728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

Drano has your back with maximum strength for your worst clogs - or your money back. Visit DRANO.com for details. Drano Max Gel Clog Remover - Unclog Your Drain with a Maximum Strength Gel Formula. Drano Max Gel pours through standing water and works fast to clear clogged drains and restore them to a free-flowing state. Safe for all pipes, it works great to remove hair, soap scum, and other gunky clogs.
Overall rating:
4.23 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product59 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(47)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product59 of 70reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
Review 1 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

It worked!!!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a nasty clog in my bathroom sink. No matter how hard I plunged I just couldn't fix it. There was this smelly black sludge coming up every time I plunged. So the next day after work I stopped by Home Depot. I was surveying all of the available products and a plumber stopped me. He said that none of these liquids worked well and that they were bad for pipes. Boy, am I glad I ignored him. I started off with half a bottle and waited 30 minutes. Nothing. I poured in the second half of the bottle and waited another 30 minutes. Still nothing. All of the gel seemed to be stuck at the top of the sink. I resigned myself to the fact that I would probably need a plumber but I picked up my little hand plunger again and went to work, careful not to splash any of this dangerous product around. Again, nothing. Bummed out, I turned off the bathroom lights and left assuming that it just wasn't fixable, at least not by me. A little while later I went back into the bathroom having forgotten something that I left in there and sure enough the sink was completely empty. Woo hoo! Just be aware that you may need to give it more time than what is recommended on the label.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

For light clogs not heavy duty

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a plugged drain in my basement and I have no idea what it is plugged with. I have tried to use a hand snake and a grabber to no avail. I thought this gel would shake something loose down in the goose neck of the drain pipe. I followed the instructions to the “T”. I pulled water out of the drain so the gel could get right to work with no dilution by the water. Due to the goose neck I could not get all of the water out. I poured the gel in and let it stand the required length of time as stated in the instructions. After the time was up, I flushed the pipe with water and the plug was still firmly in place in the pipe. Sooo, I did it a second time and a third time but nothing loosened whatever is in the pipe goose neck. I guess if it was hair or soap scum it would blow it open but not knowing what is in the drain, the gel did not work. In all fairness the goose neck will not allow a snake or a grabber to reach what ever is in there, I had high hopes for a liquid product that could make that bend and work on the blockage. It might have, only time will tell, but I did not see one ounce of proof that this opened even a pin hole. Failed to open my drain.
Cons: Too Slow, did not work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Chadds Ford Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Good results

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this on a very slow shower drain clogged with hair .It was easy to use, simply pour into the drain, let it sit for a while and flush with warm water. The drain was then greatly improved with good water draining capacity. For very slow drains it works very well.
Pros: Good Instructions, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Drano 1 Hair 0

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
With my wife and daughter both having long hair I am constantly battling clogged drains. Drano shows no mercy on them. I really like the gel formula, less splash when pouring and I'm sure it gets more product to the clog itself.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Boynton Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Works for Me

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like many older guys, I’m getting a little thin on top and you can guess where it’s gone – into the shower drain! I recently noticed water pooling in my shower drain, and decided to try to clear it out before it became a catastrophe. I followed the directions for dispensing the Draino, waiting the requisite time (30 min) and pouring a couple gallons of hot water down the drain. Problem solved! Admittedly, I didn't wait until the drain was completely clogged to see if this product would work, but it did a fine job of restoring full flow capacity to my shower drain when used in a preventive manner. Highly recommend this product based on my experience.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

Yessssss

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After using 2 different types of snakes, this product is what got the job done!! Just follow the directions and no more FLUSHING your money down the drain LITERALLY...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Powered Through clog.

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After using this on a kitchen sink clog I can say it works very well. I can tell you with out any doubt it made my problem go away. Great stuff this Drano Max Gel...
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

good

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and very effective..Great product for the price..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Do not call the plumber !

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Our bathtubs get clogged often with hair. I used this gel on the bathtub that had been clogged for a while. This product did the job with one application. I suggest to wait at least 30 minutes after applying it before rinsing. I recommend using it before calling a plumber. Really great product.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Fishers
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Received free product:Yes

Took care of my draining problem in a jiffy!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I followed the instructions on the bottle exactly (thinking I might have to do more than one application), even to the extent I set the timer for the 30 minutes recommended to let the product work, and I have to say I was totally surprised to find that the impossible clog was taken care of without any problems. This was the easiest de-clog I have ever done, the drain runs absolutely perfectly now and I am very impressed.
Just wished it came in a larger size.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, fast acting
Cons: should come in larger bottles for multiple drains
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

The real deal

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After trying a plunger, a snake and another drain cleaner I gave up hope and thought that I'd have to take the pipe apart. As a last resort I tried Drano Gel and poured the whole bottle into the sink. I left for 10 minutes and came back and it was still sitting there. I gave up hope and went away. 20 minutes later, I came back and the gel was gone, I couldn't believe it! I poured a kettle of boiling down for good measure and the water drained perfectly. I was so excited that I went out and bought 2 other bottles for 2 other slow drains in my house.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

Did nothing

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a blocked bathroom drain that would trickle down after an hour or so. I poured in the whole 42 ounce bottle and waited 2 hours, not the recommended 30 minutes. I followed the directions on the bottle. It did nothing to remove the block. No noticeable improvement whatsoever. The label says this is the Commercial Line product. No wonder plumbers are so busy.
The bottle says it's guaranteed or it's free. The only thing I can find online is a PDF refund form that expired a year ago.
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

A great product!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product saves me so much money, time, hassles, phone calls, & online search!
It does its magic in 5-10 minutes, and you pour a pot of hot water in. Then, you are done!
I can't thank this product enough! I have them in stock all the time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Inkster, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product worked as advertised.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a problem with slow running drains in the bathroom, both the sink and the bathtub. Both had plastic drain piping so I did not want to use one of the dry products due to the heat generated. Drano has a good reputation so I decided to try it. It worked as described and both drains have been running fine for the past 6 weeks or so.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Alexandria, Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great Product!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a really bad clog in my main line which was backing up two showers, a bath tub, and two toilets. I bought a 42oz. bottle of Drano Max Gel and put 1/3 of it in shower #1, 1/3 of it in shower #2, and 1/3 of it in the bath tub. I thought for sure I would have to call a plumber because the solution sat there for about one hour -- all of a sudden I heard what sounded like a waterfall and went upstairs and everything was fixed!
Great product, easy to use, and I definitely recommend it! Even if your pipes aren't backing up, it is worth getting a bottle every once in a while and just putting down a shower drain.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

Well Spent Money Down the Drain

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Now if I can only get the kids to flush the toilet after they're done...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

All clear!

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this product all over my house -- sinks, toilets, showers, and tubs. It simply works. Pour half the bottle down the drain, give it 15 minutes, and then flush with hot water.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

Excellent!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tub was stopped up for two days. Poured most of the bottle in, 20 minutes later ran the hot water, and nothing happened. A few minutes later, that wonderful gurgling sound and the tub drain was running smoothly! I like a product that works as described.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Mount Holly Springs, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

drain cleaner

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
easy to use but you have to use atleast half the bottle it does work pretty fast for a gel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from New York

Unreliable

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this as I had a clogged bath tub in the apartment and it worked fair before. Poured in half a bottle as per directions and waited, then ran hot water. Thought the clog was cleared but take a shower the next day and I'm in ankle deep water again. Poured the other half through the standing water and waited. Water slowing receding but not fast enough. Seems like the gel is not thick enough to penetrate what ever grease/hair/soap that is down there. Could hear my neighbor having the same problem so it must be a clog further down the shared drain. Going to try Instant Power instead.If you're throwing money down the drain make sure it's worth it and REALLY works!
Cons: Too Slow, unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>