728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

The Marathon 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows is made from micro-cellular polyurethane to help prevent flats. This steel-rimmed wheel is airless, lightweight and non-marking to provide the feel of pneumatic tires.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Review 1 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
choptop
from Napa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does a fine job of keeping my wheel barrel off the ground and it makes back breaking work a joy...in deed

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Fastest wheel barrow on my street, people walk by and stare in shear amazement at the beauty of it..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: $35. for a wheelbarrow wheel.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
John

All wheel barrel s should have flat free wheels

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far I put this wheel to use about 50 times.
Each time I use it I wish I bought it years ago.
It has same feel as tube tire but without the hassle of pumping up tire due to a slow leak. The assemble was easy and there were plenty of spacers to adjust the rim on the shaft.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
JillDIYer
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No air required

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this tire to replace the one on my wheelbarrow. Didn't want to hassle with air anymore, especally since the stem broke. So far so good
Pros: Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
GardenMama
from Holiday, Florida 34691
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more flats!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was exactly what we needed to fix our wheelbarrow. My husband had to cut new plastic spacers because the ones included were too small. It's perfect now and should last nearly forever without a flat!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Rrhwy46
from Spring Branch, TX 78070, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great solution to my problem!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trailer for my lawn tractor had chronic flat tire issues. No matter what I did, they would not hold air. These solid tires are sold to replace wheel barrow tires, but they provide an assortment of washers and inserts to accommodate a variety of axle sizes. Easy to install. Problem solved - no more flat tires!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Hatchet
from Alameda, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flat Free Wheels and Tires are a good addition to a wheelbarrow.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After fixing multiple flats on multiple wheelbarrows for years, I have now changed all of my wheelbarrows to the flat free product. It makes the wheelbarrow ready for use 100% of the time.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
orfive
from orfive

works great

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After years of wheelbarrows I fill up only to find I can't move them because the tire is flat, I got this tire. It is awesome. I don't have to worry about using it now, just fill and go. Love it
Pros: Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
OldMan
from Ocala, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very easy to install

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Should have done this years ago. Every time I wanted to use my wheelbarrow I had to inflate the tire. Finally I purchased a Marathon replacement tire.
Installation was simple and trouble free. It took about half an hour, working at a very liesurely pace. The only tools I needed were a 1/2" box wrench and a saw. (Needed the saw to adjust the length of the plastic bushings.)
To my surprise, the wheelbarrow is, now, much easier to push.
Looks durable but, I don't know how it's going to last.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
PapaRocks
from Gloucester, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good solution.

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For anyone who has tired of replacing old leaky tubs for new leaky tubes, this noflat replacement is a quick fix. The tire is a little narrow and the it seems as if the tire itself is a little thin but overall I have faith in my old reliable wheel barrow again. Time will tell if it will last at least a few years.
Honestly, it doesnt make sense to put air tires on barrows or carts anymore if these foam filled ones are almost the same cost.
(Sorry tube manufacturers. You should have made better tubes)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
johnawc
from Fernandina Beach, FL 32034, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more flat when needed

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife's wheelbarrow used for gardening had a tubed tire. Frequently, I would get called to the garage to fix the tire that had come off of the rim after the wheelbarrow had been loaded following a period of deflation. THis product stopped the pain. It is adaptable to almost any axle length and it has zirc grease fittings. This is a no brainer.
Pros: no maintenance required
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
bobsmontana
from Central Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All new wheelbarrows should have this wheel.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replacement wheel is exactly what I needed. Came with adjustment bushings and the wonderful no flat tire. Great product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Guillo
from Newbury Park, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect replacement

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace the original wheel. Went to another store and bought what they had. Then I happened to see this item at Home Depot and not only it was was good as the other one but the price was almost half of what I had paid. So I replaced it, It works great and finally I returned the first one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
rgm827
from Laredo, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got tired of fixing flats on my wheelbarrow. Looks pretty durable. Good price.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Unsworth
from Jackson, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best Replacement Tire for Wheelbarrow

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have put two of these on two differnent wheelbarrows and it is the best thing to do. Work better than ever. Extends the life of the wheelbarrow.
Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
SonicWizard
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product; Easy to install; Sturdy

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took just a few minutes to install. Feels very sturdy and stable. I like it better than the prior pneumatic tire. Pleased with purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
CentralCoastHandyman
from Santa Maria, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Back On My Wheel Again

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What's to say. It's just a wheel, but I won't have to worry about starting up the compressor and putting air in it all the time any more. It came with all the goodies to make it fit just about any wheelbarrow and it was easy to install. No more flats, YAY! A little high price wise but being able to just pick it up and go is more important sometimes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Long-Lasting, trouble-free
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
KRISP
from Milford, PA 18337, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement wheel

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started building a fence and the 2 80# bags of concrete in my wheelbarrow destroyed the stock wheel. Got this as a replacement and it has held up extremely well. Very easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
derf
from Granada Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wheelbarrow wheel replacement

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I chose the flat free wheel. When I installed it I found that both shaft bushings were not the correct size for the shaft rod that my wheelbarrow came with. I had no choice but to install it and go to work. The wheel wobbles.
Cons: Limited Features
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
McLAaronF1
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It starts out bad because I had to grease it right away because I could hear the ball bearings rolling and there was some resistance. However when I did it worked great but the grease fitting broke off in my grease gun :( I called the manufacturer and they had THE best customer service I have had almost ever. They sent me a new fitting and its working fantastic. No more flat tires and tubes for this guy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
lastguy
from handyman, CA

good quality easy to use price a bit high

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the wheel costs all most same as my wheel barrow bought 5 years ago and original wheel is low quality, cracked, leak on stem, and eventually broken. HD low cost wheel barrow has even poor wheel - these years USA learn a lot from China to make garbage product while China also learn a lot from USA to make good product.
anyway I used WD40 spray then manually removed the axis clamps from my old wheel, use plastic pipes with this wheel and reassemble is very easy.
if it remove the extra two ball bearings (no use for most low cost barrow below $100) the price would be better.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: price
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>