728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

The PP258TP has a 12 ft. reach and 8 in. bar with the outstanding performance of a 25 cc engine. Easier to start with the Sure Fire starting system. An automatic gear driven oiler provides the right chain lubrication at all times. A trusted name since 1944, Poulan Pro products represent outstanding values offering quality, power, and durability that every home owner should expect.
Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product8 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product8 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

Problem with Poulan Warranty Servicers

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The saw started easily out of the box, but would stall when the trigger was pulled. I called Poulan customer service who told me the carburetor needed an adjustment and a special tool was required that only their repair shops had. They gave me the names of two warranty repair centers in my area. Upon calling them, they both refused to work on the pole saw, although they did work on other Poulan products. A litte research later, I found the tool on e-bay for $6 (Poulan Weedeater Carburetor Adjusting Tool 530035560). Once it arrived, I was able to adjust the pole saw so it ran fine.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64

would'd even work once

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I essentially needed something for a one/two time use. I read many of the reviews and thought i was going to be the lucky one - not! The clutch would not engage and the saw would not work. Never got to use it and it's been in the shop for about a week and a half. I also, as many people have indicated, was unable to keep it running at idle. Caution - it was inexpensive and you get what you pay for - but it should at least operate the first time. Once running i don't see a lot of longevity. Never again!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

Nice Saw for the Price.

PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The saw started up on the third pull....Great for cutting down limbs up to 6 inches.. I was even able to cut 10-12 inch branches.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pole saw

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pole saw throttle would stick wide open when started.this saw is very cheap. I would not suggest this saw to any of my friends.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

First one a dud

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The first one we ordered didn't work, the blade would not spin. We loaded it with oil and gas and nothing. We returned that one and reordered and the second one has been fine. We have only used it on pruning things like lilac bushes and a couple small trees but worked great for that. This fall it should get a good work out.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Mississippi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic little saw

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A year later and it's still going strong. It's not the most powerful saw out there but for the weekend warrior it's all you need. It starts easy, idles well, comes to speed without effort and has enough power to cut as deep as you can bury the bar. If your ego demands a Commerical saw by all means get what you want but if you're like the overwhelming majority of us who've a large lot loaded with trees to prune, etc... it's all you need. Add to it the attachments such as an edger, hedger, etc... the power head has enough stonk to do the job...
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pole saw works very well

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It wouldn't start when I got it; called help line and they directed me to local shop who adjusted the settings and rewired the starter - it's been working fine ever since.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Clinton, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not happy with this product

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Can't get pole saw to run. Starts good, but quits when I try to idle it down.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

Great for home use

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Starts very easily, hot or cold. It is slow to rev, but I still think it works fine for home use. Worked great trimming my 20 palm trees. I also bought the hedge attachment which worked well on my 50 ft long hedge, but no better than a low-end electric model, but without the electric cord. This is the only gas power chain saw/hedge trimmer I've ever used. Seems to be a good value for the money. I bought this after getting severe tendonitis from using a manual pole saw.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Lompc, CA

Poulon Pole Saw

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with the quality of this saw. The ease of starting, considering the sometimes awkward conditions, is a great extra. I've had experience with some brand name equipment that finds it way to being the last tool I wnt to use, knowing that starting and restaring can be mst difficult
Very adequet power for the type of use it's designed for
Just wish my arms were a couple of feet longer.
As you can tell, I'm very happy wiyh this unit.
Wasco.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

cuts well

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this saw is a two peice pole saw, it does not have a
telescoping pole.
home depot needs to change the description of this saw.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Globe Az

junk

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this saw online so i wouldn't have to drive 140 miles round trip to purchse in person.After recieving the saw it would start but would not idle or accelerate.Called the # that came with the saw and of course i was told to take it to a certified service center,140 miles round trip with no compensation for the inconvenience or the fuel to take a brand new product to have it fixed.Horrible customer service and product backing,stay away from this brand!
+11points
22out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't run

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st time starting it idled at choke ok for 10 seconds. When I moved the lever to the run position and gave it gas it immediately bogged down and died. Wouldn't start again.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

Great Value

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price of this trimmer it gives excellent performance and is easy to use. I did not get fatigued even after using it for a half hour. It is balanced good and the length is almost perfect. I would recommended this to anyone.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Canal Fulton

Not a good piece

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Poulan PP331 3 years ago. I had problems with it but kept it too long to return it to the retailer. It didn't have enough power to use the leaf blower attachment, just barely enough to use the saw and string trimmer. It was easy to start when cold, but it stalled frequently, it was hard to start after it was warmed up, and the trimmer head would come apart during use. After 3 seasons, this year would have been the fourth, of light duty yard work it seized. Repairing it will cost more than buying a new one. I might buy a new one but it won't this one.
-2points
11out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

Construction Good, Utility OK, Fairly heavy to Handle.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live at 4600 feet altitude. Could not advance throttle without stumbling and running rough. No adjustments identified in literature. Had to take to authorized repair facility to have mixture adjusted.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

Item as described

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked well out of the box. Easy assembly and setup.
Not sure of longevity as I've only had the item a couple months.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product and simple.

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although a good product and worked well, it was end-heavier than I expected which made somewhat unwieldy and tiring to handle at higher heights.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Alexander City, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Pole Saw. Just right for my wife.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very efficient and the price was great.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. 12 ft. Gas Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
from TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this pole saw for 3 years now and have no complaints. I've cut down small trees with it and large branches. It has been a workhorse and I highly recommend it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.