728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

You can add privacy to your yard or protect your garden with the Backyard X-Scapes 6 ft. x 8 ft. Bamboo Fence Panel. The 100% wood panel is made of a Tonkin cane, a durable bamboo from China. The panel is connected with hidden heavy-gauge galvanized steel-coated wires. The panel has been treated for resistance to termites. The pre-assembled panel can install easily in most situations.
Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product42 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product42 of 47reviews
Customer reviews for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
Review 1 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

Quality, Durable

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our goal is to replace the chain link fence around our patio with a stockade fence for privacy, but we decided to hold off for a few years and spend our money elsewhere. In light of this, we decided to see what options existed for a durable, high quality, affordable privacy cover for the chain link in the meantime. We were tired of replacing the flimsy reed fencing year after year and after some research, decided that bamboo fit the bill. It was easy to install (need two people), it's been through a couple storms and hasn't budged, and it adds ambience and privacy. Very pleased with our purchase.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

This is quick and easy to install

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We purchased this product to attach to our chain link fence surrounding our pool. Attached easily to fence and provides the privacy that we were trying to achieve. will probably purchase more to cover more areas. We are really pleased with this product and the ease of installing it
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Beautiful privacy that's easy to install

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Where I live row homes with small backyards are the norm. They are often divided with chainlink fence. By attaching the rolled bamboo fence directly to the existing fence with zip ties, I was able to create a private outdoor area that still allows air flow. It looks great and I love it! And, I did it in less than a day.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well
Cons: not inexpensive yet worth it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Detroit, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install and provides just enough privacy.

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was looking for a quick and easy resolution to a nosey neighbor. This was a perfect solution! We zip tied the bamboo to the existing cyclone fence for a very quick and easy install! And since it is decorative, we didn't need to pull a permit!
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

Rolled Bamboo Fence

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
just what I was looking for, good product at a reasonable price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Waco, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for Central Texas

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were ecstatic in our purchase. The quality was nice and it was not difficult to install. It gave us the illusion of privacy that we wanted. All of our new plants looked show-cased growing in front of it.
We installed it the first week of July. We are now in mid-October and our fencing has turned black. It is covered in mildew. We spent hours researching this fencing. There were absolutely no reviews stating this would happen. However, once we 'Googled' the problem the computer lit-up with page after page of the same scenario. I was told by a H.D. employee that Central Texas is not the right climate for bamboo fencing. He said that bamboo will not mildew in drier locations. It's not like we live in Seattle but we do get rain in the spring and fall.
From everything we've read there is no "cure". The mildew will not go away with power-washing, staining, oils, or coats of polyurethane. One man power-washed with straight bleach. I don't think so. The associate manager was not hopeful that H.D. would do anything but I'll speak to the store manager tomorrow. Buyer beware.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from East Meadow
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

3/4 inch is not consistent in diameter

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 8 of these and attached it to our chain fence. Although not bad, it is still see through, and offers limited privacy. The major problem is the the diameter of each bamboo is not exactly 3/4 inch but includes 1/4 and 1/2 inch mix, and that is what I believe causes the gap in addition some bamboo canes are not exactly straight, which adds to the limited privacy.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Poor Color, expensive, inconsistent diameter mix
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Santa Cruz, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

practical solution

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Using this Bamboo to replace reed fencing is an improvement. Using precious red wood for fencing is a bad choice environmentally, so we were looking for an alternative. The quality is so so; one piece was already broken off, some pieces split, a few sort of burn marks give it a rough look. We put it up on the previous frame by drilling holes & using screws and then a nail gun to secure each piece. Once we got it
put up, it looks nicer than we thought it would. It provides the screening we need and is more durable than flimsy reed fencing and it feels good to use a renewable resource.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood
Cons: uneven pieces
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Minneapolis, MN

Do not buy them. We have mold now.

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy them. We have mold now. I've called homedepot and explained that it has only been 2 months and we have now mold. They offered me $50 gift certificate, but it will cost more than $50 to clean and seal the mold. Do not buy them, and look for somewhere more specified for bamboo.
Cons: No Instructions, mold
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

Worth it!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We built a frame for the four sections of bamboo fencing and stained the fencing with TWP which will preserve the bamboo. TWP was very hard to find so we ordered online, a gallon, did the job with some left over to stain our adirondak chairs. Good idea to give this stain 48 hours to dry before attaching to fence frame.
The fencing gives the area behind the pond a natural setting and loads of privacy. Light and air filter through (between poles) which is good for plants and wind. We'll see how it ages and stands up to the seasons. But, so far, we're happy with it -- beauty and function rolled into one good purchase.
Pros: Stylish, Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: home depot needs to stock twp
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful product

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The panels were beautiful, sturdy and really easy to install. They were shipped very quickly. Great for privacy and look nice too.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Socal

Looks nice, different

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Wife and I were looking for an inexpensive way to dress up our chain link fence and have been pleased with this purchase. The only drawback is mold growth on the bamboo. We started having a lot of rain before I had the chance to locate and apply a suitable protectant sealer. Now a considerable amount of mold growth has occurred. Home Depot does NOT stock either of the two protectant sealers recommended by the manufacturer. Kind of a bummer and the only reason why I gave these a 3, I'd give it a 5 if Home Depot bothered to stock either of the recommended sealer products.
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

I love this our bamboo fence!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased three rolls of 8x6 bamboo fencing from Home Depot for our patio area. We love the look as it fits in nicely with shrubs. We did not want PVC because it was not natural to the area. The bamboo offers filtering light for the shrubs and plants.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Harwich, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Returning product

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered the bambo privicy fencing. You could see right thu it and did not block out the view of my neighbors deck and backyard. I will be returning this product as soon as I find a way to get it back to a Home 'depot.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

well made

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
well made. the fence is sturdy and the color of the photo online and product description matched the product that arrived.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from NoVA

Rolled Bamboo fencing

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 12 rolls of the 3/4 dia. x 6 ft high x 8ft long bamboo fencing to attach to my chain link fence. I purchased these in 3 orders. The first two orders, totaling 10 rolls, were in good shape for the most part, the last order of two had more than half of the poles at 1/2 dia or less. I didn't notice until after I applied the preservative, next I will check closer, I was satisfied with the first 10 rolls that I didn't expect a problem with the last two. Also on the last two rolls, quite a few poles were already starting to split. Shipping was fairly prompt, although the boxes they arrived in were pretty beat up. HomeDepot did include return shipping labels for each roll. All in all a good deal, just check what you get before applying preservative and sealant to open tips end.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Clearwater, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic multipurpose bamboo fencing!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used the fencing to transform our boring screened patio into a tiki tropical paradise. It is so easy to work with and the price is the best around. We get constant comments and compliments on our new room.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from Asheville, NC

Exactly what we wanted for 1/2 the price

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great bamboo fencing, perfect for a visual barrier at the end of our back porch. Much more affordable than others and quality was great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence
from PA

Love, Love, Love it!!!

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fence looks even better than expected. It was very easy to attach to my existing chain link fence. We decided to attach the fence using cable ties instead od galvanized wire. We installed 80 ft of fence within two hours time and that was 2 guys and a 4x4 block of wood to make sure the fence was 4" above ground.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3/4 in. D x 6 ft. H x 8 ft. Natural Rolled Bamboo Fence

very actractive

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
many reviews on the product.
neighbors commenting on product, beauty,
as well as where did we purchase so they could
buy. felt I was a sales rep.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>