728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer

22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer

The Powermate 22 in. Gas-Powered Walk-Behind Field Trimmer is designed for both residential and light-duty commercial use. The field trimmer provides more power and performance than a hand-held trimmer and is extremely useful for trimming along fence line
Overall rating:
4.379 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product24 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product24 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
Review 1 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from East Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No exaggeration! This machine has saved my life!

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 68-year-old small woman of 5'2" who, over 7 years, landscaped my 2 acre steep yard on a hill with beautiful flower beds which I maintained. But when my husband died suddenly, leaving ME with ALL the yard mowing as well, the yard became a JUNGLE overnight from so much rain in East Tennessee. Being left with huge debt and NO income from my husband's 2 years of inactivity (except for his mowing on the riding John Deere), I am not able to hire anyone to mow for me, so I was trying to do it myself with an 8-yr-old Troybilt walk-behind Field Trimmer to trim around all my flower beds and whack off the shoulder-high grass and weeds that covered my property. I never learned to ride the John Deere and won't do it now, being so lightweight and living alone on such a steep hill. A neighbor gave me his old HEAVY self-propelled lawnmower but with my tiny hands, keeping the self-propelled clutch clinched caused such a painful cramp that I was losing the use of my hands. Having to push down on the HEAVY mower to turn it caused my elbows to swell, cutting off the blood supply to my hands. My only reliable income is as a church organist. My arms hurt so much I couldn't sleep. My fingers were numb! My condition was desperate until my Troybilt BROKE and I was forced to find a replacement. I read ALL the reviews here and "charged" this Powermate at Home Depot. I am overwhelmed to the point of tears. EVERYTHING the others say is "TRUE!" It is so lightweight, I can push it with one hand! The large wheels (rear) allow it to ROLL ALONG - nearly without even needing to be pushed! I set the handle at my own hip-level which allows MY center-of-gravity to push with my legs rather than having my elbows bent for too long, also causing tension in my back and neck. It is quiet and smooth cutting - serves beautifully as my lawnmower as well! My old Troybilt, with just a spinning plate, gouged into uneven ground and looked terrible, but this cone-shaped rotar prevents that, and cuts evenly like a lawnmower! When the old self-propelled mower moved over thick grass spots, it would choke up and STOP" for the entire day" (exhausting me from pulling on the rope a dozen times trying to restart it). Now I don't have to worry about WHAT I run into with the Powermate. It keeps on moving and mowing! And it DOES start on the first - or second, at most - Pull ! When I get into grass that is 4-5 feet high, I learned a couple techniques of pushing and pulling so the cut strands don't get too tangled in the spinning rotar - which was easy to clean out when they did wrap around. I have cut down 2 acres of tall grass and weeds and the string is STILL nearly like new! My yard is now under control and looking like NICE people live here again. One small little ole' lady is able to DO IT ALL - without my own body breaking down - thanks to the Powermate. If I were an engineer, I couldn't have designed a BETTER machine myself for all my needs! Thank you Powermate! Anne
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from San Juan Island

Powerful

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little machine goes where no one has dared -- slowly whacking my way into a dark forest (who knows what is in there?). It's great to be able to clear land that has been inaccessible up till now. Super easy to use and it isn't very loud. If you have a large plot this is the way to go. I couldn't imagine lugging a traditional trimmer around for hours, but this one on wheels means I can get a lot of work done. Very happy with this purchase.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer

Again, another home run from Home Depot!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This field mower is tough. Handles wild raspberry brush, poison ivy, other vine type ground cover as well as early poplar seedlings that are clogging up the edges of a field of 10500 square feet.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from CHLORIDE AZ.

POWERMATE

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAD NECK SURGERY ....CAN NO LONGER USE A WEED EATER THAT YOU HAVE TO CARRY...THIS IS THE FIRST WALK BEHIND WEED EATER I HAVE EVER USED....FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS AND AFTER PRIMMING TWICE IT ROARED TO LIFE (IN A MELLOW SORT OF WAY IT RUNS VERY QUITE )....I HAVE FIVE ACRES OF TOUGH AZ BRUSH AND WEEDS I HAVE YET TO FINE ANY THAT CAN STAND UP TO THE .155 LINE...IT STARTS EVERY TIME RUNS QUITE AND GETS VERY GOOD GAS MILEAGE :0) I WOULD SAY YES TO ALL ITS FEATURES...WORKS EVERY TIME ...BEEN USING IT FOR 5 DAYS AND SO FAR NO PROBLEMS....EXCELLENT MACHINE AND THE PRICE IS RIGHT
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a tough job

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a half-acre of rough terrain. Hundreds of semi-buried rocks with sizes ranging from apricots to cantelopes. A haven for weeds. Can't mow with a lawn tractor and too much area for my hand-held string trimmer.
With the large 14" wheels and flexible tires, I'm able to maneuver the Powermate over most rocks. I can hear the steel cutting head hitting rocks I can't see (because they are covered with inches of dead weeds). None of this bothers the Powermate. It slices through the mess like a hot knife through butter. It is solidly built and easy to maneuver.
On my level lawn, I can zoom along like a regular lawn mower, although the cut is not quite as even. Cutting height is easily adjustable in the field with an allen wrench.
Starts easily with one pull on the rope. To stop and pick up rocks every 30 seconds, just release the clutch to stop the cutting head and back down the throttle a little. It idles quietly, then goes back to work instantly.
The handle folds to store easily in the garage. It's smaller than my push rotary lawn mower. The two 0.155 strings change easily in the field with no tools. A set of strings lasts about two hours with heavy use.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from Midwest, IA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT Field Trimmer!

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This field trimmer REALLY WORKS! It started on the FIRST PULL and I got done in a few minutes, where it would have been 30-45 mihn with a hand held trimmker. The line didn't show wear at all. I mowed down a lot of 1/4" volunteer seedlings mixed in the weeds and the trimmer just kept on going! PLENTY of POWER and QUALITY as field trimmers costing more!
My back yard looks like a back yard again. It THANKS POWERMATE!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from central arkansas

The powermate is a real back saver.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is so much easier than the hand held weed eaters. No strap around the neck and back. A real back saver.
However, I do have one complaint - I wish the hand bar was a little wider. It would be more comfortable with a little more room.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer

Great mower

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used this for about four hours, but so far it has performed perfectly. I have neglected our fence line and now we have weeds over four feet tall. As long as you take your time it mows them down with ease.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from NorCal

Cookie Cutter String Trimmers

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our Sears walk-behind string trimmer was recently stolen, which put us in the market for a replacement. The sears unit had worked pretty well for us; we had purchased it for close to five bills from the local outlet.
Before heading back down to Sears, I made a trip to the local small-engine guru to get his input.
(He had directed me to a rear-wheeled drive Toro Recycler to replace our Honda mower, and we could not be happier with this fine machine.)
I looked at about six different flavors of wheeled trimmers, ranging in price from 400 to 1400, and each looked to be a carbon-copy of the next.
The local guy waved me off of all of the models that were available locally, and onto this Powermate unit, even though it was available only over the internet.
It was worth the two-days wait for delivery. This machine is wonderful. Even though all of the machines looked alike, it is in the engineering of there support structures, the design of their drive systems, and engine choice that makes all of the difference, creating a reliable and solid little machine. AND.... it was between 50 and 1050 LESS than anything else out there! (Free shipping from HDepot)
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from tennessee

great machine

PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought an ariens trimmer at home depot...took it home and was going to start trimming... but it would not start...I took it back and they couldn't get it going either.the only other trimmer they had in stock was this powermate so I bought it.....I am glad that I ended up with this one because it does the job way better than I expected.It is built well and works great .I have been cutting honeysuckles and wild hedges under my pine trees....it eats them up
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from Seattle

excellent product for mowing (even lawns)

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This field trimmer works great! I wanted something that could mow my lawn(s) when I haven't gotten to them in a while--in other words, when they look like farmers' fields. This trimmer works well when the grass is extra long OR just in need of a normal trim. And, yes, it works extremely well for trimming along fences, walls, and other typical trimming situations. It is extremely easy to steer around corners and obstacles due to it's large diameter wheels. It doesn't have the typical problems of conventional mowers--lack of power, getting jammed up with grass, need to sharpen blade (strings are extremely easy to change, but this is not required very frequently). All around great item.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from Amery, WI 54001, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is a beast!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a few acres and a driveway that's almost a quarter mile long. The weeds grow to over 3' at times and this machine took em out with ease. I always struggled with the kind you have to hold, it took forever cause I had to take so many breaks. With this machine it was done in no time at all, and my arms weren't like rubber! This machine is priceless!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It worked really well

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
but wish we had electric start. My sister and I live together, we are almost 64 and it took both of us to start it. We had it about a year until last night when some moron stole it from the back porch..should have locked it up..but one slip and there it goes. We will have to save up to get another, SS doesn't go far. Anyway nice
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: need electric start
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer

powerful, easy to use!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool. Bought a similiar item some years back and it didn't have the HP that this one does. I have an acre with somewhat tall weeds and it worked great!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from Santa Clarita

Best trimmer value regardless of price

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quiet, even cutting height, easy to change trimmer
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from KC MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased my Powermate a couple of weeks ago when the rough grass was really taking off. I have a lot of trim needs around ponds. The Powermate was up and running in less than five minutes. It cuts all day long. It starts on the first pull. The best part is the weight of the thing. It is so light and easy to boss around and work hills and banks. Also, the engineering of the string attachment is brilliant. You just snap on a new string, simple. Been cutting now for three days on the same set. I also have a DR machine, big difference. The DR did not work right off, the clutch broke first 10 minutes and it’s a lot heavier. Plus the DR is more than twice the cost. I am adding another Powermate to my fleet tomorrow.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, easy to push
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer

I love this trimmer!

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used this trimmer alot in the 2 weeks we have had it. I've had to change the trim line a few times, but if you saw the area we were trimming you would understand. It has started each time we have tried with no problems. It just plows right through the weeds and grass. Excellent product.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from Lyndonville, NY 14098, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so happy I bought this

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a old lady that lives alone in the country on 15 acres. I found myself living in a jungle of vines, wild berries, burdocks that are as tall as me and nettle too but the worst is the bamboo that is taking over my yard. In desperation I bought this field trimmer and it even cuts down the green bamboo. It works way better than a regular trimmer because it does not throw the weeds back and all over you. Not even my shoes get stuff all over them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from Honesdale, PA 18431, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't start after 2 uses

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to get this field trimmer but after two uses, I could not get the engine to start. I sent the product back for repair and I encountered the same issue when it was returned. I am highly disappionted in this product as it has good reviews. I returned the item today for a store credit
Mike from Honesdale Pa
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Walk-Behind Gas Field Trimmer
from Centralia, WA

Easy to Start -- Does most functions well!

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The machine is an easy start and the grade of trim line holds up in heavy vegetation. It works best on flat terrain and slight downhill grades -- but hard to operate going up a hill. Great back saver when you have large areas to trim. Need to be careful, however, if you are trimming around bushes as it will cut through a branch less than 1/2 inch.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>