728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chemical Drain Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner

1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner

The ZEP 128 oz. Professional Strength Drain Opener is a powerful, thick, fast-acting drain opener that pours through standing water to attack many types of clogs. Safe for pipes and septic systems, this drain opener treats 8 drains.
Overall rating:
3.394 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product17 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(4)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product17 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
Review 1 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works on Hair and Soap Scum

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an Alkaline based drain cleaner (Bleach and Lye) which works well especially on sinks or shower drains which are clogged by hair and soap scum. This tends to be cheaper than other fancier foaming brands but I find it works just as well.
The only other product I have used which worked better was some dry pellet form drain cleaner which I used in the middle east. It literally smoked and boiled in the pipes. Not sure if you can legally buy that in the US but it may be worth a shot if this product does not work for you.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner

It worked - for me

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bottom line: it worked well for me, unlike negative view of some.
Detail: Apartment in 50 year old high rise. Bathroom sink with 12 foot horizontal run with presumably slight grade to vertical soil pipe. Very slow draining with little or no help from plunging. Instructions: "16 ounces" . I applied 32 ounces to get plenty of cleaner past trap under sink and let sit overnight. Vast improvement. Following night for insurance: 48 ounces. Still draining perfectly after 2 weeks! Bonus: Gallon ( 128 ounces) under $10.00 at Home Depot - maybe cheapest of about a dozen products. Different reviews (and results) may be due to differences in composition of the clogs. I have no idea what mine was.
Pros: Easy to Install, it worked for me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Lemon Grove
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product didn't work for me.

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the instructions, but ultimately had to call the plumber. I was hoping I wouldn't have to do that.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Baton Rouge, La
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

didn't work at my house

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it according to instructions...several times. No use. Have had good luck with other ZEP products so this was a disappointment. I'll try LIQUID PLUMBER as other reviewer did and see if that will keep me from calling plumber.
Cons: doesn't work for me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Vinegar worked better when it mattered most

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used this de-clogger on sinks with minor backup and it worked ok. But I had a shower that had lots of hardwater buildup and probably regular gunk too that was draining very slowly. After several treatments of the Zep, no change.
So I tried a half gallon of cheap vinegar followed by boiling water, cleared the problem right up. And at least the much cheaper vinegar that's left over has many other uses. Why use an expensive industrial strength chemcial when a cheap, naturally occuring chemical works better?
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless for us. Did not open the drain.

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the recommended amount of Zep to try and open the sink but no luck. Tried the same amount till the whole gallon of this stuff was gone but nothing doing. On recommendation of my MIL tried Liquid plumber and that too only 60 oz and voila 10 minutes it took before the sink was in full working order again. Useless product, a total waste of money
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, ineffective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Stamford, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked exactly as promised

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very stubborn drain - almost clogged to the point of no water moving (tub) at all. Nothing I had tried worked. I have used ZEP products in the past with great success. So I found their guaranteed clog remover in the plumbing section. Drain opened as stated on the packaging. Running free and clear now.
Extremely pleased and will continue to use products by Zep - now I will go to them first!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Good product...worked for me.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have an issue with perpetually clogging bathroom drains. This product, though pricey, was nice and thick and cut through the clog with only one treatment, leaving me plenty for the next inevitable clog.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: pricey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Spencerport, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work as advertised. Had to snake it out

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 2 bottles of ZEP I had to return to store and purchase a "snake" to unclog the drain. Sorry no more Zep
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner

Zep Professional Strength Drain Opener did not work for me.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product as directed, but it did not open the drain line. I had to use a snake instead.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Hickory, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is superior to other drain cleaners I've tried.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Zep Professional Strength Drain Cleaner is the best drain cleaner I've tried. It is quick acting and is reasonably priced. I use the Zep liquid drain cleaner product in the kitchen drain, and I use the Zep powder drain cleaner in the lavatories and bath tub drains.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used a whole gallon in two treatments for a clogged toilet drain. It was absolutely worthless and did nothing. Save your money on this product.
Cons: didn't work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from HOUSTON
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PRETTY GOOD DRYER- I'D RECOMMEND IT...

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I REALLY LIKE THIS DRYER. IT HAS MULTIPLE CYCLE CHOICES, DRIES MOST ITEMS QUICKLY AND EFFICIENTLY AND EASILY ACCOMMODATES MY KING SIZED BEDDING WITHOUT STUFFING IT IN. IT HAS A SANITIZE CYCLE THAT I APPRECIATE, WHAT WITH THE FLU GOING AROUND AND BECAUSE I HAVE TO DEAL WITH THE MESS GENERATED BY A LOVABLE BUT OFTEN GRUNGY SET OF CHILDREN AND PETS. A HUGE PLUS FOR ME IS THAT THE DOOR STAYS CLOSED WITH AN ACTUAL MECHANICAL LATCH, WHICH WAS BIG PROBLEM WITH THE ONE ON MY OLD DRYER, WHICH WAS MAGNETIC AND NEVER REALLY WORKED WELL. IT PLAYS A CUTE LITTLE MELODY WHEN FINISHED, AS OPPOSED TO THE OBNOXIOUS BUZZING AND HONKING LIKE ALL OF MY PAST DRYERS, WHICH I APPRECIATE. I'D GIVE IT 5 STARS, BUT OCCASIONALLY IT LEAVES MY HEAVIER ITEMS A LITTLE DAMP WHEN I PUT IN A LARGE LOAD, BUT I'M SLOWLY LEARNING TO ADJUST THE CYCLE TIMES TO OVERCOME THIS PROBLEM. DESPITE THIS PROBLEM, IT'S A HUGE IMPROVEMENT OVER THE OLD ONE AND WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE NEEDING A NEW LARGE CAPACITY DRYER THAT FITS IN A LIMITED SPACE.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, the working mechanical latch, sanitize cycle, plays a tune and doesn't honk or buzz
Cons: heavy loads stay damp occasionally
-22points
0out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Fond du Lac, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORKS GREAT

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
customer service at home depot has always been outstanding
Pros: High Quality
Cons: somewhat expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Rochester Hills, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked about the same as any other Drain Cleaner

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked about the same as any other drain cleaner. I was expecting better results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Lakeview, OR 97630, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this product was not very good

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took the whole bottle to fix a slow moving drain. Many of the smaller bottles of better quality would have done the job with only half a bottle.
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Spring, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BAD

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a kitchen pipe clog that took me 3 days to unclog. The third day I got an industrial strength pipe cleaner that finally worked. (Have no idea what plugged the pipe)
Cons: not strong enough high priced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Shelby Township, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

clogged drain

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of my main pipes clogged. Last time I got a plumber for $300. this time I got it unplugged with two gal. of this drain cleaner. I think it did as good a job as the more expensive brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over

OK

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Not really strong enough to remove hair and grease clogs. Needs repeated applications.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 gal. Professional Strength Drain Cleaner
from Pocono Mts., PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Most effective drain cleaner I know..

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works every time - if you follow directions. I always keep a bottle on hand. Just be careful about splashes ...it is caustic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>