728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

The Marathon 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows is made from micro-cellular polyurethane to help prevent flats. This steel-rimmed wheel is airless, lightweight and non-marking to provide the feel of pneumatic tires.
Overall rating:
4.412 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product57 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(47)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product57 of 63reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
Review 1 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For axles EXACTLY 5/8" or 3/4" only!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The concept here is great but its application is limited. If your axle is precisely 5/8" or 3/4" then this works like a charm and I recommend it for it is a good quality tire replacement that won't ever go flat. BUT if your axle (like mine) is just a FRACTION OFF those two sizes, forget it. In my case, the axle was just barely larger than 5/8" (maybe by 1/32") so it would not fit through the bearings. They do include another set of bearings for a larger opening of 3/4" but that was too large and the axle would then wobble. I've attached a photo of my old wheelbarrow which is a very popular, inexpensive one widely used. If you have one like that, you might want to pass on this tire.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: limited to only two sizes of axle
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, Good Fit

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up this tire to replace a worn out tire that ended up getting shredded when we replaced our roof.
this tire kit came with some wheel spacers to help with replacing the wheel that came with your wheelbarrow. there was not an exact fit bit there have been no issues with the wheel rubbing or wobbling during use. I have used this to move about 2 yards of mulch and gravel and garbage. I'm pretty happy with the tire.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Napa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does a fine job of keeping my wheel barrel off the ground and it makes back breaking work a joy...in deed

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Fastest wheel barrow on my street, people walk by and stare in shear amazement at the beauty of it..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: $35. for a wheelbarrow wheel.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Middleton, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more having to inflate the tire!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My wheelbarrow was a free hand-me-down from some neighbors, and was greatly appreciated; however, it showed up with some serious wear and tear. One of my biggest problems right off the bat was that the tire was really, really flat, so the whole wheelbarrow was riding really low to the ground, and that, of course, meant that every time I pushed it, I risked running one of the handles into my most sensitive areas. So, I had two options: 1) inflate the old, semi-cracked tire and hope that it didn't leak air too quickly; or 2) install the Universal Fit Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® from Marathon Industries. I chose the latter option, and couldn't be happier.
I had never changed a wheelbarrow tire before, but the packaging claimed that the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® would be "easy to install," so I went for it. The claim was right: it's a really easy process (especially since the instructions that came with the tire were clear and easy to follow). It took me less than 5 minutes to take off the old tire and bearings and install the new tire.
Another great thing about the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® is that it's made to fit many different types of wheelbarrows and other lawn and garden equipment including utility/dump carts, spreaders, and double-wheel wheelbarrows. For example: although the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® is not as wide as my wheelbarrow's old tire, it comes with several adjustment spacers which allowed me to install the Tire securely. I was also happy to find that the Tire was compatible with my wheelbarrow's existing axle because it came with both pre-installed 5/8" ball bearings and an extra set of 3/4" ball bearings.
My wheelbarrow now rides at full height, and I never need to worry about getting out the air compressor just to fill up this one tire. Really, the only thing about the Flat-Free Wheelbarrow Tire® that I don't understand is why they made it a whitewall tire. The white looks sleek when first installed but won't stay white for very long once I use it on more projects; however, this doesn't affect the utility or performance of the Tire, so it's not a big deal at all.
I'm totally happy with this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, adaptable, flat-free
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Mechanicsville, Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great and easy to install. The pneumatic tires were lighter but I believe this will hold up better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stepped up!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a little issue changing out wheel bearings but there were two sizes included with tire. Looks great! Used cart immediately, ez squeezie!
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

Replacement Wheel for Wheelbarrow -- No alternative.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No choice but to buy this replacement wheel now that big box hardware stores no longer sell just replacement tires or tubes for wheelbarrows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Castle Pines, Co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more flat tire!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With 20 yards of dirt to haul in the back yard I wore my wheel barrel tire out. Next time I won't have to stop in the middle of my next project to get a new tire for the wheel barrel.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

Flat free

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Flat free... Whats not to love. Very easy to swap out the old wheel...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Northeast PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money.

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
$30+ for a replacement wheel seemed like a lot, but my wheelbarrow was in good shape so I went for it. Glad I did, when I got it home I noticed the plastic items were just spacers to center the wheel on the axle, real ball bearings, and a zerk fitting to grease it. Nice touch. Feels like a tubed tire.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Hamburg, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Problem solved!

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I didn't use my wheelbarrow that often, but when I did, I always seemed to have a flat tire. Got tired of putting air in it every time I wanted to use it. Buying this flat free tire was the perfect solution. TIre fits perfectly, and I never have to add air!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Hoschton, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great purchase

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Wheel size was different but parts package included the necessary parts to make the product work. Bushings were easy to install. Have already used to wheelbarrel for heavy loads and it works great. Easy to install whell with existing parts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Cinn, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

WHEEL FOR LAWNMOWER UTILITY CART

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was very easy to install and and much higher quality than the tires that came with the lawnmower utility cart. I was able to install without requiring tools !!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from SE CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loose zerk grease fitting

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Looks like it might be a reasonable product if the quality was there. Mounted it on the wheelbarrow and tried to grease it up with the grease gun. The zerk grease fitting came loose from the steel wheel. I got a wrench and tried to tighten it, but it wouldn't tighten (threads appear stripped). And then the fitting itself came apart (it's made of two parts, one of which threads into the other one). So I tried to tighten those two parts together, but those also appear to be stripped.
The plastic spacers that came with it helped as far as installation as I had no problems putting it on the wheelbarrow. I have a 5/8" axle, on which the wheel went without problem, although I wish the fit was tighter between the wheel bearings ID (inside diameter) and the axle. When spun, the wheel bearings appear to mostly spin on the axle, rather than the wheel bearings themselves spinning (which kind of defeats the point of having ball bearings). I don't know whether this a case of the axle being too small, or the wheel bearing ID being too large.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Phoenix, AZ, USA

good product, east to install

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
comes with lots of adapters to make fitting easy... solid product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No More Flats!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This universal flat free tire is just perfect. No more dealing with low or flat tires on your wheelbarrow again. The tire comes with just about every adapter you will need to fit your wheelbarrow.
Pros: All In One, Sturdy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Gloucester, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good solution.

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For anyone who has tired of replacing old leaky tubs for new leaky tubes, this noflat replacement is a quick fix. The tire is a little narrow and the it seems as if the tire itself is a little thin but overall I have faith in my old reliable wheel barrow again. Time will tell if it will last at least a few years.
Honestly, it doesnt make sense to put air tires on barrows or carts anymore if these foam filled ones are almost the same cost.
(Sorry tube manufacturers. You should have made better tubes)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More Constant Airing Up The Tire

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an old (30 plus years) wheelbarrow and the tire is weather checked and in constant need of airing up before I can use it.
Although the flat-free tire is not the same width or diameter as the original tire, it works just fine with the spacers that are included. In fact, maybe better because the wheelbarrow turns easier.
It comes with 5/8 inch bearings loaded in the spindle, which is what mine is, but it also comes with a 3/4 inch bearings. There is also a zerk fitting so that the bearings can be lubed.
The hardest part of replacing the tire was getting the nuts that have been on the spindle all these years to break loose so that I could get one nut off, slide it out of the old tire and into the new tire. I used penetrating oil and let it set. When that didn't work, I used some more penetrating oil and let it set. Finally the nut broke loose. When I got the new tire on, I lubed it, spun the tire around a few times, and took the wheelbarrow for a test drive.
Pros: Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows
from Ocala, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very easy to install

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Should have done this years ago. Every time I wanted to use my wheelbarrow I had to inflate the tire. Finally I purchased a Marathon replacement tire.
Installation was simple and trouble free. It took about half an hour, working at a very liesurely pace. The only tools I needed were a 1/2" box wrench and a saw. (Needed the saw to adjust the length of the plastic bushings.)
To my surprise, the wheelbarrow is, now, much easier to push.
Looks durable but, I don't know how it's going to last.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-1/2 in. Flat-Free Wheel for Wheelbarrows

All wheel barrel s should have flat free wheels

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far I put this wheel to use about 50 times.
Each time I use it I wish I bought it years ago.
It has same feel as tube tire but without the hassle of pumping up tire due to a slow leak. The assemble was easy and there were plenty of spacers to adjust the rim on the shaft.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>