728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Home Office Furniture or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED

2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED

The Sandusky Vertical File Cabinet is ideal for heavy-duty use in the garage or office. The durable welded steel construction of this filing cabinet is designed for years of use, with steel ball bearing slide suspension and full drawer extension offering ease of use. The high sided file drawers accommodate letter size hanging folders, while the spring loaded follower in the drawer keeps files upright. One single lock secures all drawers, with 2 keys included.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product8 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product8 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED

Good, not great

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Comfort 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Let's face it. You're paying $120 for a filing cabinet that you know is not top-of-the-line custom furniture. What are you really expecting? It gets the job done and is decent looking. It's not something I want on display in my living room, but since it's tucked away in my closet, what does it really matter. At the end of the day, it gets the job done just as well. The average ratings are simply based on cheap materials. It works fine.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product good, shipping not so good.

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good product, sturdy and durable. Seems like it will perform just fine. A bit pricey because of shipping, I only got this product from The Home Depot because I had a card I needed to use. The apparent constant vibration during shipping 'sanded' the finish off in a few spots, enough to detract from the appearance, not enough to go through the hassle of trying to get a new one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED

nice cabinet

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
well built
drawers hold a full load and still slide easily
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from St. Louis, MO 63125, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Faulty cabinet

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't bother, drawers wouldn't unlock & had to return
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: faulty drawers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED

Solid!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We ordered 6 to use as the base in a room-wide computer desk and they were perfect!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Sturdy file cabinets at the right price

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sturdy file cabinet at the right price. Drawers operate smoothly. Best of all no assembly required.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Functional, Well Made, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Hillsboro OH

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my new 2 drawer file. works fine, the drawers slide in and out with ease. For improvement I would recommend a more substantial lock and a stronger key
I was not happy with the Delivery by FedEx. I live back 300 feet from the highway. The delivery was by a long trailer and the driver stopped on the highway and walked back to my house and asked me to either bring my car or truck to the highway and pick up my file cabinet. I did
fileboy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works for me.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Comfort 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Got it on line fits for what I need and is of good construction. Had it shipped to my house and it did take a while to get here.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Chula Vista, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and Attractive

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Putty-DISCONTINUED
I love this file cabinet, the first I've ever owned. It fits discreetly inside my closet and I can lock it to keep documents and financial records organized and secure.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, not great, file cabinets

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comfort 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Dove Grey-DISCONTINUED
The cabinets are sturdy, but three of the four drawers (I bought 2 file cabinets) stick and have to be wiggled. Having them delivered is a big plus, if you have a small car - and the price was comparable to, or less than, office supply stores in my area.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Burlington VT

Unit was defective

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Putty-DISCONTINUED
I purchased two of these Sandusky files. One unit was OK, but the on the other unit, the bottom drawer would not open. After working to disassemble the bottom drawer, I found the problem to be defective slide mechanism, so I had to bend the defective part so the drawer would open. The slide works but is still difficult to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED

It was great service, however the item was damaged.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Dove Grey-DISCONTINUED
I was happy with the ease of ordering the product, however the item came damaged. I sent it back and received a refund within 3-5 days. Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED

Drawers difficult to open

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Putty-DISCONTINUED
The drawers of these cabinets tend to stick as does the lock. They work well for long-term storage, but I wouldn't recomend them for files that need to be updated regularly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very, very unhappy (see explanation below)

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Comfort 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Putty-DISCONTINUED
Product came damaged. Unfortunately, driver would not wait for my review. We did not notice damage until we removed file cabinet ourselves from the carton. Drawers work, however there is a big dent in the cabinet. Did not report immediately because I needed file cabinet for my work papers.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED

I ordered two file cabinets. One seems good, the other fair.

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Putty-DISCONTINUED
Of the four drawers, I have one with a defective spring loaded follower. It will not latch into the grooves and my file folders are laying willy-nilly in the drawer. Because I ordered it online and needed it right away, I could not mess with returning it and getting another. For the price I paid, I would have expected everything to work correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Hartford, CT

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:2-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet in Dove Grey-DISCONTINUED
Very good for keeping all your paperwork in order. Paid bills and receipts. It is very spacey and locks for privacy. I don't know how I lived without it for so long. It is very strong and will last a lifetime. Very good buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.