728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Post Pull'R

Post Pull'R

Need to pull a fence post out of the ground. The Maasdam PP100 is the perfect item for fence post removal. It quickly sets up so you can finish your job in short order. The comfortable grip prevents your hand from slipping while working.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product52 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(49)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product52 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for Post Pull'R
Review 1 for Post Pull'R
from Versailles, KY 40383, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read if you're pulling 4x4 wooden posts

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Post Pull'R is a great product, but it is not ready to pull 4x4 fence posts right out of the box. The instructions only cover pulling smaller, metal fencing posts out of the ground with its built-in "jaw."
If you're pulling wooden fence posts set in concrete out of the ground, there's a bit more to it (as I found out through experience!) So before you consider returning it (or giving it a bad rating), here is some "missing information" for pulling 4x4s out.
1) First, you'll need to purchase a short length of sturdy chain (about 18-20") and a strong S-hook, if you don't already have them.
2) Then, dig around the post enough to expose a few inches of the concrete it's set in.
3) Pour water all around the hole and let soak, digging more and wiggling the post to let the water seep down around the post/concrete.
4) Wrap chain around post, securing with the S-hook and, with Post Pull'R's lever arm in the fully-up position, attach the chain/S-hook to Post Pull'R's hook.
5) When the post is sufficiently loose, set Post Pull'R's "foot" on a 2x4 or other solid surface at the hole's edge. Push down the lever to raise the post out. You may need to repeat this step, lowering the chain and pulling down a few times to fully extract the post. You should then be able to lift the post out manually the rest of the way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not a complete solution to pulling 4x4s
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Post Pull'R

Good for the money

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pulled 5 t-posts the other day, so far so good. Solid construction felt sturdy. For the money good quality. Happy so far, but have not had a tuff bent or stuck in Rock post.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Post Pull'R
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was exactly as advertised. Worked perfectly. Hooked it onto a metal t-post, pushed down on the handle, and the post came straight up out of the ground with ease.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Post Pull'R
from Madison, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

t-post pullet

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I searched what it would cost to rent this item , and I could buy it for just a little more. Used at my convenience and worked great, suggest you soak the area around the post (dry red clay). After soaking and placing base under footing of puller I had no problem pulling posts.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Post Pull'R
from Lafayette, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The post pull'r works great. I was able to get a fence post out in about two minutes. I'm petite and not that strong, so it really saved me a lot of time and effort. It's a great buy for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Post Pull'R

Jatt

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Goid too cheap saves alot of time and amount of work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Post Pull'R
from Fishkill, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Easy Transaction. AAA+

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Tool. Makes it real easy to pull the T-Post out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Post Pull'R
from Brandon, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tip for pulling 4x4 wood posts

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I owned a fencing company for 15 years and have pulled thousands of posts- this Maasdam puller definitely does the job!
*One tip for all wooden posts is to hit the sides of the post with a slegdehammer, a few inches above the ground line. It doesn't take a big swing at all, just make sure the face of the sledgehammer hits squarely on the post. Usually 2 knocks on 2 sides of the post will loosen it enough to slide the post right out, even without using the puller. If it's still being stubborn, wrap a chain around the post, attach to the puller, and pop it out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Post Pull'R
from Washington the state
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived at store when they said it would, works exactly as listed. I would buy again!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Post Pull'R
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

used to pull 20 chain link fence posts with cement on.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked fine except edge on gripper for post should be heat treated to keep its edge, had to hit it with a hammer to get it to grip after pulling just four posts, also should show examples of hook ups for pulling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Post Pull'R
from O'Fallon, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Great product to have. A must for those who need to remove t-post a lot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Post Pull'R
from Wylie, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing better (for the price).

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to replace my fence and I started with the removal of two posts using a shovel. NO WAY!!!! It was back breaking, time consuming, and most of the time results in a larger hole to back fill.
I found this post remover from HomeDepot and let me tell you, after removing a post manually this tool will make you laugh. It pulls the posts at ease. My old fence posts were wooden 4x4’s about 24 inches deep in concrete. Not a problem for this tool. It also left the holes just like they were so I didn’t have to mix a large amount of concrete.
Note: You will read posts about others adding an extension to the handle. I would NOT recommend it. That’s a great way to bend the handle, making the tool useless. If your weight alone is not enough then you have reached the max output for this tool. You are going to need to dig around the post a little to loosen it up, then try again. So far 3 of the 4 posts required NO help.
You will also need to buy a 5ft heavy duty chain with hook too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: No Instructions
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Post Pull'R
from Denison, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works almost effortlessly

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This post puller works soo easy {for my 67 year old body this is important). I can pull a six foot T-post in less than 2 minutes. I would recommend it to anyone and the price was so much less than the other 2 stores that had similar products. It arrived right on time. Thank you
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Post Pull'R
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good little device

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, however it could use a wider base so it does not sink in the ground so easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Post Pull'R

easy to use

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pulled my first t-post and wow was I amazed. I used to wiggle back and forth and pull and wiggle some more. Really put a strain on my neck. No more. This tool works as advertised. The t-post came out of the ground like butter. I am impressed!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Post Pull'R

Worth Every Cent!!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple product, sturdy, easy to use. Ready to go right out of the box, pulled up posts with ease. Huge time saver.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Post Pull'R
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hard to Find

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
T post pullers are hard to find now days. Great tool at a great price. Heavy duty built and makes pulling old tpost a breeze.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Post Pull'R
from Granite Shoals, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as described

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, pulled first t-post quick and easy. Then tried it on wooden post, popped it out of the ground just as easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Post Pull'R
from Santa Fe, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pulling 4 X 4 post set in concrete.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I hit the post on all four sides and the top with a sledge hammer, three times each place. I didn't have to do any digging. Some came up out of the concrete and the others came up with the concrete. I had to set the Pull'r base on a 3' 2 X 6 so it wouldn't sink into the ground. Its good for locations you can't get a tractor into.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, good in tight places
Cons: No Instructions, chain needed for some post
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Post Pull'R

It works!

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to pull up about twenty metal posts that had been deep in the ground for years around my daughter's now abandoned garden plot. The post pull'r got 'em out in about an hour. Suggestion - use a length of PVC pipe to lengthen the handle and increase leverage for the tough ones.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>