728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Insect Killer

Insect Killer

The Stinger Insect Killer is designed to attract and kill flying insects with an effective and quiet operation. A UV light is used to lure light-sensitive insects in, and the single grid electrocutes insects on contact. This weatherproof unit covers up to 21,780 sq. ft. to help give you and your family a pleasant outdoor environment.
Overall rating:
2.878 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product50 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(24)
4
(21)
3
(7)
2
(11)
1
(35)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product50 of 94reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Insect Killer
Review 1 for Insect Killer
from Katy, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wrors Better than I thought it would

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm use to having the 1970's model where you hear and see the bugs getting fried in it. Wasn't very interested in this model becuase of the low reviews it is getting. I bought one anyway with little expectation. I put it in the garage to kill mosquitos while I'm working in it. It didn't kill much the first night. The second night left a small piles of bugs. The third night it killed more bugs and some flies. So right now I'm surprisingly happy with it. I'm not getting bit while standing at my workbench. I still miss the noise and visuals that the old models had, but if the results are not bugs then I'm happy with it. The cons I put aren't really cons just thing I missed from the old models.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: no killing sound, no killing smoke, no visual entertainment
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insect Killer
from Powder Springs, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works but you have to clean it

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This started off soooo well, but every 2 days or so you have to blow the bugs off or else there will be no where for new bugs to be zapped. As a result, I have a bunch of bugs flying around this thing like they are trying to get into a nightclub, but can't...because it's crowed...by dead bugs that are stuck at the door. :(
So if you have the time to go outside and blow off all of the dead bugs (and I mean by using some sort of air pressure system like a blow dryer or air compressor), then this may be the affordable option for you.
But if you don't have all of that free time (such as I), then look to get one that zaps the bugs to the point where they don't stick.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape, it does kill bugs
Cons: bigs stick once dead
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insect Killer

Good product

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm not sure wether or not to give it a 3 or 4. It does its job decently well, still got eaten a bit. Though I did put it on my porch about 5 feet from me, it did kill a good bit of what was needed though didn't kill all the Mosquitos I would like even with the Nosquito added. Would recommend, only on the bases of if they don't want to pay much. Couldn't kill June Beatles or any larger than average moth around the Johnstown PA area
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insect Killer
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Silent Killer

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought several of these bug lights over the past few years. I have tried many other bug lights and have found the function and durability of this light superior to the others. I currently have four (4) in operation around my country home. Some I have left on continually for two to three years with no problem. In addition to killing mosquitoes they provide a nice soft source of night light.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insect Killer
from Houston area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bang for buck. Works well.

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't understand all the low ratings here. This may be small and need more frequent cleaning than a larger zapper, but it's just as effective. It's also a lower voltage, silent-kill zapper (no popping sound or toxic smoke), and uses less electricity (with a less expensive to replace, lower wattage bulb). It's internal design is nearly identical to the much more expensive (----)tron 1/2 acre model, but in a different style housing.
I've used a variety of large, expensive, and smaller, less expensive zappers, and none of them have lasted more than a few seasons (usually 2), before they died, so I stopped buying the large, expensive ones (I'm guessing it's a combination of Texas heat, rain, the occasional lizard finding it's way in, and possibly my habit of cleaning them out with a hose, that kills them in a couple of years).
Since, mosquitoes congregate around my back door, where I also have a dawn-to-dusk security light (which attracts bugs), I hang mine above the security lights, which cuts down the number of bugs coming in the house at least 85% (as well as the number of mosquito bites).
One of these is quite effective, but I could easily buy 3 or 4 of them (for larger coverage area) for the price I would pay for a single top end zapper. Since the one I bought a couple of years ago has died, I'm happy to be buying another identical model this season. Well worth the low price.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insect Killer
from Arlington, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bugs in the house

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife kept having an issue with flying bugs in the house, which didn't bother me at all as mosquitoes don't like me as much as they love her. I saw this product and put it in the living room and have yet to have any flying bugs anywhere in the house.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: cord could be longer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insect Killer

works great

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just installed this unit on our balcony as I could not enjoy the summer months because doing so resulted in 1 bite per minute.
I have been patiently waiting to be bit and 1 hour in...no bite :)
Great results thus far without the use of the mosquito bait it comes with. Very promising.
Pros:
No annoying zapping sound
Easy plug-in install
Does what it promised to do
Con:
The cord it comes with is way short.
Would have given it 5 stars other wise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insect Killer

great so far

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought the 25$ one.put a timer on it.didn't see reasons for 25 hrs.I went out to hear it zapping.but no sound.walked over to see hundreds of dead mosquitos.glad we got it.needed it for several month's.Wal-Mart,tractor supply,Lowe's had nothing.guy atLowe's said he gets asked 3 times a day if they have any....anyway thanks hd
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insect Killer
from Deerfield IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bug Zapper

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not seem to draw many flying creatures. The larger units seem to do a better job
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insect Killer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good purchase

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought it and brought it home, hung it up, plugged it in and it has been doing its job ever since. However,, the wife is complaining about all the dead bugs on the ground. Now how good is that?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insect Killer

Does not work

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could not even give it one star, but I had to put something in that field. . I have already returned the item. I tried it for 5 days and no bugs were attracted to it. Not one dead flying insect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insect Killer
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hang it up, plug it in and it kills flying insects.
If you are trying to kill bugs I recommend one.
If you are not trying to kill bugs I would not recommend buying one.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insect Killer
Age Range:35 to 44

Mediocre

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bug zapper is quiet , that is a plus however my husband would prefer to hear the zapping sound when the bugs hit the light so he knows it is working.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insect Killer

Pick another zapper.

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wasn't as effective in zapping bugs as another brand used previously.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insect Killer
from austin tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor product

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we have owned this product for 3 days and have plugged it in during the day during that time. Prior to acquiring this product, the mosquitos would be around early and often. I am sorry to say nothing has changed with the use of this product. While we continue to be feasted on outside, we have not witnessed 1 mosquito death since owning.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 29, 2015By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 29, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please contact our customer support team and let them know about the issues you're having. We can be reached at 1-800-477-0457 or ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 16 for Insect Killer
from St. Cloud, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for about 45 days, and then it went dead

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for my garage. It worked fantastic, and then a month and a half in, the light stopped working. I figured it was just a dead bulb, but after replacing that, it still doesn't work. Disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, short lifespan
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014By Manufacturer Tech SupportMay 20, 2014
I apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact our customer support team and they'll help you out. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 9-5PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com.HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 17 for Insect Killer
from Fall River, Mass

TZ15-My 1st Bug zapper! STINGER

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
purchased on 6/1/11-put it on my deck at night, the next morning, I was shaking bugs and small moths out of it like a salt shaker!!
I could not hear it work, I live next to wet lands, so bugs over here are like snow! will have to clean it every day. so far so good
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insect Killer
from Plano, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Powerful Enough!

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not powerful enough to kill bugs. Bugs are walking all over the unit, in the so called killing grid.
Don't waste your money. Very disappointed.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insect Killer
from Sterling, VA

1 big one, 1 small one

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was getting eaten alive trying to power wash my big 2-level deck, and wooden fencing (end unit townhouse).
I have one of these, and also one of the Home Depot larger ones, $49.99, forget the name. They are in different locations, this one inside of a large decked in area, no real lights near THIS one. The bigger one is on the outside opposite corner, 30 feet from lights, in an open area that is dark. It is easily twice as bright as the bigger unit. It will light an area, but I wouldn't hang out in this thing's light.
This little sucker has 2x or 3x the bugs stuck in it every morning. I'm extremely happy with it. Yes you need compressed air every morning. Lots of bugs dead = bugs to clean out. I highly recommend getting a couple of units on edges of your property, maybe on a timer, to thin out bug populations. I will be replacing mosquito scented lure regularly. I'm hooked. I unhook for rain, pretty scared of what might happen. Don't want to lose this.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insect Killer
from Richmond, VA

good and (not so) bad

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased two of these - one for the front porch and the other for the backyard - both areas were completely unusable from the early Spring through late Fall due to to flying, biting insects. THE GOOD: they really seem to be working - it took a little time, but we have noticed a definite decrease in the number of insects in both areas.
THE BAD: the one on the front porch fell off of a table - about 18 inches down and the bulb exploded. the rest of it is fine - so - the bulbs are very delicate and not cushioned in any way - just be careful if you have to take it down from its' perch for any reason. THE GOOD: the one remaining bug zapper in the back yard seems to have taken over for the broken one! Both areas seem to be covered - a nice surprise!
+31points
36out of 41found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>