728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Skylights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing

14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing

Installing VELUX SUN TUNNEL tubular skylights is a great way to brighten any space with energy-efficient natural light. They are perfect for interior rooms with flat ceilings, such as bathrooms, closets, and hallways. The TMF skylight has flexible tubing, and its pitched metal flashing provides the optimum angle for gathering light from all directions.
Overall rating:
3.539 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product8 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product8 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
Review 1 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Lafayette, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed, low light, cheap cover

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our contractor installed it on our hallway, but I hated it so much that I had him remove it and patch the sealing up. Here are parts I did not like.
1) It hardly provided much additional light.
2) The tone of the color that came from the dome was much cooler than regular light, so while the rest of the house looked warmer, the area under the dome emitted much colder light and it looked very depressing.
3) The cover is a very cheap plastic cover. There is no glass cover with this product line.
I should have used SolaTube brand, which has glass cover and light color correction.
Cons: Quality, not functional, color, Appearance
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Agua Dulce, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Added much needed light to windowless bathroom

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Since our cabin was added onto several years ago, we ended up without any external windows in the bathroom. We replaced our roof this year and decided to add a skylight to improve the lighting. In the end we went with the smaller 14" model and it works very well at illuminating our 10' x 8' bathroom. Since we re-decked the roof during the re-roof, installation of the skylight wasn't that much of a big deal and it even works on our low slope roof. The only tricky bit was pulling down the foil solar tube and attaching it to the end of the diffuser fitting, but that was about 10 mins of effort and then done. The diffuser creates a 'blue' tinted white light similar to those new car headlamps and even diffuses moonlight at night! One word of praise for Velux customer support in this project - my wife managed to put her foot through the hole in the roof deck we had cut for the skylight and punched out the diffuser in the process, breaking its mounting tabs. Velux was kind enough to send four replacement tabs at no charge so we could finish the job off. Great customer service Velux - thank you.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Cons: no 'low slope' roof option
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Oscoda, Oscoda Township, MI 48750, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good sun tunnels for my living room.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a roof contractor put in my Sun Tunnels. Love them. Let's in a lot of light into room. I have tried other ideas to get light into this darker room. Great solution!
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Powell, WY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

disappointed

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The skylight was not hard to install. Taking off the shingles was a bit challenging, but overall it's not difficult to install. Flexible tunnel made it easier to go between kitchen ceiling and rooftop. We were very disappointed in the amount of light reflected. Probably has to do with the flexible tunnel. We would not go to the expense or time to install again if we knew the small amount of light it produced.
Cons: not functional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing

Good Light

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I personally do not have one of these, but I frequently visit my granparents who have one installed in the guest bathroom. For a smalled bathroom as theirs, this provides more than adequate lighting. Even though I know it is a skylight, from time to time, I still catch myself trying to turn it off when walking out of the room.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Norwalk, ct
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light makes a difference

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second of this product we have installed. It really brightens the room.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from North Carolina, USA

Very pleased with it

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a roofer install it, so I am not completely sure of the ease of installation. He said the only problem he had was with a beam in our attic. The only thing that I am not completely happy with is that I think it is too diffused, would like to be getting more light - think the tunnel is fine, just the cover. The glass looks great in the ceiling, but not enough light comes through to please me.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing

Right Product with wrong Diffuser

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed this product through professional installer in our kitchen assuming that we will get enough sun light for the room. However, the standard frosted diffuser hardly let any light pass through and the room doesn't make any differences with the solar tube. I am disappointed with the product and the worst case is that I cannot find any other diffusers for this product to replace the frosted one.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Antioch, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good, not enough lights in.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It looks good, not enough lights in. I installed it in the living room (was a bit dark room). For a large room it is better to get 18'' or 21'' with bolging down difuser instrad of flat ones.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Springfield, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was a good purchase.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed three skylights and are very happy with it. Where there was absolutely no light before, we have light now. We love it. Good purchase for the price paid.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Florida

Great product

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and does a great job of bringing in light to what was a dark area. My only complaint would be that the flexible tube bunches up where it meets the inside diffuser if the dome on the roof isn't installed directly above the diffuser.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased these to install at a customer's home and were very impressed. The installation was much easier with the flexible tunnel and the customer just loves her new skylights!!
I'm now thinking about putting some of them in my own house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. SUN TUNNEL Tubular Skylight with Flexible Tunnel and Pitched Flashing

Very dissapointed with the light it provides.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product arrived without instructions or the screws, tape, etc. to complete the installtion. I had to call the manufacturer to get these. Once installed it gave very little additional light in the room. I am very dissapointed with this product
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.