728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Insect Killer

Insect Killer

The Stinger Insect Killer is designed to attract and kill flying insects with an effective and quiet operation. A UV light is used to lure light-sensitive insects in, and the single grid electrocutes insects on contact. This weatherproof unit covers up to 21,780 sq. ft. to help give you and your family a pleasant outdoor environment.
Overall rating:
2.829 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product38 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(9)
1
(28)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product38 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Insect Killer
Review 1 for Insect Killer
from Katy, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wrors Better than I thought it would

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm use to having the 1970's model where you hear and see the bugs getting fried in it. Wasn't very interested in this model becuase of the low reviews it is getting. I bought one anyway with little expectation. I put it in the garage to kill mosquitos while I'm working in it. It didn't kill much the first night. The second night left a small piles of bugs. The third night it killed more bugs and some flies. So right now I'm surprisingly happy with it. I'm not getting bit while standing at my workbench. I still miss the noise and visuals that the old models had, but if the results are not bugs then I'm happy with it. The cons I put aren't really cons just thing I missed from the old models.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: no killing sound, no killing smoke, no visual entertainment
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insect Killer
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

reviewing stinger insect killer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had an old Stinger and it was great. The new ones are worthless. I have yet seen it sap any bugs. The old ones were constantly killing bugs of all sizes. The new ones are worthless.
Pros: have none
Cons: isn't worth the money
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 11, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 11, 2014
We're sorry to hear you've had a negative experience with our product. We'd love to connect with you at 800-477-0457 and we'll do our best to help you out. Thank you for the review.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 3 for Insect Killer
from Queens, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A Good Mosquito Catcher

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We own a home in the Caribbean where mosquitoes rule. We have several stingers around the outside of our home and they really work. This purchase was a replacement for one that broke on our last visit. We could definitely fell the difference where this one had been. Were we able to kill every mosquito...NO. ..but we got a lot of them. You can really tell how many when you go to clean it and place in a new lure. It's best to use an old toothbrush to clean it with.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insect Killer
from St. Cloud, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for about 45 days, and then it went dead

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for my garage. It worked fantastic, and then a month and a half in, the light stopped working. I figured it was just a dead bulb, but after replacing that, it still doesn't work. Disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, short lifespan
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014
I apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact our customer support team and they'll help you out. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 9-5PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 5 for Insect Killer
from portland, or
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Problem with product change

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product USED to be different and useful. The bug killing wires WERE CLOSE together. They are now very far apart and would only kill large bugs.
In one week, not a single bug was killed.
We have been out of town and plan to return them soon.
Cons: does not kill anything but largest bugs!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportNovember 14, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportNovember 14, 2014
I'm sorry that you're having issues with our product. The design of this unit has not been changed, so I would recommended calling our customer support team at 800-477-0457. They will do anything they can to help you!HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 6 for Insect Killer
from Fall River, Mass

TZ15-My 1st Bug zapper! STINGER

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
purchased on 6/1/11-put it on my deck at night, the next morning, I was shaking bugs and small moths out of it like a salt shaker!!
I could not hear it work, I live next to wet lands, so bugs over here are like snow! will have to clean it every day. so far so good
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insect Killer
from Aurora, Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I plugged it lit up and then nothing looked it over and the light was broken that fast. Junk,junk I'm taking it back
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, plastic junk
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insect Killer
from N. Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never zapped a single insect.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to finally have some protection in the backyard by racking up some bug death, but after plugging in the unit complete with attractant and turning out all outside lights, bugs did indeed find the unit but I wasn't hearing any zaps. Upon closer inspection the bugs were having fun and frolic all over the unit including on the blacklight tube. Since none of the bugs had Superbug capes on, I must assume the unit was not working.
The troubleshooting guide said if it wasn't working you can mess with the connections. Uh no, that's their job. Maybe this is a one out of however many that doesn't work, but it was the one I got. I expect it to go snap, crackle, pop with a high body count of flying insects without me being part of the quality control team. I'm returning it tomorrow.
Cons: didn't work
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insect Killer
from Huntington, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of Your Money

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not attract flying insects. Does not kill flying insects. All it does do is light up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not do what it is designed to do
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insect Killer
from San Juan, PR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst purchase ever.

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is to kill insects, but it does nothing. The insects just fly by.
Cons: insects just fly by
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insect Killer
from Richmond, VA

good and (not so) bad

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these - one for the front porch and the other for the backyard - both areas were completely unusable from the early Spring through late Fall due to to flying, biting insects. THE GOOD: they really seem to be working - it took a little time, but we have noticed a definite decrease in the number of insects in both areas.
THE BAD: the one on the front porch fell off of a table - about 18 inches down and the bulb exploded. the rest of it is fine - so - the bulbs are very delicate and not cushioned in any way - just be careful if you have to take it down from its' perch for any reason. THE GOOD: the one remaining bug zapper in the back yard seems to have taken over for the broken one! Both areas seem to be covered - a nice surprise!
+28points
33out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insect Killer
from Sterling, VA

1 big one, 1 small one

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was getting eaten alive trying to power wash my big 2-level deck, and wooden fencing (end unit townhouse).
I have one of these, and also one of the Home Depot larger ones, $49.99, forget the name. They are in different locations, this one inside of a large decked in area, no real lights near THIS one. The bigger one is on the outside opposite corner, 30 feet from lights, in an open area that is dark. It is easily twice as bright as the bigger unit. It will light an area, but I wouldn't hang out in this thing's light.
This little sucker has 2x or 3x the bugs stuck in it every morning. I'm extremely happy with it. Yes you need compressed air every morning. Lots of bugs dead = bugs to clean out. I highly recommend getting a couple of units on edges of your property, maybe on a timer, to thin out bug populations. I will be replacing mosquito scented lure regularly. I'm hooked. I unhook for rain, pretty scared of what might happen. Don't want to lose this.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insect Killer
from San Juan Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It works well.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use it indoor to control mosquito that get in when you enter into the house.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insect Killer
from Rio Grande, PR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad product

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It just does not work. I bought two of them and you do not see any dead insects.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insect Killer
from Placerville, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Insect killer - very bright light

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We haven't had many bugs killed on this yet - we've only used it a couple of times. I will say it is very very bright and functions a bit like a lantern at the side of our deck.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insect Killer
from boulder
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I personally did not find this products to be of good quality. It also did not do the job for me as since it was installed a few weeks ago and as far as I can tell it has only killed a couple of insects.
Cons: Not Durable, does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insect Killer

not recommended

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doesn't help at all. I'm taking it back, it was about 20ft. away from our patio and we had flies and insects everywhere
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insect Killer
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do not waste your money

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product came with bug bait that you have to buy and replace every 30 days. I did not notice that or ever heard of bug bait in buying an in insect killer. The light alone should attract them. I plugged up the light and inserted the bait at the bottom pursuant to the instructions and left it on for several hours. No bugs were dead on the light itself or on the ground under the light where it hung.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: did not kill misquitos
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 26, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 26, 2014
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. The octenol lure is designed as an added attractant that lures mosquitoes and other flying insects into the killing grid. The LED light electrocutes the bugs with 120 volts of power, so some of the bugs may not appear on the light itself. If you have concerns about the efficiency of the zapper, we recommend calling our customer support team. They can be reached at 800-477-0457.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 26, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 26, 2014
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. The octenol lure is designed as an added attractant that lures mosquitoes and other flying insects into the killing grid. The LED light electrocutes the bugs with 120 volts of power, so some of the bugs may not appear on the light itself. If you have concerns about the efficiency of the zapper, we recommend calling our customer support team. They can be reached at 800-477-0457.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 19 for Insect Killer
from Caguas P R
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

does not work as I expected. hung from various places and I hoped that by now it would be attacting more, but it is not, still plagued

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we hung the item in several places, just like the directions stated and still have many insects flying aroung, especailly mosquitos, which was the purpose of purchasing the bug killer. It does attract some bugs, but I thought it would be more efficient in getting the mosquitos out of the area where we sit out.
Pros: helps to attract some bugs
Cons: does not cover the area that it said it would
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 19, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportSeptember 19, 2014
Hello, I'm sorry to hear that you're having difficulty with our product. It is possible that the Octenol Lure needs to be replaced. Each lure is effective for up to 30 days. If this is not the case, I would suggest calling our customer support team at 800-477-0457. Thank you for writing a review.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 20 for Insect Killer

great product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it did the job. it cleared the area of flying insects and continues to do so
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>