728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Post Pull'R

Post Pull'R

Need to pull a fence post out of the ground. The Maasdam PP100 is the perfect item for fence post removal. It quickly sets up so you can finish your job in short order. The comfortable grip prevents your hand from slipping while working.
Overall rating:
4.755 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product41 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product41 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for Post Pull'R
Review 1 for Post Pull'R
studio246
from Versailles, KY 40383, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read if you're pulling 4x4 wooden posts

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Post Pull'R is a great product, but it is not ready to pull 4x4 fence posts right out of the box. The instructions only cover pulling smaller, metal fencing posts out of the ground with its built-in "jaw."
If you're pulling wooden fence posts set in concrete out of the ground, there's a bit more to it (as I found out through experience!) So before you consider returning it (or giving it a bad rating), here is some "missing information" for pulling 4x4s out.
1) First, you'll need to purchase a short length of sturdy chain (about 18-20") and a strong S-hook, if you don't already have them.
2) Then, dig around the post enough to expose a few inches of the concrete it's set in.
3) Pour water all around the hole and let soak, digging more and wiggling the post to let the water seep down around the post/concrete.
4) Wrap chain around post, securing with the S-hook and, with Post Pull'R's lever arm in the fully-up position, attach the chain/S-hook to Post Pull'R's hook.
5) When the post is sufficiently loose, set Post Pull'R's "foot" on a 2x4 or other solid surface at the hole's edge. Push down the lever to raise the post out. You may need to repeat this step, lowering the chain and pulling down a few times to fully extract the post. You should then be able to lift the post out manually the rest of the way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not a complete solution to pulling 4x4s
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Post Pull'R
cgsdt
from Denison, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works almost effortlessly

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This post puller works soo easy {for my 67 year old body this is important). I can pull a six foot T-post in less than 2 minutes. I would recommend it to anyone and the price was so much less than the other 2 stores that had similar products. It arrived right on time. Thank you
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Post Pull'R
Robert

easy to use

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pulled my first t-post and wow was I amazed. I used to wiggle back and forth and pull and wiggle some more. Really put a strain on my neck. No more. This tool works as advertised. The t-post came out of the ground like butter. I am impressed!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Post Pull'R
bigdoghorn
from Wylie, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing better (for the price).

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to replace my fence and I started with the removal of two posts using a shovel. NO WAY!!!! It was back breaking, time consuming, and most of the time results in a larger hole to back fill.
I found this post remover from HomeDepot and let me tell you, after removing a post manually this tool will make you laugh. It pulls the posts at ease. My old fence posts were wooden 4x4’s about 24 inches deep in concrete. Not a problem for this tool. It also left the holes just like they were so I didn’t have to mix a large amount of concrete.
Note: You will read posts about others adding an extension to the handle. I would NOT recommend it. That’s a great way to bend the handle, making the tool useless. If your weight alone is not enough then you have reached the max output for this tool. You are going to need to dig around the post a little to loosen it up, then try again. So far 3 of the 4 posts required NO help.
You will also need to buy a 5ft heavy duty chain with hook too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: No Instructions
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Post Pull'R
Shawn

Worth Every Cent!!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple product, sturdy, easy to use. Ready to go right out of the box, pulled up posts with ease. Huge time saver.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Post Pull'R
Rusty
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hard to Find

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
T post pullers are hard to find now days. Great tool at a great price. Heavy duty built and makes pulling old tpost a breeze.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Post Pull'R
paridyes
from Lafayette, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this product very easy to use and very well made. Using this product definitely saved me time and labor. Also, it was priced about $10.00 less than the same product at other stores.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Post Pull'R
Farmboy
from Granite Shoals, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as described

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, pulled first t-post quick and easy. Then tried it on wooden post, popped it out of the ground just as easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Post Pull'R
hammer
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple design.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The post puller worked fantastic! I wish I had known it was on the market last summer when I dug out around 50 posts.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Post Pull'R
Toms
from Santa Fe, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pulling 4 X 4 post set in concrete.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I hit the post on all four sides and the top with a sledge hammer, three times each place. I didn't have to do any digging. Some came up out of the concrete and the others came up with the concrete. I had to set the Pull'r base on a 3' 2 X 6 so it wouldn't sink into the ground. Its good for locations you can't get a tractor into.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, good in tight places
Cons: No Instructions, chain needed for some post
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Post Pull'R
Kevin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and works amazingly well.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the "post pull'r" now many times, as I move my cattle panels with t posts quite frequently to let my goats browse on new land. It took me just one or two posts to get the hang of it. Even when the soil is hard, this product works great and since it is thick steel, it seems like it should last forever. It saves an incredible amount of labor. And the price at Home Depot for this product seems to be about 1/2 to 1/4 the price of comparable products.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Post Pull'R
Wimp

It works!

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to pull up about twenty metal posts that had been deep in the ground for years around my daughter's now abandoned garden plot. The post pull'r got 'em out in about an hour. Suggestion - use a length of PVC pipe to lengthen the handle and increase leverage for the tough ones.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Post Pull'R
Bill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handle is weak link.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Post Pull'r is an affordable option if you are going to pull T-posts, rebar, or other small objects. The handle doesn't hold up to 4x4s very well. It bent just past the fulcrum on the second 4x4. A thicker guage handle would earn this product two more stars. The addition of stabilizer legs, giving the base a less wobbly feel, would earn it a fifth star.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, not stable
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Post Pull'R
jumazak
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes eay work of post pulling.

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pulled 4x4 posts, concrete and all, with no problem. This is also great for removing tpost.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, does its job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Post Pull'R
ComancheDole
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great investment

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a small lawncare business I work part time. In doing so, several of my clients had pesky posts left from tree installations that were a pain to have to mow and trim around. After a little research, I found this post puller from Home Depot and figured it was worth the purchase. Since receiving it, I've pulled out about 20 posts, mostly from my clients and a few at my house. I'm absolutely thrilled with the results. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing easy about pulling out a 15 year old, fused into the ground, post. But, if it werent for this tool, there is no way I could've removed many of the posts. My most recent experience involved a neighbor accross the street from a mowing clien that had two posts adjoining a huge aspen tree. I walked over and asked if he wanted me to remove the two posts. He responded, 'absolutely, I've tried 3 times to remove them, but as you can see, I was unsuccessful.' So, after a lot of effort, I got both posts removed. He was seriously ecstatic. His wife even came out and told me those were 'a thorn in his side'. It was pretty amusing. Since I charge for removing the posts, this tool has already paid for itself 5 or 6 times over!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Post Pull'R
steve

well built at a good price.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The post pull'r works great,the grabber is extra thick and the hook gives you the ability to pull anything you want.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Post Pull'R
Chuck
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

being able to pull snow fence stakes

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was so much easier to pull the snow fence stakes up come spring. The only draw back is it was hard to connect and at times not tall enough to pull some of the stakes up. All in all though it was easy to get the stakes out of the ground.
Pros: Strong
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Post Pull'R
Lefty

Works as Advertized

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this tool to remove T-posts that had been in place for 12 years in heavy clay. Basically effortless. I even pulled some that were driven in at a 45 degree angle. A sturdy tool. Very pleased.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Post Pull'R
TomN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

How do you use it?

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Alright, bought one, how do you use it? Do I add a chain to the pulley and wrap it around the post? No directions supplied. No directions on line.
Cons: Difficult to Use
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Post Pull'R
Sluggo
from Mt Holly NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally - Something works as advertised

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool is worth twice as much- Works exactly as advertised- Highly recommended
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>