728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Impact Wrenches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

The 18-volt Ryobi cordless Impact Wrench is great for a variety of projects from automotive and mechanics to building a deck and other heavy-duty applications. The powerful 18 volt motor allows for 0-3000 RPM for tightening or loosening of various nuts/bolts. The impacting mechanism produces 200 ft. lbs. (2400 in. lbs) of torque and 0-3000 impacts per minute to easily drive long screws or lag bolts. The ergonomically designed handle with over-mold ensures user comfort. Part of the One+ system and is compatible with any RYOBI One+ 18V NiCd or Lithium-ion battery; sold separately.
Overall rating:
4.313 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product83 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(67)
4
(16)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product83 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

this diesel mechanic is impressed with this gun!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
at work I only use snap-on tools including their 18v cordless impact. for home use (mainly for rotating tires) I bought the ryobi impact since I have other ryobi 18v tools for the house. I cant see myself buying another snap on impact for $500. anyways, I worked on my friend's truck at home where I had to take out a locknut that was torqued to 450 ft/lbs.. The ryobi gun broke the 1 7/8" nut free with no problem. I found it amusing that this ryobi gets the job done.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Purchased to use with my rock crawling Jeep.

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had seen some reviews saying that this impact would not remove even 55 ft lb torqued lug nuts. I tested it at the store and felt it would do the job. I got it home and CHARGED the battery, after which I tried it on my Jeep, I keep the steel wheels on my Jeep torqued to 110 ft lbs (with a torque wrench), and it took all four of them off without any hesitation at all. I rotated all 4 tires ( had to loosen and then retorque, torque was too high), then took the wheels off of my wife's Honda to change the brakes, removed and reinstalled all 4 tires without any hesitation at all. That makes a total of 8 tires removed and replaced on one charge and no problems at all with the amount of torque
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from El Paso, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have five drills, same brand and have worked very well. The drill has plenty of power for cabinet making. I like the fact that you have a battery that can be used for several different tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great for women too

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great taking out old screws from and replacing them when recovering chair cushions
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from San Bernardino, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW!!! Power to spare!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little dandy's a great addition to mine and my Wife's cordless tool collection. Works as advertised, light weight and has power to spare. Thanks "Ryobi" for yet another wonderfully working power tool, helping this disabled Mans life tremendously. Thanks again all.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, great tool for men & women.
Cons: n/a for me...lol...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value but chuck is garbage..BUT there is a replacement!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I agree with others that the tool is a greaqt value but does have a fatal flaw. The 1/2" to 1/4 hex coupler is junk and will break if you use this tool to screw with. But I have found a wonderful replacemnet by Dewalt that does the job and is even better.
DEWALT DW2298 1 2-Inch Square Anvil to 1 4-Inch Hex and its even made for impact tools. Its $7 and can be found online or most home improvement stores.
Hope this helps, Brian
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good tool

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a good tool but I found it could use more reverse torque for removing parts.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: needs more reverse torque
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Powerful and small unit that works excellent

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have been using this for both auto work and for building a couple of decks (driving lag bolts). It has been able to take off every bolt/nut needed so far and drive every lag bolt. The only complaint is that it has a tendency to overheat the One+ batteries if used a certain time period (tends to be driving 3 of the 5" lags into 4x4's for me). Once the battery trips (doesn't drain it, just trips a thermal protection circuit) then you have to cool the battery back down to allow it to start working again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: overheats the one+ batteries
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:18 to 24
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for an auto shop

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I initially bought this to use when I worked at an autoshop so I didn't have to fight them over the air hose and have greater maneuverability. With this impact wrench I literally took the wheels off a bus (torqued to about 140-150 ft/lbs), and while It drained an entire battery to do (I have 3 batteries so I have one charged up at all times), so this is definitely capable of the demands of a driveway mechanic.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Frankfort, KY 40601, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for the home owner.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought the impact wrench strictly for working on my John Deere Lawn and Garden Tractor. So far I've changed the mower blades and drive belts with the impact and it worked like a charm. I rated it average on value because I think Home Depot needs to come down on the price, for $20 more I could have bought the Dewalt at 300ft/lbs of torque but wanted to stay in the Ryobi One family since I already have the chargers and batt. It packs a 200ft/lbs of torque which is plenty for what I've used it for so far. Overall I would recommend this as a good solid tool for the home owner. I am very pleased with its performance.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male

Great Buy for the money

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this impact 90 days ago and have only one complaint and that is under heavy use the batteries will die fast and bind the gun up. I use this gun 8 hours a day at work pulling parts in a junk yard. I can tell you this it has MORE THEN ENOUGH power to break your lug nuts as i use it to pull crossmember's, lower control arms,upper control arms, struts, ect. ect.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy, batteries die under load
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Wausau, WI

Surprisingly Strong

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't expecting much from an electric impact wrench, but this thing has some power.
It busted loose ten lugs that were rusted in place on my boat trailer.
When trying to loosen by hand the studs spun. One hit with this impact wrench and off they came.
Not having to break off ten lugs was worth the price of this impact wrench alone.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great impact wrench for the money.

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before my purchase I was a bit apprehensive about how this gun would actually perform. I am a mechanic who owns several higher end pneumatic impacts and doubted that this gun would have enough power for my liking.
This unit performes with some of the "professional" battery powered units out there at 1/5 the price. Its not going to be a replacement for an air powered impact, but its great for those places where you just don't have access to an air hose. (Side of the road, woods, etc.) I have used this for everything from passenger car wheels to lawnmower blades and its been super convienient, I wish I bought it sooner.
It's not going to break loose a crank bolt but it's going to get the everyday jobs around the house done.
As a note I cannot vouch for the coupler that comes with it because I have never used it, and if you want to the get max power and longevity out of this use a lithium battery... its a world of difference.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Yucca Valley, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacing a Snap-On battery impact

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As an Off Road driver I rely on a battery impact wrench for everything from small to major vehicle repairs off-road. Snap-On puts out great tools but their battery line is being orphaned. This Ryobi 18+ impact replaced my old Snap-On with better results than I could have hoped for. Great Tool with a better battery life than Snap-On ever had!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from Albany, NY

NICE!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tonight because I could not get the anode rod out of my water heater, even with breaker bars and a lot of grunting. I'm a DIYer, not a pro, so I have never had an impact wrench before. I didn't think I needed a compressed air type since my use is occasional at most, and I already have many Ryobi tools and two Li-Ion batteries. Long story short, this thing with a 1-1/16" socket made short work of the job. I am very impressed. Three pieces of advice for non-pros like me: 1) use only sockets specifically designed as impact sockets...the material is made to absorb the wrench's torque blasts which save your tool and your hands and keeps the socket from shattering and killing or blinding someone. 2) Upgrade to Li-Ion batteries because they are far better than the old NiMh ones. 3) Be careful not to over-tighten with this tool! Get a torque wrench for final tightening.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P260 - The Great Litle Impact Wrench

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An amazing tool for a garage owner. I bought this and the battery/charger, charge for half an hour and tried it on my Saab Viggen's lug nuts. The lug nuts were torqued by the shop. This tool busted them loose with ease. I was amazed at the power. Rated at 200 ft. lbs of torque, I thought it would not do lug nut job but after reading all the reviews I decided to go for it. I am so glad I bought it. Great for all DIY guys. Maybe great for professionals too. Fantastic tool, amazin power. Also, while doing a brake job, I could not loosen the philips screws that were attached to the brake rotor. I tried this tool with the largest screw bit I have and wow it freed the screw in a jiffy. Thanks Ryobi for making such a budget friendly but yet powerful enough tool!
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

P260 Impact Gun

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased and use this impact gun to remove the lugs from my Mustang for tire changes and rotations.
Works perfectly.
It can free stubborn lugs with minor rust with little issue. More intensly rusted lugs take a bit more time, but they still come off. When the new tire goes on, they lugs follow and quickly give that tightened secure feeling. No more going round and round with a lug wrench. One star pattern with this gun on a full charge and you are locked down.
Best part about this tool is no more busted knuckles or breaker bars.
I do recommend the large lithium ion battery and a full charge to get through all four tires. First time you break lugs free, you might need a second battery back up to get through all four tires, depending on how long you need to free lug via each impact cycle.
This tool does work well, and it will work for you.
It makes an easy job take a little less time for a DiY'er.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Good price good tool

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool worked great on my truck lugs .
A chuck for bits would be nice . I think there is enough power for a hole saw .
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)

Worth every cent

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent all day trying to get a nut loose from a motorcycle, breaking bar, penetrating oil, air impact gun(with a smaller air tank) and couldn't get it to budge. Go buy this and boom instant off. Plus you can take it anywhere, no air tanks no outlets, Worth it!
Pros: Powerful
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ Impact Wrench (Tool-Only)
from rockwall, tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best for the price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we use these all over my plant. they do a great job on standard jobs. not like high torque air impact for those really taught bolts. but best cordless one I have unsed
Pros: Accurate
Cons: cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>