728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

The Rust-Oleum Specialty 30 oz. Magnetic Primer is a base coat that allows you to create a surface that attracts magnets almost anywhere. You can use it to create a fun and unexpected way to hang notes, photos and more. This paint may be applied to wood, metal, masonry, drywall and plaster; and then top-coated with any latex paint or even Chalkboard paint.
Overall rating:
2.306 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product19 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(24)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product19 of 48reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
Review 1 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Issaquah, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I almost didn't buy this product based on the reviews here... but sure glad that I did

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I don't get it. Bad reviews all over the place on this stuff. It's not just home depot, but random blogs, other online commerce sites, etc. My wife wanted a magnetic chalkboard wall and if it wasn't for her persistence (it sure wasn't because of my recommendations, actually quite the opposite) it would have never been used. But, she nagged, and I said alright... not before exploring many other alternatives. I was apprehensive, it didn't work, it was expensive, it smelled bad, it was oil based and messy... anyway, I decided to man up and get it done. First of all, it's oil based... that in itself means putting down a plastic drop cloth (I also used a cloth drop cloth on top of the plastic), using latex gloves and taping off trim that you don't want little spatters of primer on... painting 101. I was working on a 4 foot by 8 foot wall. I read reviews of people doing 6 or 8 passes of this stuff and not getting magnetics to stick... and know what? After a single pass (took the entire can on the 4 foot by 8 foot wall) my kids were sticking their melissa and doug kids toy magnetics just fine. I did two more coats just for the heck of it. Put a coat of their chalkboard paint on top and the magnetics still stuck. Why? I don't know... I sanding my wall to an almost completely smooth surface. I shook the cans vigorously upside down for two minutes each, I used a stir tool attached to my cordless drill (home depot sells them) for another two minutes to lift the magnetic particles off the bottom of the can. I used the entire can within 20 minutes of shaking and stirring and it worked like a champ. Yes, it smells. Yes, it's expensive for primer. Yes, it's messy... but contrary to what I read here.. it works just fine.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+117points
118out of 119found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Northern VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very heavy. Works, but temper your expectations

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I put three coats of this (2 cans), plus two coats of the Rust-Oleum chalkboard paint (1 can), onto a 4x8' sheet of 1/4" birch plywood. It is magnetic, but if you want to hold anything besides the magnet itself you will need some good quality rare earth magnets. Make sure you follow the directions about stirring with a paint stick; shaking the can is not sufficient to mix up the magnetic sludge at the bottom.
In the picture you can see the final product. I framed with 1x2" radiata pine boards, and screwed through the back side of the plywood into the frame with 5/8" wood screws. Then I put 3" wood screws in from the front into the studs in my wall.
If you don't have a strong helper, use boxes or a coffee table to elevate and support the chalkboard while you attach to the wall.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

paitence is required for this one

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Here is what I learned about this paint.
Have paint thinner that is skin safe ready for cleanup.
Buy the paint the day you are going to use it and have the store shake it for twice as long as other paints. The reason is that it does settle, fast and hard.
Buy or have ready a clean 1 gallon paint can so that you can stir it up when you are ready to use it. It does roll on very easily if mixed up well.
Paint multiple thin coats and allow 1 hour between coats. I have done a 4 foot by 7 foot wall. This process takes most of a day for the work to be done and dry between layers. I used two cans for this size.
The base of the paint is runny so have your floor ready for drips and wear old cloths that you do not care about getting stained. Paint thinner will get it off your hands.
I tested it with a refrigerator advertising magnet. That stuck fast and took a bit to get that back off the wall (then I ordered the pizza from the ad on the magnet).
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First off, I am very surprised this product does not receive higher ratings. It works great! My wife and I purchased a stainless steel refrigerator, which will not attract magnets. She has a rather large magnet obsession and had no place to display them. So, I took the plunge and purchased a can of this and I have to say, I was a bit skeptical because of the reviews. I am very happy with the final product. I put four coats of the magnetic primer on, then four coats of Kilz2 primer (which is needed because the product is black), and finally two coats of paint. I was worried that the amount of primer and paint would hinder the functionality, but it had little effect. All of her refrigerator magnets stick well. I will warn that the odor is what you can expect from an oil based product and it will take a while to stir the primer. Make sure you stir very well and get all the sediment off the bottom of the can. If not, you will probably be writing a bad review.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from san Bernardino, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works but be prepared

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
So let me start off by saying that it will work. First, ignore the coverage guidelines. One can is good for a 4x2 section and will need at least 7-8 coats in order to be strong enough for a fridge magnet to hold up a piece of paper. Three coats will hold a kitchen magnet by itself (just barely). Also, the metal in the paint has a tendency to coagulate in the can. I hhad the can shaken at the store but still needed to mix it for half an hour with a combo of tools to break up the brick of metal and to get it the right consistency. When properly mixed it should be the consistency of thick motor oil.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Magnetic dry wall !!!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading many reviews I was skeptical if this "magnetic" paint would work. I bought 2 cans of this for ~20 sqft. space. After putting on a can and a half magnets stuck like a charm! The wall we painted this on is a textured wall, my advice is to be very generous and stir the can a lot before you paint. Dry wall into a chalk board/magnet wall, brilliant!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: negative reviews
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Mpls-St Paul area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works, read on

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I turned a wall at work into a 21' magnetic wall the we can use for flow-charting, screen layout etc... The rare-earth magnet "push-pins" hold up paper and string, but the hold is not as good as on a metal filing cabinet. It does what I need. Now with the caveats on the application.
Have the primer cans run through the paint mixer at the store. The iron particles in the primer will stay suspended for several hours. When they have settled, or start to settle to the bottom it is a real effort to mix them by hand back into suspension. If they are not in suspension then all you're doing is wasting your time. Therefore, it would be best to buy the primer, go to your paint site and start applying it.
Rustoleum says one can is good for 16 sq ft. Their website says apply at least 3 coats. What they don't say is it takes about 7 coats for one can to cover 16 sq ft. They also say it is tack-dry in 30 minutes. That is correct for the first couple of coats. By the 5th coat the time is increasing towards one hour. After every coat was tack-dry I stuck a rare-earth "push-pin" magnet on the wall. It held its own weight after the first coat, but barely. It was stronger by the third & fourth coat, but I would highly recommend you do the math and apply the equivalent of one can to every 16 square feet.
It doesn't noticeably splatter, but it does micro-splatter very well. If you don't tape and block off everything within a few feet of what you're painting when you're done you'll have a fine pattern of black spots over what you don't want to have black spots on. This includes you and your clothes. I wore a gown (lab coat), shoe covers, gloves and a hair covering (conveniently all items we have at my company) and was glad I did. They have throwaway white coveralls at hardware stores, if you don't have dedicated painting clothes. The spots I got on my skin eventually wore off.
The whole theory of operation is that you're applying a layer of iron (magnetite perhaps?) to your wall. In order for a magnet to stick to it it must be thick (hence the seven layers.) If you only apply to a portion of one wall there will be a rise you can feel between the unlayered area and the layered area. Also, it's never going to be perfectly smooth. I used the recommended high-density-foam roller and it wasn't as easy to apply as a quality latex paint. Not impossible or anything, just not as easy. If you look closely (after painting) you'll see imperfections. If you need a magnetic wall that is also aesthetically perfect, recess a piece of sheet metal into the wall and paint it. It doesn't look horrible, just not perfect.
When you're done applying the primer you're left with a black wall. All I could think was how many coats of paint will it take to hide it and will a magnet still stick? Thankfully it's primer and it covers really well. I used one coat of light to medium blue Behr Premium Plus latex paint (same paint used over white walls) and you wouldn't know which wall was previously white and which black (until you stuck a magnet on it.)
Pros: does what it says
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Worked for me!!!

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The box says "Now 3 times stronger" so maybe that's why it worked for me when it didn't for others in previous reviews. I painted a 3' X 4' section of my daughter's room with this and it worked great. I did put 5 coats on and used the entire can (instead of the recommended 3 coats) so it did take some patience. Then I top coated it with 2 coats of latex paint. I have some heavy wooden magnets that I made and they stick great. And I tried a regular refrigerator magnet with a piece of paper and that worked too. The cons are that the odor is terrible so she couldn't sleep in her room that night while it aired out with the fan on and the window open. I'm on day two and the room is still airing out. And, the primer splatters all over the place! Gloves are necessary if you don't want to spend hours scrubbing your hands. And cover everything with plastic or you'll end up with a big mess. It does what I need it to do though so I am very satisfied with the end result.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from San Francisco Bay Area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine, but needs careful application

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading all the negative reviews of this project I was a bit worried, but also encouraged by the few positive ones. I found that both made good points. I shook the paint can quite a lot before opening it, but then found that it was a bit like a jar of peanut butter, oil on top and a fairly solid mass below, just in this case the solid mass was just about 1/3rd. It took a lot of stirring with a stick to get to a homogenous paint consistency. I applied three coats on a closet door about 16 sq. ft., the recommended coverage and number of coats for the paint. Even though I stirred in-between, the last third of the paint was a bit thicker, not a big problem in my case since I used almost all of it. I applied it with a brush.
I'm happy with how well magnets stick to the door, not as much as to a refrigerator, but enough to hold up prints. My recommendation: Stir the paint often and make sure there is no cake of solid material on the bottom, follow the recommended coverage and ideally use all of the paint. Consider rare earth magnets if regular ones aren't strong enough, but that was not a problem in my case. Home Depot sells these stronger magnets.
Pros: Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: must follow instructions carefully
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Kanasas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work at all

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not work at all. Followed directions exactly as given to me by the paint "expert" at Home Depot. I shook and stirred, put on coat. Repeated after 1 hour, repeated again after 1 hour - not even small magnets will stick. The mess is beyond description (I cannot get this stuff off my hands) and my daughter will not be able to sleep in her room for a second night. Don't waste your money. I would give it 0 stars if it would let me.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, does not work, smells awful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportMay 7, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportMay 7, 2015
Thank you for your review. There are several things to keep in mind when using the magnetic primer. The first thing is that the iron-containing pigment in the paint can easily settle to the bottom of the can. So stirring to get all of the pigment re-incorporated into the paint is essential. Also, it's important to use the right amount of paint for the area you're painting. Ideally, one quart of the primer is needed for about a 16 sq. ft. (4 ft. by 4 ft.) area. If the product is not applied heavily enough, you won't get the full magnetic effect. If it takes more than 3 coats to get the proper amount on the surface, that's ok; simply keep applying until you have the correct amount on the surface for the area that you are covering.
The smoother you get the primer on the better it works, since the magnet will have more contact points to hang on with, so a foam roller is recommended for application. Larger, flexible magnets are usually the best to use, since they're stronger and have more surface area. As a primer, this product can be painted over with just about any kind of wall paint without affecting the magnetism.
To remove this product from your hands, you can use Mineral Oil or Baby Oil. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportMay 7, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportMay 7, 2015
Thank you for your review. There are several things to keep in mind when using the magnetic primer. The first thing is that the iron-containing pigment in the paint can easily settle to the bottom of the can. So stirring to get all of the pigment re-incorporated into the paint is essential. Also, it's important to use the right amount of paint for the area you're painting. Ideally, one quart of the primer is needed for about a 16 sq. ft. (4 ft. by 4 ft.) area. If the product is not applied heavily enough, you won't get the full magnetic effect. If it takes more than 3 coats to get the proper amount on the surface, that's ok; simply keep applying until you have the correct amount on the surface for the area that you are covering.
The smoother you get the primer on the better it works, since the magnet will have more contact points to hang on with, so a foam roller is recommended for application. Larger, flexible magnets are usually the best to use, since they're stronger and have more surface area. As a primer, this product can be painted over with just about any kind of wall paint without affecting the magnetism.
To remove this product from your hands, you can use Mineral Oil or Baby Oil. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 11 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works ok if you don't follow instructions.

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
My project was a 3'x6' piece of 1/2" primed plywood (18sf) cut to size at Lowes. My HD did not have this type of plywood. One can applied two full coats (minimum for any project) and another half coat on the top (where magnets usually go). I mixed it thoroughly with a paint paddle bit on my cordless drill before each coat and used a 3", medium quality, all paints brush. A 4" foam brush would probably work also but you would need to pour it in a wider container. Rollers, no matter what kind, will leave a rough textured surface because this stuff is thick as pancake batter. A textured surface will make chalk lines marbled (not solid) in appearance. I know the old time slate blackboards were smooth because my nose spent plenty of time on them in my school days. I brushed each coat on lightly, and, in different directions, e.g., first coat east to west, second north to south, and so on. It turned out pretty smooth.
Magnetic objects having a sufficient magnetic surface size will stick fine, but not like it was steel. Cheap fridge magnets with those little weak button magnets will not stick. We got some 2" letters and numbers from a toy store that stuck well. Each piece had a thin magnet covering the back side. Also, a note pad with a magnet about the size of two quarters stuck fine. The bigger the magnet surface, the better the stick.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: rollers don't work well - use a brush., oil base so just toss brush after use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from elyria ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WorksGreat

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product works as advertised. I put three thin coats on a small closet door then topped it with the same latex wall paint as the rest of the room and you can not see a difference in appearance. It holds all types of magnets.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

Paint

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The can says gray the color on the wall is jet black
Not really a strong magnetic surface
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from West Chester, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Exactly the Greatest Thing Since Sliced Bread!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off.......this was expensive! I paint a lot so I consider myself an experienced well seasoned painter. This was so thin, splattered everywhere and was hard to get off of your skin. It doesn't hold magnets that well. It's OK for the photo magnet where the entire back is a thin magnet, but a strong slightly heavy magnet falls right off. I think Rustoleum needs to go back to the drawing board on this paint.. I read the reviews and thought I could rise above them but, I was wrong!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 5, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 5, 2015
We are sorry to hear of your experience. There are several things to keep in mind when using the magnetic primer. The first thing is that the iron-containing pigment in the paint can easily settle to the bottom of the can. As a result, stirring to get all of the pigment re-incorporated into the paint is essential and it’s important to continue to stir throughout the application process. Continue to stir the product throughout the application process. It's also important to use the right amount of paint for the area you're painting. Ideally, one quart of the primer is needed for about a 16 sq. ft. (4 ft. by 4 ft.) area. If the product is not applied heavily enough, you won't get the full magnetic effect. If it takes more than 3 coats to get the proper amount on the surface, that's ok; simply keep applying until you have the correct amount on the surface for the area that you are covering. A foam roller is recommended for application of this product to allow for smooth application. The smoother the application of the magnetic primer, the better it will work as the magnet will have more contact points from which to hang. Larger, flexible magnets are usually the best to use, since they're stronger and have more surface area. As a primer, this product can be top coated with just about any kind of wall paint without affecting the magnetism. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 15 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

poor quality

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 5 coats were applied, the product was still only slightly magnetic. It holds a very lightweight magnet for a few seconds before sliding off. I imagine it might take 10 coats or more. I gave up. What a waste of time and money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

Awesome stuff!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I made a 4X6' picture frame on my garage wall, and put this under the chalk board paint. Now my daughter can go draw pictures and hand picture from school with magnets on the same board. Awesome stuff!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great concept, needs improvement

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the magnetic primer in conjunction with Rust- Oleum chalk board paint. I followed the instructions to a tee. I even stirred the product more often than asked. With the chalk board paint applied over the primer. Magnetic items such as the plastic children's ABC's barely hold. Bigger flatter magnets hold fine. Also, use a cheap brush or roller that you plan to discard. Not worth trying to clean.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: magnetic hold needs improvement
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit
from Chelmsford MA

Waste of $20

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw some previous reviews about how this paint didn't work and it looks like everyone was right. I put the 3 coats that the can suggests and wasted 2 hours of my time to find out that nothing really sticks. Tell me how the box for the paint can say that it's 3x stronger yet not work at all.
+34points
46out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

Horrible to work with!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have not been able to use this because 2/3 of the can is just sludge! If I had a professional mixer it may work but you cannot just grab the box off the shelf and use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 5, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 5, 2015
We are sorry to hear of your experience with the Specialty Magnetic Primer. There are a couple of things to keep in mind when using this product. There is an iron-containing pigment in the paint that can easily settle to the bottom of the can. Thoroughly stir the product to get all of the pigment re-incorporated into the paint and continue to stir it during the application process. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 5, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 5, 2015
We are sorry to hear of your experience with the Specialty Magnetic Primer. There are a couple of things to keep in mind when using this product. There is an iron-containing pigment in the paint that can easily settle to the bottom of the can. Thoroughly stir the product to get all of the pigment re-incorporated into the paint and continue to stir it during the application process. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 20 for 30 oz. Magnetic Primer Kit

If I'd have known this would have been much better....

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This paint was very thin and hard to work with. I shook the can for a long time to make sure everything was properly mixed, however when I got the the bottom of the can (after 6 coats) I found a metal sludge on the bottom of the can.
On a 9 square foot area, magnets stick on about 5 square feet. If I would have stirred the paint really thoroughly, if would have worked much better.
Moral of the story: If you're going to buy this paint, have them shake it at the store, then stir it when you get home before using.
Also, this is an oil based paint. I'm so used to latex, I wasn't prepared. Get paint thinner to clean up!
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>