728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Freestanding Stoves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

Help provide your home with reliable heat and a cozy atmosphere with the US Stove American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove. This versatile pellet stove can burn compressed wood pellets, corn, soy beans, cherry pits, olive pits, bio mass fuel grains and processed silage with only a few simple adjustments.
Overall rating:
3.211 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product12 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product12 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Review 1 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Bayfield, CO 81122, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Stove ok, US Stove Co. not so great

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When we got this stove we were given an insert by the manufacturer, US Stove. It took over a month to get the correct one through no fault of Home Depot. It was US Stove, they wouldn't send us the correct stove, the one we bought, until someone came to pick up the stove they sent wrong in the first place. Once this was installed (used it for about 3 months) the igniter went bad and we had to start it by hand until US Stove sent us a new igniter. Now we have had it for 1 year 1 month, it's beginning to get cold again so we began using it again. We have only used it about 8 days and the igniter is no longer working but because we are 1 month over the 1 year warranty US stove will not send us a new igniter. It looks like we are going to need to replace the igniter every 4 months or so ($80 each) or just start it by hand, one of the reasons we didn't get a wood stove in the first place. The stove is nice enough but TERRIBLE customer service from US STOVE.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: important parts don't last long, bad customer service from manufacturer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Lansford, PA

6041 pellet stove

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good stove. I'm heating my 2200 square foot house with it.
The owners manual could have better advice on maintaning pellet fire on the different settings, ie damper setting relative to pellet heat range setting.
Excellent secondary heater, so far this winter I only used 140 gallons of fuel oil for back-up steam heat! Now I only turn up my house thermostat when I shut down the pellet stove for cleaning. I expect to burn 4 ton of pellets this winter, at $225 a ton, this is wayyyy cheaper than fuel oil!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stove but instructions poor.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We recently purchased and installed this US Stove American Harvest Multi Fuel Pellet Stove. It looks great and heats a small older home rather well. Due to the cost of oil we wanted another heat source, so far this is keeping the house sufficiently warm that the oil burner is not really kicking on much at all.
I have to agree with other posters that the instructions for stove operation and installation are very ambiguous and will leave you with many questions. The operation instructions really don't tell you much at all. I have had issues with the glass sooting up everytime we burned. We changed pellets, clean it every day, but still we get the sooting issue. I contacted customer support and they told me to adjust the damper fan to 3 levels above the heat setting (for example if the heat setting is 2, place the draft fan on 5, which in the instruction book it tells you not to operate more than 1 setting above). I did not see much improvement with this, so I played with it a little more and it got a little bit better. I suspect its just a matter of finding the right setting and the right pellets.
I do find it needs to be cleaned daily, but it is not all that pellet hungry. For my small home with the stove operating at the 2nd heat setting it is burning about a 1/2 bag per day.
The unit stays fairly cool (the glass is all that gets hot) during operation. Once it enters shut down mode, it takes about 20 minutes and it is cool enough to clean out once it is done. There is not a lot of down time with this stove in my opinion.
If you don't have an air circulation system in the house, you may want to pick up some circulating fans. The room air fan is strong but it will not push the air through the house on its own. They can be found at hardware stores or online and are for the most part reasonably priced.
Overall it was a great buy and will pay for itself. It is worth noting that there was a tax credit available from the manufacturer's website. Not sure if this carries into 2012.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Molino, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awsome

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
didn't take long to hook it up , working really nice only burn it on p2 . keeps house warm around 72 degrees no complaints . good product .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Central Ohio

Great Stove

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stove is heating a cape cod approx.2200 sq. ft. 9 degrees outside this morning basement is 60 degrees main floor 72-75 degrees upstairs 68 degrees.I have the stove on heat setting 3.I do have the furnace fan running to circulate the air in the house.Use Somerset pellets or Greenway pellets.Will post back with electric savings since the furnace is electric.My last electric bill was $399.04 without the pellet stove and that was keeping the thermostat on 65 degrees.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

Didn't work out of the box

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The control panel didn't work out of the box, it didn't even turn on. They quickly sent a new one which at least turned on but quickly flashed an error msg stating that the stove was to hot and the fire hadn't even started yet. Wasted a lot of time and had to send it back.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Wisconsin Rapids
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

american pellet stove:(

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had more problems with this stove. #1 the ignitor went out n not even a yr. we had it. #2 something gone bad with the auger n we have to keep unplugging it n it'll run for 10 mins. until the pellets burn out of the pot. #3 who ever did the control panel I think hooked it up backwards because the settings don't match up to what the stove should be doing. I am not happy n that's a lot of money wasted.
Cons: Noisy, Difficult to Use, Maintenance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from reno nv

Nice looking stove

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love the look of my stove but it keeps going out. It will run for a while and burn great then it goes out. I have had it installed for 2 weeks and having problems already
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

Saving me a fortune in electric and keeping my house very warm.

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this stove for 3 months and it works just as it should. I keep it on automatic setting and never have a problem as long as it is kept clean. I usually clean it out every week . Stove is a good quality unit. Highly recommend .
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A big step up from my last pellet stove!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far, the stove has met or exceeded all my expectations.The room fan is a bit louder than my previous stove or I would have given it 5 stars.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from dover plains , newyork

poor product

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
product was a flop from the start up. so loud you could not run it for more than an hour befor every one had a headache.i'm not sure how this product got good reviews. unless we just got a lemon.it went back and we will not buy another one.too many issues with this stove. actually there is no 0 so 1 was what it got.beware !!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Sturbridge, ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Worst product I ever purchased!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this stove last year and have had to replace four expensive parts already. The auger constantly jams or feeds the pellets excessively. I have woken up to a house full of smoke on many occasions because the stove frequently does not ventilate properly when shutting down. Overall, this miserable machine worked a small fraction of the season. Do not buy this stove.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

owned for 2 years and have had some problems

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Does heat well, but be prepared to buy the igniter every few years we are on our 2ed one, our first went out 2 months after our 1 year warranted was up. and we only use the stove for about 5 month's of the year. 4 times now our stove ran out of pellets and the smoke goes up out our Auger tube and threw the top lid, smoke alarms blaring Contacted Customer service at USSC and been getting the run around. some of there workers are professorial but several have been down right rude.. I wish I would have paid more money and bought a better stove. Fan is also quite loud.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Paris Il

Not Happy with stove at all.

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got stove as a secondary heater option as LP is gettign quite expensive.
Stove worked fine for one day. Since then the igniter has failed to consistently light. So I have resorted to using Gel firestarter, great so now I can get a fire going.
Once pellets and corn are ignited, the agitator comes into play. The agitator is not properly seated, just a bad design flaw. After the burn pot gets enough pellets the agitator will dislodge form its hole and work its way to the top of the pile which results in stagnant fuel not being stirred and it will burn out which will trigger low temp sensor and turn the stove off.
So you then have to vacuum out the burnpot and start over. I have yet to successfully have a fire burn in this stove for a 12 hour period. I have seen it go out after a few minutes or even after 8 hrs and everywhere in between.
This is no way an automatic stove in any way. i would not recommend it to anyone. and it is a severe pain to have to continually tend to. I am returning this thing as soon as possible. EXTREMELY UNSATISFIED
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

Great stove

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used this stove for about 2 weeks and it really heats up our house. Very easy to use. This is our second pellet stove. We were looking to get a larger one and the price for this one can't be beat. This stove uses far less pellets than our first one. This is a great stove.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Oxford, Maine

Multi fuel pellet stove 6041

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
STove works great. But Instruction manual -noty so good. It is hard to read and confusing.
1. The "Understanding Control Board " is several paragraphs of very estoeric language only The engineer would would fathom.
2. Lighting instructions that there are "2" modes/ 1 for corn CR and 2. Pr for pellets. The unit comes shipped n corn mode--why? explain. If you are usung pellets then should you switch to pr or lrave on corn? All very confusung
3. Just make all your steps in a 1,.,2.,3... priority and explain like a dictionary the terms abreviations and what the buttons will do and not do.
4. Simplify and double space with numbers. All paragraphs may save you a page but is very annoying and confusing .
5. No real person answers or replys to your phone. Bad for business. You need to be user friendly for further business recomendations
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Bennington, Vermont

american harvest pellet stove 2000sq. ft

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been a good stove we have had it three weeks the heater has not kicked on. We have to turn the heat on to melt the snow off the chimney. The fan is a little loud at first, but turns into back ground noise. Startup directions were not very self explanatory. We have about 2300 sq ft the stove is heating and it's doing a great job. It uses about a bag a day for pellets.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Iowa

not so good

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stove has a very load blower fan, I purchased this stove in November 2010, it's been used two months and the agitator is worn out and the vermiculite board is broken right down the middle. they are sending the new parts as it is under warranty. these parts list for 50.00 each on their website. we'll see how long the new parts last. it would be very expensive to have to replace these parts every two months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for American Harvest 2,000 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from China, ME

Multi-Fuel Stove - Burns Corn, Pellets

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this stove as a replacement for an older pellet stove. It was easily installed, same stove pipe height. I plugged it into the wall, adjusted the stove to pellets, poured in the pellets, turned it on and it started right up. We love the fact you can feel the heat from 12 feet away on #3 setting while it is 12*F outside.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.