728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Impact Wrenches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

The 18-Volt RYOBI ONE+ Cordless 1/2 In. Impact Wrench is great for a variety of projects from automotive and mechanics to building a deck and other heavy duty applications. The powerful 18 volt motor allows for 0―3000 RPM for tightening or loosening of various nuts and bolts. The wrench has a 1/2 in. anvil with pin retention for easy and secure socket connection.
Overall rating:
4.248 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product101 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(79)
4
(20)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product101 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bargain if you already have One+ batteries and charger!!!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
90 lb/ft lug nuts on the car took 1 second and 150 lb/ft lugnuts on the new F150 took 2-3 seconds.
Already own some One+ stuff from over the last 10 years and figured for $100 I would return it if it did not do what I needed.
More compact in my hand than I expected too - not much bigger than their 1/4 impact driver! Just heavier due to the bigger hammer in the nose.
Already better than I expected and a cheap way to dip my toe in the water about wanting cordless and electric to replace needing a big new air compressor in my home shop.
Very satisfied with my new purchase - hopefully it holds up to hobbyist automotive use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from perry county
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just broke it out of the box used once seems powerful

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
seems to be what I was looking for but didn't come with the adapter to go to 3/8 drive
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no 3/8 adapter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Seminole, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weak Torque

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not strong enough to take a lug off my truck. There is a Ryobi model that may be powerful enough (P261 @ 300 FP Torque) but home depot stop carrying them for whatever reason and sticks to the weaker model. Very disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, weak
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Purchased to use with my rock crawling Jeep.

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had seen some reviews saying that this impact would not remove even 55 ft lb torqued lug nuts. I tested it at the store and felt it would do the job. I got it home and CHARGED the battery, after which I tried it on my Jeep, I keep the steel wheels on my Jeep torqued to 110 ft lbs (with a torque wrench), and it took all four of them off without any hesitation at all. I rotated all 4 tires ( had to loosen and then retorque, torque was too high), then took the wheels off of my wife's Honda to change the brakes, removed and reinstalled all 4 tires without any hesitation at all. That makes a total of 8 tires removed and replaced on one charge and no problems at all with the amount of torque
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Davenport fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is hard for me being a disable person to change tires of my wife's SUV. When I bought this with some dough, the sales rep told me if does not work to returned it. I use a p108 battery and it did the job for me. I rotate all 4 tires of both of my vehicles with one battery. I will not know what to do with my favorite tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Newtown Square PA 19073
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exceeded my expectations. Worked well removing lug nuts and loosening brake parts

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use trigger change direction (FWD/REV) Battery has sufficient power to complete the job. did a complete brake job on all four wheels
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Picked this up because I already have other Ryobi tools, batteries, and charger. Using a fully charged Lithium+ battery (the small version), it easily did a complete tire rotation on my Acura. After I was finished, I took it over to my F150 truck and zipped a couple of the lugs off without any issues (and those are torqued to 150lbs). A lot of the reviews state that this impact will not loosen lugs, I am not encountering that issue. I agree that it's nowhere near as strong as an air tool or some of the new brand name cordless options, but for $100 it's a bargain and a time saver.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

this diesel mechanic is impressed with this gun!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
at work I only use snap-on tools including their 18v cordless impact. for home use (mainly for rotating tires) I bought the ryobi impact since I have other ryobi 18v tools for the house. I cant see myself buying another snap on impact for $500. anyways, I worked on my friend's truck at home where I had to take out a locknut that was torqued to 450 ft/lbs.. The ryobi gun broke the 1 7/8" nut free with no problem. I found it amusing that this ryobi gets the job done.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value but chuck is garbage..BUT there is a replacement!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I agree with others that the tool is a greaqt value but does have a fatal flaw. The 1/2" to 1/4 hex coupler is junk and will break if you use this tool to screw with. But I have found a wonderful replacemnet by Dewalt that does the job and is even better.
DEWALT DW2298 1 2-Inch Square Anvil to 1 4-Inch Hex and its even made for impact tools. Its $7 and can be found online or most home improvement stores.
Hope this helps, Brian
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male

Great Buy for the money

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this impact 90 days ago and have only one complaint and that is under heavy use the batteries will die fast and bind the gun up. I use this gun 8 hours a day at work pulling parts in a junk yard. I can tell you this it has MORE THEN ENOUGH power to break your lug nuts as i use it to pull crossmember's, lower control arms,upper control arms, struts, ect. ect.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy, batteries die under load
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Wausau, WI

Surprisingly Strong

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wasn't expecting much from an electric impact wrench, but this thing has some power.
It busted loose ten lugs that were rusted in place on my boat trailer.
When trying to loosen by hand the studs spun. One hit with this impact wrench and off they came.
Not having to break off ten lugs was worth the price of this impact wrench alone.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery problems

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my third battery for this tool. The battery doesn't lose charge but the connections to the tool wear out and the tool doesn't work any more. I think it comes down to the vibrations of the impact part of the driver that wears out the connectors on the battery. The tool stops, if you remove the battery and then re-seat it, it works for a while but after five or six times it won't connect at all. So this becomes an expensive tool to use for more than a year.
Rather than buy another battery, I am going to buy a replacement product and hope that another brand from another store doesn't have this same problem.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great impact wrench for the money.

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Before my purchase I was a bit apprehensive about how this gun would actually perform. I am a mechanic who owns several higher end pneumatic impacts and doubted that this gun would have enough power for my liking.
This unit performes with some of the "professional" battery powered units out there at 1/5 the price. Its not going to be a replacement for an air powered impact, but its great for those places where you just don't have access to an air hose. (Side of the road, woods, etc.) I have used this for everything from passenger car wheels to lawnmower blades and its been super convienient, I wish I bought it sooner.
It's not going to break loose a crank bolt but it's going to get the everyday jobs around the house done.
As a note I cannot vouch for the coupler that comes with it because I have never used it, and if you want to the get max power and longevity out of this use a lithium battery... its a world of difference.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Yucca Valley, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacing a Snap-On battery impact

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As an Off Road driver I rely on a battery impact wrench for everything from small to major vehicle repairs off-road. Snap-On puts out great tools but their battery line is being orphaned. This Ryobi 18+ impact replaced my old Snap-On with better results than I could have hoped for. Great Tool with a better battery life than Snap-On ever had!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Frankfort, KY 40601, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for the home owner.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought the impact wrench strictly for working on my John Deere Lawn and Garden Tractor. So far I've changed the mower blades and drive belts with the impact and it worked like a charm. I rated it average on value because I think Home Depot needs to come down on the price, for $20 more I could have bought the Dewalt at 300ft/lbs of torque but wanted to stay in the Ryobi One family since I already have the chargers and batt. It packs a 200ft/lbs of torque which is plenty for what I've used it for so far. Overall I would recommend this as a good solid tool for the home owner. I am very pleased with its performance.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Eden Prairie
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Torque way overrated. Works OK if 70 ft-lbs torque is enough. Would not remove lug nuts on car or van (torqued to 80 & 90 ft-, only 75 ft-lbs at best.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Torque way overrated. Works OK if 70 ft-lbs torque is enough. Would not remove lug nuts on car or van (torqued to 80 & 90 ft-lb respectively. Must break luts loose with a wrench then it will remove them. Tightens lug nuts to 65-75 ft-lbs of torque (75 best attained) measured with a torque wrench. Have a 20+ year old 120V Sears impact wrench and impact sockets that still works much better than this impact wrench. Wanted a cordless wrench. I have other Ryobi tools, lights, grass trimmer, and wanted to share the batteries and charger. Just need 100 ft-lbs torque, for most uses. 150 would be nice for axle bolts. .. Returned it thinking it might be defective. If next one fails,, I'll try a different brand.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:18 to 24
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for an auto shop

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I initially bought this to use when I worked at an autoshop so I didn't have to fight them over the air hose and have greater maneuverability. With this impact wrench I literally took the wheels off a bus (torqued to about 140-150 ft/lbs), and while It drained an entire battery to do (I have 3 batteries so I have one charged up at all times), so this is definitely capable of the demands of a driveway mechanic.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Phoenix area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love all of Ryobi's ONE+ tools

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
18v battery makes it so easy to use anywhere with out a cord to mess with..
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Good product and Value

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was sold out at Christmas so I had to wait a few months before it became available again. Other than that it is a great item.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from woodbury,mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works perfect. bought to keep in truck to change snowmobile trailer tires on long trips. Zips them on and off super.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>