728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Insect Killer

Insect Killer

The Stinger Insect Killer is designed to attract and kill flying insects with an effective and quiet operation. A UV light is used to lure light-sensitive insects in, and the single grid electrocutes insects on contact. This weatherproof unit covers up to 21,780 sq. ft. to help give you and your family a pleasant outdoor environment.
Overall rating:
2.807 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product44 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
2.8 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(19)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(33)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product44 of 84reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Insect Killer
Review 1 for Insect Killer
from Katy, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wrors Better than I thought it would

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm use to having the 1970's model where you hear and see the bugs getting fried in it. Wasn't very interested in this model becuase of the low reviews it is getting. I bought one anyway with little expectation. I put it in the garage to kill mosquitos while I'm working in it. It didn't kill much the first night. The second night left a small piles of bugs. The third night it killed more bugs and some flies. So right now I'm surprisingly happy with it. I'm not getting bit while standing at my workbench. I still miss the noise and visuals that the old models had, but if the results are not bugs then I'm happy with it. The cons I put aren't really cons just thing I missed from the old models.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: no killing sound, no killing smoke, no visual entertainment
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insect Killer
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Silent Killer

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought several of these bug lights over the past few years. I have tried many other bug lights and have found the function and durability of this light superior to the others. I currently have four (4) in operation around my country home. Some I have left on continually for two to three years with no problem. In addition to killing mosquitoes they provide a nice soft source of night light.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insect Killer
from Powder Springs, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works but you have to clean it

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This started off soooo well, but every 2 days or so you have to blow the bugs off or else there will be no where for new bugs to be zapped. As a result, I have a bunch of bugs flying around this thing like they are trying to get into a nightclub, but can't...because it's crowed...by dead bugs that are stuck at the door. :(
So if you have the time to go outside and blow off all of the dead bugs (and I mean by using some sort of air pressure system like a blow dryer or air compressor), then this may be the affordable option for you.
But if you don't have all of that free time (such as I), then look to get one that zaps the bugs to the point where they don't stick.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape, it does kill bugs
Cons: bigs stick once dead
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insect Killer
from Houston area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bang for buck. Works well.

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't understand all the low ratings here. This may be small and need more frequent cleaning than a larger zapper, but it's just as effective. It's also a lower voltage, silent-kill zapper (no popping sound or toxic smoke), and uses less electricity (with a less expensive to replace, lower wattage bulb). It's internal design is nearly identical to the much more expensive (----)tron 1/2 acre model, but in a different style housing.
I've used a variety of large, expensive, and smaller, less expensive zappers, and none of them have lasted more than a few seasons (usually 2), before they died, so I stopped buying the large, expensive ones (I'm guessing it's a combination of Texas heat, rain, the occasional lizard finding it's way in, and possibly my habit of cleaning them out with a hose, that kills them in a couple of years).
Since, mosquitoes congregate around my back door, where I also have a dawn-to-dusk security light (which attracts bugs), I hang mine above the security lights, which cuts down the number of bugs coming in the house at least 85% (as well as the number of mosquito bites).
One of these is quite effective, but I could easily buy 3 or 4 of them (for larger coverage area) for the price I would pay for a single top end zapper. Since the one I bought a couple of years ago has died, I'm happy to be buying another identical model this season. Well worth the low price.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insect Killer
from austin tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor product

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we have owned this product for 3 days and have plugged it in during the day during that time. Prior to acquiring this product, the mosquitos would be around early and often. I am sorry to say nothing has changed with the use of this product. While we continue to be feasted on outside, we have not witnessed 1 mosquito death since owning.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 29, 2015By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 29, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please contact our customer support team and let them know about the issues you're having. We can be reached at 1-800-477-0457 or ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 6 for Insect Killer
from Plano, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Powerful Enough!

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not powerful enough to kill bugs. Bugs are walking all over the unit, in the so called killing grid.
Don't waste your money. Very disappointed.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insect Killer
from Carnegie, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not think it's killed a single fly in a week... Would not recommend! Glad I saved the box!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insect Killer
from St. Cloud, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for about 45 days, and then it went dead

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for my garage. It worked fantastic, and then a month and a half in, the light stopped working. I figured it was just a dead bulb, but after replacing that, it still doesn't work. Disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, short lifespan
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014
I apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact our customer support team and they'll help you out. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 9-5PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 9 for Insect Killer

Just buy a new one

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Mine lasted about 3 years & then died. I thought it was the bulb...replaced that (which was a total pain- that old bulb was in there good & tight),it's still dead. Maybe I broke something getting that old bulb out. For the price, I'll just buy a new one. I wish it had lasted longer, bUT I liked it while it lasted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insect Killer
from Fall River, Mass

TZ15-My 1st Bug zapper! STINGER

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
purchased on 6/1/11-put it on my deck at night, the next morning, I was shaking bugs and small moths out of it like a salt shaker!!
I could not hear it work, I live next to wet lands, so bugs over here are like snow! will have to clean it every day. so far so good
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insect Killer

A Waste of Time, but so is the Larger Model

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Even inside of a screened in porch we were eaten alive by mosquitoes. Took it back for the larger one... no difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 29, 2015By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 29, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We recommend placing the unit approximately 25 feet away from human activity to lure flying insects away from you. Hope this helps! HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 12 for Insect Killer
from San Antonio TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Insect killer was outstanding

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Yes this insect killer is working very well. It is keeping the insect down in the back patio. The only problem is that there are still ants there, but I am killing them with a spray. Outstanding piece of equipment.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insect Killer
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

reviewing stinger insect killer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had an old Stinger and it was great. The new ones are worthless. I have yet seen it sap any bugs. The old ones were constantly killing bugs of all sizes. The new ones are worthless.
Pros: have none
Cons: isn't worth the money
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 11, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 11, 2014
We're sorry to hear you've had a negative experience with our product. We'd love to connect with you at 800-477-0457 and we'll do our best to help you out. Thank you for the review.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 14 for Insect Killer
from Sterling, VA

1 big one, 1 small one

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was getting eaten alive trying to power wash my big 2-level deck, and wooden fencing (end unit townhouse).
I have one of these, and also one of the Home Depot larger ones, $49.99, forget the name. They are in different locations, this one inside of a large decked in area, no real lights near THIS one. The bigger one is on the outside opposite corner, 30 feet from lights, in an open area that is dark. It is easily twice as bright as the bigger unit. It will light an area, but I wouldn't hang out in this thing's light.
This little sucker has 2x or 3x the bugs stuck in it every morning. I'm extremely happy with it. Yes you need compressed air every morning. Lots of bugs dead = bugs to clean out. I highly recommend getting a couple of units on edges of your property, maybe on a timer, to thin out bug populations. I will be replacing mosquito scented lure regularly. I'm hooked. I unhook for rain, pretty scared of what might happen. Don't want to lose this.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insect Killer
from Richmond, VA

good and (not so) bad

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased two of these - one for the front porch and the other for the backyard - both areas were completely unusable from the early Spring through late Fall due to to flying, biting insects. THE GOOD: they really seem to be working - it took a little time, but we have noticed a definite decrease in the number of insects in both areas.
THE BAD: the one on the front porch fell off of a table - about 18 inches down and the bulb exploded. the rest of it is fine - so - the bulbs are very delicate and not cushioned in any way - just be careful if you have to take it down from its' perch for any reason. THE GOOD: the one remaining bug zapper in the back yard seems to have taken over for the broken one! Both areas seem to be covered - a nice surprise!
+31points
36out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insect Killer
from Sacramento, ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Model # TZ15 is an absolute garbage design

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one and it went out in 2 months. I went back to Home Depot and both a replacement bulb and that didn't work. Thinking I just bought a bad bulb, I took it back and got a replacement which also didn't work with my unit. Come to find out the lamp driver went bad and that can't be replaced. So I got a whole new unit which just went out last week and guess what, it's the lamp driver again. Turns out, when the lamp goes bad it is taking out the lamp driver as well. CF is dead, buy an LED system and they are much cheaper anyway. In all the years I did electronics in the Air Force I never had to replace a bad LED, just the drivers. LEDs today are a different beast though. There is a great deal of photon power in a very small and efficient package.
Cons: Not Durable, expensive, lamp is obsolete, not efficient
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportFebruary 20, 2015By Manufacturer Tech SupportFebruary 20, 2015
We apologize for any inconvenience. Please contact our customer support team and let them know about the issue you're having. We can be reached at 1-800-477-0457 or ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 17 for Insect Killer
from Gilbert, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not recommended for large insects.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried using this model AND the 1 acre model in the backyard to kill mosquitoes. The problem is in the design of the unit as it has very small slits/openings that do not allow larger insects to get in and be zapped. If you have smaller insects like gnats, flies, moths, etc. I'm sure this thing will perform well. If you have larger bugs like the mosquitoes we have, probably not so much. Had to return the product due to design/ lack of effectiveness.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor performance on large insects, requires extension chord, needs to be hung 8ft in the air
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insect Killer
from N. Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never zapped a single insect.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to finally have some protection in the backyard by racking up some bug death, but after plugging in the unit complete with attractant and turning out all outside lights, bugs did indeed find the unit but I wasn't hearing any zaps. Upon closer inspection the bugs were having fun and frolic all over the unit including on the blacklight tube. Since none of the bugs had Superbug capes on, I must assume the unit was not working.
The troubleshooting guide said if it wasn't working you can mess with the connections. Uh no, that's their job. Maybe this is a one out of however many that doesn't work, but it was the one I got. I expect it to go snap, crackle, pop with a high body count of flying insects without me being part of the quality control team. I'm returning it tomorrow.
Cons: didn't work
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insect Killer
from Aurora, Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I plugged it lit up and then nothing looked it over and the light was broken that fast. Junk,junk I'm taking it back
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, plastic junk
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insect Killer
from Huntington, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of Your Money

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not attract flying insects. Does not kill flying insects. All it does do is light up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not do what it is designed to do
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>