728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator

Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator

Provide reliable, comforting heat to your home with the US Stove Wonderwood Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator. This top-quality wood stove features a non-catalytic, trouble-free operating system that is thermostatically controlled for easy use. Heating up to 1700 sq. ft., the sturdy design also includes a cooking surface and easy-access ash pan for quick, efficient cleaning.
Overall rating:
3.917 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
Review 1 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
from Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not bad

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was fortunate enough to buy this wood stove at a yard sale. Looked brand new, seller was only selling cause new wife didn't want to miss with the wood. I brought it home and hooked it up in my basement and wow! I should have bought one of these years ago!! Completely keeps the basement and house warm. This will be the first winter I'm using it so I am definitely hoping it will drop my heating cost way down. So far I am extremely pleased with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
Gender:Female

I have used a stove of similiar construction for over 30 yrs....I was hesitant to try the wonderwood. Great buy!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When filled at night last 7-8 hours. puts out huge amount of heat. I think the house is warmer than it was with the my other stove. The ash pan is somewhat smaller and I need to empty it more but its worth the trade off without a doubt.....would buy this stove all over again!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
from St Marys County Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great stove !!!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stove will run you outta a room ! Puts out a lot of heat ! Great stove great price ........
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, great heater !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator

Good stove (additional info)

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is just a little bit of additional info to go with my other review. The stove does heat very well but when you load the stove up at night, it does not last. It will get loaded up about 9-10pm but it will be all burned up by 4am. The other stove I had, which was similiar in appearance but came from Sears, would still have coals at 6am.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator

Dont Buy

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So this is a revision of my other reviews, when I thought this was a "good stove". It is only a year and a half old and the grates are already warped. I would definitely NOT recommend this stove unless you want to be replacing parts in less than 2 years. I cannot write about other things or this review will be rejected...
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

US Stove

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this stove as a direct replacement for an old Ashley stove in my basement.. was limited on flue configuration, so got this one, virtually identical to the old one, side back flue outlet. Take a fair amount of wood to get a good amount of coals to keep fire going, but does fire last well once its stoked and chugging away (6-8hrs).
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
from savannah ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 nd WonderWood Heater

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
1979 for 1st WonderWood/Coal was great. 2nd 2012 or 11 is great. Does have same inside squeezing problem as 1st but heat is great 2100sq ft home. Wife can feed it also. Do need to asked about blower not just circulator not same thing. I used thermostat from 1st heater in 2nd -- did not have a thermostat on it. Now I do need a new thermostat old one runs blower motor all the time in any position low,high or off. When a new one is needed I will buy same heater again with thermostat controlled blower .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
from Rural NE Alabama

Wonderwood Heater

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 2nd Wonderwood Heater purchase over the years and of course I stick to a product that works and supplies my needs. Shopping at Home Depot has proven time and again that they have the products I need and trust and that their products are of the highest quality and at a very competitive price.
+8points
17out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator

good stove

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this stove a few months ago and just started using it but so far so good. The first time there was alot of smoke and odor(had to open windows) from whatever they coated the stove with but it eventually burned off. It was easy to install. Heats good too. This stove replaced one that was almost identical that came from Sears and lasted 30yrs. This stove's ash pit is much smaller and has to be emptied more often than the other stove. That would be the biggest complaint as of right now. Other than that, its good!
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
from Kansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not buy again

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not buy again. Worked for about 3 years and the fire box cracked and warped.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By USStoveExpertNovember 11, 2014By USStoveExpertNovember 11, 2014
We are so sorry to hear about the trouble you have encountered with your firebox cracking. We at United States Stove Company do offer a claims procedure that could possibly get your unit replaced or fixed, if within the warranty time frame. We urge you to please call our customer care center and ask about the claims process. We hope to get this problem resolved for you. 1-800-750-2723 we are available Monday-Friday 7:00am-4:00pm.USSC
Review 11 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator
from Ind,

good one for winter price helps lower electric low

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good for those long cold winter nights
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wonderwood 1,700 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove/Circulator

Very Good

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very Good product. Very pleased with the enrire transaction.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.