728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Insect Killer

Insect Killer

The Stinger Insect Killer is designed to attract and kill flying insects with an effective and quiet operation. A UV light is used to lure light-sensitive insects in, and the single grid electrocutes insects on contact. This weatherproof unit covers up to 21,780 sq. ft. to help give you and your family a pleasant outdoor environment.
Overall rating:
2.871 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product36 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(9)
1
(24)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product36 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Insect Killer
Review 1 for Insect Killer
from Katy, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wrors Better than I thought it would

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm use to having the 1970's model where you hear and see the bugs getting fried in it. Wasn't very interested in this model becuase of the low reviews it is getting. I bought one anyway with little expectation. I put it in the garage to kill mosquitos while I'm working in it. It didn't kill much the first night. The second night left a small piles of bugs. The third night it killed more bugs and some flies. So right now I'm surprisingly happy with it. I'm not getting bit while standing at my workbench. I still miss the noise and visuals that the old models had, but if the results are not bugs then I'm happy with it. The cons I put aren't really cons just thing I missed from the old models.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: no killing sound, no killing smoke, no visual entertainment
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insect Killer
from St. Cloud, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for about 45 days, and then it went dead

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for my garage. It worked fantastic, and then a month and a half in, the light stopped working. I figured it was just a dead bulb, but after replacing that, it still doesn't work. Disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, short lifespan
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014
I apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact our customer support team and they'll help you out. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 9-5PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 3 for Insect Killer
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

reviewing stinger insect killer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had an old Stinger and it was great. The new ones are worthless. I have yet seen it sap any bugs. The old ones were constantly killing bugs of all sizes. The new ones are worthless.
Pros: have none
Cons: isn't worth the money
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 11, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 11, 2014
We're sorry to hear you've had a negative experience with our product. We'd love to connect with you at 800-477-0457 and we'll do our best to help you out. Thank you for the review.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 4 for Insect Killer
from Aurora, Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I plugged it lit up and then nothing looked it over and the light was broken that fast. Junk,junk I'm taking it back
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, plastic junk
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insect Killer
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do not waste your money

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product came with bug bait that you have to buy and replace every 30 days. I did not notice that or ever heard of bug bait in buying an in insect killer. The light alone should attract them. I plugged up the light and inserted the bait at the bottom pursuant to the instructions and left it on for several hours. No bugs were dead on the light itself or on the ground under the light where it hung.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: did not kill misquitos
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 26, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 26, 2014
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. The octenol lure is designed as an added attractant that lures mosquitoes and other flying insects into the killing grid. The LED light electrocutes the bugs with 120 volts of power, so some of the bugs may not appear on the light itself. If you have concerns about the efficiency of the zapper, we recommend calling our customer support team. They can be reached at 800-477-0457.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 26, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 26, 2014
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. The octenol lure is designed as an added attractant that lures mosquitoes and other flying insects into the killing grid. The LED light electrocutes the bugs with 120 volts of power, so some of the bugs may not appear on the light itself. If you have concerns about the efficiency of the zapper, we recommend calling our customer support team. They can be reached at 800-477-0457.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 6 for Insect Killer
from Huntington, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of Your Money

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not attract flying insects. Does not kill flying insects. All it does do is light up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not do what it is designed to do
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insect Killer
from Placerville, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Insect killer - very bright light

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We haven't had many bugs killed on this yet - we've only used it a couple of times. I will say it is very very bright and functions a bit like a lantern at the side of our deck.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insect Killer
from Caguas P R
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

does not work as I expected. hung from various places and I hoped that by now it would be attacting more, but it is not, still plagued

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we hung the item in several places, just like the directions stated and still have many insects flying aroung, especailly mosquitos, which was the purpose of purchasing the bug killer. It does attract some bugs, but I thought it would be more efficient in getting the mosquitos out of the area where we sit out.
Pros: helps to attract some bugs
Cons: does not cover the area that it said it would
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 19, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 19, 2014
Hello, I'm sorry to hear that you're having difficulty with our product. It is possible that the Octenol Lure needs to be replaced. Each lure is effective for up to 30 days. If this is not the case, I would suggest calling our customer support team at 800-477-0457. Thank you for writing a review.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 9 for Insect Killer

not recommended

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doesn't help at all. I'm taking it back, it was about 20ft. away from our patio and we had flies and insects everywhere
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insect Killer

great product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it did the job. it cleared the area of flying insects and continues to do so
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insect Killer
from Decatur, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quiet, but performs below expecatations

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Advertised on the package to be quiet and effective up to 1/2 acre. It is very quiet, but the bugs it does kill (mainly moths) do not fall out of the housing as advertised. The lamp becomes obstructed by dead bugs and the housing must be tapped with something rigid to dislodge the bugs from the electric screen, then they fall out of the housing. Mosquitos are still a big problem 20 feet from the unit (1/2 acre = 83 ft radius). Overall performance well below expectations, especially for mosquito control.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: did not perform as advsertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insect Killer
from N. Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never zapped a single insect.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to finally have some protection in the backyard by racking up some bug death, but after plugging in the unit complete with attractant and turning out all outside lights, bugs did indeed find the unit but I wasn't hearing any zaps. Upon closer inspection the bugs were having fun and frolic all over the unit including on the blacklight tube. Since none of the bugs had Superbug capes on, I must assume the unit was not working.
The troubleshooting guide said if it wasn't working you can mess with the connections. Uh no, that's their job. Maybe this is a one out of however many that doesn't work, but it was the one I got. I expect it to go snap, crackle, pop with a high body count of flying insects without me being part of the quality control team. I'm returning it tomorrow.
Cons: didn't work
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insect Killer
from WIS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bug down

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I BOUGHT 4, THEN 4 MORE,AND NOW 3 MORE. MY HOUSE IS SURROUNDED BUY BUG LITES.
MY BUG COUNT IS DOWN ABOUT 60%, SO I AM HAPPY AN SO ARE GRANDKIDS
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insect Killer
from Fall River, Mass

TZ15-My 1st Bug zapper! STINGER

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
purchased on 6/1/11-put it on my deck at night, the next morning, I was shaking bugs and small moths out of it like a salt shaker!!
I could not hear it work, I live next to wet lands, so bugs over here are like snow! will have to clean it every day. so far so good
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insect Killer
from powhatan,va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not reliable

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Died after first use. Will return and not seek replacement
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insect Killer
from williamsburg, va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bug wacker

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the first part of the summer, and have been completely satisfied with its performance,,,,,,,,can actually sit on my deck and not be eaten-up by mosquitoes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insect Killer
from Chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for small enclosed space

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recommend this product for indoors or as I did for the porch or the basement when I leave the door open, for outdoors like the backyard is too small.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: not for outdoors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insect Killer

Interior insect zapper

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven been using this product inside the house. I live on a farm and have many flying insects that enter the house and this little device does its job! The flies and Mosquitos go right to the light. The only thing you need to know is the cord is very short and you have to sweep up the dead bugs. Otherwise no other issues to report.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insect Killer
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It worked really good...for 6 months

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It only lasted about 6 months. I used it last summer with good performance, then I put it back in its box for the winter. I took it out at the beginning of this summer and it worked for a little while then quit. I thought it was the bulb so I bought a new one, but nope, it's just dead. I probably got 5-6 months total out of this, which considering the cost of the original item, replacement lures, and the replacement bulb I didn't even need... not worth it.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 8, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 8, 2014
Your product may have a warranty. Please contact our customer support team and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us at 800-477-0457.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 20 for Insect Killer
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Insect Zapper

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had to replace another bug zapper that quit working. UV bulb was OK but some other component died. I hope this unit lasts longer. So far (2 months) new unit is working fine.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>