728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351

5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351

For professional results for your flooring project, consider this Ryobi 5 in. Laminate Saw to make the cuts you need. The saw combines the effectiveness of both a mitre saw and table saw in one tool. The improved dust collection system allows you to make cuts in the same room where you lay the floor.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product49 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(15)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product49 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
Review 1 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Missouri
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Saw for Flooring Installation

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this saw to install about 450 square footage of engineering hardwood floor. It worked out really well considered that I was a newbie to power tools and floor installation. If you don't already have a table saw and don't anticipate of needing one besides a flooring job, this is a great alternative at a very reasonable price and at a much lighter weight.
The change over from rip cut to mitre cut was very easy. The railing where the saw gets push and pull probably needed some lubrication because it was hard to pull after a while. Besides that, I was very happy with the results.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351

Simply awesome.

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is the best. I was desperate to replace my ugly carpet with laminate, but I couldn't bring myself to shell out all that money for professional installation. But I'm a 26 year old woman with absolutely no DIY experience. I had never even used a saw before, and I just couldn't justify buying a table and mitre saw when I didn't even know if I had the skills to complete the project. Then I came across the Ryobi laminate saw, and the "all in one" nature, good reviews and low price convinced me to give the whole project a try. It took me an hour or so to put the saw together and start using it, but only because the whole concept was so foreign to me. Once I got going, it could not have been easier. Cross cuts are a cinch, and I even made rip cuts with no problem. Over the course of a weekend, I installed about 250 ft of laminate, completely on my own. It looks great, and I'm so proud! Towards the end of the project, the blade was working pretty hard, so it is a good idea to have a replacement on hand. The dust bag does a great job of keeping most of the mess contained. And even though I'm a shrimpy 5' tall and 100 pounds, this saw was easy for me to carry around from one room to another. I am so happy with this purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Atlanta, GA

Wish I had bought earlier

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this saw to lay 900sq ft of laminate flooring on my second floor and have been very pleased with the performance. Originally, I started the project with a 12" miter saw set up in my driveway and spent three days completing the first room due to the time lost traveling up and down the stairs. I then purchased this saw and was able to finish the second room in one day by making my cuts on the same level I was working at. I am using a shop vac attached to the exhaust port and built a simple cardboard box to set the saw in and contain the sawdust coming out the bottom. While not completely dust free, it is minimal enough to run the saw indoors. The saw is very easy to operate and the spriing loaded blade cover and simple to use clamp gave me enough confidence to allow my teenage son to make cuts as well (something I would not consider with the miter saw). Once the piece is secured to the work surface with the clamp, you do not need to have your hands anywhere near the business end of the blade. The saw has handled 8mm laminate with no issues and the blade is still fine after the first couple hundred square feet. The quality of the cut is sufficient since it will be hidden by molding when used for laminate. I was concerned about being able to find blades so I ordered extra with the saw and was pleasantly surprised they were resonably priced. I have recommended this tool to co-workers which is something I would normally never due unless I was really impressed. I will admit that I have not tried to use the saw for rip or miter cuts yet, so I cannot comment on those features. I consider myself a woodworking enthusiast and have a basement workshop full of expensive tools to make custom furniture. However, if you want to lay laminate, this is the only tool you need and you cannot beat the convenience. I am convinced you would hear a lot more about this saw if it was sold in the stores. (PS-Don't forget to pickup some $15 knee pads at the store as well, it will be the best money you have ever spent)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Wisconsin

Definitly worth the money!!

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently installed about 700 square feet of 12mm laminate flooring in my house. This saw made it a breeze. It is very easy to change from making cross cuts and miter cuts to ripping. The dust collection works pretty good but it would be great to attach a shop vac to it instead of using the bag because there is still quite a bit of dust when using the bag and if you plan on using the saw indoors where you're working, you're going to want to minimize the dust. None of my vaccums attached to the fitting though and I didn't spend the time to find an attachment even though I'm sure they are easy to find. A sharp blade is a must - after making a lot of cuts, the laminate started chipping and the motor was working pretty hard to cut through it, so it's a good idea to have an extra blade, they're pretty cheap. As long as the blade is sharp, the saw makes perfect, clean cuts with plenty of power. The saw is also easily transportable. The saw head locks into place and has a carry handle making it very easy to take where ever you need it. It should be mounted to a bench or sawhorses when used though.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Vancouver, WA

Ryobi Laminate Saw

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About a month ago, I completed installing Pergo laminate flooring in the first room in my house using a compound bench saw and table top circular saw. I had a few frustrating moments and wasted a few boards. I just finished my second room installation with the Ryobi Laminate Saw purchased online through Home Depot and I was very impressed. It was very easy to master the use of this saw and in the end, finishing the second room took about half the time it took me to finish the first room. I will be looking forward to installing Pergo throughout the rest of my house using this saw. I will recommend this saw to anyone and everyone I talk to if asked about my experience laying down laminate floors.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Florida

One of the best purchases I've ever made...

PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking forward to replacing the carpet in all four of our bedrooms with Pergo laminate, but once the quotes started coming in, I realized that I wouldn't be able to afford the professional installation. Doing it myself was out of the question. Even though I've been a homeowner for nearly 15 years now, I'm a novice at DIY and haven't used a power saw since I took shop in junior high school. Just looking at the size and number of saws used in the DIY videos to complete the job was intimidating.
I was resigned to either going with a bargain basement laminate or just having our master bedroom done when I saw the Ryobi flooring saw at Home Deopt. It was simple, compact, and seemed to have all of the guides and fences needed to make precise cuts from any angle. I was pretty confident that I could operate it even with my limited experience. After reading the reviews, I decided it was worth the $150 gamble to find out.
Less than an hour after opening it, I was making perfect crosscuts, miter cuts, and rip cuts when I couldn't have even told you what a "miter cut" was two weeks ago. I picked up the rest of the tools and supplies I needed and jumped right in with the smallest of the four bedrooms. I just finished it last night and I'm very happy with the results. I'm a perfectionist, so it took a week of working off and on to get through the learning curve, but if I can do this, anyone can.
I've seen a few different views on the dust bag. Personally, I think it works fine. You will still have a little dust to contend with on and around the saw, but nothing like what I've seen when having tile and engineered wood installed.
The only other saw you may need if you have to cut curves or small sections out of the planks is a jigsaw. I picked up the $30 Black and Decker and a set of laminate blades at Home Depot and found it to be equally as easy to use.
The only negative I can say is that Home Depot doesn't carry the replacement blades. You'll have to order them here, online. You'll need to change the blade every couple of hundred square feet, so do yourself a favor and plan in advance.
As I said in the title, this is one of the best purchases I've ever made. This little saw has saved me a bundle in labor costs and would still be a great purchase at twice the price!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Sacramento, CA

Just be warned

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As of the date of writing this review(8/25/10), Ryobi does not stock replacement blades for this saw. The blade size is unusual. This is a BIG problem.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351

good saw for DIY

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy assemble, easy to work with, very light and portable, good saw for DIY people who don't have many tools. however you probably still need a jigsaw for the special cuts by doorjams, etc. wouldn't recommend sawing in the same room-still makes quite alot of dust. i do recommend getting back-up blades. did 600sq ft and blade was getting sllightly dull about half way through. what sucks about the online purchasing is that you can't buy and ship blades to Hawaii and they previously didn't supply them here in Hawaii either with no substitutes. (odd size blade) however made some formal complaints and one day found some replacement blades exactly for this saw. other than that...very good saw.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Right Tool For The Job !

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a 18' x 20' Family Room Flooring project in mind to accomplish and this would be my first attempt at installing Laminate so I was looking for the right tool for the job.....mission accomplished ! Saw works as advertised and the Dust Collection feature kept be close to the work at hand.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from KY

5" Laminate Saw

PostedApril 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used my saw to lay laminate in a large livingroom and hall plus 2 bedrooms. I have been most satisfied with all its features, very user friendly. It was money well spent and made this job look professional. Thanks.
Bobby
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Oahu, HI

Saw is fine but no blades to be found

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The saw is fine, but the only place to get blades is through the HD website - none on the shelf. Just be aware that if you have a deadline, order lots of blades well in advance. If you're in Alaska or Hawaii, it is not possible to get blades at all.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Reading, PA

Good value, great tool

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
after using this to do laminate floor, I found it to be one of the most useful things to come to the market in a long while. I had looked at both the Ryobi and the Skil version, and the Ryobi has a more comfortable cutting position when using the saw than the Skil did, especially when it is placed on the floor.
The price for a new blade is 8.00 or so in store, which isn't too terrible, and the blade also looks like it will outlast the Skil based on the size of the carbide teeth. It could use a bit more power,especially if you are going to do 3/4 hardwood, but for most flooring jobs, 7 amps is plenty.
The Skil is priced higher than the Ryobi, but with no great reason to be. My only complaint is the fence could be a little easier to move when it is positioned for rip cuts, but it is a small issue when compared to the overall ease of use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from jackson tn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i like the skill flooring saw much better, because of the easier adjustments

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i find the saw a real problem to change from a straight , angle cut or rip cut. The slide is also hard to adjust.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good saw, hard to find blades

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great saw, but Home Depot no longer carries the blade in there stores
Pros: Sturdy, Modern, Comfortable
Cons: hard to find blades
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Galloway, Ohio

Great buy for the DIYer

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this saw for our most recent attempt at remodeling. We installed laminate in our living room, hallway, and kitchen, and this saw was fantastic. The ability to have it in the same rooms and not travel up and down the stairs and outside on multiple occasions really helped reduce wasted time. Great product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Fort Lauderdale
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful but with limitations

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought this tool to lay the floors of my house with laminate planks. I bought the Dupont planks, which are almost 12" in width. With the way the saw is designed, it's not possible to rip the planks. Cross cut is barely possible, just because the planks are 11.5" and the allowance of the saw is 12". So for every cut, I have to manually lift the safety cover to allow the plank to go through. It has been working well. So this saw is useless if your planks are wider than 12".
Except the thin planks, pretty much nothing else can be cut because the maximum height is about 0.5".
Dust collection works, but don't believe that you can do the work in your room and remain clean. There is still dust.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351

Great product

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to install about 200 square feet of laminate flooring. After deciding on and purchasing a table saw, I came across this product. After reading the feedback from previous users I decided to give it a try before unpacking the expensive all-purpose table saw. Set up was quick and I began using this saw within 20 minutes of opening the box. I had never used a table saw before and did some practice cuts by sacrificing 1 laminate plank. By cutting the laminate in a slow to medium speed, I was able to get a good clean cut and the blade lasted through the entire job. I installed the laminate in my kitchen so I had to do more cuts than a normal square room would require due to the number of kitchen counters and a closet. Just at the end I could tell that the blade needed to be replaced for a future job. The saw performed very well. The bag attachment is easy to install but captures only about half of the dust. I ended up attaching my upright vacuum cleaner hose to the saw and that eliminated 95 percent of the dust. It is a bit loud while it's running, so if you are going to use it indoors, I recommend you use ear plugs. The power cord is somewhat short so you will probably need an extension cord. The replacement blades are reasonably priced. Overall I am very happy with the performance and results achieved with this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Powder Spring GA

Amateur lays 600 sqft of 12mm laminate floor

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 50 yr old woman and bought this saw to use in the installation of a 12mm laminate floor in my basement which is a little less than 600 sqft.
This saw was easy to setup right out of the box and worked remarkably well. The basement included 3 rooms and a hallway. Of course, there was a recessed wall and seven doors to work around. This was my first time to try a project like this. I love my saw and look forward to using it for future projects.
I bought a spare blade just in case but have completed the project without it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from MD

worth every penny

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Layed 400ft of pergo, and this saw was a godsent. Clean accurate cuts (cut boards finished face down). Dust keeper did excellent job was able to do all cuts on site, saving so much time. If you are doing floors, this saw is a must. I also use it alot for craft/small projects where I need precise fine cuts, but do not want to set up the table saw. Order extra blades when ordering the saw, they are not available in store. Sawblade lasted for all 400ft.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 in. Portable Flooring Saw RLS1351
from Inwood, WV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This saw was a great investment.

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This saw has made my laminate flooring project much easier as it makes very clean cuts. It is nice having one saw that makes all three types of cuts with just a few minor adjustments. Being of a portable style has made it very convienent to move around the room I have been working in. The only negative thing I have to say is that at times the saw dust bag get hung up on the workpiece holder when you are making rip cuts.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>