728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

Help provide your home with reliable heat and a vintage style with the US Stove Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood Stove. This durable wood stove is rugged enough to heat log cabins, large garages and shops. This rustic wood stove is constructed from heavy duty cast iron and features 2 lift-out cook lids that allow you to cook food.
Overall rating:
2.778 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Review 1 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Richmond, NH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Investment

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this stove to heat my home and wanted the features of an original cast iron stove. Expect to lose power often throughout the winter months, an this stove will allow us heat and ability to cook food and boil water as needed. The stove came put together minus the legs and top damper (easy to bolt on). Be sure to pre-cook it outside before installation to remove the furnace cement and paint fumes (one fire will do). NOTE: The cost of the stove pipe/chimney piping far exceeds the stove, so be aware to save up (Home Depot has best prices for those too).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, does not require electricity
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Middle Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looking To Upgrade

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this stove 2 winters and it has performed satisfactory. I have burned wood many years and it gets cold in middle Tennessee. Here are the pros.1) It's affordable, I needed an economical stove (299.00) closeout paid for mine.2) Fires start easy.3) Large firebox, can get wood 25 inches long into stove.4) Gets hot quick and radiates a lot of heat. The cons: 1) Stove is not airtight.2) It is a wood-eater --- burned more wood in last 2 yrs. to last 4 yrs. with a better stove.3) If you do not use a damper in the stove pipe, you can't control it like need be.4) Made in China, quality isn't there. Flue collar on stove now has small crack. 5) Comes with no firebrick. Final thought: This stove heated my 880 sq. ft. home last 2 winters well but you have to load it 3-4 hrs.It got us by in a pinch. I am going to Home Depot soon and buy an Englander stove as this will meet or exceed my needs. Never had a negative or bad experience at Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, btu rating probably true
Cons: Not Durable, replacement parts expensive, lacks quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Utah

Nice Stove

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the size of the stove and the cost , it is a great deal, i put the stove in this weekend ,it was 10 outside ,it keeped our 1000 square foot home in the 80, we had to open windows , it has our vote. it did have a smell at first , but soon went away.
+71points
74out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Missouri

The logwood

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I personally use my logwood stove in my garage every day of any given winter. It performes as it was designed to. I have owned my stove for about since 1998 or so. I simply load it down with a good hardwood and it will still have good hot ashes in the next morning . Then all I do is put in another log and back to my warm garage it is. I do not use my garage for any man cave or anything like that but simply to make everyday repairs as they come around and I will always have a nice warm garage to work in. OH else I need to say is my garage is not insulated or anything like that. Just think if it was I could stay up all night and not get cold. This stove is rated Tops in my opinion. I do not have anyone telling me what to say just simply me stating this unit is very worthy. Thank you makers of the logwood. You have a very good winner in my books. Dan P In missouri.
+64points
88out of 112found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

problems with this stove

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stove was large, affordable and seemed like a good choice for my barn. Like most cast iron stoves it tends to have average to below average seam tightness. After a month of use the black sealant caulk around the rear vertical seams turned to ash and dropped off!? Wow...never saw that happen before.
The two part "safety" handle does not work well. The part it attaches to is too short and does not make a good connection. It is difficult to lock the door in place and rapidly becomes an annoyance. I would not recommend this stove.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

Definitely NOT made in America

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I made the erroneous assumption that because it came from a company that goes by the name of United States Stove Company, it MUST be made in America. Boy was I wrong. When I received the crate it came in, I noticed that "Made in China" was stamped all over it. When I uncrated the stove several of the parts were also stamped with "Made in China". I try to purchase only things made in America and I thought I was doing so when I bought this.
I haven't installed it yet as I am still considering returning it and looking for another stove that actually IS made in the good ol' USA.
+3points
34out of 65found this review helpful.
Response from By USStoveExpertAugust 15, 2014By USStoveExpertAugust 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns with the Logwood Stove. We at United States Stove Company would like make a note that although most of our stoves are made in the United States, we do have some products that are manufactured in China as well. We do apologize for the confusion. However, if you have any other questions or concerns about the stove or any of its parts please contact us at our toll free customer service at 1-800-750-2723. We would also like to assure you that even though some products are manufactured in China you are receiving quality products.USSC
Response from By USStoveExpertAugust 15, 2014By USStoveExpertAugust 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns with the Logwood Stove. We at United States Stove Company would like make a note that although most of our stoves are made in the United States, we do have some products that are manufactured in China as well. We do apologize for the confusion. However, if you have any other questions or concerns about the stove or any of its parts please contact us at our toll free customer service at 1-800-750-2723. We would also like to assure you that even though some products are manufactured in China you are receiving quality products.USSC
Review 7 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

The stove was appealing due to price and had somewhat good reviews.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was exicited to recieve my stove, but when we opened the crate, the stove had wide cracks in every seam. We did not buy this stove to repair it, so we sent it back to our local store. I cannot believe that they shipped this stove to us, it was really unacceptable.
Cons: poor quality
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Garden Valley, ID 83702, USA

Leaks at every seam

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Leaks at every seam. Need to caulk over every joint. Says U.S. Stove. But made in China. Good customer service from manufacturer other wise would have recieved a single star
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: poorly assembled
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Logwood 1,600 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not made usa

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not made usa concern product look englander at hd same price made usa
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.