728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Impact Wrenches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

The 18-volt Ryobi cordless Impact Wrench is great for a variety of projects from automotive and mechanics to building a deck and other heavy-duty applications. The powerful 18 volt motor allows for 0-3000 RPM for tightening or loosening of various nuts/bolts. The impacting mechanism produces 200 ft. lbs. (2400 in. lbs) of torque and 0-3000 impacts per minute to easily drive long screws or lag bolts. The ergonomically designed handle with over-mold ensures user comfort. Part of the One+ system and is compatible with any RYOBI One+ 18V NiCd or Lithium-ion battery; sold separately.
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(115 reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product96 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 115 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(76)
4
(18)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product96 of 109reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bargain if you already have One+ batteries and charger!!!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
90 lb/ft lug nuts on the car took 1 second and 150 lb/ft lugnuts on the new F150 took 2-3 seconds.
Already own some One+ stuff from over the last 10 years and figured for $100 I would return it if it did not do what I needed.
More compact in my hand than I expected too - not much bigger than their 1/4 impact driver! Just heavier due to the bigger hammer in the nose.
Already better than I expected and a cheap way to dip my toe in the water about wanting cordless and electric to replace needing a big new air compressor in my home shop.
Very satisfied with my new purchase - hopefully it holds up to hobbyist automotive use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Davenport fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is hard for me being a disable person to change tires of my wife's SUV. When I bought this with some dough, the sales rep told me if does not work to returned it. I use a p108 battery and it did the job for me. I rotate all 4 tires of both of my vehicles with one battery. I will not know what to do with my favorite tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Newtown Square PA 19073
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exceeded my expectations. Worked well removing lug nuts and loosening brake parts

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use trigger change direction (FWD/REV) Battery has sufficient power to complete the job. did a complete brake job on all four wheels
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Purchased to use with my rock crawling Jeep.

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had seen some reviews saying that this impact would not remove even 55 ft lb torqued lug nuts. I tested it at the store and felt it would do the job. I got it home and CHARGED the battery, after which I tried it on my Jeep, I keep the steel wheels on my Jeep torqued to 110 ft lbs (with a torque wrench), and it took all four of them off without any hesitation at all. I rotated all 4 tires ( had to loosen and then retorque, torque was too high), then took the wheels off of my wife's Honda to change the brakes, removed and reinstalled all 4 tires without any hesitation at all. That makes a total of 8 tires removed and replaced on one charge and no problems at all with the amount of torque
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery problems

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my third battery for this tool. The battery doesn't lose charge but the connections to the tool wear out and the tool doesn't work any more. I think it comes down to the vibrations of the impact part of the driver that wears out the connectors on the battery. The tool stops, if you remove the battery and then re-seat it, it works for a while but after five or six times it won't connect at all. So this becomes an expensive tool to use for more than a year.
Rather than buy another battery, I am going to buy a replacement product and hope that another brand from another store doesn't have this same problem.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

this diesel mechanic is impressed with this gun!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
at work I only use snap-on tools including their 18v cordless impact. for home use (mainly for rotating tires) I bought the ryobi impact since I have other ryobi 18v tools for the house. I cant see myself buying another snap on impact for $500. anyways, I worked on my friend's truck at home where I had to take out a locknut that was torqued to 450 ft/lbs.. The ryobi gun broke the 1 7/8" nut free with no problem. I found it amusing that this ryobi gets the job done.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Eden Prairie
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Torque way overrated. Works OK if 70 ft-lbs torque is enough. Would not remove lug nuts on car or van (torqued to 80 & 90 ft-, only 75 ft-lbs at best.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Torque way overrated. Works OK if 70 ft-lbs torque is enough. Would not remove lug nuts on car or van (torqued to 80 & 90 ft-lb respectively. Must break luts loose with a wrench then it will remove them. Tightens lug nuts to 65-75 ft-lbs of torque (75 best attained) measured with a torque wrench. Have a 20+ year old 120V Sears impact wrench and impact sockets that still works much better than this impact wrench. Wanted a cordless wrench. I have other Ryobi tools, lights, grass trimmer, and wanted to share the batteries and charger. Just need 100 ft-lbs torque, for most uses. 150 would be nice for axle bolts. .. Returned it thinking it might be defective. If next one fails,, I'll try a different brand.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Good Tool

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
bought the bare tool and had batteries charged at home... had to try it out right away and took my lugs off with ease... I was surprised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Ashland, KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am impressed

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this to pull lug nuts from both my vehicles. I have to say that I am impressed. It pulls the lug nuts without seeming to struggle. I used the high capacity LiOn battery and it didn't phase the battery at all. This is not a tool that I will use every day but when I need it, it will be great to have. At $100 it can't be beat since I am all in on Ryobi One+ tools already. Can't speak to longevity yet since I just got it but I don't have any concerns.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Doesn't last long

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife purchased me this impact for a bday present in April now I have used at junk yard race track and all over not as much torque as I would like but it made every job easier but now the motor is throwing chinks out of it and making grinding noises it's not even a year old
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value but chuck is garbage..BUT there is a replacement!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I agree with others that the tool is a greaqt value but does have a fatal flaw. The 1/2" to 1/4 hex coupler is junk and will break if you use this tool to screw with. But I have found a wonderful replacemnet by Dewalt that does the job and is even better.
DEWALT DW2298 1 2-Inch Square Anvil to 1 4-Inch Hex and its even made for impact tools. Its $7 and can be found online or most home improvement stores.
Hope this helps, Brian
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male

Great Buy for the money

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this impact 90 days ago and have only one complaint and that is under heavy use the batteries will die fast and bind the gun up. I use this gun 8 hours a day at work pulling parts in a junk yard. I can tell you this it has MORE THEN ENOUGH power to break your lug nuts as i use it to pull crossmember's, lower control arms,upper control arms, struts, ect. ect.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy, batteries die under load
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:18 to 24
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for an auto shop

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I initially bought this to use when I worked at an autoshop so I didn't have to fight them over the air hose and have greater maneuverability. With this impact wrench I literally took the wheels off a bus (torqued to about 140-150 ft/lbs), and while It drained an entire battery to do (I have 3 batteries so I have one charged up at all times), so this is definitely capable of the demands of a driveway mechanic.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Wausau, WI

Surprisingly Strong

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wasn't expecting much from an electric impact wrench, but this thing has some power.
It busted loose ten lugs that were rusted in place on my boat trailer.
When trying to loosen by hand the studs spun. One hit with this impact wrench and off they came.
Not having to break off ten lugs was worth the price of this impact wrench alone.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great impact wrench for the money.

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Before my purchase I was a bit apprehensive about how this gun would actually perform. I am a mechanic who owns several higher end pneumatic impacts and doubted that this gun would have enough power for my liking.
This unit performes with some of the "professional" battery powered units out there at 1/5 the price. Its not going to be a replacement for an air powered impact, but its great for those places where you just don't have access to an air hose. (Side of the road, woods, etc.) I have used this for everything from passenger car wheels to lawnmower blades and its been super convienient, I wish I bought it sooner.
It's not going to break loose a crank bolt but it's going to get the everyday jobs around the house done.
As a note I cannot vouch for the coupler that comes with it because I have never used it, and if you want to the get max power and longevity out of this use a lithium battery... its a world of difference.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Frankfort, KY 40601, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for the home owner.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought the impact wrench strictly for working on my John Deere Lawn and Garden Tractor. So far I've changed the mower blades and drive belts with the impact and it worked like a charm. I rated it average on value because I think Home Depot needs to come down on the price, for $20 more I could have bought the Dewalt at 300ft/lbs of torque but wanted to stay in the Ryobi One family since I already have the chargers and batt. It packs a 200ft/lbs of torque which is plenty for what I've used it for so far. Overall I would recommend this as a good solid tool for the home owner. I am very pleased with its performance.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Yucca Valley, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacing a Snap-On battery impact

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As an Off Road driver I rely on a battery impact wrench for everything from small to major vehicle repairs off-road. Snap-On puts out great tools but their battery line is being orphaned. This Ryobi 18+ impact replaced my old Snap-On with better results than I could have hoped for. Great Tool with a better battery life than Snap-On ever had!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Albany, NY

NICE!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this tonight because I could not get the anode rod out of my water heater, even with breaker bars and a lot of grunting. I'm a DIYer, not a pro, so I have never had an impact wrench before. I didn't think I needed a compressed air type since my use is occasional at most, and I already have many Ryobi tools and two Li-Ion batteries. Long story short, this thing with a 1-1/16" socket made short work of the job. I am very impressed. Three pieces of advice for non-pros like me: 1) use only sockets specifically designed as impact sockets...the material is made to absorb the wrench's torque blasts which save your tool and your hands and keeps the socket from shattering and killing or blinding someone. 2) Upgrade to Li-Ion batteries because they are far better than the old NiMh ones. 3) Be careful not to over-tighten with this tool! Get a torque wrench for final tightening.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from amarillo.tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very powerful used on lug nuts (no problem) so tried rusty bumper bolts (no problem) this thing works great better than pulling around a hose and is lighter than my impact
Pros: Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

P260 Impact Gun

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased and use this impact gun to remove the lugs from my Mustang for tire changes and rotations.
Works perfectly.
It can free stubborn lugs with minor rust with little issue. More intensly rusted lugs take a bit more time, but they still come off. When the new tire goes on, they lugs follow and quickly give that tightened secure feeling. No more going round and round with a lug wrench. One star pattern with this gun on a full charge and you are locked down.
Best part about this tool is no more busted knuckles or breaker bars.
I do recommend the large lithium ion battery and a full charge to get through all four tires. First time you break lugs free, you might need a second battery back up to get through all four tires, depending on how long you need to free lug via each impact cycle.
This tool does work well, and it will work for you.
It makes an easy job take a little less time for a DiY'er.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>