728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt

40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt

Bare Ground box of coated granular blend comes in a convenient box with cutout carry handles. The Bare Ground coated granular blend is a combination of powerful ice melters and a corn derived corrosion inhibitor. The granular blend starts with a base of sodium chloride which is coated with liquid magnesium chloride and a corn based inhibitor. The resulting product is about 40% less corrosive than a standard salt ice melter and acts more quickly and at lower temperatures.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
Review 1 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
Debby
from Decatur, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked immediately on a very steep driveway covered with solid ice.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this in anticipation of Snowpocalypse 2014 (not even realizing that we would have a second ice storm two weeks later). I chose this product (magnesium chloride) after researching the problems that sodium chloride can have on concrete driveways. Magnesium chloride is not as likely to eat into the concrete. It worked within minutes to make my extremely steep driveway usable. I had it delivered to the door instead of picking it up at the store because of the weight (40 lbs.) - I didn't want to lift the box in and out of my car.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
a1234
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent value for money

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is cheap and does the job. Excellent value for money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
Jack

Ice melt

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does a great job. But the plastic bag the product is in needs to be made of heavier plastic cause it tears to easly.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
rshah

Excellent for concrete driveway

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Regular salt can damage your driveway and this one I have been using for couple of years is very good and easy on the concrete too.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
JohnS
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Environmentally friendly.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is environmentally friendly and works well. I've purchased it before.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
Htlk1999
from Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice product

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical when I first got this product. When I opened it all I saw was looked like dirty rock salt. Temperature has been near zero or below for weeks. Used a old plastic spreader to see how it would work. It works really good . Not sure what the brown stuff is on it but it worked for me even in such cold weather.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
WinterInBrooklyn
from Brooklyn, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just in time

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I couldn't get my hands on Rock Salt fast enough last Winter. Last year I made several trips to various stores, buying 2lb bags & 5lb bags & even a one lb Zip Lock bag of ice melt from a local deli for over $10.00 just to keep people from slipping on my stoop.
This year I figured why not let HD & UPS take care of it for me. I ordered a 40lb box of ice melt & had it delivered right to my front door. 1 week later I was using it due to a recent 'freak' ice storm on October 29th. Was I happy to have it.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
Josie
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a performer

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this for dust control, easy to spread and worked perfectly
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
movielover62
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is easy to use

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I haven't used this yet since there is still ice melt left ovwer from last year, but I expect no problems using this.
-13points
0out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
PeteinLasVegas
from A loving brother in Las Vegas, NV

A Las Vegas Birthday Gift

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sister's birthday gift was the best birthday gift she ever received. An 18 inch blowing north east snowstorm and the snowmelt both arrived on the same day. I really made a hit with her birthday.-- Oh, and the snowmelt cleared the walkway for the birthday cake..and delivered on-time..I love snowmelt...and Home Depot.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 lb. Box of Coated Granular Ice Melt
salmanal
from Reno, NV

I trust it.........

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've not used it yet, the snowy months ended when I made this purchase. Per the ingredients, I think it will work when the snows arrive next year.
-28points
0out of 28found this review helpful.