728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

The AVH2 whole room heater is not your average space heater. Vornado heaters use vortex energy efficient technology to fully circulate the warm air throughout the room. This is unlike most space heaters that heat the space directly in front of the unit with the heat immediately rising to the ceiling. The AVH2 uses automatic climate control which adjusts the heat output and fan speed higher or lower at all times to maintain the set temperature. This eliminates annoying hot and cold cycles where the heater shuts off allowing the room to cool and then turns back on to heat the room up again. This household heater is whisper-quiet and has advanced safety features to provide worry-free use. Vornado Energy Efficient Heaters are technically different from traditional space heaters. Vornado small heaters are more energy efficient thanks to unique vortex action which circulates heat evenly throughout the room. More efficient air movement saves energy and allows Vornado energy efficient electric heaters to warm an entire room faster than other space heaters. Reduce your electricity bills this winter with a Vornado energy efficient Vortex heater, or share energy efficiency by giving a Vornado electric heater as a gift.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product57 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(48)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product57 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Review 1 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Franklin, West Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an outstanding product.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is well-built, very easy to operate, and heats up quickly. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Two Harbors, Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product / Excellent Price

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our northern Minnesota home is warmed by LP gas (which has become increasingly expensive lately). We are retired & the large family room, 14'x26', is our favorite & most used room in the house; however, it WAS a bit chilly.
After searching through many heaters, we decided that this type of heater would work well for us at a nominal price. The thermostat in the family room is set @ 60degrees, but with the heater, the room temperature is a pleasant 68degrees. We like the even heating throughout the room & the unit is very quiet.
Lastly, we like the appearance & the heater is not tipped over easily.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: needs longer cord
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Nice heater

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this for a cold laundry room (after we had burst pipes in January) and it makes a big difference. Will definitely use it every time the temps get low. Only ever use it on the low setting but it gives out a nice warm air that circulates. My only problem is the cord needs to be longer. Putting it on the floor and plugging it in at counter top height doesn't work. Either have to put it on top of the dryer and not heat from the floor up or place it on the floor where it is much more efficient and we are running it on a heavy duty extension cord which we would rather not do.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: cord needs to be longer
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best heater for our rv.

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We own two vornado heaters. One is used in our travel trailer. The vornado keeps the trailer very comfortable. No cold or hot spots ever. We have used different brands of heaters for many years and nothing can match the performance of the vornado. Our heaters are older versions of this model. They are old but, they perform like new.
We used one for a recent trip and it worked as expected. The Best heater ever !
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from ocean view, delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered online & disappointed that this heater has a small electric coil which I do not feel is a very efficient way to heat. Also, heater blows cold air after the assigned temperature is reached. Expected a lot more for the cost. Returning to store.
Cons: poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Morrow, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a very good job.

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an electric heat pump and try to keep my thermostat low to reduce electrical usage. This heater allows me to heat just the area I'm in to a comfortable level. I especially like the fact that it cuts back on fan speed and heat output as the setpoint is reached. Even on the low setting, the output keeps my room comfortable, using only around 700 watts as measured by an amp meter. During the time it has cut back, it's barely audible. Nice heater!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a whole room heater. It is at best a heater to be placed three or four feet from you. At that distance you will feel some heat. Further away, it is useless. It also needs to be more inclined so you can feel the heat. I use it in the garage to keep me warm as I sit and carve. The garage is well insulated, but if I need to heat the garage, 625 sq ft, I use a kerosene heater. Controls are useless, a full on/off switch is all you need.
Pros: it works
Cons: itis a small under desk space heater
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Howell, NJ

Sadly not as happy with this as model as I was with an older model

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I have an older model of this space heater that works very well, and when reading the reviews of some vornado products on-line before I purchased this one, I just thought the people were doing something wrong. Maybe it's quality control, I don't know, but this model does not throw out as much heat as my older model does (not sure how old it is, could eleven or twelve years old and is still going strong!)
I'm very disappointed. Seems people either think this product works great or not at all - strange.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: does not project enough heat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

Really heats the room

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In our upstate NY home, we had problems in our high ceiling room surrounded by glass windows. This heater has made all the difference in that it heats more area than the typical space heater. I highly recommend it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Lincolnton, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase for a safe heater

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an 8' x 16' work shop in my barn. It is insulated but still needs heat. The heater does the job. It is quiet and cool to the touch. I am glad to have it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love Vornado, but disappointed in this product

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this heater thinking the temperature settings would be a great feature. Very disappointed. This heater did not produce much heat. Definitely not enough for a larger room, such as a Great Room. I returned this heater and purchased another Vornado model for a little more than half the price. Much happier with the less expensive model.
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: did not produce enough heat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

Heated the room fairly fast.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Really liked this particular machine, however I had to return it because when I turned it on it smelled like it was about to catch fire :(
Would recommend it! Perhaps not to the person who constantly has it on though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from lewiston NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For a little heater it really performs, and is easy to use
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great space heater

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater is a great little space heater. I set the heater at 70° and it has maintain it. I had moved it to different positions in the room and you still maintain 70°. I am very satisfied with the product and would recommend it to anyone
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Johnson City, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with this heater

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater costs more than the average space heater, but It works much better. I have it in a fairly large living-dining room of approximately 350 square feet, and it heats the whole room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I'm glad I bought it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Vornado heater lives up to all the descriptions I read. Very quiet, efficient, and heats up a room!
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from La Verne
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this heater for my Motorhome and it warms the interior nicely.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Gardendale, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little heater

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this heater for my unheated bathroom in an old house I am working on. Heats it just great. No complaints. Considering getting a second one for another part of the house that could use some extra heat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Best heater for kids

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Put this heater in a small kids room. The heater keeps the room cozy, quite and safe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Orlando Florida

Vortex heater

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 3rd one we have purchased--one will keep an entire room warm .So we put one in the den, bathroom and bedroom and keep the house warm without having to use the gas furnace-uses very little energy.!! Wouldn't be without them.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>