728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA

36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA

Strait-Flex's Drywall Shims, are used for floating butt-joints and framing irregularities. Shims can be attached with screws or nails to framing members of each side of a butt-joint to allow a greater inset at the drywall joint. Packaging has an easy open end for convenient access. Available in 36 in. and 45 in.€ lengths.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
Review 1 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA

works good

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you have uneven studs this will make in stalling drywall easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

simple but great product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
I am currently in the process of turning a barn built in the 1860's into a finished work space. The studs were all rough cut lumber and are extremely uneven when comparing how far out each stud sticks in comparison to the neighboring stud. This product was EXTREMELY helpful in the process of dry walling the wall and ceiling. Super easy, just stack up as many pieces as you need and nail them in then put your drywall on top.
My only complaint is that neither HomeDepot or Lowes sell this product in stores so I had to order it online.
This is a must for anyone with an old home who is putting up drywall.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA

45" size is not 45" Long

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
I saw no comments that mentioned that this product is not 45" long, but more like 43.75". The description and specs lead one to believe the strips will be 45". Maybe this is just another case of shrinking sizes, like the new supermarket pound which is now 14.4 ounces! Otherwise this is a very useful product.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: not described correctly
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very usefull for any drywall project

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
This product is very helpfull for any drywall project , i have ordered these shims as i was drywalling my 900SFT basement and these shims saved time around any wood studs that are not aligned with other ones, These shims also helped to get the slight slope for Butt Joints that helps during taping an mudding.Initally i was tryiing to order RockSplicer or trmtex butt board for butt joints but they are very expensive.This shims has saved time and money these are just cardboard product but thats what required for drywall aligning.Just follow the images on the Box how they can help buttjoints and regular misaligned studs.Over all nice product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from Warrington, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Daily

Great tool for perfect drywall

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
Should carry these in the store, they work great for evening out studs before attaching drywall,
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: a little pricey for cardboard strips
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from Glen Allen, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great shims for leveling

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
This is a great product to help level out warped and out of plane studs and joists. This speeds the process of truing up framing lumber which gives you a nice flat surface for drywall and you end up with a better product. You can also use them to join end butts of drywall that meet mid span.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from Cockeysville, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Simple, effective, and easy to use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
These worked very well. I’m remodeling a bathroom and I used these to align the studs prior to installing the new cement board. I’m using 6x24 inch tile on the walls and my tile guy warned me that the walls needed to be perfectly flat because of the 24-inch span of the tile. These shims made the job very easy. Not sure why these aren’t stocked in the store; seems like they should be part of any drywall project.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from Richmond
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product!

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
A great product that is so helpful when dealing with old homes in leveling things out. Saves time not having to rip furring strips. Can't go wrong with these.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA

A Perfect Size For A Shim

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
I purchased these shims because they are a reasonable size (.070, about 1/16") to correct stud alignment errors on a bathroom tile job. They also make up the difference between Hardibacker and sheetrock. They can be stacked and stapled to existing studs as desired.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA

Easy to use

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
These are easy to use and great for any use to even out studs for applying any cement board or drywall. Especially useful in applications where "sistering" studs my not be an option.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from Fredrick,MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Each of these shims is about 1/16" thick...very handy size.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
We used these to shim an old kitchen bulkhead to level by using a laser-level. After drywalling you could hardly fit a piece of paper between the cabinet tops and the bulkhead. Excellent product for fine tuning.
Shipped very rapidly and at reasonable cost. I first used these on my son's house in Denver, haven't seen them (the shims) around the D.C. area.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Uniform Shims

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
Easy to use product providing uniform "shimming" for drywall installation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to Shim walls

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
I am currently working on a bathroom remodel. The walls were out of level by 1/4" over an 8 foot span. I found this shim product online and decided to give it a try, instead of creating my own wood shims.
It is easy to use - cuts with a razor knife- and my walls were leveled fairly quickly. Each shim is 45" long by 1/16" thick. I graded them from thin to thick to create the shim shape.
I felt comfortable using these "cardboard" shims in a tiling situation because I will be using the schluter waterproofing system and am not worried about the shims deteriorating over time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
from Bristow, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

They worked great

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:45 in. Drywall Shims 100/CA
We use less mud and turn out a better product.
We use these shims on each side off butt joints and we have perfect butt joints. I have been In Drywall for over 30 years and its the the right way to do butt joints.
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.