728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App

7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App

The Filtrete 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight can be programmed remotely from any internet connection or iPhone. It offers a large display with 7-day programming for efficient climate control that fits your schedule. This thermostat is packed with convenience features and compatible with all residential furnace types.
Overall rating:
3.955 / 5
4
 / 
5
(401 reviews) 401
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product300 of 372reviews
Rating Breakdown 401 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(214)
4
(96)
3
(14)
2
(13)
1
(64)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product300 of 372reviews
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 205 Answers
Customer reviews for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Review 1 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Marq50
from Albany, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy, a Cave-man can do it!

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like a charm. I just picked one up from HD today and could not wait to install it. The installation took about an 1 hour from start to finish. The installation was so simple " even a cave man could do it". I like everything about it. The wifi setup was also straight forward. Just follow the directions to a 'T" and you will avoid any issues. I how have full access to my heating and cooling system anywhere in the world. No more waking up or coming home to a cold or hot house. Oh, I almost forgot. The app for my HTC EVO works flawlessly. Buy this, you won't regret it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
JonS
from Summerfield, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Thermostat - Love it!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thermostat is better than I expected. I installed this thermostat on a Sunday. I needed to make a call to customer support since my AC / Heat Pump was non-standard wiring. After waiting on hold for a few minutes I was directed to leave a message which would not make me loose my place in line. Sure enough I got a call back in 15 minutes. The customer support rep was very helpful and told me where to hook the wires up and also gave me some tips on programming the thermostat appropriately for my area (Florida).
I initially had issues getting the thermostat hooked up to my wireless network because I had it set in easy mode. After reading the online FAQ I finally figured it out and from there on setup was a breeze. The software for the thermostat that installs on your computer is very nice, but requires a reasonable fee to upgrade it to full functionality (totally worth it). With the additional license you can program the thermostat with your computer instead of punching around on the screen. It also activates logging AC systems so you can see runtime, temp, etc by the minute.
After the system is setup making changes via software is very easy so if you need to tweak the schedule or turn the system on before you get home you can.
The smart phone app allows you to adjust the thermostat as well which is like having a remote control. If you are a little hot or cold at night just pick up the phone and bump it a few degrees.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
27out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Cordell
from California

Excellent Wifi thermostat

PostedMay 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a vacation home that needs winter heat when unoccupied (not much but some). The old-tech mercury bulb based one I was using in it had one feature I needed -- ability to go to 45 degrees (lower would be nicer though). Unfortunately, every electronic one I found over the years stopped at 50 degrees so I never upgraded. Also, the dream of arriving to the home in the winter and having it nice and warm was always a distant one.
I saw this thermostat after reading a link on a tech magazine page. For under a hundred I decided to buy it and see if it lived up to the reviews or not. My primary home did not have the "c" wire so I had to use a plug in wall transformer for testing and if the testing went well I would move this to my vacation home. I am familiar with computer programming and such so it only took a couple of minutes to get the Wifi going. In minutes I was able to turn on, off, and change the HVAC temperature settings from the web page -- pretty impressive -- it works. Also, monitoring the room temperature is a plus!
I moved it to my vacation home last week, which thankfully had the "c" wire available so installation was a snap -- just remove the old school one and put this in place. I had to look up how to reset the Wifi for the new router settings but it was easy. In moments I had it controlling the HVAC in this location.
The only thing that I did not find clear was the difference between the non-Wifi programs and the uploaded Wifi ones. It seems that there is a "local" program loaded on it if you should ever loose the backup batteries and the thing gets reset somehow. I tested it various ways with and without batteries and resetting it just to make sure it would not accidentally revert back to 80+ degrees in the winter if something happened and I could not control it remotely. I reset it again, disabled Wifi, and changed the "default" program to 40 degrees (heat) all the way around as a failsafe mode (and 90 for cooling). I re-enabled Wifi and uploaded the same "away" program and that is what is running now. I would prefer total remote control over the unit in EVERY aspect since the web interface is NOT that same as the actual control panel itself. Also, the "away" button on the web interface is not available from the actual physical panel which is odd.
Overall, it meets my needs for remote control of the home's HVAC and lower than 45 heating controls (in fact it goes down to zero I believe since the controls did not stop at 32 when I played with it). As the software evolves it should get even better and I plan to put them in my primary home as well as the features and price is right. Now if there was a cheap alarm system that interfaced with these things it would be even better.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
JJ08GTS
from Crowley, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tricky set-up, but worth the money

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you know nothing about A/C systems, this thermostat, while easy to wire-up, can be tricky to set-up and program in some places. The instruction manual that comes with it can let you down in some places where you might desire more information, but it's still easily doable.
While I like how the unit looks from looking at it from the front, looking at it from the side how it mounts to the wall (which I only notice due to its short distance from a corner in my hallway) leaves something to be desired, especially on the side where the wifi module is not installed in, but I'll easily trade the functionality it provides for as compared to my previous non-programmable thermostat that might have been "prettier." Look at my photos for reference.
At first, I had one heck of a time trying to authenticate it onto my wireless network while using the iPhone app - I spent close to an hour with it constantly dropping connection and having to start over from square one. If you have this problem, use your laptop to authenticate it. That took me just a couple of minutes and was absolutely flawless, and I haven't had a single drop in wireless communication (that I know of) since.
That being said, the iPhone app is awesome, but it had its occasional bug of not wanting to respond to commands with funky error messages - but since the latest app update, I haven't had those issues since.
I would highly recommend this over a traditional thermostat, and still over a regular non-wi-fi programmable thermostat - especially if you have a rather "flexible" work schedule like mine and want to be able to change your settings on-the-fly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
funkathustra
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Install into wall for best appearance; Geeks take note of the wonderfully-documented HTTP-based API

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instructions say it should be installed flush on the drywall -- but the device looks like it was designed to be installed in the wall; so I traced the bottom of the device and cut the appropriate hole. Now it looks great!
If you don't have power ran up to your thermostat, don't sweat it; lots of HVAC cables that get put in walls have extra, unused wires -- they may be cut off, or just wrapped around the other wires. I just used one of those, and traced the cable back to my furnace. I found the 24 VAC transformer that was powering everything located inside my furnace, and just wired the unused connector up to the other pin on the transformer so that I had 24 VAC between the red wire and the unused connector I used. That may sound complicated, but seeing as how I have never opened up my furnace before and was able to get everything working in 10 minutes, it can't be that hard.
Web-based control of the device is a bit slow (takes up to 5 minutes to update) -- this is because the thermostat has to connect to the company's servers to poll for updated data. This was a design decision the company made which some may disagree with -- but it allows hassle-free operation without having to set up port forwarding or anything like that (which many users won't have any experience or interest in doing).
However, there are programs out there designed to run on computers/devices on your local network; these talk to the device directly, so changes happen immediately.
If you're a computer geek like me and are worried about buying into a product from a small company that may easily go defunct, don't be; although the device works great out-of-the-box using the company's server-based web portal, there's also a rich HTTP-based API that's well-documented and extremely easy to use.
In about an hour, I had a simple web page working that read and posted data directly to the device using simple GET and POST commands. The API doesn't have crazy encryption/security keys or challenge/response questions, so it's very easy to use.
I was really surprised at how awesome this device is -- and there's an unused slot for a second communications radio, with standard 0.1" headers. I'm going to see if I can hack together an ethernet adapter for this, which would provide rock-solid network stability...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
32out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
K1N6B0B
from Bethlehem, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, clunky interface, difficult to get ahold of support

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Appearance is good, unit is ascetically pleasing.
Initial Configuration -- was not 'easy' but I got through it without issue (wifi setup). Also, I'm a computer engineer. Everything is 2-factor authentication/confirmation with keys and could be simplified by having the unit walk the user through, rather then downloading a PDF from the website.
Functionality - i.e. interaction with touch screen is maddening. It is not obvious where/what can/cannot be touched and items are so close together (1/4-1/8'') that you cant really use your finger. I probably have to back out and try again 30% of the time i want to select something.
So far the unit has completely 'lost' its wifi connection once in 24hrs, the "reset" button FYI resets all settings (but should not?), i suppose the proper way to reboot it would be via circuit breaker. Had to re-setup the whole thing. ALSO fyi, doesnt work in Chrome. All my times went to --
That brings me to support. HAHA. Called about the above issue and waited on hold until 'my time expired' where i was asked to leave a message. I did, as I had no other choice. In that time i re-completed the setup process so if they ever do call back, well, too late.
General support -- they separate their 'wifi' support off. I had a question about my W1 and W2 aux heat. Called in, same thing. Sat on hold for 20min then was asked to leave a message.
I tried Live Chat. and what do you know? SAME THING. I was asked to leave an email after waiting 15-20min.
-----------
Update: Support did call me back about my first issue (6hr response time). The guy was also able to answer my 2nd issue fairly confidently (W1 -> B for my Rheem air handler)
I so badly want a wifi stand alone unit for my little condo that I'll probably live with this because of the price. I dont think i'll ever be 100% happy with it
Pros: Stylish, Great Value, Lots of Features, Economical
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, No Instructions, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
23out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
alany

Just the control I was looking for!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I own an 8,000 sq. ft building with 4 A/C units that I wanted to be able to control. At first I wasn't sure what model to buy, so I bought an older Radio Works model used for $90 off of Amazon. It took me about 2 hours to install and link wifi because I had to go above the ceiling and connect the c wire to the furnace. After seeing how useful it was going to be, I went straight to Home Depot and bought the newer filtrete models for $104 each. Luckily, the remaining 3 units all had the c wire connected and I had all 3 thermostats installed and linked to my account through wifi in less than 90 minutes. Connecting each thermostat using the iphone app was by far the easiest method.
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
amorris101

used 24V AC Power Adapter in place of C Wire

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed 3M-50 a week ago - all went smoothly and found it easy to setup wifi - have access via computer and Android smartphone.
For me because running an additional wire from the thermostat to the furnace for the C Wire was difficult and impractical, I instead used a Radio Shack Enercell 18/24 V AC Power Adapter (Radio Shack part # 273-331) with Radio Shack Enercell™ 2-Pin Adaptaplug™ Connector to Tinned Leads (6")Model: 273-349 | Catalog #: 273-349. I soldered some wires to the tinned leads to extend the power adapter wiring so it could reach the thermostat (C and RH terminals). I was fortunate because I had a 110 Volt AC outlet near the thermostat and access to run the power adapter wires behind the wall to reach the thermostat.
3M-50 install guide states: "The 3M-50 can be externally powered with a power source rated from 12V to 24V, AC or DC, at 300 mA or greater. If used connect to the C and RH terminals (no polarity)."
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Charles
from Rabun Gap, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but requires some tech savvy

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been awesome for a vacation home for remote monitoring, being able to control for elderly guests, etc. It is very easy to install and get running locally as long as you have a C-wire. It took a call to Tech Support to get the WiFi working, as it doesn't work with WEP. Once up, it has worked very well except when the router gets knocked out by a power outage; this simply required a manual reset (probably of both the router and thermostat).
If you have no tech ability, then this is probably not for you. However, if you do, then the advantages are well worth it at a very reasonable price (and NO monthly monitoring fees). I don't believe that there is any competition at this price point, and the units at ~3X the cost also require monthly fees.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
robigd

Amazing product. Amazing price

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't understand how anybody can complain about this product or the customer support and give this product 1 star. We had a question when installing about some wires from a heat pump system installed in 1990, and customer service called us back at 6:30PM and stayed on the phone until it worked. That doesn't seem like bad customer service to me!
There are more YouTube videos out there than you would ever want to watch explaining and showing how to do everything from installing the thermostat to setting up wifi, to setting up the thermostat to your online account. Very intuitive.
The website and mobile app (Android in my case) are very nice, and I don't see how it could be made any easier to setup and control your thermostat remotely.
Highly recommend!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
drballard33

Great Thermostat at a much cheaper price then the others

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been wanting an internet thermostat for a while but they are all around $300+. When I found this one I thought I would give it a try. The hook up was very quick, but you must have a C wire running from your air handler to use the WiFi. Most have this, or have an extra unused wire in the bundle to hook up. The wifi hookup was a bit difficult just because there are a few steps which took some time (for a mediocre tech savvy person). Once it connected it was great. I can control the thermostat from my iphone and my laptop. I like that it shows me my house temp in the bottom of my toolbar on my laptop. It is also much easier to program the thermostat from my computer instead of at the thermostat. For $99 this is a great internet thermostat.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
denise
from U.S.A.

No Customer Support

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this thermostat for our 2nd home so that we could heat it before we arrived. Initial setup was fine but we lost connectivity about four months later. We went through all the steps to reset our wifi connection to the thermostat many times to no avail. I have e-mailed Filtrete several times, called Customer Support many times without ever being able to talk to anyone. I have left our phone # many times but they never call back. As far as I can see there is no Customer Support.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Anonymous
from Dallas, TX

Great Product / Great Technology

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned two of these WiFi-enable thermostats for about six months now. In short, it's truly a remarkable concept. I did have a power wire (C wire), so the install was very straightforward for me; took no more than 30 minutes to install and configure two units in my house.
Honestly, the ability to regulate my thermostat from anywhere in the world is worth the investment alone! My only complaint is with the wall unit; it is a little confusing to use some of the more complex programming functions. But the iPhone app is very easy to use and hey, it just works.
This is a great product and is the future of home automation and remote access. Get on board now and start saving money day one!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
DenverDIYer
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, fantastic for the DIYer

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit works well as a basic thermostat. The touchscreen interface is not entirely intuitive, but one read through the manual clears everything up.
The wi-fi capability puts this thermostat in a class of its own. Both the website interface and the Android app offer only basic functionality (change target temp, set away mode, set/unset hold, etc.), but they are designed well and work as advertised. You can, indeed, adjust your thermostat from your phone or computer. This makes it easy and convenient to warm/cool a location when returning from an extended absence, and warming/cooling vacation homes or rental properties is easy and convenient.
The real power, though, is that almost all of the thermostat's data and functionality is available through a programming API, so you can write (or download) your own programs to run on local computers to add functionality (e.g., tracking usage data over time, setting the heat/cool programs remotely, etc.). There is a reasonably active developer community for this device, so you needn't start from scratch.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
rrizzi7210
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Tech Review for Computer Experts Only

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At this point there are 275 reviews, mostly written by non-tech people. The non-tech reviews have value for non-tech people, which is fine. No offense, but some really important information has been left out of their reviews. So, if you are a level 2 computer tech or above, a EE or S/W developer with embedded design in your background read on.
The WiFi module requires 24 VAC OR 24 VDC, typical A/C unit can supply 24 VAC as was my case. You must have the 24V Common line connected first AND you must RESET the device AFTER connecting the 24V line.
Second, they use a two stage installation to avoid using a USB cable type approach to setting up the device. First, the thermostat boots in Ad-hoc mode, from which your WiFi client will connect to. They then publish the last octet of the device's IP address from which you then connect to, via http to allow you to complete the installation (if you don't have an iPAD). Pretty good approach if you ask me. In the event the thermostat can't connect to the previously mated WiFi SSID, it will return to the adhoc mode automatically, thereby allowing you to rejoin it to a new SSID. It will not clear the SSID or passphrase for the last WiFi connection used, unless you replace the configuration. If you WiFi network goes down, or changes, they will e-mail you 24 hours after no contact with the thermostat has occurred so you can address the issue.
Once the thermostat can connect to your default GW, it will check to see if it can connect to its server. The thermostat is basically a client to a client-server architecture. The iPad, iPhone, Android apps, and the web-based application communicate with the server-side only and not the thermostat. This is where they store your programming, etc. The thermostat polls the server for updates very frequently. The server also publishes the date/time the thermostat last polled, etc. You do not have to open any ports on your firewall at all to allow the thermostat to work. They don't even publish the ports they use, but if you wireshark the MAC, you'll find out. I haven't done it yet, but my guess is they wrap everything in http to make it work on ALL routers pretty much regardless of what homeowners might do to the router.
So, to summarize communication. The apps talk to the server and the thermostat talks to the server. Kinda like this: thermostat <---> Server <---> Client Application
In the current version of the firmware on the thermostat you cannot configure the compressor start delay time for non-heat pump installations, but I think it is set to four minutes which should be enough. However, you CAN configure the temperature differential between current temp and set point temp in increments in .5 degrees., which effectively allows you to control cycle times quite nicely. I have tried .5, 1.5 and 2.0 with completely different cycle times which is exactly what I expected.
Overall, the manual is actually very good. If people followed what they say in the manual, and not try to interpret or interpolate what is said, it is VERY easy to configure the device with an iPAD. The iPAD app does ALL the heavy lifting with respect to ad-hoc mode, switching over to AP mode all by itself.
I really like what Filtrete has done here, and I have NOT been spammed by them (at least not yet) for giving them an e-mail alias that I have access to (of course).
+74points
105out of 136found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Anonymous

A must have for tech junkies!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this product for over a year, still marvel at the low cost, and brag about it to anyone willing to listen. I work in the building automation field, and this product does more out of the box than controllers costing over a grand. I have an electrical and IT background and found the install was pretty easy. If you have zero IT or wiring experience, plan to get some help, or at least carefully read/follow the manuals. Don't just wing it alone, then write a horror story review....the product is solid, and a solid value. If you can't make it work, the issue is probably you. This should go without saying...but...you must have WIFI in your home for the wireless portion of this product to work. (It works like magic, but it isn't ACTUALLY magic...nuff said?)
I have used this stat with an android and with iPhone, both work great. I don't really use the local display, it's pretty, but I prefer to just use my phone or the web site...why stand in front of a stat, when I can use a gee whiz cool web site?
If you don't have one yet, you might not be a tech junkie!
If you don't know what WIFI is, just keep that old dial stat.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Rich

Buy it!

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got lucky and there was an unused blue wire running from the A/C controls to the thermostat that I used to get 24V power. Works like a charm. Easy install. Easy and free programming via the web. I also downloaded the apps for the ipad and droid. As far as I can tell the apps only give you basic control (change mode, adjust temp). In order to set heating and cooling programs you need to use the website or be at the thermostat. But it all works great. I am very happy with the purchase.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Notsoaveragej0e
from Royal Oak, MI, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hardest part of the install was making sure your HVAC wires are going to the proper places, both on the furnace and the thermostat. The manufacturer website provides all the detail you'll need, though. Other than that, the iPhone and Android apps are great (I used both), and the website is even better. I installed these for my parents, and they are absolutely in love... The price is a bit high as far as thermostats go, but you certainly get what you pay for-- I'm not sure I've seen any wifi-thermostat on the market for much cheaper, anyway. I would purchase this again, for sure!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
SCCRDAD
from Midland, MI

Great product, requires some effort to install

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for the ability to affordably monitor and change my climate settings from anywhere in the world for some time, and this product really hits the sweet spot. For what you get, the $99 price is fantastic. Most other comparable products sell for hundreds of dollars and require a subscription fee and even more complicated installation.
Yes, you do need the infamous "C" or Common wire. I installed 2 of these thermostats in my home - one spot already had a fifth wire (it was cut off so I didn't notice it at first) but the other I had to run an extra wire to the furnace. But you can also install a new transformer near the thermostat if you don't want to run the C wire all the way to the furnace. Complaining about this is really not a fair complaint about the product itself.
As to other comments that the unit is unattractive - I don't see that at all. You can run the wires halfway down the back of the unit, effectively hiding them, and there is a plate and faceplate that installs on the top to hide them.
Now for a few negatives, that in no way overshadow the things I like about the product:
1) The instructions for activating the internet interface (provisioning) are kind of scattered and it's easy to get lost. The program that downloads to your computer did not work for me on either unit and I had to provision them in a different manner. There are good support forumns online however (which I used) and a 24 hr phone support (which I didn't use)
2) I wish there were more than 4 cycles per day for temperature programming.
3) I wish the backlight stayed on all the time, not just when you touch the screen.
4) My device went offline about 2 days after I installed it. However, I got an email from the company saying that they noticed it and were investigating the issue and asked for some data about my router. A few days later, I noticed that the firmware version had been updated and I have had no problems since.
That is one cool thing - they can update the firmware automatically over the web. There is even talk on their support forums that items 2 and 3 above could be changed on devices already in service via firmware updates.
All in all, I believe a great product, if you don't mind putting in a bit of effort up front.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App
Paul

Works great

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took a bit of fiddling to get it working with Wifi. But once it connected and once I understood that there was up to a 5 min delay between setting it via iPhone and the temp changing on the thermostat I was perfectly happy. It is in an outbuilding used as an office and it is so nice to be able to turn the heat up a short time before you go out (it was single digits here all last week.) When the wifi router was down for a few hours I even got an email alerting me. Nice. The schedule could not be easier to set using the iPhone or even my Windows7 PC. Would be nice if it mounted a little more flush with the wall but that is a minor complaint. Touch screen works well for programming and local control too.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>