes with additional hub sizes

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great problem solver. no more flat tires. have put them on my generator, hand cart and not tow behind lawn trailer. sure is peace of mind as to will I need the compressor before I can use the item.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No air required

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this tire to replace the one on my wheelbarrow. Didn't want to hassle with air anymore, especally since the stem broke. So far so good
Pros: Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Roswell, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have bought this long ago!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a GREAT ITEM! This wheel is easy to install, and is never flat! If you are tire of pumping up your wheelbarrow tire, then buy this, you will not be sorry!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Reno, Nevada

Barrow Tire

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to replace with existing tire. Bushings seem a little flimsy but have used for a few hours now and product is solidly holding it's integrity.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

Does what it says on the tin

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, thus far completely reliable. An excellent buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No more flat tires

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having to inflate my tire on the wheelbarrow more than a few times, I found I could just replace it with one that never needs to be inflated. Wish I had done this sooner!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, maintenance free
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>