728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Impact Wrenches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

The 18-volt Ryobi cordless Impact Wrench is great for a variety of projects from automotive and mechanics to building a deck and other heavy-duty applications. The powerful 18 volt motor allows for 0-3000 RPM for tightening or loosening of various nuts/bolts. The impacting mechanism produces 200 ft. lbs. (2400 in. lbs) of torque and 0-3000 impacts per minute to easily drive long screws or lag bolts. The ergonomically designed handle with over-mold ensures user comfort. Part of the One+ system and is compatible with any RYOBI One+ 18V NiCd or Lithium-ion battery; sold separately.
Overall rating:
4.252 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product89 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(17)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product89 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery problems

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my third battery for this tool. The battery doesn't lose charge but the connections to the tool wear out and the tool doesn't work any more. I think it comes down to the vibrations of the impact part of the driver that wears out the connectors on the battery. The tool stops, if you remove the battery and then re-seat it, it works for a while but after five or six times it won't connect at all. So this becomes an expensive tool to use for more than a year.
Rather than buy another battery, I am going to buy a replacement product and hope that another brand from another store doesn't have this same problem.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Doesn't last long

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife purchased me this impact for a bday present in April now I have used at junk yard race track and all over not as much torque as I would like but it made every job easier but now the motor is throwing chinks out of it and making grinding noises it's not even a year old
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Purchased to use with my rock crawling Jeep.

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had seen some reviews saying that this impact would not remove even 55 ft lb torqued lug nuts. I tested it at the store and felt it would do the job. I got it home and CHARGED the battery, after which I tried it on my Jeep, I keep the steel wheels on my Jeep torqued to 110 ft lbs (with a torque wrench), and it took all four of them off without any hesitation at all. I rotated all 4 tires ( had to loosen and then retorque, torque was too high), then took the wheels off of my wife's Honda to change the brakes, removed and reinstalled all 4 tires without any hesitation at all. That makes a total of 8 tires removed and replaced on one charge and no problems at all with the amount of torque
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

this diesel mechanic is impressed with this gun!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
at work I only use snap-on tools including their 18v cordless impact. for home use (mainly for rotating tires) I bought the ryobi impact since I have other ryobi 18v tools for the house. I cant see myself buying another snap on impact for $500. anyways, I worked on my friend's truck at home where I had to take out a locknut that was torqued to 450 ft/lbs.. The ryobi gun broke the 1 7/8" nut free with no problem. I found it amusing that this ryobi gets the job done.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good enough but not great

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I only bought this because I already had the battery and charger for the Ryobi drill. It is not the equal of the DeWalt - which, by the way, is not sold at Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: not very powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Ryobi impact

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works good.
Needs a little
More
Torque on the tightening end of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:18 to 24
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for an auto shop

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I initially bought this to use when I worked at an autoshop so I didn't have to fight them over the air hose and have greater maneuverability. With this impact wrench I literally took the wheels off a bus (torqued to about 140-150 ft/lbs), and while It drained an entire battery to do (I have 3 batteries so I have one charged up at all times), so this is definitely capable of the demands of a driveway mechanic.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Breaks them loose...fast

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was changing one of the front axles on my jeep, and I could not break the main axle nut loose. I went out and bought this, and it popped right off. Now that I have it, it is very useful for lugnuts, and any other nuts that need impact to break loose.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value but chuck is garbage..BUT there is a replacement!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I agree with others that the tool is a greaqt value but does have a fatal flaw. The 1/2" to 1/4 hex coupler is junk and will break if you use this tool to screw with. But I have found a wonderful replacemnet by Dewalt that does the job and is even better.
DEWALT DW2298 1 2-Inch Square Anvil to 1 4-Inch Hex and its even made for impact tools. Its $7 and can be found online or most home improvement stores.
Hope this helps, Brian
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from kansas city
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy worth the price

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used my new impact wrench to rotate my tires on my jeep it had no problem loosening the lug bolts love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Frankfort, KY 40601, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for the home owner.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought the impact wrench strictly for working on my John Deere Lawn and Garden Tractor. So far I've changed the mower blades and drive belts with the impact and it worked like a charm. I rated it average on value because I think Home Depot needs to come down on the price, for $20 more I could have bought the Dewalt at 300ft/lbs of torque but wanted to stay in the Ryobi One family since I already have the chargers and batt. It packs a 200ft/lbs of torque which is plenty for what I've used it for so far. Overall I would recommend this as a good solid tool for the home owner. I am very pleased with its performance.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Wausau, WI

Surprisingly Strong

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't expecting much from an electric impact wrench, but this thing has some power.
It busted loose ten lugs that were rusted in place on my boat trailer.
When trying to loosen by hand the studs spun. One hit with this impact wrench and off they came.
Not having to break off ten lugs was worth the price of this impact wrench alone.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male

Great Buy for the money

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this impact 90 days ago and have only one complaint and that is under heavy use the batteries will die fast and bind the gun up. I use this gun 8 hours a day at work pulling parts in a junk yard. I can tell you this it has MORE THEN ENOUGH power to break your lug nuts as i use it to pull crossmember's, lower control arms,upper control arms, struts, ect. ect.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy, batteries die under load
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great impact wrench for the money.

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before my purchase I was a bit apprehensive about how this gun would actually perform. I am a mechanic who owns several higher end pneumatic impacts and doubted that this gun would have enough power for my liking.
This unit performes with some of the "professional" battery powered units out there at 1/5 the price. Its not going to be a replacement for an air powered impact, but its great for those places where you just don't have access to an air hose. (Side of the road, woods, etc.) I have used this for everything from passenger car wheels to lawnmower blades and its been super convienient, I wish I bought it sooner.
It's not going to break loose a crank bolt but it's going to get the everyday jobs around the house done.
As a note I cannot vouch for the coupler that comes with it because I have never used it, and if you want to the get max power and longevity out of this use a lithium battery... its a world of difference.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Central Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18-volt one + impact wrench (tool only)

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool does what is needed. It is compact and can be used anywhere. I find it to be well suited for my needs. I recommend it as a air or electric impact wrench alternative.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Yucca Valley, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacing a Snap-On battery impact

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As an Off Road driver I rely on a battery impact wrench for everything from small to major vehicle repairs off-road. Snap-On puts out great tools but their battery line is being orphaned. This Ryobi 18+ impact replaced my old Snap-On with better results than I could have hoped for. Great Tool with a better battery life than Snap-On ever had!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Powell, WY 82435, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gun

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The impact gun was just what I wanted. It's light weight, and it still puts on lug nuts tight enough to not worry about them. Thanks
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great for women too

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great taking out old screws from and replacing them when recovering chair cushions
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Albany, NY

NICE!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tonight because I could not get the anode rod out of my water heater, even with breaker bars and a lot of grunting. I'm a DIYer, not a pro, so I have never had an impact wrench before. I didn't think I needed a compressed air type since my use is occasional at most, and I already have many Ryobi tools and two Li-Ion batteries. Long story short, this thing with a 1-1/16" socket made short work of the job. I am very impressed. Three pieces of advice for non-pros like me: 1) use only sockets specifically designed as impact sockets...the material is made to absorb the wrench's torque blasts which save your tool and your hands and keeps the socket from shattering and killing or blinding someone. 2) Upgrade to Li-Ion batteries because they are far better than the old NiMh ones. 3) Be careful not to over-tighten with this tool! Get a torque wrench for final tightening.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from San Bernardino, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW!!! Power to spare!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little dandy's a great addition to mine and my Wife's cordless tool collection. Works as advertised, light weight and has power to spare. Thanks "Ryobi" for yet another wonderfully working power tool, helping this disabled Mans life tremendously. Thanks again all.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, great tool for men & women.
Cons: n/a for me...lol...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>