728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED

King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED

The Powermate King Pro 163 cc Gas-Powered Horizontal Edger provides higher torque, power and performance for the professional consumer and medium-duty commercial user. The edger is for use along sidewalks, driveways and patios and features a curb-hopping ability and adjustable wheels for steady, smooth operation along curbs.
Overall rating:
3.793 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product20 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product20 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Byron, Ga.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A very powerful Edger

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This edger has the power to cut and edge the longest and toughest grass growing along driveways and sidewalks. I have owned stick edgers and they are okay if you are trimming every 2 weeks but I get yards that haven't been mowed or edged all summer. So when I do get one of these yards this edger has so much power that it cuts through with out stalling or bogging down. It starts on the first pull after a few pumps on the fuel bulb. This makes my second one of these edgers. The first one has been used everyday for 3 seasons of mowing, Had a few problems but I was able to fix them. Even wore out the tires and replaced them but overall, this edger is the best I can find for the money. I would buy another one.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Kennedale, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Is what I was hoping it would be.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived pretty quickly. Was easy to assemble out of the box. I didn't know how 166 cc's would equate to horsepower, but I wanted something that wouldn't bogg down. This edger has plenty of power.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent buy!

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did a LOT of research looking for a strong edger that would last. I'm glad I bought this one. The first one that arrived was obviously previously returned & damaged. Easy exchange, new one arrived in days. Starts on first pull even after sitting through winter. Great power, have an impact wrench when time to change blade or you'll hurt yourself trying to break nut loose.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Lubbock, TX

excellent edger

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this edger from HD store. was easy to assemble, just extend the arms and tighten the screws, and connect the electrical wires.
started at first try. very powerful, and adjustable height. moves effortlessly, and leaves a deep clean edge.
very happy with this purchase, I highly reccomend it based on my experience.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Roy, Utah

Worked fine for me.

PostedMay 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly was easy. Fired it up and it has plenty of power to do the job! Starts just fine. I don't think OHL33 knows how to use the Primer Bulb. It's also quieter than expected as well. I'm glad I went with this over the 79cc one. I live on a corner so it was a great investment!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from RDU

Great Buy!!!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use!
Starts the first time!
Lots of power to even cut the toughest areas!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great machine so far

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i did plenty of searching on line reading reviews prior to making a gas edger purchase. our drive way is approx 80 yards long. we needed a durable machine with plenty of power.
after deciding on this model, i ordered on line. was informed this edger was on back order. had to wait approx another month for its arrival. assembly was easy, and it started on the first pull. i have used it 6 times to edges along our driveway, starts everytime.
i would recommend a throttle of sorts to increase power, especially when edging for the first time, as weed/grass can grow deep and thick, but the machine never stalled at its factory setting. this machine is not built for tight spaces along sidewalks/steps. overall it does what we need.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Texas

Worst Curb Hopping Feature I have ever seen

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently bought this edger. It took 15 days (way too long but hey it was free) to receive. Worked ok on the flat surface but when it came to using the curb hop feature it greatly dissapoints. You literally have to cut the motor off. Bend down and move lever to adjust front wheel and then adjust a back wheel which the lever is near the hot motor. Very very impractical. To be honest I dont see how anyone could design and build a machine so troublesome to use for the curb. Surely it couldnt have been designed by anyone who has actually used a gas edger. I will be returning it today. If you are ONLY using on a flat surface then it will work but would still be overpriced for that. If you are using it to ALSO edge along your curb FORGET it. I cant express how dissapointed I am in this machine. BTW I never write reviews but felt I had to warn people about this. I will continue to use my gas weed wacker. How on earth could this company make something so poorly designed??? I will admit it does seems sturdy.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED

When it works, it does a great job.

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is either an engineering flaw or manufacturing defect with this edger. After the 7th time I used it, it would only run for approx. 1 - 2 minutes, which in my case is not enough time to finish edging. I would have to wait until the next day to fire it up and finish. I ended up buying an electric edger even though dealing with the extension cords is a huge hassle. I will never buy a product from this manufacturer again.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from NOLA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hard Starter

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like most of these units, at first it starts right up. Don't let it sit for any extended period or you will have troubles. There are problems with the carburetor and it is not covered under warranty, even from day one. I will try the starting fluid method as one other reviewer suggested. Shame it comes to this after only six months.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Buy for the Money

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took me 7 minutes to put it together, put in the oil and then the gas, pump the primer bulb 5 times(since it was the first time starting) pull the cord twice it started right up. Works get, I love the curb edge adjustment, now I don't have to use the string trimer to do it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Starting in New Braunfels, TX

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pushing the primer bulb 3 times is a joke. If you want to start on the first pull push the bulb 6 to 8 times. Mine starts on the first pull after being unused for several weeks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Edger!!!

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to put together. Took 5 minutes max. with instructions. I had read others comments and used high octance gasoline. Starts on the first pull every time. Runs great and cuts well. I would buy it all over again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty, solidly constructed but hard to start!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this model of edger in 2010 to replace a Craftsman edger that had lasted more than 20 years. When I saw this model I was impressed with the solid appearance of its construction. However, its engine is without a doubt next to impossible to start which has been the case from the very beginning. If I had known before I bought the edger how difficult it would be to start, as is evidenced by a number of the current reviews for this machine, I would have gone back to a Craftsman - not as solidly made but at least the engines start.
Pros: Durable, Powerful
Cons: terrible starting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED

Fantastic

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish there was a guide... other then that its an unbeliveable machine. Worth the money. It has a very easy curb option setup. My lawn edging truly looks 5 star pro.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good power and ease of starting.

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall I like this edger but I did find it to be a bit on the heavy and cumbersome side especially when trying to balance it on the edge of a curb.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice edger!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I believe that for the price this edger is an oustanding value. Starts easy and really gets the job done. Many compliments from neighbors. Seems like commercial quality edger and residential price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Upstate SC

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well built and does a good job. Only problem seems to be the engine is difficult to start. Have to use starting fluid each time.
Once it runs it's powerful and runs smooth.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED

Performs as expected

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first edger I have used so I don't have anything for comparison. It does perform as I expected. The only issue I see is that the front wheel beam casting is slightly bent that results in it wanting to slowly turn to the left when wheeling it back to the garage. No problem when using it though. And as others have mentioned, it does like a lot of pumping of the carburetor primer bulb.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for King Pro 163 cc Powered Horizontal Gas Edger-DISCONTINUED
from Tidewater, VA 22572, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good Unit

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this unit as it is fairly heavy duty. It cuts very well. It is a little hard starting when warm . I also had a problem with the amount of oil on first fill and had to remove a small amout. I order blades from MFG to fit this unit. It takes a 9 inch with a 1/2 inch hole. I use the straight blades that work well. I had a bushing made to fit blades with a 5/8 inch hole . These blades are found at HD . Ido not like the wheel hopper rear wheel adjustment. It is a little hard. This unit replaced a lighter MTD unit that kept breaking down. This appears to be a MTD unit also but heavy materals. The handle is at an odd angle for me being short. In all I'm pleased with this unit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>