728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

Your dirtiest laundry has met its match with this high-efficiency Bravos X washer. The PowerWash cycle gets out the toughest stains, and its 10 automatic cycles and five temperature settings let you control how much cleaning power you need. Its 3.6 cu. ft. capacity means there's plenty of room for your laundry, while Low Water Wash with EcoConserve uses 70 percent less water and energy. The QuietSeries Sound Package and advanced vibration control keeps things quiet. Take charge.
Overall rating:
4.045 / 5
4
 / 
5
(198 reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product147 of 189reviews
Rating Breakdown 198 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(120)
4
(29)
3
(15)
2
(6)
1
(28)
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product147 of 189reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
Review 1 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Ballwin, MO.

I did the homework for you!

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have fully researched the whole field of washing machines, and if you are looking for a top load high efficiency (HE) washing machine around $600, then the Maytag MVWX600XW may be the one for you. The whole concept of HE washing machines first requires one to change their whole perception of washing clothes. I am still getting used to this technology.
First, one has to forget agitators when thinking top loads. The good news is that it will give you more capacity. One had to forget old sudsy soap and use HE detergent which cost the same. One has to forget the traditional sounds of a washing machine and get used to the weird sounds of an HE machine. One has to give up the power to set water levels and load sizes, as today's machines do that for you. Your idea of hot water is not the machine's idea of hot water, but you don't have to get it so hot to have clean clothes. One has to read the manual as how to properly stack clothes--dumping them in is not the best option.One has to give up the urge to watch the clothes being washed (now they have the lids lock). If you must look as part of your learning experience, I can give you a trick. One has to accept the fact that the high RPM spin (which is so quiet) will compress and pre-dry your clothes more than you might imagine. Once you have an open mind to these concepts you can proceed.
Now my advice is critical--you have to read and understand the manual. It is not hard. You may want to experiment with different load and clothing type setting, extra rinse cycles, and a few other options. I copied and posted that page on the wall in the laundry room for future reference.
The Maytag MVWX600XW is the newer generation of that model, so I think some of the earlier bugs of top loaders have been worked out. You'll love the spacious stainless steel drum. The unit does not seem cheaply made (150 lbs), and does not "walk" like the old washers. The dials and buttons, although semi-digital, feel great. The "time remaining" and "progress bar" are neat features that you'll find you will come to appreciate. My wife likes it and the clothes are clean. I rated it at four stars as we have only had the machine for about 10 days, but have washed all kinds of different loads as part of our learning experience. Read the descriptions, and the specs and you'll see that you are getting a lot for the money. I wasn't too worried about saving water as it is the cheapest utility, and I wished they all used more water but you are not going to find that. But, electricity usage should be less, the gas bill lower, and the lower water bill will lower the sewer bill eventually. Over time I imagine these savings will add up. Only time will tell of the longevity of the machine. I will write again after we have had this washing machine longer to give a true review based on more time in use. As someone recently said to me--don't over think it, it's just washing clothes.
+46points
56out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has great features

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this washer after much research on many washers. We started out set on a front loading machine but due to our available space, we set our purchase on a top loader and then consider the various Maytag washers being very happy w/other Maytag products in our home. The washer was delivered on 10/26/11. I read the guidelines as to how to sort for optimum cleanliness w/a top loading HE washer. The guidelines for the various types of washer loads are easy to understand. The placement of clothes was not hard to get used to & I have found that regardless of the load, the spin cycle is correct. Thanks Maytag for a product the provides quality and value for the money.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Rehoboth Beach, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I would never buy this product again

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this washer in November 2010. Yes, it does take getting used to. I found out soon that the spinning cycle is way too rough, white clothes come out way too wrinkled.
One month after the 1 yr warranty ran out, the washer would not spin anymore. I had the service here twice which stretched over 2 weeks. I did have to pay for the expensive service call but Maytag paid for the parts.
What irritates me even more is that my laundry does not come out as clean as I was used to, even if the laundry had been soaked before.
Wish I had the money to buy another washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Pittsburgh

help me-I'm too wet to get up!

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Iwas so excited to have upgraded to a new, high efficiency washer and dryer. Maytag is a good brand so I was confident for success. The dryer is wonderful, but I am so very dissappointed with the washer. Actually, the washer was totally unacceptable! The spin cycle only worked about 2% of the time. What is high efficiency about that?
The store let me trade in on a front loading set and I hope that will not dissappoint.
If you have this, good luck.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Sacramento

Sign says it was 4.3 cu. ft. High-eff=poor results

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In what world do they call this warm water? Water is either hot or cold...nothing in between. So much for trying to conserve energy and actually clean your clothes too! Not impressed with washer. On normal setting water is cold, says it will be warm . After running just two minutes threw in a pair of jeans I forgot. After cycle was over jeans still on top... still dry. So what was this machine doing for 45 minutes?
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Wake Forest, NC

Use "bulky" and "heavy wash" settings

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took us awhile to figure out how to make this machine work for us. Specifically, it was difficult at first for it to get our clothes all the way clean. The solution was to adjust the setting to "bulky" and "heavy wash." Without that, our child's clothes do not come clean.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

I tried to like it........

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
but this washer was a huge disappointment. Besides being so loud we can hear it all through our house, there are other issues with this model. Even though it is level, it jumps all over during any spin cycle. It's not unbalanced either - it did it when I ran the Affresh cleaner through it before the first use as recommended. The spin cycles are way too rough - even the low spin. This machine is wrecking my permanent press and delicate clothes. I hate this washer but thankfully Home Depot is correcting the problem by letting me exchange for the comparable LG set for the same price. That's the only good thing I can say about this situation. I definately could not recommend this washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Cortland, Ohio

Met all my expectations

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this washer for a week and a half. It replaced a 22 year old maytag that just wasn't spinning too well anymore, but had been a great machine. I did a lot of research to figure out what I wanted, and what worked with my budget. I was a little worried about some of the negative comments I read, especially about wrinking. I read the manual before I ran it and my first load was a huge towel load. That load took quite a while but it was clean, fresh, and not wrinkled. Because it does such a big load I don't do as much laundry, and it really does get out set in stains. I am very happy with this machine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Cottage Grove, MN

Happy Consumer!

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When my very old washing machine died, I found myself shopping for washer and dryers and noticed that the technology had sure changed! I selected this wash machine (and matching dryer) since it was high efficiency and it was bigger than what I had previously. I felt that it was a good purchase for the price point. It was delivered a few days later and they quickly removed old equipment and hooked up new. I have used the washer quite extensively for the past several days...and it seems to be working great! There are many features and once you make your selection based on type/size of load, it does all the rest!!! My clothes seem to be very clean! I like that the dryer has some nice features too, like the Sanitize cycle! All in all, I am happy with the purchase and think the new technology is great and it is nice to know that the machine is high in efficiency!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

Poor Washing results

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Although it uses substantially less water than my old agitator washer, the cleaning ability of this machine is poor and it wrinkles my clothes so bad that I only use this machine for sheets and towels and send out my shirts and pants for dry cleaning.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Rochester, NY

Awesome machine

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rarely write reviews but felt compelled to share my experience here. This machine washes clothes to perfection using very little water. You can "set it and forget it" by selecting a preset cycle or modify any of the settings to your liking. I also purchased the matching gas dryer and I am very pleased with it too. Great buy - highly recommend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Major Repair Required!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We bought our washer in May, 2011. About a month ago, it would not complete its spin cycle. To make a long story short, it needed a new transmission, belt, and shifter (gear for spin cycle operation). I called Home Depot who referred me to Maytag since the washer was still under a one year warranty. Maytag set up an appointment for GGSL Appliance Repair to come to our home to diagnose the problem and then a second visit would be needed to make the repair. The GGSL repairman said this was the first bad transmission (leaking oil) he had come across. Thankfully, as the year warranty was in still in effect, we did not have to pay anything. The repair man came to our home three times (first to diagnose the problem and twice to complete the repair; on the second trip he had another repairman with him to help diagnose and make the repair). GSSL headquarters never returned my phone calls; very frustrating! Thankfully, I had their repairman's cell phone number. He was mostly prompt in returning my calls, coming out to the house, and the washer is working fine now. A major concern is that he told me that the new parts would only be under warranty until the one year warranty was up. I have not yet called Maytag about this as it seems to me that the new parts should also be under warranty for one year. Both repairmen said I should get an extended warranty. Not so sure I can fully recommend this model. Before this problem happened, we were fairly pleased with the performance, almost always using the normal settings.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Dallas, TX

Great machine with wide variety of cycles.

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did a ton of research before purchasing this machine due to the severity of the negative reviews it got. But as most of the good reviews stated, you have to read the manual and follow loading instructions for a good result. I've had no problems with the functioning of the washer but I have had to play with controls as far as soil level, raising it to higher than I would have thought to get out stains, especially when using the hand wash cycle. Overall its great. Yes the lid does slant so things do tend to roll off it they are closer to the front. You get used to it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

BRAVOS 4.3 TOP LOAD

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
JUST AFTER USING IT FOR 3 WEEKS IT HAS STOP WORKING AND HAVE TO GO THE THE LAUNDRMAT
TO CLEAN MY CLOTHS WHILE WAIT ING FOR THE REPAIR MAN TO GET TO ME. THE ELECTRONICS SENSING SYSTEM IS THE PROBLEM.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Murrieta,CA

Great Looks, tough on clothes

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I initially was excited to get this high-tech washer. I loved the digital display and it shows minutes remaining in cycle. However, the first night I got it, didn't complete a cycle. Called maytag service and got it repaired.
It only washes well on power wash cycle (which incidentally has the same settings as their whites cycle), but beats up your clothes (as evidenced in amout of piling, wear on new clothes, and large amount of lint collected in dryer). So, I tried washing in the cycles that use a little more water (bulky-63 min. and hand wash-37 min.). The hand wash is a little more gentle, but does not clean well. The bulky uses a little more water and cleans o.k. I was dissapointed in how it washed. It was even rougher than my old agitator and pulled strings out of some hems and was very rough on several towels. I guess that is because of its low water use and the clothes rubbing up on the impeller. I tried the soak cycle (30 minutes minimum), and it was o.k. Didn't make too much of a difference in stain removal (low water level). I expected a lot more from this washer. It looks better than it works. The basic requirement for a washer is to clean clothes well, without ruining them. I feel that this machine was only fair in performance. Don't be misled like I was by the extra features( electronic display, end of cycle signal, SS tub, minutes remaining in cycle), if your clothes come out worn and many stains aren't washed out. Luckily, HD agreed to return it that same week. I will be exchanging it for a machine that is not HE. Thank you HD for your great service!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Houston TX

best washer!

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After much research I chose this machine due to the wash cycles available as well as the fabric softener dispenser. The bulky cycle can easily handle a queen blanket and even my dogs' beds. Every cycle has preset features that can be adjusted to your liking. I no longer have to rinse a load again because the Downy ball left softener all over my clothes. At first I was skeptical of the impeller vs. agitator and washing with much less water, but after a few loads I was impressed; my clothes were as clean if not cleaner! I have noticed that my drying time is much shorter and clothes are not as wrinkled as before. I would recommend this washer to anyone! One note though...I highly recommend that you read every page of the manual before use to utilize all of the cool features this machine has.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Hapeville, GA

Good so far...

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this machine a couple of weeks ago. Looks great, seems to work great. Very different from the 'old' washing machines.
As a few of the other reviews have mentioned, you have to delete from your memory what the old washers used to do. Gone is the 30 minute washes. The shortest wash I have found for a "normal" load is 44 minutes. Just soaking is 30 minutes. Bulky, heavy soil will take over 1 hour to wash.
The noises are different. The agitation cycle is different as there is no center agitator. Spinning is quiter. It is a quieter machine, overall.
LIke I mentioned at the beginning, it's still new to me. But so far so good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Arlington, TX

Buy it.... you'll love it!!!

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got this washer and matching dryer and love it! Don't know why we waited so long. We did read the manual first and that did make all the difference! The new top loaders are different that the old models..just remember that and keep an open mind!!! Clothes come out cleaner and it is just wonderful. Read the negative reviews and was concerned but we have NO Concerns or worries now. Wish we would not have waited so long!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I would never purchase this washer again.

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes for this washer when I purchased it almost 1 year ago. When a load of laundry is started, it is always a surprise as to when or if it will be completed within its timed segment. The washer often does not rinse or spin properly. I frequently have to re-drain and re-spin. Annoying!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bravos X 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Woodbury, CT

A very fine product

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've read some of the bad reviews on this machine, but this washer has exceeded my expectations. If you are getting an HE washer for the first time, the sounds take a little getting used to, but overall, its much more quiet than my previous Maytag (not HE). I live in a condo, so I wanted a machine that wasn't too noisy.
The controls are digital and I like the way it determines the level of water, the temperature, spin rate...all automatically, depending on the setting you choose. Most importantly, the clothes come out clean.
I recommend this washer for anyone looking to upgrade to HE or just to replace what they already have.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>