728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Insect Killer

Insect Killer

The Stinger Insect Killer is designed to attract and kill flying insects with an effective and quiet operation. A UV light is used to lure light-sensitive insects in, and the single grid electrocutes insects on contact. This weatherproof unit covers up to 21,780 sq. ft. to help give you and your family a pleasant outdoor environment.
Overall rating:
2.657 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product17 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product17 of 32reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Insect Killer
Review 1 for Insect Killer
Ricardo
from N. Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never zapped a single insect.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to finally have some protection in the backyard by racking up some bug death, but after plugging in the unit complete with attractant and turning out all outside lights, bugs did indeed find the unit but I wasn't hearing any zaps. Upon closer inspection the bugs were having fun and frolic all over the unit including on the blacklight tube. Since none of the bugs had Superbug capes on, I must assume the unit was not working.
The troubleshooting guide said if it wasn't working you can mess with the connections. Uh no, that's their job. Maybe this is a one out of however many that doesn't work, but it was the one I got. I expect it to go snap, crackle, pop with a high body count of flying insects without me being part of the quality control team. I'm returning it tomorrow.
Cons: didn't work
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insect Killer
unifsrn
from Fall River, Mass

TZ15-My 1st Bug zapper! STINGER

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
purchased on 6/1/11-put it on my deck at night, the next morning, I was shaking bugs and small moths out of it like a salt shaker!!
I could not hear it work, I live next to wet lands, so bugs over here are like snow! will have to clean it every day. so far so good
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insect Killer
binti
from Richmond, VA

good and (not so) bad

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these - one for the front porch and the other for the backyard - both areas were completely unusable from the early Spring through late Fall due to to flying, biting insects. THE GOOD: they really seem to be working - it took a little time, but we have noticed a definite decrease in the number of insects in both areas.
THE BAD: the one on the front porch fell off of a table - about 18 inches down and the bulb exploded. the rest of it is fine - so - the bulbs are very delicate and not cushioned in any way - just be careful if you have to take it down from its' perch for any reason. THE GOOD: the one remaining bug zapper in the back yard seems to have taken over for the broken one! Both areas seem to be covered - a nice surprise!
+28points
33out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insect Killer
JRock
from Sterling, VA

1 big one, 1 small one

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was getting eaten alive trying to power wash my big 2-level deck, and wooden fencing (end unit townhouse).
I have one of these, and also one of the Home Depot larger ones, $49.99, forget the name. They are in different locations, this one inside of a large decked in area, no real lights near THIS one. The bigger one is on the outside opposite corner, 30 feet from lights, in an open area that is dark. It is easily twice as bright as the bigger unit. It will light an area, but I wouldn't hang out in this thing's light.
This little sucker has 2x or 3x the bugs stuck in it every morning. I'm extremely happy with it. Yes you need compressed air every morning. Lots of bugs dead = bugs to clean out. I highly recommend getting a couple of units on edges of your property, maybe on a timer, to thin out bug populations. I will be replacing mosquito scented lure regularly. I'm hooked. I unhook for rain, pretty scared of what might happen. Don't want to lose this.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insect Killer
mauilady4
from Fishers
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Bug Zapper

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this about 3 weeks ago & seems to be working great. We hang it in our tree out on our front lawn. We bought the bigger model which had the dusk to dawn feature but we could not use it, so returned it for the present model. My only complaint is I wish we could turn it on/off without unplugging it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insect Killer
MRFIXIT123
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
it doesn't work instantly give it a day of so and you can see the difference in the amount of mosquitoes. instead of buying one big unit I bought 2 of these small ones put one in the front yard and one in the backyard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insect Killer
gcf51a
from Augusta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works but

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I purchased two and installed one on each end of house (only 70ft apart). I live back in the woods and have a lot of mosquitoes. Each unit kills more than 100 every night, but I still have mosquitoes in-between them (only 35 ft away). There seems to be less and I have fewer come in the house when my front door is opened. My opinion the UV bulb attracts more mosquitoes than candles flies vs. a regular black light. I should have purchased larger units. Unit should not be rated for 1/2 coverage.
I need to replace a bulb in one of the units after only 22 days of use. I’ll purchase 2 replace bulbs just encase the other burns out so quickly. Hopefully, the replacement last longer than the factory installed one.
I would recommend for a smaller area.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: low coverage, poor bulb life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insect Killer
Smacadoodle
from Phoenix

Great!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never write reviews, but I am now able to go outside without getting totally overcome by mosquitoes! I bought this Stinger insect killer, and Ecosmart Fogger. I sprayed off the house to remove the spider webs and dust. I sprayed the fogger around the windows and doors and on the lawn. I hung the stinger and let it run all night. The new morning, only 2 mosquitoes were out. That night, not even one. The zapper is covered in dead flying bugs. It's been 2 days and I'm loving this ! Thank you!!!
Pros: Durable, Strong, works!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insect Killer
texan2
from Texas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Pest Relief

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product to eliminate mosquitos. This is my second Bug Zapper. The second one ordered had a faulty light bulb -only lasted three nites. Home Depot's delivery and overall service was excellent.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insect Killer
Smoove
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great for a month

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bulb died after 1month and replacement is $15 for a $25 device.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insect Killer
Ducky

Great for small area

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have this little zapper in out enclosed porch to get the bugs that manage to make it in. I worked well all last summer and is now up for the next.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insect Killer
MarkC
from Bradenton, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bug Zapper

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product attracts and kills the bugs, but do not expect it to "Zap!" It is not designed to make a popping sound when the bug gets killed. I is quite and is working even if it does not pop. You will have to blow off the dead bugs every so often, as they stick.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, affordable
Cons: wanted to hear the pop!, bugs stick
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insect Killer
MARIA
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THE PRODUCT WORK BUT NOT AS I THOUGHT IT WOULD

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
IT WAS GOOD BUT DIDNT WORK LIKE THE OTHER ONE I BOUGHT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insect Killer
jukeboxjake

not bad for price

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it covers a small area but is very quiet, so get more then one
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insect Killer
Ruth
from Wauwatosa, WI, USA

I am not being bothered by mosquitoes any more.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I hung the zapper a couple of weeks ago. I have kept it plugged in so it is always working. Lately when i have been in my yard, I haven't been bitten by mosquitoes.
Its very quiet and seems effective.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insect Killer
mike
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

its good for nothing

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had it up for 2 weeks.... did not kill one bug.. just as many bugs flying around as before..
its useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insect Killer
kcirsivad

worked till bulb burned out

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked great till bulb burned out in 2 weeks have to take it back
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insect Killer
gabby
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

stinger will do the job

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had mosquito in my office I bout different staff didn’t help
but this stinger did the job trust me its very good
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insect Killer
jfll

not convenient

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The power cord was so short, I had nowhere convenient to hang it or plug it in without ghetto-rigging it with an extension cord. I returned it.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insect Killer
camper
from Oxnard, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not last very long

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought for camping, but when we were checking on our outside equipment, the zapper did not work. Went down to the local Home Depot to purchase a replacement bulb. After replacing it, the unit fail to come on. It is 1 year old. I am very disappointed with the product
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportNovember 15, 2013By Manufacturer Tech SupportNovember 15, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!HoneywellSupportTechnician
1 2 >>