728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Power Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED

50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED

The Bora Clamp Edge is a straight edge tool guide with integrated clamps for Circular Saws / skil Saws, Jig Saws, Routers, Biscuit Jointers and more. Utilizing the Clamp Edge one person can accurately rip and or crosscut plywood and large sheets of building materials with the speed and precision of a table saw or track saw, at a fraction of the price. The exclusive swivel head design allows the Clamp Edge to firmly clamp slight angles, which, gives much more flexibility for all types of clamping and cutting applications. Combining the features of a bar clamp, saw guide, straight edge and vice into an all in one convenient tool, these clamps are ideal for all types of woodworking, cabinet making, professional carpentry and D.I.Y. projects. Its aircraft grade extruded aluminum body is perfect for straight accurate cuts and rigid clamping. The large over-sized handle allows for increased clamping pressure, while the soft-grip rubberized clamping pads insure that the material is firmly held in place, without marring the work. When not in use, the integrated hanging loop allows for convenient storage.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Make Tablesaw Quality Cuts

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really nice clamping edge guide. I use this edge guide and my circular saw to cut large sheets that are difficult to handle on my tablesaw. The cuts are straight as an arrow and very smooth.
The guide is light, easy to position and operates smoothly. You adjust the clamp to the width needed by simply squeezing the release buttons on the movable clamp face. Once adjusted you use the clamp lever to secure the clamp to the sheet. After clamping you can use a circular saw, router or jig saw to cut straight and smooth edges that are professional in quality. Please view the video to see how easy this edge clamp is to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast, Straight & Safe!!!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After struggling with spring clamps & a make shift straight edge, the Bora Clamp Edge not only produced straighter cuts but allowed me to keep my fingers on my circular saw while making cuts in cabinet grade plywood for my new kitchen. Had I used a table saw, I would have been forced to take off all guards & make the cuts free hand - which was not very desirable. Definately a worthwhile purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, safe
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from California
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does it job as a saw guide

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a versatile saw guide clamp that does it's job. It's jaws open more than 48", so you should have no trouble clamping up to a 4' board. It's easy to adjust the jaws, and although the clamp never really feels like I'm putting enough tension on it to grab the board tightly, I've never had it slip, so it's apparently deceptive in how well it grabs.
I can see some potential downsides that you should be aware of. First, it can clamp at an angle of up to 22.5 degrees either direction from straight. While this increases the flexibility, it does mean you will have to use a square of some kind to make sure you clamp straight when you want a 90 degree cut.
The second potential downside is that it's long (over 65" with the handle in the unlocked position). That's great when working on wide board, but if you are working on a narrow board you are going to have a lot of excess clamp hanging out in mid-air. And you'll need 5.5' of space to store it.
Despite those potential downsides, I expect I will make good use of this clamp for my saw cuts for many years to come.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Katy, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy straight edge

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The straight edge is very sturdy. The handle to clamp it tight to the wood fit the hand nicely and easy to push down to clamp. It holds very well too. The clamps themselves are nice sized. They measure almost 2" wide X 1 1/2" high. Them have a nice rubber foot on each end to grab the wood tightly, but not mark it up. The straight edge sides measure just under 1/2" high, but give you plenty of material for your power tool to move against. It also has a 1/8" groove on both sides for a power tool to ride in as a guide too. The moveable clamp is very easy to slide from end to end. The clamps swivel 22 degrees to the left and right in case there is a angle on the item. This straight edge seems to have some good thought behind it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for door trimming

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had 2400 sq. ft. of carpeting installed recently and found it necessary to trim all doors in the rooms involved. I used this guide along with my circular saw to make quick work of the job, that after doing one door trim using a regular straight edge, C-clamps and wedges to prevent damage to the door finish. That method works, but takes quite a bit longer. With this tool, the rest of the door trimming went very quickly without the nuisance of falling wedges and C-clamp position adjustments to get them out of the way of the circular saw.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, saves time
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Home owner from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average guide bar, above average clamping surfaces

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a set of similar guides from another manufacturer that I've used quite a bit for my home woodworking projects. If you've never used an aluminum guide you'll appreciate how quick and easy it is to make cuts, as compared to using a straight edge clamped to the piece. Clamps can slip mid-cut. They can also get in the way of the cutting tool if you're not careful.
The various guides that I've personally seen all seem to be quite similar in design and quality. While the Bora clamping mechanism is superior to my other set (primarily because it's larger, which means more surface area for better grip and registration), it's otherwise on par with other guides that I've seen and used. In fact, at first glance the aluminum rails look virtually identical among the brands. I don't know if they source the rails from the same supplier or if it's a coincidence, but the clamping mechanisms are a key difference. The Bora guide's clamping pads are larger, which I immediately liked in use. If this went to 45 degrees I'd give it 5 stars because it would really set it apart from the competition. In my mind 22.5 seems like a partial solution to a great idea.
While aluminum flexes easily, the guide bar is formed with folds that make it fairly rigid. You'd have to really press hard for it to give during a cut, once locked down. I've never had a problem with flex, but the longer the guide the more likely prone to flex it would be.
You will want a variety of sizes. I now have four sizes. Other than perhaps an 8 footer for ply I think I've got all my guide needs met now.
By the way, I'm still waiting for someone to come out with a self-aligning guide, which I think would be fantastic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, large clamping surfaces
Cons: would like 45 degree swivel
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Something I've wanted for quite awhile.

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For several years I have looked at similar saw guides but never felt that the cost could be supported by the amount of use I planned, but this was just too good to pass up. This saw guide allows for straight cut across a sheet of 4x8 plywood, but it also allows for a straight cut of 22.5 degrees off that 90 degree line. While I haven't used the guide for that angle cut yet, I did use it to guide my circular saw for several cuts to make replacement drawer bottoms that I needed in my kitchen. The setup was simple and fast. I appreciate a well-made tool.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED

Works well.

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to adjust and works right out of the box. I like that it is kind of a one size fits all device.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED

Works well

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does what it is advertised to do and it saves time and materials. The clamps hold things down securely even if the item is relatively thick and the saw cuts straight. Highly recommended product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Penfield, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful compared to using multiple clamps and a board

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The clamp works well as a strainght edge. I did not notice any flexing in the middle when cutting 4' plywood. It is a little tricky to get tightened in the correct place as it tends to shift slightly to the side when tightened. Overall, I'm happy with it and have used it several times already.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: tricky to accurately align
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiddly

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sometimes it can be difficult to slide the jaw closed as it will stick prematurely. The lock up is solid once the jaws meet the edges of the work piece. I am not disappointed with the purchase, but I cannot unabashedly recommend this clamp edge.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Tolovana Park, OR 97145, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cutting large plywood made easy

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the Bora Clamp Edge to cut several 4' x 8' x 3/4" plywood panels, with a portable circular saw. The jaws open to 49 3/4" allowing me to easily attach, adjust & clamp the Bora securely to the plywood. After marking the plywood for the cut, I made short work of cutting all panels with a straight, clean edge. No more jamming the blade, because I think I can freehand cut a straight line on plywood. Besides perpendicular cuts, it also adjusts up to 22.5-degrees for angle cuts. Minimum space is used to store this slim, low profile designed product. Should be in every persons workshop.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

Works Great!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saved me from buying a table saw to cut plywood. The clamps are sturdy and easy to use. Also will cut on an angle, this was helpful for trimming a door down that was hitting an uneven floor
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes a bothersome set-up easy

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This clamp will go from 48" all the way down to zero, so you can use it on pretty much anything. Of course, the best use is large pieces, where it lets you set up a straight solid guide in seconds. The pivoting ends work well for small angles and crooked pieces, and the clamps grab strong enough that you could use it for a light-duty bar clamp. The bar is stiff and dead straight. I really can't see myself using anything else now that I have this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

I like this product

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I find this product to be very helpful for making quick cuts with the circular saw. The concept works better for the 50-inch clamp than the longer 100-inch clamp. I do have concerns about the durability of the clamping mechanism. It uses 3 pieces of metal that bite onto a central rod. I'm also not a big fan of the end being able to rotate. That seems to be more of a nuisance than a feature. I did not find that it "locks" into a 90-degree cut automatically at one of the handle settings as it listed.
All-in-all, I would still recommend the product because it does speed up my operations, but it seems pricey for what you get.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Saint Albans, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw Guide

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Durable and easy to use. This Saw Guide sets up quick and holds in place yet is easily re-positionable.
The 50 inch guide easily accommodates a 4x8 sheet of plywood and afforded me good straight cuts with my circular saw.
Im glad to have this guide in my arsenal.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is just what I needed to cut nice straight lines fast. It's adjustable and very easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Durango, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

finally feel apart

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was not impressed w/ the 50" clamp from the beginning. It would not lock on to 90 degrees unless set up w/ a framing square. I found the sliding end hard to move smoothly and accurately. It would stick when trying to slide it. Today I went to use it and somehow the sliding end had slipped off the end of the rail and a small spring had fallen out. In trying to find where the spring would fit and function, the 3 small locking tabs fell out so now I have a totally useless tool. I've called Bora and left a message, but no return call. This tool is more frustrating than helpful .
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions, Difficult to Use, poor customer service
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very versatile. Intensely easy to use.

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This clamp and saw guide has proved to be easy and accurate to use. There are a few plastic parts which at first made me nervous, but so far it is holding up to moderate to strong use. I appreciate the idea the tool can be used for more than one purpose. I've used it for moderate clamping of wood to wood glued surfaces, and it was a gem for a circular saw guide. I have also used it as a router guide to cut a channel in lumber.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 in. Clamp Edge Circular Saw Jig Saw Router Straight Edge Saw Guide-DISCONTINUED
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Product is useless

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found this tool to be useless. It states in the instructions that if you clamp it down in the 4th locking position, that it will only lock at 90 degrees. This is false, as I trusted the tool more than the straight lines that I drew on a 4 by 8 foot plywood sheet. There is no need to have the 22.5 degrees offset which contributes to errors in cutting at the wood at 90 degrees.
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.