728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED

180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED

The Defiant 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light offers a weather-resistant white finish and features protective shields to help extend bulb life. The arms swivel with easy thumb-screw adjustments to direct the light where it's needed. The motion sensor has adjustable sensitivity and a selectable light timer is designed-in. This light uses two 120-watt flood bulbs (included).
Overall rating:
3.784 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product28 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product28 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED

Works well

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. Works well. I'll be purchasing a few more of these for different areas on the property. We were going to buy more expensive LED motion sensor lights but decided to try this one first. Can't beat the price!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great lights

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
have been install over 6 mos. no problems, lights are working great
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

You can't beet the price, and so easy to use!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had shop around to find replacement light's and came across this product. I found them to be much better then what I had and so easy to install. I went back and bought 3 more for other areas around my house and yard. I am very pleased !!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional, Very Bright
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok, it does sell in stores...

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 4 of these some years ago...two failed to work very
soon but it was such a pain to initially mount them all...I left them dead but in place for years. The third one decided to quit functioning properly within a year or so of install. That one comes on and off at random and did so for about 8 more years...
The first one over the garage does work...might could use some sensitivity training as its off BUT works so well compared to its kin that I left it alone. It still works 8 years later. One. Of four. Or two that "work" but not correctly after say 2 years maximum.
That being said, there is a newer method of mounting all these light making swine like today because it is cheaper. A bracket that fits across the inside of the standard round box you get to buy for each of these you buy. It not only saves them money but will not keep out the rain or wind...imagine one thin threaded screw holding up the whole thing vs. four more meaty screws, which was the original set up.
Oh yes, and they used to come with the bulbs...and since they had seperate or 'bulbs included' even then, I will relax on that point.
I would avoid this product unless you don't care. I work in aerospace and this product is a poor design eight years ago now made worse by cost cutting measures. I really don't get why any big box store carries this product at all...but that was how I got suckered in.
Finally, I am replacing them all to have a project to do while unemployed. Trying to learn by reading reviews...to find out what to get next. Good luck to you all...I have only just begun.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: they barely work; must be the motion detectors, mounting is unbelievably weak/fragile, many reviews blast this company. why sell them?
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Senoia, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heath Zenith Motion Security Light with dual brite/alert flash

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
This is an excellent product. Easy to install looks great works as advertised. The only problem it does not work with CFL Flood lights period. If you put CFL in this product the motion detector will make the lights remain on constantly. It works great with regular incandescent flood lights. The Dual Brite feature is fantastic, and the soft light selection is a bonus to make the lamp last longer.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: does not work with cfl flood light
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Dousman, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wonderful customer service from the manufacturer

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
The light works well and looks nice but I want to say a word about the great customer service from Heath Zenith. Our electrician installed the lights an a few days later when I went to install the bulbs I noticed that there were no lamps (sleeves?) for the bulbs. The lights worked fine but the fixture looked unfinished. I contacted Heath Zenith via email letting them know that it was possible that the electrician misplaced them (he lost parts for other light fixtures in the house) or they weren't included in the package (which I doubt). Three days after my email two sleeves arrived in the mail.
Kudos to Heath Zenich!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just average

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Had to purchase a separate box in which to attach the light. One light post will not remain in place properly and therefore cannot adjust properly. The dusk to dawn and the motion sensor works well.
Pros: Functional
Cons: cheaply made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED

Better quality than other brand

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Originally purchased similar model by another brand at another store. Once installation was completed, found out motion sensor was faulty. Returned and purchased this Zenith brand and had no problems. Looks nice, works great, no trouble with install.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product. Great price.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Installed two as replacements. After about 5-6 years they seem to just wear out.
Its been 3 months and these are working well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works for me !!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Bought as a replacement, easy to install, works as advertised, good value for the money.
Pros: Functional, Eco-Friendly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey

Love the added sense of security.

PostedJanuary 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
We bought this light since in our driveway we had no lights. I would come in the dark with the baby without knowing if there was a person or animal in my path. I feel very secure now/ When I pull into the driveway it lights up the whole area. I was concerned with the brightness and neighbors complaining, but I have had no complaints my neighbor directly next to me was happy with the addition, it added extra security to his property also. We also like the sensitivity feature and that we can sent it for the amount of minutes we want it to stay lite for. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from California

Good while it worked

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
We bought this for our backyard since our house backs up to a street. I wanted a little more security by having a light with a sensor. The light worked great while it lasted. Unfortunately it only lasted a little over a year.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to install.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
I put it on my shop which is about 50 feet from the house. I aimed the sensor towards the front door so when I go out I have a lighted path. Works like a charm.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED

Easy to Install

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
I've had this installed for 2 weeks. So far, so good. Easy to install and adjust. Good sensitivity
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED

failed right out of the box

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
This item failed right out of the box. The clamp that secures the lamp housing would not tighten down. The reason? The unit is made of cheap plastic instead of the metal that my old one was. If there was a problem, the company said to contact them rather than the retailer, so I did. This brought to light a whole bunch of issues with the company. Bottom line: Don't buy this unit or any other product from Heath/Zenith.
Cons: made of cheap plastic which caused product to fail
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from TN

great light

PostedMay 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
i purchased several of these back in december. very easy to install and work great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED

This product works perfectly

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
After two unsuccessful purchases where previous models did not perform as advertised, this unit works perfectly. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Mobile AL

Doesn't work right

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
While testing this light, it came on about 30 foot away, and the bushes just before the street. Since then, it gets cars, and not anything in the yard. I walked all the way up to my front door, and had to put my nose against the door for it to come on. My front door, is 15 foot away from the light.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Westchester, NY, USA

works as described

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
light weight construction, use care in installation, working fine since installed 2 weeks ago.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 180-Degree Outdoor White Motion-Sensing Light-DISCONTINUED
from Falls Church, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to instal

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
The installations were clear and easy to use. This motion sensor was installed in place of a previous Heath Motion Sensor whose sense element had gone bad after many years of use. Fit right in with old sensors body. Have used several Heath Motion Sensors with great success.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>