728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

The Rust-Oleum Specialty 30 oz. Magnetic Primer is a base coat that allows you to create a surface that attracts magnets almost anywhere. You can use it to create a fun and unexpected way to hang notes, photos and more. This paint may be applied to wood, metal, masonry, drywall and plaster; and then top-coated with any latex paint or even Chalkboard paint.
Overall rating:
2.258 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product12 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(15)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product12 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
Review 1 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Issaquah, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I almost didn't buy this product based on the reviews here... but sure glad that I did

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I don't get it. Bad reviews all over the place on this stuff. It's not just home depot, but random blogs, other online commerce sites, etc. My wife wanted a magnetic chalkboard wall and if it wasn't for her persistence (it sure wasn't because of my recommendations, actually quite the opposite) it would have never been used. But, she nagged, and I said alright... not before exploring many other alternatives. I was apprehensive, it didn't work, it was expensive, it smelled bad, it was oil based and messy... anyway, I decided to man up and get it done. First of all, it's oil based... that in itself means putting down a plastic drop cloth (I also used a cloth drop cloth on top of the plastic), using latex gloves and taping off trim that you don't want little spatters of primer on... painting 101. I was working on a 4 foot by 8 foot wall. I read reviews of people doing 6 or 8 passes of this stuff and not getting magnetics to stick... and know what? After a single pass (took the entire can on the 4 foot by 8 foot wall) my kids were sticking their melissa and doug kids toy magnetics just fine. I did two more coats just for the heck of it. Put a coat of their chalkboard paint on top and the magnetics still stuck. Why? I don't know... I sanding my wall to an almost completely smooth surface. I shook the cans vigorously upside down for two minutes each, I used a stir tool attached to my cordless drill (home depot sells them) for another two minutes to lift the magnetic particles off the bottom of the can. I used the entire can within 20 minutes of shaking and stirring and it worked like a champ. Yes, it smells. Yes, it's expensive for primer. Yes, it's messy... but contrary to what I read here.. it works just fine.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+75points
76out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Northern VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very heavy. Works, but temper your expectations

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I put three coats of this (2 cans), plus two coats of the Rust-Oleum chalkboard paint (1 can), onto a 4x8' sheet of 1/4" birch plywood. It is magnetic, but if you want to hold anything besides the magnet itself you will need some good quality rare earth magnets. Make sure you follow the directions about stirring with a paint stick; shaking the can is not sufficient to mix up the magnetic sludge at the bottom.
In the picture you can see the final product. I framed with 1x2" radiata pine boards, and screwed through the back side of the plywood into the frame with 5/8" wood screws. Then I put 3" wood screws in from the front into the studs in my wall.
If you don't have a strong helper, use boxes or a coffee table to elevate and support the chalkboard while you attach to the wall.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Magnetic dry wall !!!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading many reviews I was skeptical if this "magnetic" paint would work. I bought 2 cans of this for ~20 sqft. space. After putting on a can and a half magnets stuck like a charm! The wall we painted this on is a textured wall, my advice is to be very generous and stir the can a lot before you paint. Dry wall into a chalk board/magnet wall, brilliant!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: negative reviews
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from san Bernardino, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works but be prepared

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So let me start off by saying that it will work. First, ignore the coverage guidelines. One can is good for a 4x2 section and will need at least 7-8 coats in order to be strong enough for a fridge magnet to hold up a piece of paper. Three coats will hold a kitchen magnet by itself (just barely). Also, the metal in the paint has a tendency to coagulate in the can. I hhad the can shaken at the store but still needed to mix it for half an hour with a combo of tools to break up the brick of metal and to get it the right consistency. When properly mixed it should be the consistency of thick motor oil.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

poor quality

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 5 coats were applied, the product was still only slightly magnetic. It holds a very lightweight magnet for a few seconds before sliding off. I imagine it might take 10 coats or more. I gave up. What a waste of time and money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Worked for me!!!

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The box says "Now 3 times stronger" so maybe that's why it worked for me when it didn't for others in previous reviews. I painted a 3' X 4' section of my daughter's room with this and it worked great. I did put 5 coats on and used the entire can (instead of the recommended 3 coats) so it did take some patience. Then I top coated it with 2 coats of latex paint. I have some heavy wooden magnets that I made and they stick great. And I tried a regular refrigerator magnet with a piece of paper and that worked too. The cons are that the odor is terrible so she couldn't sleep in her room that night while it aired out with the fan on and the window open. I'm on day two and the room is still airing out. And, the primer splatters all over the place! Gloves are necessary if you don't want to spend hours scrubbing your hands. And cover everything with plastic or you'll end up with a big mess. It does what I need it to do though so I am very satisfied with the end result.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works ok if you don't follow instructions.

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
My project was a 3'x6' piece of 1/2" primed plywood (18sf) cut to size at Lowes. My HD did not have this type of plywood. One can applied two full coats (minimum for any project) and another half coat on the top (where magnets usually go). I mixed it thoroughly with a paint paddle bit on my cordless drill before each coat and used a 3", medium quality, all paints brush. A 4" foam brush would probably work also but you would need to pour it in a wider container. Rollers, no matter what kind, will leave a rough textured surface because this stuff is thick as pancake batter. A textured surface will make chalk lines marbled (not solid) in appearance. I know the old time slate blackboards were smooth because my nose spent plenty of time on them in my school days. I brushed each coat on lightly, and, in different directions, e.g., first coat east to west, second north to south, and so on. It turned out pretty smooth.
Magnetic objects having a sufficient magnetic surface size will stick fine, but not like it was steel. Cheap fridge magnets with those little weak button magnets will not stick. We got some 2" letters and numbers from a toy store that stuck well. Each piece had a thin magnet covering the back side. Also, a note pad with a magnet about the size of two quarters stuck fine. The bigger the magnet surface, the better the stick.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: rollers don't work well - use a brush., oil base so just toss brush after use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from seattle, wa

Pretty easy!

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you have painted a wall before, and you don't need to be an expert, you would agree that it is not as hard or messy as other reviews have stated. Yes, the magnetic paint is very thick, needs a VERY good stir and dries rather quickly. Covering a 6x4 wall 3 times took me about 1.5 hours. Done! Allow 4 more hours to dry before painting the chalk board paint over it. Pretty easy and fun for many years to come!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: dries quickly once can has been opened
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Hampton, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work like I hoped

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the directions and the product works with direct magnet contact but it doesn't work when trying to hold up papers to my board with a magnet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Wesley Chapel Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit works but needed several coats to work with the rare earth magnets. One or two coats would not hold a single piece of paper up on the wall.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great concept, needs improvement

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the magnetic primer in conjunction with Rust- Oleum chalk board paint. I followed the instructions to a tee. I even stirred the product more often than asked. With the chalk board paint applied over the primer. Magnetic items such as the plastic children's ABC's barely hold. Bigger flatter magnets hold fine. Also, use a cheap brush or roller that you plan to discard. Not worth trying to clean.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: magnetic hold needs improvement
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from San Francisco Bay Area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine, but needs careful application

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading all the negative reviews of this project I was a bit worried, but also encouraged by the few positive ones. I found that both made good points. I shook the paint can quite a lot before opening it, but then found that it was a bit like a jar of peanut butter, oil on top and a fairly solid mass below, just in this case the solid mass was just about 1/3rd. It took a lot of stirring with a stick to get to a homogenous paint consistency. I applied three coats on a closet door about 16 sq. ft., the recommended coverage and number of coats for the paint. Even though I stirred in-between, the last third of the paint was a bit thicker, not a big problem in my case since I used almost all of it. I applied it with a brush.
I'm happy with how well magnets stick to the door, not as much as to a refrigerator, but enough to hold up prints. My recommendation: Stir the paint often and make sure there is no cake of solid material on the bottom, follow the recommended coverage and ideally use all of the paint. Consider rare earth magnets if regular ones aren't strong enough, but that was not a problem in my case. Home Depot sells these stronger magnets.
Pros: Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: must follow instructions carefully
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, NOT so good

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is a mess! It is oil based so you need to purchase an additional paint thinner to clean brushes for trim or anything you may use or get this product on. Major downside when you are used to cleaning paint supplies with water.
Not only that but I stirred the sludge at the bottom for about 20 minutes to the point of my hands hurting! To make it worse, the paint itself is very thin so it easily splashes and makes a mess.
I am only two coats in... I used an extra smooth foam roller but it is very rough to the touch, which makes me nervous about the chalkboard paint going on smoothly. And also, it shows no potential of holding any kind of magnet after testing two coats in.
After reading reviews of people doing 5-7 coats, up to two cans, I think I might quit, I don't know if my magnetic chalkboard in my kitchen is worth that kind of hassle.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, needs lots of layers, doesn't go on easy, splatters easy, very thin consistency
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

It worked for me but....

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love it, the product works but it is NOT EASY! Be prepared to buy more than you'd like and be prepared for a stinky goo mess. If you take the time out and put the effort in then you will love the outcome. I also used chalkboard paint and my two year old loves it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't catch on

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used product as instructed . . . did not work as hoped. Normal household magnets do not stick to surface. Tried it on multiple surfaces . . . some smoother than other . . . and found only minor success on the smoothest surfaces . ....... very disappointed.
Cons: magnets do not stick to surfaces
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

Fix the product before putting it on the shelf.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing much to say after putting on 5 coats and it still wouldn't work. Thankfully, Home Depot refunded the amount of waste that it was. Even the paint person said they tried it and it did not work for them. But for some lucky people it does. My suggestion... tack sheet metal where you want and paint over that. This route continues to work for me after 1 sheet of metal.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from El Dorado, AR 71730, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a teen's room

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went on easy/easy to apply; however, not all magnets stick to the area that is painted. Easy to cover with the primary color you want the room to be with subtle if any color change noticeable once everything has dried. Be aware though, if you get it on you while painting, it is difficult to get off if you let it dry on your skin!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: doesn't work with all magnets, difficult to clean up off of skin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Chelmsford MA

Waste of $20

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw some previous reviews about how this paint didn't work and it looks like everyone was right. I put the 3 coats that the can suggests and wasted 2 hours of my time to find out that nothing really sticks. Tell me how the box for the paint can say that it's 3x stronger yet not work at all.
+34points
46out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

If I'd have known this would have been much better....

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This paint was very thin and hard to work with. I shook the can for a long time to make sure everything was properly mixed, however when I got the the bottom of the can (after 6 coats) I found a metal sludge on the bottom of the can.
On a 9 square foot area, magnets stick on about 5 square feet. If I would have stirred the paint really thoroughly, if would have worked much better.
Moral of the story: If you're going to buy this paint, have them shake it at the store, then stir it when you get home before using.
Also, this is an oil based paint. I'm so used to latex, I wasn't prepared. Get paint thinner to clean up!
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Arlington, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasn't very "magnetic"

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We put coat after coat...I think we got about 7 coats on the inside doors of our secretary, small space we wanted to use as a magnetic board. It barely held the weight of the lightest weight magnet...and would fall down if we moved the doors slightly let alone would not have enough of a hold for anything more. We DID NOT do a coat of paint over as directed...if we did I don't think anything would have stuck.
Cons: didn't work, not easy to apply. very toxic
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>