728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop French Door Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth

20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth

Enjoy a built-in look with the cabinet depth feature. Thanks to its slightly shallower depth, it can stand flush with your countertop for a sleek look. Beautiful on the outside, beautiful on the inside. On the outside are contoured doors, hidden hinges and premium finishes and inside is recessed premium LED lighting, adjustable shelves and an integrated 4 compartment crisper with deli storage center.
Overall rating:
4.327 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product96 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(22)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product96 of 110reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer reviews for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
Review 1 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth

Looks Fabulous

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all the fridge looks fabulous. Since it is shallow it sits flush with our cabinets and just comes out far enough for the doors to open. We have had lots of compliments.
It is not a large fridge. We are a family of 2 so it is fine and would probably be okay for a max of 4 people. You need another fridge if you have a larger family. Also the crispers are small so if you eat a lot of vegetables it does not have a lot of room.
Shelving is good; inside lighting is bright; very quiet. Also, I have no problems with the freezer. I have had it about 2 months so I have had time to really get used to it.
Before I bought it I had another fridge picked out but then went to the store and the LG just shined.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great design, poor implementation, high price

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this fridge one month ago to replace our dead J...A..
Pros:
- Extremely quiet. Quietest fridge I have ever owned.
- Cabinet depth for shallow openings (see other comment below)
- Lots of storage space in the upper fridge doors.
- LED lighting in upper fridge is nice and bright.
Cons:
- Stated width does not allow for hinge sides of doors. If you have a 36" wide opening as I do, you cannot place the fridge all the way into the opening so that it's flush, else the french doors will bind in the opening when opened. Add 1/4" to width dimension to allow for flush install. (And mine's a tight fit despite the opening being 1/4" wider than the fridge's stated width spec of 35-3/4".)
- Freezer organization is barely adequate. One vertical divider can be used to separate meat from other stuff but the freezer drawer is so deep that things just pile up on one another, making them hard to find. Upper drawer is nice, tho'.
- Not offered in black or white, only stainless steel finish.
- Temperature display is the setpoint, not the actual temperature. I would like to know what it really is, not just what I have set it for. Nice for setting the temp but otherwise useless.
- Expensive for a smallish refrigerator. Thus my low value rating.
Other:
- Manual states you must leave 2" behind fridge for air flow, so add 2" to stated depth dimension to determine if it will fit "flush" into your space.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+119points
125out of 131found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Buyer Beware

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this from Home Depot in 2010 for $2200. We did not get the extended warranty. It's now dead on my kitchen floor only 4 years later, the repair cost estimate at about $1000, the motherboard dead and so is the compressor. We are purchasing a new fridge. Every LG appliance I've purchased looks great, works great, then dies long before its time. I won't be purchasing LG again. They are expensive and they do not last. I've had their dishwasher, their washer/dryer, and now their fridge. All are taking up space in a landfill and soon to be joined by the fridge. Hasta la Vista, LG. Don't let the door hit you on the backside on your way out the door.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love my new frig. It's bright, has lots of room and since it's shallow depth things don't get buried like my old frig....some reviewers don't like the alarm but, with 2 kids constantly opening the frig, the alarm has come in very handy. Doesn't bother me at all. Only downside is that I had to remove one of the top shelves to make room for 1 liter bottles of seltzer. If they had designed one of the shelves to accomodate the liter and a short shelf for short items like jars, that would have been useful. But overall excellent. Also, be aware that this product is not the 'fingerprint free' stainless - make sure you buy the stainless steel cleaner product!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: shows fingerprints, doesn't fit liter bottles unless you remove 1 shel
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from East Berlin PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very impressed

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fridge was purchased in 2010. September 2013 it failed loudly and at a bad time. The freezer had never worked well, So after the service technician looked at it (and it has to be an LG authorized tech, LG will not allow any service by others) turned out that the compressor had gone bye bye. The warranty is for ten years BUT you have to pay for the site visit, tech time and refrigerant. That was about 500, So in January the freezer quits, and the tech tells me that its probably because its enclosed in the cabinets. That, I tried to explain, is why we get counter depth units...so they are part of the kitchen. The suggestion was a 300 dollar circuit board which he thought might be overheating, Fortunately, that part of the kitchen backs up on a hallway, so I just punched a hole in the drywall, put a grate over it, and everything seems fine. My advice is to buy the extended warranty and make sure the unit is in a well ventilated place. Minor defects: doors don't always close and the alarm doesnt go off, the freezer slide jams if water freezes in the drawer rails, and internal plastic parts feel flimsy. Home Depot in Hanover PA was outstanding in their assistance on this issue.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excllent

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We really like this model. You can buy a larger model, but the counter depth looks very custom, while this model is a little smaller and more expensive than slightly larger models, it looks good. We've had models with Ice and water on the door, but have decided this takes up additional space, and always leaves the front looking messy. If buying stainless and can afford to spend more buy one that a magnet does not stick to. The cheaper stainless is harder to clean. This model is very easy to clean and resist many of the fingerprints that are unavoidable.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

I like it so far :)

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Has decent space, shows well, organized, quiet and fits nicely in a small kitchen.
I didn't give it 5 stars because I haven't figured until now how to remove swiftly and easily marks or spots from its shiny surface.Even when i use a microfiber - damp or dry - or even some of those alumnium speciality clothes, no matter what, the spots i'm trying to erase are still there. May be that's how it came.
In any way, I'd recommend the LG fridges as apparently this company's rating in ths field is pretty good.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: surface not easy to make it spotless
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Costa Mesa, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far so good...

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have only had the fridge for a month, but it is gorgeous and very quiet... No complaints so far.
Pros: High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Georgia

10 days old and loving it

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
LG delivery people were AWESOME. The care taken to packaging of product so all arrives safely was impressive. This was the only fridge we liked with depth small enough for our space, so we didn't look at many, but we are super happy with this. Love freezer at bottom. Seems to be as much space in fridge as in our standard size side by side. Loving the deep door storage and the many crisper drawers. The only thing that is annoying is that the door doesn't seem to close easily, so it beeps at us a lot to tell us it is ajar. But we like that it tells us. We will fix that after we finish our kitchen remodel and we make sure the fridge leans back slightly so the door is more inclined to close.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Temecula, CA

LG review

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product fit perfectly in our counter depth space. The service was great by the installers.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 months old and a problem is cropping up

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We needed a counter depth fridge because of the location of the fridge. After looking at tons of reviews we settled on this fridge. I like the LED lights and how quiet the fridge is when it's running "normally". What I don't like is the interior space it isn't as deep as our last counter depth fridge. Fridge is susceptible to fingerprints (unlike our last stainless steel fridge). A high pitched whine is now starting to intermittently happen...it sounds like a bearing is going out or something.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design, led lights
Cons: Not Durable, high pitched whine after 2 months, stainless steel is fingerprint magnet
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with this purchase

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this refrigerator after returning a competitors product because it was too noisy for my open floor plan home. The LG refrigerator is amazingly quiet and i couldn't be happier with that. The roll-out shelves are a nice feature but the orientation of them are kind of awkward for large items (2 Liters, etc...). The stainless steel is beautiful and high quality.
If i had to improve anything it would be the latching mechanism for the doors. It's kind of clunky and not very smooth. Also, no scoop for the ice bin. Really? A $2500 dollar refrigerator and LG can't throw in a 10 cent plastic scoop?
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: no ice scoop, shelf orientation
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Roseburg, OREGON

I love this!

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this refrigerator last fall (Ocober 2010) because it had french doors, was counter-depth, and had the BEST warranty available. It is incredibly quiet and both refrigerator and freezer are brightly lit.
After using it for 6 months, we are still happy with it. The only feature we would want to change is to split the full-width interior drawer in half.
We still can't get over how quiet it is! A VERY WELCOME addition to our kitchen.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

21 century model!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love our decision made based on HOW we want to use the refrigerator. 1. We don't want to bend over every time we get something from fridge, so this French door style is perfect. Everything we need is stored above waist! Except ice and frozen food in the freezer which we use less! 2. We wanted everything stored visible. When open this counter depth fridge, we can see all, and not hidden or forgotten in the deep backside. 3. We actually worried it might not hold all the foods we used to have in full sized fridge, but hey, it seems more room than we had before. Probably, the counter depth prevents us to over stocking and forgetting the invisible food in the back. Plus, there is no water/ice dispenser to take up huge space. 4. Only down side of this fridge is ...making strange noise like doggy barking...not that loud but if you listen it does. That's why we rated 4 star, not 5. Hope this helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Dover, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice fridge

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to go in our pantry since it was a smaller space and we needed a fridge with a smaller depth. This fridge certainly fit the bill! There were less expensive "counter depth" fridges out there, but the other reviews about this fridge were positive, plus we bought the same fridge but with the ice maker for our kitchen about 3 months prior and it's been fantastic.
Only complaint would be that the "door open alarm" can be turned completely off and won't turn itself back on after a set amount of time. I found this out since I turned it off while taking all the tape off the shelves and initially adjusting them as the alarm was annoying me. 2 days later I accidentally left the door ajar and realized my mistake the next morning. Didn't lose too much food, but I did turn the alarm back on after yelling at myself! I know it's my fault, but it would be nice if an important feature like that would turn itself back on after a set amount if time. It's much more common for someone to temporarily turn off a fridge alarm while stocking a fridge or adjusting things, but unusual that someone would need an alarm permanently turned off cause the doors are constantly open. Kinda defeats the purpose if a fridge!
Anyway, love the fridge, highly recommend it! FYI: it's true stainless steel, so magnets won't stick.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Whitehouse Station, NJ

Perfect Fit. More Spacious than I thought!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The delivery was great. Product is super, super quiet. Thought the counter depth was going to be not as roomy as it was, but really, really wanted counter depth...extremely suprised that I could easily fit at least 9 or so gallons of liquid and then some on the middle shelf. Couldn't be more pleased!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Silver City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a Good Product

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After just three years the compressor went out. Phone call and emails to LG were of no help even thought the compressor was under warranty. We were told a repair company would call us but that never happened. We ended up buying a new Frig from Sears.Stay away for LG products.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from ft lauderfdale, FL

excellent counter depth, quiet, energy efficient...

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned for 8 months, great appliance much quieter and more energy efficient than my last fridge which was a bulit-in.
It was worked flawlessly, ice maker is fast and not loud, my electric bills show a difference.
This appliance was ranked the 7th most energy efficient fridge and it hard to find a great counter depth fridge.
For those complaining about the french doors closing...here is the trick, close one door at a time, it closes fine!
if you try to close both at the same time they jam, otherwise no issues, I have to believe this is common for the french door design.
I like that the compressor runs very little and it is very quiet.
I was not sure what to excpect from an LG so I bought the home depot extended warranty...
no issues at all so far..other than the HD delivery service (GE) - they were very unhelpful and rude and refused to move my existing fridge or connect the ice maker!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from portland, oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad Purchase Timing

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to replace my refrigerator. The LG had the dimensions and general features I needed. It received good reviews. After receiving it I realized it didn't have any actual temperature display only the desired. Therefore you never truly know the temp in refrigerator and freezer. Additionally it doesn't have "no fingerprint" stainless steel.
Five days after receiving the refrigerator. A slightly smaller model and many other models went on sale for less than half the price that I paid, which was incredibly frustrating.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: no actual temp, stainless steel hard to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, Counter Depth
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Compact and attractive

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I changed my old refrigerator due to it extended beyond the wall and past the counter and this always bothered me. The LG counter depth refrigerator fits what I was looking for, although you pay more for less space it looks good and fits the space without jutting out beyond the wall and counter. We also have a spare refrigerator in the garage so any items that would have fit in the old one we simply put out in our spare. Because it holds less it is much more organized and never hard to locate items in. Overall I like the product and would recommend it to others.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>