728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Post Pull'R

Post Pull'R

Need to pull a fence post out of the ground. The Maasdam PP100 is the perfect item for fence post removal. It quickly sets up so you can finish your job in short order. The comfortable grip prevents your hand from slipping while working.
Overall rating:
4.697 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product57 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product57 of 60reviews
Customer reviews for Post Pull'R
Review 1 for Post Pull'R
from Versailles, KY 40383, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read if you're pulling 4x4 wooden posts

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Post Pull'R is a great product, but it is not ready to pull 4x4 fence posts right out of the box. The instructions only cover pulling smaller, metal fencing posts out of the ground with its built-in "jaw."
If you're pulling wooden fence posts set in concrete out of the ground, there's a bit more to it (as I found out through experience!) So before you consider returning it (or giving it a bad rating), here is some "missing information" for pulling 4x4s out.
1) First, you'll need to purchase a short length of sturdy chain (about 18-20") and a strong S-hook, if you don't already have them.
2) Then, dig around the post enough to expose a few inches of the concrete it's set in.
3) Pour water all around the hole and let soak, digging more and wiggling the post to let the water seep down around the post/concrete.
4) Wrap chain around post, securing with the S-hook and, with Post Pull'R's lever arm in the fully-up position, attach the chain/S-hook to Post Pull'R's hook.
5) When the post is sufficiently loose, set Post Pull'R's "foot" on a 2x4 or other solid surface at the hole's edge. Push down the lever to raise the post out. You may need to repeat this step, lowering the chain and pulling down a few times to fully extract the post. You should then be able to lift the post out manually the rest of the way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not a complete solution to pulling 4x4s
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Post Pull'R
from Victor, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprisingly effective!

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If I'm honest, I was skeptical about buying this, but since it was reasonably priced we decided to give it a go. Good thing, because I was quite surprised at the effectiveness of the post puller. We had roughly 375 ft. of 4 ft. chainlink fence to remove from our backyard and except for the double-wide gate posts that are larger than the included claw, the Post Pull'R was able to remove everything! The posts that we had some trouble with (and there weren't many) we soaked the ground with about 1-2 gallons of water making sure not to soak the ground beneath the puller, waited about 5-10 minutes for the water to penetrate and pulled with ease, concrete and all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Post Pull'R
from Eagle, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked just as well as it was supposed to be

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use
Durable
No instructions though
Even if its pretty much straight fwd how to use it Im not sure what the "hook" is for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Post Pull'R
from Pahrump NV.
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

T Post Puller

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The item came with no directions. Our Desert floor gets like poof powder but when it is hard it is like cement. I used the T Posts to keep the trees upright in our some time strong winds. We do get gusts around 100 miles an hour here in Pahrump Nevada. The puller did not work the best. The posts were like in cement and the would twist and bend. The puller kept flying loose. I had to drill holes in the T posts so I could put a ground ( Nail ) landscape timber spike though the center of the post and wedge it across the jaws of the puller. It was hard and I did bend two spikes.
The ground was just too hard and the posts were deep. Next was using a chain bout the stroke of the puller was small. I did drill 4 holes in each T post to pull them out. Now it is wall décor. The jaws on the puller were too smooth. No real gripping power. The posts would just slip. Wow would that smart.
Pros: Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Post Pull'R
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly for pulling rebar.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked perfectly for pulling rebar we had buried for a raised garden.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Post Pull'R

Good for the money

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pulled 5 t-posts the other day, so far so good. Solid construction felt sturdy. For the money good quality. Happy so far, but have not had a tuff bent or stuck in Rock post.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Post Pull'R
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was exactly as advertised. Worked perfectly. Hooked it onto a metal t-post, pushed down on the handle, and the post came straight up out of the ground with ease.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Post Pull'R
from Wylie, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing better (for the price).

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to replace my fence and I started with the removal of two posts using a shovel. NO WAY!!!! It was back breaking, time consuming, and most of the time results in a larger hole to back fill.
I found this post remover from HomeDepot and let me tell you, after removing a post manually this tool will make you laugh. It pulls the posts at ease. My old fence posts were wooden 4x4’s about 24 inches deep in concrete. Not a problem for this tool. It also left the holes just like they were so I didn’t have to mix a large amount of concrete.
Note: You will read posts about others adding an extension to the handle. I would NOT recommend it. That’s a great way to bend the handle, making the tool useless. If your weight alone is not enough then you have reached the max output for this tool. You are going to need to dig around the post a little to loosen it up, then try again. So far 3 of the 4 posts required NO help.
You will also need to buy a 5ft heavy duty chain with hook too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: No Instructions
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Post Pull'R
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meets expectations.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Performs the function intended with no unexpected problems. Good build quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Post Pull'R
from Brandon, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tip for pulling 4x4 wood posts

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I owned a fencing company for 15 years and have pulled thousands of posts- this Maasdam puller definitely does the job!
*One tip for all wooden posts is to hit the sides of the post with a slegdehammer, a few inches above the ground line. It doesn't take a big swing at all, just make sure the face of the sledgehammer hits squarely on the post. Usually 2 knocks on 2 sides of the post will loosen it enough to slide the post right out, even without using the puller. If it's still being stubborn, wrap a chain around the post, attach to the puller, and pop it out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Post Pull'R
from Lafayette, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The post pull'r works great. I was able to get a fence post out in about two minutes. I'm petite and not that strong, so it really saved me a lot of time and effort. It's a great buy for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Post Pull'R

Jatt

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Goid too cheap saves alot of time and amount of work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Post Pull'R
from Lake Jackson, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy pull it

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
pulled the post out of the ground like they were greased!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Post Pull'R
from Fishkill, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Easy Transaction. AAA+

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Tool. Makes it real easy to pull the T-Post out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Post Pull'R
from Madison, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

t-post pullet

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I searched what it would cost to rent this item , and I could buy it for just a little more. Used at my convenience and worked great, suggest you soak the area around the post (dry red clay). After soaking and placing base under footing of puller I had no problem pulling posts.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Post Pull'R
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

used to pull 20 chain link fence posts with cement on.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked fine except edge on gripper for post should be heat treated to keep its edge, had to hit it with a hammer to get it to grip after pulling just four posts, also should show examples of hook ups for pulling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Post Pull'R
from Washington the state
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived at store when they said it would, works exactly as listed. I would buy again!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Post Pull'R
from Denison, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works almost effortlessly

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This post puller works soo easy {for my 67 year old body this is important). I can pull a six foot T-post in less than 2 minutes. I would recommend it to anyone and the price was so much less than the other 2 stores that had similar products. It arrived right on time. Thank you
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Post Pull'R
from O'Fallon, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Great product to have. A must for those who need to remove t-post a lot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Post Pull'R
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good little device

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, however it could use a wider base so it does not sink in the ground so easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>