728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Insect Killer

Insect Killer

The Stinger Insect Killer is designed to attract and kill flying insects with an effective and quiet operation. A UV light is used to lure light-sensitive insects in, and the single grid electrocutes insects on contact. This weatherproof unit covers up to 21,780 sq. ft. to help give you and your family a pleasant outdoor environment.
Overall rating:
2.737 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product27 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(14)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(23)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product27 of 53reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Insect Killer
Review 1 for Insect Killer
from Katy, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wrors Better than I thought it would

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm use to having the 1970's model where you hear and see the bugs getting fried in it. Wasn't very interested in this model becuase of the low reviews it is getting. I bought one anyway with little expectation. I put it in the garage to kill mosquitos while I'm working in it. It didn't kill much the first night. The second night left a small piles of bugs. The third night it killed more bugs and some flies. So right now I'm surprisingly happy with it. I'm not getting bit while standing at my workbench. I still miss the noise and visuals that the old models had, but if the results are not bugs then I'm happy with it. The cons I put aren't really cons just thing I missed from the old models.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: no killing sound, no killing smoke, no visual entertainment
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insect Killer
from St. Cloud, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for about 45 days, and then it went dead

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for my garage. It worked fantastic, and then a month and a half in, the light stopped working. I figured it was just a dead bulb, but after replacing that, it still doesn't work. Disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, short lifespan
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014
I apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact our customer support team and they'll help you out. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 9-5PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 3 for Insect Killer
from Aurora, Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I plugged it lit up and then nothing looked it over and the light was broken that fast. Junk,junk I'm taking it back
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, plastic junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insect Killer
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

reviewing stinger insect killer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had an old Stinger and it was great. The new ones are worthless. I have yet seen it sap any bugs. The old ones were constantly killing bugs of all sizes. The new ones are worthless.
Pros: have none
Cons: isn't worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insect Killer
from Placerville, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Insect killer - very bright light

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We haven't had many bugs killed on this yet - we've only used it a couple of times. I will say it is very very bright and functions a bit like a lantern at the side of our deck.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insect Killer
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is well worth it. We use it in the evening on our deck.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is well worth it. We use it in the evening on our deck.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insect Killer
from Firestone CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very surprised

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It might be small, but it is powerful - I had it going just outside my bedroom window and never heard it - and yes, I slept with the window open. And, the next morning, I was amazed at how many bugs it "captured".
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insect Killer
from mobile al
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

zap'm good

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decided to buy 2 of these inexpensive bug zappers
Instead of 1 larger one for the same $. They work
Great, quiet operation, easy clean out (just blow out with airhose)
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insect Killer

not recommended

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doesn't help at all. I'm taking it back, it was about 20ft. away from our patio and we had flies and insects everywhere
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insect Killer

Wonderful bug killer!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very trouled by these nasty mosquito's this summer and this has done the trick. We keep it indoors at night too!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insect Killer
from Herriman Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good purchase.
Works great for all flying bugs,our mosquito problem has been zapped away !!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insect Killer
from Fulton,ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fair price for a fair product.

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bug zapper does not really "zap" the bugs. It doesn't make that zap sound and seems to attract only smaler bugs. I have had the one acre zapper before and it works much better.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insect Killer
from Franklin,Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

insect killer

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
zapper is real good at killing bugs.It isn't extremely bright and is very quite and works.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insect Killer
from Cleveland Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a little disappointed

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the product didn't live up to statements made on box , the area stated was not bug free, the cord is very short
Cons: area of coverage not bug free
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insect Killer
from N. Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never zapped a single insect.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to finally have some protection in the backyard by racking up some bug death, but after plugging in the unit complete with attractant and turning out all outside lights, bugs did indeed find the unit but I wasn't hearing any zaps. Upon closer inspection the bugs were having fun and frolic all over the unit including on the blacklight tube. Since none of the bugs had Superbug capes on, I must assume the unit was not working.
The troubleshooting guide said if it wasn't working you can mess with the connections. Uh no, that's their job. Maybe this is a one out of however many that doesn't work, but it was the one I got. I expect it to go snap, crackle, pop with a high body count of flying insects without me being part of the quality control team. I'm returning it tomorrow.
Cons: didn't work
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insect Killer
from Fall River, Mass

TZ15-My 1st Bug zapper! STINGER

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
purchased on 6/1/11-put it on my deck at night, the next morning, I was shaking bugs and small moths out of it like a salt shaker!!
I could not hear it work, I live next to wet lands, so bugs over here are like snow! will have to clean it every day. so far so good
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insect Killer
from Farmington, Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did not work for Farmington, Utah

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mosquito zapper simply got overloaded and attracted so many mosquitos into our yard. We didn't even put the attractant in. I can't imagine what would have happened if we used the attractant.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportJuly 9, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportJuly 9, 2014
Hello, I'm sorry to hear that you're having difficulty with our product. The zapper should be placed approximately 25 feet away from human activity to lure flying insects away from you. Hope this helped!HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 18 for Insect Killer
from powhatan,va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not reliable

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Died after first use. Will return and not seek replacement
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insect Killer
from Danville, VA 24540
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Insect zapper.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works just like it should. No problems with unit yet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insect Killer
from Huntington, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of Your Money

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not attract flying insects. Does not kill flying insects. All it does do is light up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not do what it is designed to do
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>