728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chemical Drain Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

Drano has your back with maximum strength for your worst clogs - or your money back. Visit DRANO.com for details. Drano Max Gel Clog Remover - Unclog Your Drain with a Maximum Strength Gel Formula. Drano Max Gel pours through standing water and works fast to clear clogged drains and restore them to a free-flowing state. Safe for all pipes, it works great to remove hair, soap scum, and other gunky clogs.
Overall rating:
4.197 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product48 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product48 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
Review 1 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Mount Holly Springs, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

drain cleaner

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
easy to use but you have to use atleast half the bottle it does work pretty fast for a gel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

The real deal

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After trying a plunger, a snake and another drain cleaner I gave up hope and thought that I'd have to take the pipe apart. As a last resort I tried Drano Gel and poured the whole bottle into the sink. I left for 10 minutes and came back and it was still sitting there. I gave up hope and went away. 20 minutes later, I came back and the gel was gone, I couldn't believe it! I poured a kettle of boiling down for good measure and the water drained perfectly. I was so excited that I went out and bought 2 other bottles for 2 other slow drains in my house.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from New York

Unreliable

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this as I had a clogged bath tub in the apartment and it worked fair before. Poured in half a bottle as per directions and waited, then ran hot water. Thought the clog was cleared but take a shower the next day and I'm in ankle deep water again. Poured the other half through the standing water and waited. Water slowing receding but not fast enough. Seems like the gel is not thick enough to penetrate what ever grease/hair/soap that is down there. Could hear my neighbor having the same problem so it must be a clog further down the shared drain. Going to try Instant Power instead.If you're throwing money down the drain make sure it's worth it and REALLY works!
Cons: Too Slow, unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

DID NOT WORK AT ALL.

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a clog somewhere deep in the drain. Can use water for about five minutes until the tub starts filling up, then will take hours to drain. The Drano Max Gel did not seem to do anything to help. Bottle said guaranteed or your money back, but when I went to get my money back, rebate was expired. I do not think this is fair since there was no expiration of the money back guarantee stated on the bottle that I bought.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: doe not work!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Alexandria, Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great Product!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a really bad clog in my main line which was backing up two showers, a bath tub, and two toilets. I bought a 42oz. bottle of Drano Max Gel and put 1/3 of it in shower #1, 1/3 of it in shower #2, and 1/3 of it in the bath tub. I thought for sure I would have to call a plumber because the solution sat there for about one hour -- all of a sudden I heard what sounded like a waterfall and went upstairs and everything was fixed!
Great product, easy to use, and I definitely recommend it! Even if your pipes aren't backing up, it is worth getting a bottle every once in a while and just putting down a shower drain.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Inkster, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product worked as advertised.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a problem with slow running drains in the bathroom, both the sink and the bathtub. Both had plastic drain piping so I did not want to use one of the dry products due to the heat generated. Drano has a good reputation so I decided to try it. It worked as described and both drains have been running fine for the past 6 weeks or so.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

Well Spent Money Down the Drain

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Now if I can only get the kids to flush the toilet after they're done...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

didn't work for our slow drain in shower

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we had a slow drain in shower, this was highly recommended but did not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

All clear!

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this product all over my house -- sinks, toilets, showers, and tubs. It simply works. Pour half the bottle down the drain, give it 15 minutes, and then flush with hot water.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from south orange county, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems OK, but uses a lot to unclog a drain

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was somewhat surprised to see the amount the instructions require you to pour into the drain. Although cheaper than a plumber, seems to be a lot of money to 'go down the drain'
Cons: nothing special
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product exceeded my expectations.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was finally able to unclog a stubborn clogged drain I've been struggling with for months.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Westerville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clog Gone - it worked!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was able to clean out clog without removing any of the plumbing pieces.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Corfu, NY 14036, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works perfectly and fast.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value for the quality of the product. Works very well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover

It works !

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome, it just works as mentioned.........................................................................................................................
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Altamont NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't work for us

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We finally had to get a plumber. We bought a new house and the clog was so bad in the upstairs bath, nothing worked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Kansas City, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is flexable.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was adequate for what I am using it for, the basement, and garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: shelves start to sag a little in the middle.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I was very pleased with this product

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I only needed to treat the clog once. Great performance!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Venice, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
did nothing to solve the problem. Still have a major clog.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great value for the money!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really works and I would recommend other customers to buy this product.I have used this product several times and get good results.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42 oz. Drain Max Gel Clog Remover
from Springfield Gardens, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product worked the way inwhich it was intended. The assumption here, is to follow the instructions.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, detailed instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>