728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit

Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit

After 20 years of repairing damaged doors caused by breaking and entering, it became evident to us that a product to reinforce doors was needed. In 2003, Safe door systems created a new method to increase the resistance of the door and the frame to forced entry. Safe door systems protects both the frame and the door whereby other products in the marketpalce only protect one or the other. Crime statistics show that most home invasions occur by forced entry. Safe door systems enhances the strength of the door preventing it from being kicked in by burglars. The systems has clean lines and no mechanical parts, making it unobtrusive. The system has been tested by independent test companies and proven to be kick proof. The system can be installed in less than 30 minutes by a homeowner.
Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product17 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product17 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
Review 1 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Atco
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not fit all doors

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We purchased 2 sets and were only able to use 1. Both doors have magnetic door alarms, so I had to cut a 1" hole. The cut outs on the door piece, did not match the door lock/deadbolt. Both my doors already had individual steel strike plates that wrapped around the door jam from the manufacturer and would have had to remove the molding to install completely.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Las Vegas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money. Easy to install.

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased one of theses to see what it was all about. I then bought three more for the rest of my exterior doors. It even works well on French doors. The door piece doesn't stand out if your door is already white but would need to be painted to match a non white door. The striker plate is solid and has a nice quality brushed stainless finish. The door piece will need to be trimmed but that can be done with a hack saw or sheet metal shears. The door cap has a nice tight fit and it comes with a tube of silocone to keep the door cap securely attached and weather tight. Once installed the doors felt more secure and stiffer. Takes about 45 minutes to install if you don't have to chisel the door frame to make room in the jam. I didn't have to do that for any of my doors but I'm sure some will. It is an inexpensive way to secure your home and easy to install. It is a quality product but a little pricey for what you get but still worth it for the added security. Tools you will need is a drill and drill bit to pre drill the screw holes so you don't split the jam, something to trim the door cap, a pencil to mark the location for the striker position and screw holes and to mark the length you will need to trim on the door cap, a screw driver or bit for your drill and a sharp knife or scissors to open the silicone tube, and possibly a chisel and hammer if you need to recess the door striker. Simple tools for a simple job. If you are reading this review then you are serious about your security. You won't be disappointed.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Plattsburgh, New York

Safe at Home

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My home was recently burglarized by kicking in our front door. The frame and door were completely damaged. We were all quite shocked because our alarm went off and I had recently installed a heavy duty lock and deadbolt. Boy, was I wrong! My family was quite shaken up and the kids couldn't sleep at night. We had thought we had taken every precaution,but we needed some added protection and peace of mind. I went on line and decided to try this product. So I bought this item from Safe Door Systems. The product claimed to protect both the door AND the frame, the two items ruined by the burglars. I figured for less than $100, it was worth a shot.
Installation was easy to install by myself, without hiring anyone to help. I just watched the installation video on their website. It took me 25 minutes, no sweat. The product looked fine on my door, but I decided to paint the door channel anyway to match my door. You can't even tell that I installed something on my door.
I tested the item myself for a while and then showed my family how it would be impossible for any burglar to invade our home through the front door. We now can sleep a lot better. All my neighbours who know about the break-in are amazed. Great product!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Would be a good value if able to use properly

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unable to use with the door, didn't fit. returned,
Pros: Nice Design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Buford, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Product, easy install

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product came with very easy to understand directions and just about everything you need for install. Installation went very smooth. Strike plate is very solid and screws they provide are very long, they reached nice and deep into the studs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Chester, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product allows me to feel safe both at home and away once again!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our house was broken into by having the back door kicked in. Parts of the door frame flew ten feet into the room and the frame was in shambles. Those little screws that come with the locks are useless. This reinforcement kit was super easy to install and now we feel comfortable both in and away from home. The only recommendation we have is use a good set of wood chisels, it will make the installation so much quicker and neater.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install. Solid components.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The steel sleeve fit the door perfectly, didn't have to cut it. It was so snug we were tempted not to use the adhesive but decided to use it to be sure it was installed according to instructions. The striker plate is large and very solid. The installation was so easy and now I feel totally safe in my apartment. Even though I am renting, it was worth every penney to feel safe and secure. I would buy this again if I move.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very easy install. Took about 30 minutes.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was happy with this purchase, as it certainly did beef up the front door, and it only took me about 30 minutes to install. The only negative I have is that I would have liked more screws, especially for how much it cost. I can't imagine this cost the manufacturer more than $10. I would have liked more screws, because I could not find the square head type screws anywhere (I tried Home Depot, Ace Hardware, etc...), and I wanted to reinforce the hinges with stronger hardware. It seems like this should be part of the kit, since the kit's purpose is to strengthen the entire door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: would like to have more screws.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Oakland, CA

Fitted with relative ease

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Due to a recent attempted break in,I looked at both door reinforcement systems on the market and chose this one.
The fitting was relatively straightforward. The most challenging part is fitting the strike plate - use of chizel(s) and time and patience needed(!).
I chose not to use their supplied strike plate, as it's rather industrial and not that attractive. So I opted for a much prettier brass strike plate, also from HD - Store SKU # 667138
The 'metal channel' slides on the door well. It's easily trimmed with tin snips or cut (hacksaw).
I opted not to use the silicone supplied as I was concerned that it would reduce the door-jam clearance too much. Instead I tacked it with small brass nails.
I contacted the manufacture to see if they provide SafeDoor for 1 3/8" thick doors - and they do! Custom made in Canada, shipped to CA for $200inc(!). Still cheaper than replacing a door.!
I will be buying another.
Good luck.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit

Good investment

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These frame kits make the door seal tightly. I feel a little more secure. The person that I had install the kits, did it pretty quickly and he put on 2 of them. I will buy 2 more and I would recommend this product because alarm systems aren't a deterrent for all criminals. You have to prevent a break-in period!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Mansfield, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as advertised

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works well. It did take a bit longer than advertised to install. This was caused by the non-standard positioning of the knob and deadbolt.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Seattle,WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well designed product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Striker plate well designed did not use the door reinforcement as I have a steel door and this would not fit.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Feel so much safer!

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a single woman, living alone in the city, when I heard about this product, I was eager to install this device - and I really appreciate the peace of mind that it gives me! I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a little extra security! Only problem is it isn't in stores, was a pain to get there to buy it and find I had to order online and wait for delivery!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Edmond, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what is intended.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Strong sturdy product that gives the door a solid feel when closing. Latch plate install requires a sharp chisel and a light touch.
Could cost less as the materials are simple for the job they do
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Tampa, FL

Great Product!

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So glad we found this at Home Depot. We live in what we think is a safe area, but recently robbers kicked through back doors of houses and got away before police could get to the neighborhood. My husband travels for work often and I am home alone with our 3 young children. Definitely feel safer now. Instructions were easy to follow and it took us about 45 minutes to put on our door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Pine Brook, Montville, NJ 07058, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is cheap and flimsy, arrived damaged and was returned to my local store.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit

Easy to install. Feel much safer now with this item.

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very please with quality and the easy installation. Our neighbor had their front door broken into which is why we purchased this item. There is no way for a person to kick in this door now. We feel much safer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Texas

Great product, easy to install

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. It does everything I needed it to do and was very easy to install. I have already recommended this product to several people.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Security Door and Frame Reinforcement Kit
from Orlando FL

Great Product

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a break in once and they kicked in the front door. I bought this product after dooing some research and there is nothing like it. It is easy to install and the door has a more solid feel to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.