728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag

16 in. Reel Mower with Bag

Lawn maintenance doesn't get any greener than this. No gas, no oil, no batteries, no plugs and best of all no maintenance. This mower uses the time-tested reel mechanism that cuts your grass using nothing but a hardened steel blade and your own man-power.
Overall rating:
3.789 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product54 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(33)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(8)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product54 of 69reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
Review 1 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Washington, DC, USA

Great Bang for your Buck!

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The biggest reason I'm reviewing this is to address the complaints about the grass catcher bag falling off constantly. I had the same problem UNTIL I realized I hadn't installed it properly (the instruction manual is too vague). Please see my pictures - Don't try to hook the bag onto anything. The hooks actually slide past the rubber bumper and sit between a brace and the axle. When installed this way, the bag doesn't fall out! Anyway, this mower is well built and relatively lightweight. It cuts well, but when the grass is tall it has a tendency to lay the grass down rather than cut it, so cut it often (unlike a powered mower that sucks the grass up before cutting). Don't go too fast or the clipped grass will ride the blade over the top and end up on the ground instead of in the bag. Be careful not to drag the bag across cement (like a sidewalk) or you'll tear the corners of the bag. A few things could have been designed better, but overall I think this mower is great for smaller lawns, has a bag and is small enough to store.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: vague instructions, bag mount is not intuitive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+81points
81out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Beaumont, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to assemble and use

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and use. No gas, no oil, no plug, no batteries. Only maintenance is keeping it clean, oiled, and blades sharp. Love it. Misses spots but easy to go over a second time. The downside is grass catcher. Doesn't stay on well nor catch clippings well. So I use it without the bag. I get exercise and my lawn mowed at the same time.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: grass catcher doesn't stay on well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from VISTA,CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple but works

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a little area of grass. I managed to put together in 30 minutes. I like the adjustable height feature so you can set for how short of grass you want it to be cut. I bought this model because it has the catcher basket. The basket doesn't seem to stay on well, it kept coming off. (I think I hooked it right) It only caught 60% of grass, most of grass flied off the other direction. Oh well at least it caught some. It's also a bit heavy to push but I am strong enough (5'3" woman working out everyday) . My 6 years old son wanted to help but he couldn't push it. Overall I am happy with it. :-)
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: catcher kept falling off
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Pharr
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really like this product

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As soon as i saw my budget showing signs of weakness and gas prices become erratic, I decided to purchase a reel mower to save money on gas. Though it does not do well against crab grass and other weeds, it gets the job done- swiftly. Just get up and go, no more refueling or other tasks that may be time consuming. It is also silenter than a regular mower and sounds like a choir of razors that hunger for the flesh of plants.
+63points
63out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Norton, KS 67654, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is very easy yo use

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a very small yard and this reel mower is perfect for that purpose it is easy to manuver and the grass catcher is an added bonus for me NO RAKING .Plus no oil to change no gas to burn and no roaring motor .I really like it !!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag

you get what you pay for...

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have owned this lawn mower for three weeks and mowed my lawn with it three times. It was pretty easy to assemble and mows the lawn fine. We picked this one because it was the most inexpensive mower that came with a bag. Also, we'd heard we should keep the grass in our shady yard at least 2" high, and this was the only mower in this price range that could do that.
The downsides are that the bag does not want to stay on the mower at all and constantly falls off. There is also already a rip in the corner of our bag. We have also already lost a couple of bolts, which is annoying. Luckily we were able to save the screws before they fell out too. But it's kind of a pain to have to go find new bolts after just three weeks!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Phoenix AZ
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mower was easy to assemble and is perfect for my small yard. Clean up takes just minutes. The mower is sturdy, made of quality materials. I'm sure by following the care instructions and keeping the blades sharp, this reasonably-priced purchase will last me for years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Chantilly
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Basic lawn care at the ready.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a small area to maintain, so a regular mower was overkill. This assembled easily, and works great, had to go over some longer areas a couple of times, but it cuts evenly, w/o much effort. Needs to be lubed, it's a little stiff, but great value overall.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product that just didn't cut good enough for my yard.

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this mower after giving lots of thought to the reel vs gas vs electric debate. I have a small yard with lots of straight lines so I decided to try this mower. Assembly was very easy (only requiring a 10 mm socket and ratchet) and it is VERY light compared to my previous gas powered mower. Build quality was good with only a small dent on the left inner fender when the box was opened (quality control must have missed this. This mower is a breeze to push, even 1 handed on short grass or pavement.
Overall it cut OK, if the grass was a little long 2 or 3 passes were required and even if the grass was short it left lots of stragglers, enough to warrant a return after 4 cuttings with various stages of growth and various height levels. Perhaps it was just my grass or I am to picky. In the end it was a good product but not a great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: did not cut all the grass, often left stragglers, difficult to see where you have/haven't cut
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Florida, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome mower

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My heavily wooded yard makes it difficult to mow with a push mower, so I figured something like this would be easier to use. Seems I was correct; this was much less of a hassle.
It works great against grass, but terrible against anything else like weeds. This is actually a feature in my opinion, because it makes it easier to spot the weeds from a distance after it's been mowed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Powerful, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from OC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for what I need

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mower is light weight and easy to handle as well as store. The grass catcher is a bit flimsy however it works.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag

Great mower

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Didn't use the bag yet, left the clippings on the lawn. Cut well even some of the tough grass. Got stuck a few times on sticks but nothing like my old reel mower. Liked the height of the handle bar, and it was very easy to assemble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag

Great features, but attached bag is a thorn in my side

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You do get bang for your buck on this product. Assembly isn't difficult, sharp blades cuts grass great, and has multiple height options for the grass.
My only complaint is that the bag catching the grass does not fasten securely to the mower. It constantly unhooks itself and is a constant pain point.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: bag does not secure
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Vancouver, WA

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am very happy with this mower, but the bag comes undone easily. If you mow often enough, you can mulch the clippings into the lawn. My neighbors are all jealous. Takes the same amount of time to mow, and is easier to push than the standard gas mower. Make sure you clean it and dry it off each time to avoid rust, and sharpen it at the end of the season.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag

I don't have a lot of mowing experience - this mower is ok

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a small urban yard with a relatively steep slope. The mower itself is fine and many of the reviews are accurate. You need to go over longer or thick grass several times. It is easy to adjust. My biggest complaint is that the bag only stays on when you are cutting on a perfectly flat surface. It falls off when the mower goes up or down hill. I recommend, but not if you lawn is too thick and I have to think there are better models out there.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag

Worth the Gas Savings & Exercise

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works quite well on medium to short grass. Blades are sharp and cut evenly for the most part. Especially useful if certain parts of your lawn grow faster than others and you do more "trimming" then full-on mowing. The only downside is the bag attachment which doesn't stay on very well. At the end of the day, you can't beat the gas savings and the fact that you get a pretty decent workout. Well worth the money. Great value.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Denver, CO

Cut grass while it is short

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I didn't realize this but if you wait to cut the grass when it is long it is very hard to cut. Make it a weekly chore because with this mower it is impossible otherwise.
The grass catch bag that it comes with is worthless. Won't stay attached.
Also, it comes set at the lowest cutting position. Before using it, adjust to a higher setting; you'll be sorry otherwise.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Preforms and cuts excellent no problems with grass catcher

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some people had problems with the grass catcher I have had none, I have a small yard and this mower sure beats messing with gas.
Pros: Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag
from Torrance, CA 90503, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy assembly, easy to use

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Size and type, reel mower, fits extremely well into our small area usage. Easy to clean but catches the clippings just so-so.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: catcher could be better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. Reel Mower with Bag

Good Product but expect exertion to mow

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is well made and for a small yard would be ideal because of the relatively small size of the mower allowing for easier storage. Expect to have to work to use mower which should be expected since it is a manual device.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>