728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

The updated, clean lines of the Bellwether Bath coordinate with a variety of products. Made of KOHLER Cast Iron, it incorporates an integral apron and 3-sided flange for ease of installation. It comes in a number of KOHLER colors to match your bathroom decor.
Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
Review 1 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Cast-Iron Soaking Tub in White

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We purchased this cast iron tub to replace a 40 yr old (green) cast iron tub in our house. We have hard water and cast iron is easy to clean and lasts for years. The nice thing about this tub is that it's a little wider and water depth is deeper for soaking. There is about 4" lip all the way around that makes it easy to set things on. Installation wasn't difficult except that it is extremely heavy (298 lbs). You will need to get an extended faucet because of the slant of the tub and a longer overflow hookup. We purchased this online and picked it up and installed it ourselves. DIYer's... I'd do it again. And highly recommend this tub
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Nice Design
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

Nice Tub but it's not really white....

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Beautiful tub, wide ledges on sides, looks nice except it's not WHITE. Appears to be off white or cream color although tag code states it's white. Doesn't match the bathroom white sink or white toilet. Difficult to return to store as it weighs 298 lbs.
Cons: Appearance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Great tub! love it, love it, love it

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got some flack for ordering a tub, "it's too much", "can't we just get a steel one?", etc, etc. But I persevered. Went modern contemporary for the bathroom remodel and this was perfect. No silly "swirls" on the side. Just classic, clean lines. The bathroom looks great, bath looks great, very happy! Although the guys that had to carry it did say it was heavy but they used a carpet dolly to bring it up the driveway.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Tub

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Could not be happier with this purchase. The tub arrived ahead of schedule and was well packaged. The tub was undamaged and the only problem was the weight (cast iron is just plain heavy but this is what you are paying for). Great tub!
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Love it!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Totally worth the price. You get what you pay for, and this kohler tub is awesome. I'm really glad I spent the extra money and went for a deep cast iron tub. It had a scratch when we got it and instead of making me lug it back to Home Depot, kohler sent a repair guy out to my house. The finish is great, like glass. Couldn't be happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Love it!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Totally worth the price. You get what you pay for, and this kohler tub is awesome. I'm really glad I spent the extra money and went for a deep cast iron tub. It had a scratch when we got it and instead of making me lug it back to Home Depot, kohler sent a repair guy out to my house. The finish is great, like glass. Couldn't be happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Missoula, MT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Simple, Classy, Elegant Soaking Tub

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As so many reviews have said, this Kohler tub is classy & elegant. No messing around with swirling water jets, silly designs on the enamel, or wasted space. Looks fabulous in a newly renovated 1954 bathroom.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Moon , PA

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent quality . It's worth to pay extra for a good , cast iron tub .
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Anniston Al.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tub

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Requires longer tub spout. Pleased with tub over all.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: extra length for spout
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Ten Star Tub!

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the most beautiful tub I have ever seen. The finish looks and feels like glass. It is a lovely addition to our newly remodeled bathroom. I could not be happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Mastic, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We love this tub it is just the right height for bathing.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just renovated our bathroom and we purchased everything needed from Home depot the tub, toilet, cabinets, vanity, counter top with sink and all hardware. Our next project will be our kitchen and we have confidence the Home Depot will meet our needs.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

BUMPY FINISH

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bellwether 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
The apron of the tub is very rippled and wavy. When lit the finish looks extremely bumpy. We want a smooth and clean finish. The inside of the tub is smoother than the outside.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: Appearance, finish is not smooth. it's bumpy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking tub with a couple caveats

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Bellwether 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
We bought this tub because of the classic shape and simple lines. It was also a good price for cast iron. After installing the tub we realized a regular drain kit will not work due to the slant at the front of the tub. You have to buy the kohler adapter (10 bucks) or buy a special kohler drain (200 bucks). Also, most tub spouts have a 5.5" reach, which is inadequate to clear the overflow at the top of the tub. Most longer tub spouts are high-end, expensive and do not come with a built-in diverter. I searched for days to find a reasonably priced tub spout with a diverter that was 8-9" in length. I ended up settling on a 7.25" spout from Moen, which will likely just barely clear the overflow drain. Great loooking tub, but be prepared to pick out the right trim kit and accessories. What a headache!
+48points
49out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Sacramento, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super nice

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bellwether 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
I like this tub a lot, it has nice, clean lines and its cast iron so it's gonna last! After reading the reviews and calling kohler, I knew I would have to get the special drain (119.00) and an elongated spout. It took hours and I mean hours to find one I liked that had a simple style but was not boring. I recommend the American Standard Serin Brass 8.5 inch in polished chrome. It's simple but has a cool clean look and clears the overflow perfectly. I got it on amazon for about 50.00 just make sure when your order the drain you make sure to pick the same finish as your spout and knobs, I didn't think about that and ordered the wrong finish drain so I had to exchange it for the right one - first timers mistake. I had a contractor install it so I can't speak for ease of installation. I do know it was heavy - obviously!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Upstate NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we were looking for

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bellwether 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Well built, well designed, and very good price for a cast iron bathtub - most other cast iron tubs seem to be 2-3x the price. I really like the design, it's a little different from your basic tub design without being too elaborate - works perfectly in a clean cut, semi-modern bathroom. The front and back of the tub (where your feet and head would go) are angled a lot more than a typical tub, which looks cool, but my one complaint is that it means your typical drain kit won't work. You have to buy a special angled drain kit from Kohler - which is ~$150 rather than your typical $30 kit. Apart from that, it was easy to install - the tub sits on four feet underneath, so you don't have to install a ledger board (Kohler specifically recommends that you don't use one). They suggest using metal shims to level it, since wood might crush under the weight of the feet, so I used a few square cover plates from an electrical junction boxes for the shimming - they're cheap, and have slots at the corners to nail them into place on the subfloor. I set the shim plates into place (using a level to determine how many plates were needed at each corner) and nailed them down, then set the tub down on top of the shims. We special ordered the tub from HD, they delivered it and carried it into the garage, then I got two very, very large friends to help carry the tub up to the 2nd floor. Overall very happy that we went with this tub, and happy that we went with the durability and longevity of cast iron.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Soaking tub

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bellwether 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
I wish the product details included the fact that you need a special trim kit and drain/piping to accommodate this tub. Beautiful lines, excellent online ordering and store pick up.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple Beauty

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bellwether 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
This tub has not decorative accents, it's clean lines and simplicity are timeless. The inside shape is again simple, makes a good area for showers and is deep enough/comfortable for baths. The edges are well balanced - in fact I think this is the most well balanced tub I could find! It's heavy, but solid and a thing of beauty. ** On the spout, be sure to follow guidelines because of the slope at overflow that faucet needs to clear that (Kohler has it in specs)
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Monticello, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bummer of a Scratch!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Bellwether 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Product not standard so many changes to get the pluming to work
Cons: Size & Weight, Repair Costs, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bellwether 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Spring, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tub but very heavy

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bellwether 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
This cast iron tub looks great in the wall alcove, now that it is installed. But we had trouble finding a plumber to install it because it is very heavy. The company who put it in says they will not do another one. Dealing with Home Depot was good, but the plumber they suggested declined to bid.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: hard to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.