728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

The DVTH heater is not your average space heater. Vornado's DVTH was rated "BEST OVERALL" by good housekeeping. Vornado heaters are different from space heaters in that they use vortex energy efficient technology to fully circulate the warm air throughout the room in minutes. The DVTH has digital controls and uses automatic climate control which adjusts the heat output and fan speed higher or lower at all times to maintain the set temperature. This eliminates annoying hot and cold cycles where the heater shuts off allowing the room to cool and then turns back on to heat the room up again. This household heater has advanced safety features including: automatic Safety Shutoff, non-glowing heat element, tight grill spacing and cool touch exterior to provide worry-free use. Vornado energy Efficient Heaters differ from traditional space heaters. Vornado electric heaters are more energy efficient thanks to unique vortex action which disburses heat evenly throughout the room. This efficient movement of air saves energy, allowing the Vornado electric heater to warm an entire room faster than other space heaters. Reduce your electricity bills this winter with a Vornado energy efficient Vortex heater, or share energy efficiency by giving a Vornado electric heater as a gift.
Overall rating:
4.153 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product55 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(47)
4
(9)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product55 of 69reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Review 1 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great looking heater

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I can not really review this product. I live in Houston, Texas and the weather has been to hot to use the heater for any length of time. I have only taken it out of the box and plugged it in. It worked good and had a good design, I will do another review when it becomes cold enough to use the heater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Gaithersburg, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works perfectly to warm a large, drafty room ... definitely recommend!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from The Ville, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We Will See...

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In a fairly new tight house, these heaters would do very good. They will have the whole room pleasant in just minutes and very quietly done. Our house is nearly 100 and quite drafty whereas blankets hung over doorways move back and forth, but last year we were good with two Holmes Quartz heaters, but they are only good for a couple years...maybe 3. Liked the design and concept of the Vornado. For a hundred or so bucks...though...don't be expecting a big package at your door. Wife was going "Is that it?".
However this little unit moves air and warms it and to me almost feels like central heat, but less dry.
It has only been cool here in Texas so far. The real test is yet to come....but I think they will help a lot.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Colorado
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and even heat.

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used to heat the 225 sq. ft. bedroom of a disabled adult. This heater is much, much quieter than prior heater and the heat is very even with no cold spots. Fan runs continuously and the element intermittantly but no sound change when the heat turns on. Smaller than the prior heater with better thermostat and you can touch it when it is heating. I like it and have recommended it to others living or working in older homes or offices. Have not checked it with the consumption meter yet so can not speak to cost effectiveness but comfort is the main concern and this heater meets the challenge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Quiet
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Louisville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Operated as advertised, met my expectations. Would recommend.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far GREAT

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I heat my home with wood. I bought two of these for the times when a fire is not needed. Also to help with heat in my upstairs room. I set them on LOW and let them work the heating magic they do. My bedroom stays an even 72 degrees. The times I don't get up to refill the stove. The one on the 1st floor is keeping it at a tolerable warmth when restocking my wood burner. Keep in mind I close off most of the rest of my home during the winter months. If you are looking for something that will save you money and discomfort during winter months with a REASONABLE expectation. These will work. My electric bill is no different than the summer months of running two portable AC units and electric on demand water heater. ($65.00 a month) I just keep the rooms I stay in comfortable.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Little Elm, TX, USA

Best (most expensive) portable heater I ever bought!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although this isn't your typical $30-40 heater, it significantly reduced my winter electricity bill. I was used to turning on the Central Heater to warm the house. Well, the Central Heater, according to several websites, can use around 6,000-8,000 watts. After buying this Vornado, it has heated not just my living room, but the entire 750 sq ft bottom floor ON LOW! I set it to low @ 72'F two months ago and have yet to set it on high. I live in DFW where the winter nights get to 28-38'F. At worst, when outside temp was below 30'F the bottom floor may drop to 68 or 69'F with the Vornado set to 72'F on low. No biggie as I just threw on sweats or a sweater. I refused to turn the Vornado on high, 1500W setting. I can put my whole hand on the front of the heater and it is cool to the touch. The Vornado is kept on the top of the living room entertainment center high up. I am totally clueless on how this small-mid size heater can keep an entire bottom floor at 72'F on LOW. Best heater on earth @ 750W low setting!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Product Does exactly what it was intended to do and Does it well for its size.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using my Vornado to heat a 10 by 10 outdoor enclosed garden room.
We live in Arizona and grow vegetables all year long. we needed something small that would keep the temperature above that which would cause plant damage. The fan continues to run on low speed after the room temperature has reached that set on the Vornado thermostat. So far we are very pleased with its performance.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unsurpassed Quality

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own several Vornado space heaters and wouldn't consider purchasing anything else. I cannot believe how well they heat my home. On most days, I don't even use my big heater, but just have two of these running and my home is very comfortable. If it gets really cold, I just turn on another Vornado. Quiet, efficient and money saving. Doesn't get any better than that!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Hackensack, N.J.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very impressed.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a few other, smaller Vornados that left me cold -- literally. But this one heats a fairly large room really well, is almost silent, and moves the air around. Very happy with this purchase. I just got my light bill and it was significantly lower than usual, though I've used the space heater for several hours daily and nightly.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Connecticut

Worth the price

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems like an effective and efficient unit. I use in a 20x18 foot room that opens up to another room and it raises the room about 5 degrees in 20 minutes. My only issue has been when shutting the unit off, and then turning it back on in another room- I often get an inaccurately high temp reading in the new room, and the unit powers down a bit, with the fan going to low and the heater dropping out, when in fact the room is colder than the last.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Effective
Cons: problems recalibrating
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Lawtenceville NJ
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good heater-but flawed

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't get it...why do manufactures pinch pennies on something like the power cord? Its too short, very thin and uninsulated. My alarm clock has a better power cord than this high end heater.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Reading, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent so far

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not only does it keep our unheated sun porch cozy, it has not been expensive to run.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product has excellent features, easy to use

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using in our motorhome, love the safety features with pets around it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

Nifty Gadget

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very effective at heating the coldest corner of a large room. The digital thermometer is a major plus. The room sometimes gets a flood of desert sun and this gadget knows when to shut down. And we can set it back at night without guesswork.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Santa Rosa, CA

Does what it promises.

PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivered on time. In great shape. I bought this for my daughter & son-in-law. They love it. Kept the bedroom cozy warm all night. No noisy on-off action during the night. Very portable. Can be moved to any room they want to heat. It can even be used as a fan on hot days.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from metro Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before purchasing this heater. I have reduced dramatically my power bill by turning down my central heating. I did not mind the cool back rooms, but needed a little warmth in the living room/kitchen area. DVTH heater is a very gentle even heat unless you turn it way up and it can make you sweat. I keep it on 69 degrees. While I barely feel it as I am in my house, when I go outside and come back in I realize the even warmth it is keeping the rooms. It stays near the door that opens to the back porch so that it goes into high gear every time there is a cold blast from outside. It works like a dream. I've had it almost 3 months and have noticed maybe the power bill has gone up $1 since using it. I keep it on day and night since I've had it. I was a little concerned with the negative reports I saw. I can't help but think those were not working or if you keep it at 69 degrees you can barely feel heat, but 69 degrees is not very warm. I like feeling the breeze instead of the usual radiant heat. Overall it has done what I wanted it to do at a very small expense. I have turned it up to 80 degrees just to see what it would do. It was very warm. I soon had to take a layer of clothing off. It can go up to 85 degrees. I would highly recommend this heater. It is light in weight, and unobtrusive in the room. One hardly notices it is there. My cat and dog have not bothered it. Most importantly it keeps the room warm and costs pennies to run.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
from Northbrook, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2nd one I purchased was for my son, away at school

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd one I purchased. My sons room in a townhouse in Athens, Ohio was cold. If he turned up the heat to make his room comfortable the rest of the house got too warm. It work like a gem! It does not get hot to the touch, it circulates the air, is quiet. Wonderfull product
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater

Well rated-works as advertised

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With the very cold winter, the heater has been a very definite help. It puts the heat where we want it. Dliveery was as advertised- even tho it shipped from the manufacturer in Kansas to Pennsylvania. Package was not crushed nor marred in any way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DVTH 1500-Watt Whole Room Portable Vortex Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It helps with the frigid temps we have been having

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I run this in my sons room since his room is the coldest in the house and it keeps him comfortable and warm. I would recommend this to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>