728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Clamps, Vices & Fastening Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

The Arrow Fastener 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun is a powerful tool built to drive brad nails up to 2 in. into surfaces. The gun features high-impact composite plastic construction and a soft rubber grip to help you control it comfortably as you work. A easy-to-use jam-clearing mechanism and a side-loading magazine help reduce your down time and finish jobs more quickly.
Overall rating:
3.208 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product13 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product13 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
Review 1 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
from Rockville, MD

Great but there's one trick for it to work correct

PostedApril 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
PLEASE READ.... I bought this nail gun and like everyone else reported it started to not work as good after about 200 nails. I discovered the reason it quits working and once you do this it will always work. At the factory when they built the tool all the parts have a fine amount of oil on them and this is why it works at the beginning. I discovered that when you load a new set of nails if you put a little wd-40 on the nails then this keeps the nail head slider working and not jamming.
After I did this I never experienced a jam again.
+41points
43out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
from New Windsor, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good tool for the job!

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the negative reviews, I was a bit skeptical about purchasing this tool. But if you know how to properly use a nail gun, you will have no problem using this gun and making it work properly. It does exactly what it says it does and as far as sinking the brads, if you hold the tool properly and apply the proper pressure, this gun will sink the brads every time. Good tool for the money!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

Useless and infuriating

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought an EBN320RED to install baseboards and trim. Within firing 100 2" brad nails (BN1832), it stopped working. I checked for a jammed nail, and there wasn't one. I tried a new load of nails, and it sill wouldn't work.
I returned the unit to the store for a replacement. The new nail gun stopped working this time after about 70 1.5" brad nails (BN1824).
When I push the nail gun up to the trim and pull the trigger, the LED light comes on (as if I'm not pushing in the contact safety mechanism) and it doesn't fire.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
from Boston, MA

Bad bad bad

PostedMay 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to install door trim (casing/plinth/rosette), baseboard, and crown molding. Trying to drive 1.5 and 2-inch nails flush was hit or miss. Too little pressure and the nail wasn't flush; even with enough pressure sometimes the nail was flush but the wood was marred. The depth adjustment was set at maximum.
First nail jam occurred within 25 shots. I cleared the bent nail. Then about 15 shots later it could not fire anymore. Instead of a pop there was just a click when pressing the trigger. There was no nail jam. Apparently, the semi-flexible metal sliding hammer was stuck all the way down and did not retract as it was supposed to.
Returned it as defective and got the two times as expensive orange "cordless 16 gauge straight finish nailer" (search for it at homedepot.com and elsewhere). Very happy with its performance.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool....highly recommend

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A light weight very balanced tool. Capable of long nailing brads also with a vast range of different lengths to choose from. Adjustable power level and an on/off switch. Used it to trim out a door with casing.....worked like a charm. Highly recommend to anyone that needs that 3rd helping hand while doing a project that requires nailing.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

Don't waste your time or money.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wish I had read some reviews for this product before buying because it could have saved me some time and money. I purchased it for a trim project however upon it's first use it kept misfiring. Each misfire banged up the trim pretty badly. When I could get it to hit the nail it wouldn't drive it all the way. This is a 2" brad nail with the depth adjustment turned as high as it will go. I really don't think this thing can drive a 2" nail which is deceiving based on it's description. I'm headed back to HD tomorrow to return it. I'm out a box of nails, some trim, and a night of work. Don't be like me. Read the reviews and don't bother with this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
from Westport, CT

Very good if used properly

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I first got this nail gun I was disappointed that it would not set the nail all the way. Then I tried using extra force to press the gun against the work. It will drive a 2" nail thru a 2x4! You have to use both hands pressing the gun against the work. They should mention this in the instructions.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

Needs ideal conditions to drive a brad flush

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used this brad nailer with Arrow brand 1 inch 18 gauge brads. Under ideal conditions it will drive the brad flush into pine 2x4. This brad nailer has an adjustment dial supposedly for the strength of the stroke but turning it has no detectable effect. The brad isn't driven in with a dimple, so you'd have to knock it down with a nail set if you wanted to putty over the head. Under less than ideal conditions (such as if you forget to exert very firm pressure on the work) the head of the brad remains proud.
I wasn't able to drive a brad all the way down into 1/2" pine quarter round or into 1x2" poplar.
The nailer has an on-off switch. To clear jams, you can release a latch and swing the head of the gun open. (Release the tension on the magazine spring before you do this.) I haven't had any problem with jams.
To fit the power cord in the compartment that it originally occupies in case, you'll have to bunch it up as neatly as they did in the factory. However, I find that I can put the cord back in a haphazard manner and eventually get the case shut if I use some force. The case latches are simple plastic tabs that slip over notches.
The simple brad nailer and small air compressor combinations that are sold in hardware stores will do a better job that this electric nailer. The drawback to those is that air compressors are very noisy.
Note that this tool is only a brad nailer. It's magazine does not hold staples.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
from Pittsburgh, PA

really disappointed

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this nail gun to nail up some crown moulding. I plugged it into an extension cord and nothing fired out at all. I read through the manual just to make sure I did everything correctly.
I tried plugging it directly into an outlet to see if maybe I had a bad extension cord and I practiced on a piece of scrap wood. It finally worked and poorly drove a 2" nail into the wood. I tried the gun two more times and applied pressure and it still failed to drive the nail all the way in. I looked at the "depth of drive" knob and it was turned up all the way. I went to try it for a fourth time and it just completely stopped working. I checked to see if it was jammed and it wasn't.
I am disappointed to have to return my new toy back to the store. This one was a real loser. I think I will try getting a Rigid nail gun I saw for 30 more bucks. I would highly advise not getting this nail gun.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

Weak

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after the smaller Arrow nailer was too weak. Guess what? This one was too weak as well. It managed to push through almost 3/4" of plywood, leaving only about 1/4" of the brad sticking up.
This one has a depth adjustment, so it could either leave the brads sticking way out or only sticking out a little bit. Then the adjustment knob broke so it just spun forever.
The rubber bumper on the safety plunger also fell off after I used it once.
In the dozen or so brads I shot before giving up in disgust, there were 3 or 4 misfires.
I don't recommend this to anyone for anything. Either use a hammer or buy a compressor and a real nailer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good so far

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this nailer for molding purposes. Excellent job so far. Have to get use to the amount of torque needed for different type of moldings. Havent tried it on larger thicker moldings but so far does what I need it to do.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
from Ky
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a toy, not a real tool.

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This nailer worked somewhat acceptably (it would drive a 2 inch brad flush about 75% of the time) for about 200 brads. Then it quit working. I oiled it, cleaned it, played with adjustments. It will not shoot a brad. The safety is depressed, the light comes on, nothing happens. Save your money and buy a real tool.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

GREAT FIRST 200 NAILS, THEN QUITS

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my second Arrow EBN20 red nail gun and have to return for a 3rd gun.
The first gun I brought barely worked so I return it for this second gun which worked great everytime the first 200 nails, then less and less everytime I pulled the trigger it wouldn't fire everytime untill it quits entirely.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
from VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned This to the Store, Didn't Drive in 2" Brads

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Sadly, we returned it to the store. I only tried it with the 2" brads which were maybe too long (although this product is supposed to be able to handle them). Only 1 out of every 10 brads went all the way into the wood, the rest stuck out and either had to be yanked out or nailed in with a hammer. Bummer though because this was easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

For the money

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So far I used it once and it worked great. I will be using it again very soon and will update.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun

Great tool!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really great nail gun. I used it for attaching base boards and for installing new stair treads and risers. I was able to shoot in two inch brads with ease. For the price, this tool is perfect!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, cheap
Cons: not cordless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 2 in. Electric Brad-Nail Gun
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
6 out of 8 recommend this product