728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

The AVH2 whole room heater is not your average space heater. Vornado heaters use vortex energy efficient technology to fully circulate the warm air throughout the room. This is unlike most space heaters that heat the space directly in front of the unit with the heat immediately rising to the ceiling. The AVH2 uses automatic climate control which adjusts the heat output and fan speed higher or lower at all times to maintain the set temperature. This eliminates annoying hot and cold cycles where the heater shuts off allowing the room to cool and then turns back on to heat the room up again. This household heater is whisper-quiet and has advanced safety features to provide worry-free use. Vornado Energy Efficient Heaters are technically different from traditional space heaters. Vornado small heaters are more energy efficient thanks to unique vortex action which circulates heat evenly throughout the room. More efficient air movement saves energy and allows Vornado energy efficient electric heaters to warm an entire room faster than other space heaters. Reduce your electricity bills this winter with a Vornado energy efficient Vortex heater, or share energy efficiency by giving a Vornado electric heater as a gift.
Overall rating:
4.108 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product49 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product49 of 62reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Review 1 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Franklin, West Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an outstanding product.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is well-built, very easy to operate, and heats up quickly. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Two Harbors, Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product / Excellent Price

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our northern Minnesota home is warmed by LP gas (which has become increasingly expensive lately). We are retired & the large family room, 14'x26', is our favorite & most used room in the house; however, it WAS a bit chilly.
After searching through many heaters, we decided that this type of heater would work well for us at a nominal price. The thermostat in the family room is set @ 60degrees, but with the heater, the room temperature is a pleasant 68degrees. We like the even heating throughout the room & the unit is very quiet.
Lastly, we like the appearance & the heater is not tipped over easily.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: needs longer cord
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Nice heater

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this for a cold laundry room (after we had burst pipes in January) and it makes a big difference. Will definitely use it every time the temps get low. Only ever use it on the low setting but it gives out a nice warm air that circulates. My only problem is the cord needs to be longer. Putting it on the floor and plugging it in at counter top height doesn't work. Either have to put it on top of the dryer and not heat from the floor up or place it on the floor where it is much more efficient and we are running it on a heavy duty extension cord which we would rather not do.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: cord needs to be longer
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Gardendale, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little heater

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater for my unheated bathroom in an old house I am working on. Heats it just great. No complaints. Considering getting a second one for another part of the house that could use some extra heat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

Heated the room fairly fast.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Really liked this particular machine, however I had to return it because when I turned it on it smelled like it was about to catch fire :(
Would recommend it! Perhaps not to the person who constantly has it on though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I'm glad I bought it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Vornado heater lives up to all the descriptions I read. Very quiet, efficient, and heats up a room!
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from La Verne
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this heater for my Motorhome and it warms the interior nicely.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Best heater for kids

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put this heater in a small kids room. The heater keeps the room cozy, quite and safe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is marginally satisfactory for what it was designed to do

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found it necessary to run it on high auto continuously to increase the temperature in the room from its unheated ambient temperature to a level equal to plus 25 degrees. For example: If the unheated ambient room temp was 30 degrees, the best this heater alone would do was raise the temp to 55. That was less than what I was expecting based on the comments made by others.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: doesn't put out enough heat
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is WONDERFUL for our camper !

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We prefer to use electric over gas heat in our camper. This little Vornado is compact, safe, and has the wonderful feature of maintaining a certain temperature......not just ON or OFF. We absolutely LOVE it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Orlando Florida

Vortex heater

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd one we have purchased--one will keep an entire room warm .So we put one in the den, bathroom and bedroom and keep the house warm without having to use the gas furnace-uses very little energy.!! Wouldn't be without them.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average heater. Did not warm room as much as expected.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had been using a floor model heater and was looking for something to heat the room better than the unit I had been using. After using it for a week I went back to my old one because it was unable to heat as well as what I had been using. It is made from plastic and it looks like it would crack easily if dropped. I think the quality and performance is overrated.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, weak performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product is good for heating the room size it is in.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took a week for the product to be delivered when the weather was very cold. In the future, I will have the product delivered to the store to be picked up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Always Trust a Vornado Product

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is not the first Vornado product I have owned. I had a standing fan that I had for years, but recently moved and did not have room for it - still working - I gave it away. I moved to an apartment that has steam heat and is regulated by an outdoor thermostat. My living room is 15x15 and on occasion is kind of cool in the evening. Within 15 minutes of turning on the heater the room is nice and comfortable. It is small, compact and easily carried (lightweight) to the bedroom. It has great features and also can be used as a fan. Adjustable thermostat and high and low.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

Excellant product

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a finished room in the basement in MA.In the past I heated it in the winter with 2 oil filled radiator's. Too hot when it was warm and could not keep up when it was cold.
I installed one of the Vornados,set at low heat,auto fan and 69 temp.It works fantastic. The room has a nice even heat and is the same temperature as upstairs.I do not have the digital version as I have it on a timer for about 3 hours in the morning and about 4 hours in the evening.
This little heater works fantastic and I will far less electricity.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good quality heater. Provides comfortable temps for size.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well. Raises overall temperature to comfortable levels.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Woodbridge, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Satiffied

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. It works as advertised.
A pleasant surprise!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great features, defective unit

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
has great features, but this unit had a faulty thermostat. warmered the room right up but never cycled the heat back on after the room cooled off.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

The temperature control is a great feature.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this heater. It keeps the room I'm in nice and warm without using the central heating system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AVH2 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

excellent features

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I gave the heater to our parish priest and he is amazed at the performance of this small heater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>