728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

The Rust-Oleum Specialty 30-oz. Magnetic Primer is a base coat that allows you to create a surface that attracts magnets almost anywhere. You can use it to create a fun and unexpected way to hang notes, photos and more. This paint may be applied to wood, metal, masonry, drywall and plaster; and then top-coated with any latex paint or even Chalkboard paint.
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
30%of customersrecommend this product7 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
30%of customersrecommend this product7 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
Review 1 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Issaquah, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I almost didn't buy this product based on the reviews here... but sure glad that I did

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I don't get it. Bad reviews all over the place on this stuff. It's not just home depot, but random blogs, other online commerce sites, etc. My wife wanted a magnetic chalkboard wall and if it wasn't for her persistence (it sure wasn't because of my recommendations, actually quite the opposite) it would have never been used. But, she nagged, and I said alright... not before exploring many other alternatives. I was apprehensive, it didn't work, it was expensive, it smelled bad, it was oil based and messy... anyway, I decided to man up and get it done. First of all, it's oil based... that in itself means putting down a plastic drop cloth (I also used a cloth drop cloth on top of the plastic), using latex gloves and taping off trim that you don't want little spatters of primer on... painting 101. I was working on a 4 foot by 8 foot wall. I read reviews of people doing 6 or 8 passes of this stuff and not getting magnetics to stick... and know what? After a single pass (took the entire can on the 4 foot by 8 foot wall) my kids were sticking their melissa and doug kids toy magnetics just fine. I did two more coats just for the heck of it. Put a coat of their chalkboard paint on top and the magnetics still stuck. Why? I don't know... I sanding my wall to an almost completely smooth surface. I shook the cans vigorously upside down for two minutes each, I used a stir tool attached to my cordless drill (home depot sells them) for another two minutes to lift the magnetic particles off the bottom of the can. I used the entire can within 20 minutes of shaking and stirring and it worked like a champ. Yes, it smells. Yes, it's expensive for primer. Yes, it's messy... but contrary to what I read here.. it works just fine.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+55points
56out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Northern VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very heavy. Works, but temper your expectations

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I put three coats of this (2 cans), plus two coats of the Rust-Oleum chalkboard paint (1 can), onto a 4x8' sheet of 1/4" birch plywood. It is magnetic, but if you want to hold anything besides the magnet itself you will need some good quality rare earth magnets. Make sure you follow the directions about stirring with a paint stick; shaking the can is not sufficient to mix up the magnetic sludge at the bottom.
In the picture you can see the final product. I framed with 1x2" radiata pine boards, and screwed through the back side of the plywood into the frame with 5/8" wood screws. Then I put 3" wood screws in from the front into the studs in my wall.
If you don't have a strong helper, use boxes or a coffee table to elevate and support the chalkboard while you attach to the wall.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Magnetic dry wall !!!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading many reviews I was skeptical if this "magnetic" paint would work. I bought 2 cans of this for ~20 sqft. space. After putting on a can and a half magnets stuck like a charm! The wall we painted this on is a textured wall, my advice is to be very generous and stir the can a lot before you paint. Dry wall into a chalk board/magnet wall, brilliant!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: negative reviews
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from san Bernardino, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works but be prepared

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So let me start off by saying that it will work. First, ignore the coverage guidelines. One can is good for a 4x2 section and will need at least 7-8 coats in order to be strong enough for a fridge magnet to hold up a piece of paper. Three coats will hold a kitchen magnet by itself (just barely). Also, the metal in the paint has a tendency to coagulate in the can. I hhad the can shaken at the store but still needed to mix it for half an hour with a combo of tools to break up the brick of metal and to get it the right consistency. When properly mixed it should be the consistency of thick motor oil.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, NOT so good

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is a mess! It is oil based so you need to purchase an additional paint thinner to clean brushes for trim or anything you may use or get this product on. Major downside when you are used to cleaning paint supplies with water.
Not only that but I stirred the sludge at the bottom for about 20 minutes to the point of my hands hurting! To make it worse, the paint itself is very thin so it easily splashes and makes a mess.
I am only two coats in... I used an extra smooth foam roller but it is very rough to the touch, which makes me nervous about the chalkboard paint going on smoothly. And also, it shows no potential of holding any kind of magnet after testing two coats in.
After reading reviews of people doing 5-7 coats, up to two cans, I think I might quit, I don't know if my magnetic chalkboard in my kitchen is worth that kind of hassle.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, needs lots of layers, doesn't go on easy, splatters easy, very thin consistency
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't catch on

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used product as instructed . . . did not work as hoped. Normal household magnets do not stick to surface. Tried it on multiple surfaces . . . some smoother than other . . . and found only minor success on the smoothest surfaces . ....... very disappointed.
Cons: magnets do not stick to surfaces
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from El Dorado, AR 71730, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a teen's room

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went on easy/easy to apply; however, not all magnets stick to the area that is painted. Easy to cover with the primary color you want the room to be with subtle if any color change noticeable once everything has dried. Be aware though, if you get it on you while painting, it is difficult to get off if you let it dry on your skin!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: doesn't work with all magnets, difficult to clean up off of skin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Worked for me!!!

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The box says "Now 3 times stronger" so maybe that's why it worked for me when it didn't for others in previous reviews. I painted a 3' X 4' section of my daughter's room with this and it worked great. I did put 5 coats on and used the entire can (instead of the recommended 3 coats) so it did take some patience. Then I top coated it with 2 coats of latex paint. I have some heavy wooden magnets that I made and they stick great. And I tried a regular refrigerator magnet with a piece of paper and that worked too. The cons are that the odor is terrible so she couldn't sleep in her room that night while it aired out with the fan on and the window open. I'm on day two and the room is still airing out. And, the primer splatters all over the place! Gloves are necessary if you don't want to spend hours scrubbing your hands. And cover everything with plastic or you'll end up with a big mess. It does what I need it to do though so I am very satisfied with the end result.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great concept, needs improvement

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the magnetic primer in conjunction with Rust- Oleum chalk board paint. I followed the instructions to a tee. I even stirred the product more often than asked. With the chalk board paint applied over the primer. Magnetic items such as the plastic children's ABC's barely hold. Bigger flatter magnets hold fine. Also, use a cheap brush or roller that you plan to discard. Not worth trying to clean.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: magnetic hold needs improvement
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

Fix the product before putting it on the shelf.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing much to say after putting on 5 coats and it still wouldn't work. Thankfully, Home Depot refunded the amount of waste that it was. Even the paint person said they tried it and it did not work for them. But for some lucky people it does. My suggestion... tack sheet metal where you want and paint over that. This route continues to work for me after 1 sheet of metal.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete Disappointment

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this magnetic primer with the hopes that it would work behind a whiteboard painted surface. It is complete junk and didn't work for me at all. I highly recommend that you do not buy this product. Waste of money.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
Cons: doesn't work at all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Burnsville, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A huge waste of money and time!!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After applying TWO full cans of this paint to an area smaller than what was recommended, making sure th wall was prepped, paint stirred continually, and applied correctly and with foam roller-- it can barely hold a magnet and only in certain areas! Not what I had hoped to have turn out as I was hoping to hang my children's artwork. Now, I just have a black wall to deal with. This is definately a huge waste of money!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Arlington, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasn't very "magnetic"

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We put coat after coat...I think we got about 7 coats on the inside doors of our secretary, small space we wanted to use as a magnetic board. It barely held the weight of the lightest weight magnet...and would fall down if we moved the doors slightly let alone would not have enough of a hold for anything more. We DID NOT do a coat of paint over as directed...if we did I don't think anything would have stuck.
Cons: didn't work, not easy to apply. very toxic
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Chelmsford MA

Waste of $20

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw some previous reviews about how this paint didn't work and it looks like everyone was right. I put the 3 coats that the can suggests and wasted 2 hours of my time to find out that nothing really sticks. Tell me how the box for the paint can say that it's 3x stronger yet not work at all.
+34points
46out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Red Bank, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We got this paint to provide a place for my daughters to post cards and notes on two walls in their new room. After applying multiple thin coats as suggested on the can, we got some very week magnetic properties. That's not to say it didn't work at all, but we resorted to the sheet test with a known strong magnet. After the third coat we could hold up one sheet, and failed on the second. After a subsequent coat we made it to two sheets(maybe), and we gave up. Perhaps on the 10th coat we would have made it to three sheets, but we didn't have that kind of time. There must be some sort of secret we missed.
Cons: didn't work as advertised
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

If I'd have known this would have been much better....

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This paint was very thin and hard to work with. I shook the can for a long time to make sure everything was properly mixed, however when I got the the bottom of the can (after 6 coats) I found a metal sludge on the bottom of the can.
On a 9 square foot area, magnets stick on about 5 square feet. If I would have stirred the paint really thoroughly, if would have worked much better.
Moral of the story: If you're going to buy this paint, have them shake it at the store, then stir it when you get home before using.
Also, this is an oil based paint. I'm so used to latex, I wasn't prepared. Get paint thinner to clean up!
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This primer does not deliver. After four coats I still can't get magnets to stick. Small plastic magnetic letters just slideoff the door. I stirred and applied as the box instructs. The smell is horrible. My son won't be able to sleep in his room for at least a couple nights.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, not strongly magnetic, smells
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Powder Springs, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Product EVER

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since I bought a french door fridge that lacks magnetic area, I thought this was be a great idea on an empty wall - big, costly mistake. First, with the product sitting on shelves all of the magnetic solution is in a clump so be sure to have it shook by HD machines. After applying 6xs (3xs more than recommended) all items stuck and then slipped off the wall. Heavy magnetics - for get it! Did I mention after applying this and covering it with your wall paint its obvious where the magnetic paint is located. Home Depot kindly took it back and credited me but the fun didn't stop there. I skim coated the wall, still looked terrible. Now I have to cut the area out and replace the dry wall. What a nightmare and this is a brand new house.
Cons: doesn't work as advertised, repairing area back to normal will cost you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

Beware

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item is for indoor use but specifically states on the can to use in a well ventilated area. I used this in a 500 square ft room with adequate ventilation and the fumes where very overwhelming. It is also almost impossible to clean up off of skin or anything else it gets on.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product does what it is supposed to do

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband needed to make something magnetic which this did, but his materials he wanted to attach were too heavy, so we ended up using another plan.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: was not as strong enough for our project
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>