728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Barrel Stove Kit

Barrel Stove Kit

The US Stove Barrel Stove Kit converts a 36 or 55 gal. steel drum into a stove or can be used with the BKAD500 double-barrel adapter kit to double the size of your stove. The barrel stove kit is constructed from heavy-duty cast-iron for durability and includes a door, legs, flue collar with damper and all mounting hardware for easy assembly.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Barrel Stove Kit
Review 1 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Lexington, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

product was as described.

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
was just what was needed to make a wood burning stove for shop!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nice kit, works super!

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works like a charm, didn't take long to assemble. Would have given it 5 stars but the package didn't contain the mounting bolts like specified in the instructions. Either way, I'd still buy another one for this price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barrel Stove Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just what I needed. A little pricey for the product though.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barrel Stove Kit

leg was droke when i got it and they shipped a complete new one

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
went together great got broken part replaced shipping was quick
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barrel Stove Kit
from pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worth every penny

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All components seem very well made. The fasteners are a bit cheap, I'll probably replace them with stainless fasteners at some point.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barrel Stove Kit

Cheap efficient heating!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cheap and easy heat source for the shop. Works beat with double kit!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Powhatan, VA 23139, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Barrel stove kit

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality of materials , not helpful as to what I thought I was getting
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, poor quality
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barrel Stove Kit
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good overall product. Makes a good amount of heat. I'd recommend getting stove pipe caulking for all flanges and joints to keep smoke from coming out.
The air vents on the door are a little small so I end up cracking the door a little to feed the flame.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: instructions very basic
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easy to do with a few tools

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for my wood shop and adds no extra cost to the heating cause I burn scrap wood
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barrel Stove Kit

great product. Burned the barrel for over 8 hrs for first burn outside.

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
great product. Burned the barrel for over 8 hrs for first burn outside.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy to install and fits good.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a good value for the money. Everything fit well and was easy to install. First fire built worked really great and hope to use it a lot this winter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product is serves it purpose perfectly.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything fit together as planned. All the parts were there and they are made of heavy duty cast iron as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Butler, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Use alot of these excellent product

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works very well, easy to install. Holds up very well over time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barrel Stove Kit

Great Price! Great Delivery!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for my heating needs and at a fantastic price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Blackfoot, ID 83221, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was okay.

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product was okay for the price. This fireplace needs a better dampening system to it, the air flow is not quite sufficient. Does put out good heat for a small shop.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: difficult to clean.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barrel Stove Kit
from Blue Mountains
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Daily

Good stove kit

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First time using wood stove for heat, decided to get this kit. I installed everything burned off the paint from the barrel then repainted using Rustoleum high heat black paint. Turned out nice. I use this to heat my cabin 270sqft with 13ft high ceilings. Does excellent job at heating. Had a little bit of a learning curve to use this set up. I had to build everything on a small budget to get away from propane and electric space heaters which were killing my wallet. I spent roughly $250 completely installed and heating the cabin. I had same little troubles with drafting that others have mentioned, but, I added another 24inch section of pipe to the top of my stack and bam this thing is perfect now. So if you have issues with it not drafting good try that.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barrel Stove Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good inexpensive heater

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted something inexpensive to hold a fire outside, I have had numerous fire pits and everyone always complains about the smoke. This stove allowed me to install a chimney pipe that vents the smoke up and away from my guest.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Straight, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barrel Stove Kit

Perfect

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Back yard quality for back yard task! Heats my shed and heats my pool water!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barrel Stove Kit

Barrel stove kit

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Once He got the barrel measured and the holes cut out assembly was easy. Made a great stove for shop/ man cave.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barrel Stove Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works but drafting issues like others

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Had no issues with the little wood burner I had with draft. Upgraded with this kit and the double barrel adapter cause last year my small stove barley kept my workshop warm. Barrel stove heats great but I too like others have mentioned have to keep the door partially opened to get a good draft. If I close the door the fire burns to a crawl and puts out quite a bit of creosote in my pipes. I extended my pipe up another 60 inches to make sure it wasn't the problem and no results. I am not sure if it's because of having the double barrel that makes a difference or not. Have yet to try it without the top barrel so the top barrel might be causing it also. Besides the drafting issue it is a good little kit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>