728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fasteners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws

Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws

The OOK Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws has interlocking brackets for safety and security, and it provides level hanging. This picture hanger is designed for flush mounting canvas art and open-back frames and has a 200 lb. weight capacity.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
Review 1 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product after a failed attempt to fabricate my own mounting cleats out of 2x6s. I was skeptical going in, doubting that the small piece of hardware would safely hold my 80+ pound headboard to the wall. But Im happy to say that the metal cleat does work as advertised, and is also very easy to mount.
The only reason I gave this 4 stars and not 5 is because the limit in length (18"). it doesnt allow for enough mounting surface to attach to more than one wall stud, especially if you are attempting to center a piece. It really should come in a 24" in the store.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: short length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for Head Board wall mount

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this french cleat to wall mount a 40 lb. head board to the wall. Worked perfect. The cleat does the trick and screws are tough and hold well in dry wall, without the stud. Be sure to rinse the french cleat with water, as there are a lot of small metal shavings from production still on the cleat. Manufacture should have done this already. Overall, a good product at a good price. Can't go wrong.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: metal shavings on product beware
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Deerfield Beach

Great Product

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to hang a heavy mirror in our master bath. Originally I was going to build a set of french cleats, but found this product in the store and thought I would give it a try.
I secured the cleats by drilling into concrete. There are plenty of pre-drilled holes on the cleat which gives you several options when securing to drywall, concrete, studs, etc. The hardware provided would probably do well for drywall, but did not work too well in concrete. I ended up using Tapcons in the concrete, which worked perfectly.
Overall I was very pleased with the product. The cleat only added about 1/4 inch between the drywall and the mirror, which was perfect for clearance with the other bathroom items (lighting, faucets, etc).
I would definitely recommend this product.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Burlington, Kentucky

Poorly designed

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This cleat is going back to HD. The product's design places the heads of screws in the way of the cleat channel. The screw heads effectively block the interlocking pieces from interlocking. Very disappointing.
Cons: failed to function, poor design
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from St Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Female

Great way to hang heavy items!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bar has many holes which makes it easy to place a screw into the studs. Outstanding product!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Reading MA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were mounting a wall coat rack and decided to be safe and use two 200 lb cleats--not knowing just how much weight would be hanging on the rack. We were going to create our own french cleat from wood, but that would have been bulky and the wall rack would have hung away from the wall a bit. These work great and are well hidden.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design, sleek so they keep the hung item close to the wall
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy for this 70 year old gal

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To hang 4 wall cabinets under my wall mounted TV ( I mounted myself too) in my living room. Now building wall cabinet to hang with these in my bedroom under tV I just wall mounted in there as well! If I can do it, anyone can use these. Easy find stud finder I got at Home Depot years ago. Great product!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Louisville, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product can be used for serveral different applications.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product. I have used it to hang a Cal. King headboard I made and also a Queen Headboard I made and a heavy mirror. It is a very easy product to use.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws

Worked great.......so far......as a TV wall mount.

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to hang my 25lb/32in TV, so far so good. Hated paying so much for other TV mounts, almost as much as the tv. But its rated for 200lbs so it should be more than sufficient and at less than quarter the price than the cheapest wall mount.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Sioux Center, IA 51250, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value product. Cost is low and installation is easy and effective.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked great. I had a very large, heavy mirror that I needed to hang in our bathroom. This product provided a safe and effective way to hang it. It was very easy to install.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great hanger for heavy mirrors or paintings.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Very good product for hanging heavy stuff. The included level didn't help much with the contour of the bracket, it would fall off when trying to level. The drywall anchors didn't do well. Had to buy anchors at Home Depot to secure the mounting bracket. Overall I feel more at ease using this hardware when hanging big heavy items.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws

Hangman Rail Picture Hanger

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and love them. Easy to use.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Huntsville, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this invention!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is amazing! I love this product to hang headboards that I have made. I will be back for more.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws

Horrible instructions

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The product links to a video showing how to install this, but the video shows using something called "easy toggles". It doesn't come with anything that looks like that in the video. It also mentions marking studs (plural). So, my studs are 24" apart. Does this mean I have to buy the 30"? Do I need more than one stud? Considering the instructions that come with the packaging do not mention studs, does this mean I don't need studs? Are they ever going to answer my e-mail? I wonder if I'll ever find out an answer to these questions. It's pretty frustrating seeing the reviews on here talking about how amazing this product is, yet I can't figure out what the requirements are since the company itself seems to be conflicted on how to install them.
Cons: no reliable instructions
-44points
1out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hangman 200 lb. French Cleat Picture Hanger with Wall Dog Mounting Screws
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. Easy to use.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it to hang my home theater projector. It worked perfectly. It was very easy to install and be level.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.