728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ranges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED

Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED

Whether you're cooking snacks or multiple courses for a special gathering, this double oven's 6.0 cu. ft. capacity can handle it all. Perfect the rest of the meal using the Power Center cooktop with 16,000-BTU Speed Heat and griddle burners with included griddle with high-heat capabilities. Keep the process efficient with EvenAir True convection in the lower oven to roasts up to 30% faster than a thermal oven and Power Preheat which preheats the upper oven 40% faster than a conventional 5.0 cu. ft. conventional oven. And to keep traditions going for years to come, a 10-year limited parts warranty on the burners and cast-iron grates comes standard.
Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product93 of 107reviews
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(67)
4
(25)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product93 of 107reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED
from Beavercreek, Ohio

Five Months Later

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gas range continues to be outstanding after five months of use. To date we have only used the smaller top oven which works well for the two of us and probably is saving us money on our natural gas bill. The range is well insulated with very little heat loss into the kitchen area, so we will be able to use it in the summer months. The sealed burners and oven are easy to clean. This range is expensive but worth every penny. As mentioned in my previous note our only issue is thefact it does not sit flush with the back wall and thus extends severa inches past the edge of the countertop, but we are getting use to it.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED

burners

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I feel the griddle burner is a big waste, the flame is to low for a griddle took 10 minutes to heat griddle and then didnt even cook french toast I have to use 2 of the regular burners to use my griddle. I even had them out to try and get flame to go higher and they cant change it...I wish i could return it and get regular burner for 5 th burner
wish I could of seen flame on burner before i purchase I would of never got this ....
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED
from Beavercreek, Ohio

Our Maytag MGT8885XS Gs Range

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For several years my wife and I have been looking to replace our 24 year old gas range. We have been interested in the double free-standing gas oven with the principal reason being the smaller oven which would be used most frequently would use less natural gas to heat due to its smaller volume. We have been waiting two years for the various range manufactures' to reverse their terrible design decision to place the burner controls on top of the range where space is already limited; and now they have.
Over the past ten years my wife and I have purchased several appliances from Maytag and have been very happy with their reliability. We were apprehensive about purchasing a range we have only seen in an ad and not an actual floor model; no dealer in the local area had one on display.
After living conservatively all these years we decided to go with Maytag's top of the line range which cost the price of three standard gas ranges. In addition to the double ovens we wanted the griddle attachment principally for decorative purposes and to have a place to lay utensils while cooking. As everyone knows, about the only thing you can cook on griddles is pancakes, grilled cheese sandwiches, or French toast unless you want grease splattered all over the stove top, counters, and floor in front of the range no matter how low the heat is; resulting in a long cleanup effort.
The MGT8885XS was delivered around noon Saturday 6 November 2010 by Home Depot's delivery sub-contractor. They did an outstanding job hauling out and bringing in the new range. I paid the extra charges for gas line hookup kit and installation. However, after about ten minutes of installation work the delivery crew decided I had a gas leak in the house plumbing and they would not be able to complete installation and I should call a plumber to have it fixed. They left the house with the range sitting in the middle of the kitchen.
I took Monday off as a vacation day to wait for the plumber. The plumber arrives and after some investigation announces there is no gas leak in the house pipes but there is a leak in the MGT8885XS piping. I got down on the floor and the plumber pointed out where his soap suds were just bubbling up from a small sealed metal box that sits to the left of the gas intake valve on the range and to which the gas line is connected. The plumber stated this is a Maytag problem and they need to fix it. I paid him and he left. I immediately called Home Depot and they in-turn contacted the local Maytag repair service. I was informed the earliest a repairman could arrive would be sometime Tuesday. The range continued to sit in the middle of the kitchen.
I took another valuable vacation day on Tuesday to await the Maytag repairman. The repairman arrives, investigates, and then announces he cannot find the leak. Sure enough, the part that was clearly leaking the day before is now not leaking any gas. To be on the safe side the repairman decides to replace the part and then goes out to his truck. About ten minutes later he returns and states this range is so new the part is not even listed and his home office could not find it either. So we decided to take a wait and see approach and he went ahead and completed installation of the range. Now every time I walk by the range I sniff for a gas leak; so far so good.
While the MGT8885XS sat out in the kitchen for the four days I took the opportunity to investigate the back of it. I notice our gas line that comes up through the floor is approximately one inch to the left of the small inset area at the bottom of the range that is designed to allow you to push the stove in one inch past the gas line, thus permitting it to sit closer to the back wall. So following installation by the repairman the back of the range is now four inches from the back wall and the front of the range extends six inches past the countertop into the kitchen area. My wife upon returning from work and seeing how it extends out from the wall and into the kitchen states she hates it and to get rid of it. She has since calmed down and accepted the situation.
The stove top burners and small oven work well; we seldom use the large oven. The stainless steel front cleans up easily.
Since the majority of the range's systems are electronically controlled, in contrast to our old range, and having worked 40 years in electronics I decided it was best to invest in Home Depot's extended four year warranty. I know it has a ten year limited warranty on burners and grates, but only one year on the electronics which basically control the range. The Home Depot extended warranty, in my opinion, is the best deal in our local area when compared to other appliance vendors.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED
from Beavercreek, Ohio

Our MGT8885XS Part 2

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I forgot to include in my previous note that since the majority of the range's systems are electronically controlled, in contrast to our old Tappan, and having worked 40 years in electronics I decided it was best to invest in Home Depot's extended four year warranty. I know it has a ten year limited warranty on burners and grates, but only one year on the electronics which basically control the range. The Home Depot extended warranty, in my opinion, is the best deal in our local area when compared to other appliance vendors.
-2points
14out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED
from Madisonville, LA 70447, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Quality

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ovens do not maintain temp, we have had Maytag service people out 3 times still not working and they can't figure it out! I've got 3 days of the typical we will be there between 1:00-6:00 and they show up at 6:00 and take 3 hours for no results!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Quality, Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED

Awesome range!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. I haven't baked anything on the bottom oven yet but everything else has been fantastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED
from Orange TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

how disappointing

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in White
This was exactly what I wanted! Imagine my surprise when the delivery men opened the box and began removing the packing materials and the white paint actually peeled right off with the tape! Nothing to do but refuse delivery because of a defective product.
I don't even know how the wonderful double ovens work or how nice it would be to have the griddle in the middle. All I can say is "Boo-hoo".
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED

This product is fantastic! Easy to operate, large cooking and baking capacity.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black
This range is the best appliance purchase that I have made in quite some time.
The double oven feature allows for a larger baking capacity or less capacity if only baking one item. This saves on energy.
I used the self cleaning option a few days after Thanksgiving.. it cleaned so well that it looked liked I never cooked a turkey in it.
The top surface grates makes it much more efficient to cook. The entire surface can be used for large pots.. love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quality Defects/paint falling off.

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in White
Like the review I just read, I also had not 1 but 2 damaged Maytag Double Gas White Ranges' in the same week! When delivery guy's removed tape & plastic on the 2nd oven, wish you could have seen the look : /
Maytag has quality issues. Try KT!
No More Maytag for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Gemini 6 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel-DISCONTINUED
Based on the average of (99) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88 out of 98 recommend this product