728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fencing Parts & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA

T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA

Oz-Post is one of the best ways to secure a wood post in the ground. Oz-Post are not only extremely fast to install but can also help prevent your wood post from premature rot that can occur with direct burial in the ground. Oz-Post can also protect the wood from damage from weed eaters when the top sleeve is left exposed above the surface of the ground. Regardless of what you plan to build with Oz-Post you can be sure that your posts will be sturdy and long lasting for many years to come.
Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product16 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product16 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
Review 1 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Dinuba, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These worked well for my application

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After removing the old post residue from the concrete anchors I was able to insert the Oz Post, seat it using a piece of 4X4 and a 12 pound sledge hammer. Then I filled the remaining void in the socket around the Oz Post with concrete. This was an excellent time saver that was easy to install and which has resulted in a sturdy new fence.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Saint Louis, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fence post mender!!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great fence post repair kit. Easy to install and super strong. Saved a ton of money and time!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Santa Fe, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Solution that doesn't involve concrete

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These anchors are a lot more beefy than I would have imagined. I got the 24" length for a small simple shed. They drove into dry, miserable compacted dirt fairly easily using a sledgehammer and 4x4, tho the 4x4 shattered when driving the third post. No worries, just have a few extra feet of 4x4 around. If you're driving more than a few of these anchors, maybe go big and opt for the other driving methods. One thing I did have some issue with was keeping the anchor square. It may look "good enough", but take care to get them square. Trust me on this!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Avid OZ-Post User

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used to order OZ-Post from an online fence supply company and the shipping was quite expensive making the total price quite significant. Even then, the OZ-Posts were worth it. We manage single-family home rental properties throughout north Texas and using the Oz-Post in the right application has saved a lot of money for our clients/ landlords. The price offered by HomeDepot with free shipping is incredible!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Redmond, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They work well, but a few drawbacks

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We're building a fence around our veggie garden, and didn't want to use the traditional pressure-treated posts near the veggies. So, we're using cedar posts I got at a discount. Problem is, cedar will eventually rot in the ground, so the Oz-posts seemed like a nice way to keep the posts out of the ground and hopefully make them last a lot longer.
The Oz-posts are definitely easy to install. I just pounded them in with a normal sledgehammer and a a short piece of pressure-treated 4x4. I encountered a few drawbacks that you may want to consider:
1. They don't hold as well as I would like in soft soil. With a few of them, I ended up setting a bit of concrete around the base to make them more solid. If you pound them such that the square top part is about halfway underground, they hold better, but I didn't do that for all of mine since the ground is a bit higher on one side. I suspect the longer 34" Oz-posts would work a lot better in these situations - these ones are only 24" long.
2. It can be tricky to get them aligned just where you want, since they sometimes shift a bit if they encounter a rock underground. This can also make it harder to keep them plumb going in, but generally that is not an issue if you align them after each hit with the hammer.
3. This is both a pro and a con - you can install them without digging a big hole like with a traditional post hole. However, this also means that if you have potential obstructions underground, you won't know it. The Oz-post will either refuse to go in, or you'll punch through the obstruction, perhaps damaging it. In my case, I hit a 2" PVC septic line and punched a hole in it. Of course, you should always use call before you dig (411), but in my case this didn't help since they don't mark the septic lines, or water lines on our property. So, before hammering them in you might want to think about what could be underground. Once I hit the obstruction, I had to dig a big hole to fix the pipe anyway, which meant I could no longer use the Oz-post in the resulting soft soil.
Overall the Oz-posts are a great product. Not any cheaper than using typical concrete and gravel, but they are simple to install, and I like the idea that I can easily pull them up in the future if I need to change something. And, I am hopeful they will extend the life of my posts significantly since there is no soil contact. They are certainly strongly built, and buying a case they are much cheaper than the flimsy post brackets that are sold in-store.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, prevents post rot
Cons: tricky to align, not for softer soil
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Missouri

oz post

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product. We live in extremely rocky country, and I wanted an easier way to set posts than using a pick and concrete. We are putting in a deer fence. In short order we had eight posts set and they are very sturdy. We hired a strong young man to swing the sledge hammer, which I heartily recommend. The only problem we had was that the scrap lumber we put into the head to drive the post kept splitting apart.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA

Love these posts

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to build a fence out in the woods behind my house. My post hole digger went down 6 inches before hitting solid rock. We called out a fence guy and he said he'd charge us $100 a hole JUST TO DIG the post holes. I finally found OZ POSTS and it's a life saver. However, please note that for hard rock, YOU WILL NEED A jackhammer, I couldn't budge it an inch with a sledgehammer. Also note that means you'll need power, so if it's in the way-back, you may need a generator. Plan accordingly.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Kempner, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

4 in fence post anchors

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great time saving item. Beats digging, drilling, blasting holes to concrete post. Highly recommend the jack hammer and adapter. Took about three hours to set two end H braces, two corners, 25 line post, and three additional H braces. Stood up to 35HP tractor stretching fence. Post actually give before the anchor does. Great time saver. Next attempt using to build 16x48 pole barn.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from washington state
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Solid product

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a good option for installing posts. They can be cast in concrete as well.
Why are they out of stock online? I bought three cases of 8 last time.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install with a jackhammer

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw the youtube video and followed the instructions. They go in very quickly. I was going into soil with rocky road base underneath at the edge of the road. Just make sure you have them lined up properly as they aren't coming out without a fight. I used a jackhammer and the square bit they sell. The lightest jackhammer I could rent that fit the bit was about sixty pounds and not too hard to handle alone. I did seven in about fifty minutes.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great alternative to digging post holes.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought many of these in order to create a fence to protect my garden and small orchard. They are easy to use if you have the strength to swing a sledgehammer and rock free soil. Use a short piece of 4x4 to drive them in and a level to get them straight. Don't forget to order the decking screws to secure your posts.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA

great but DO NOT USE IT TO REPLACE ROTTED POSTS IN CONCRETE

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product first of all, but do not use them as advertized. i ran across the youtube video that shows that you can cut off your old post and hammer these into the old rotted posts and i was sold. i bought my first case, cut off my post at the ground and began to install using the sledge hammer method. the ozpost stayed level all the way down to where the square part met the concrete. the concrete forced my post to be so far our of plumb that i couldnt even use it. i couldnt get it out either. i had to hammer it all the way into the ground and bury it. i ended up just installing the remainder of these a foot away in the bare soil and they worked great.
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and worked great

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was far easlier than the traditional digging holes and setting posts in concrete. We used a simple 2 foot long block of wood and an 8 lb sledge hammer and they went right in no problem. A big plusis if replacement of the post is required you din't have to worry about what to do with the ball of concrete, just remove the hardware(we hsed galv. lags and change the 4 x 4 post. Great product
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from MIchigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

post anchors

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product.easy to install.purchase post level,helps keep post plumb when driving in ground
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product makes the job easier and in some cases possible.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed to set posts for a guard rail in asphalt. All I had to do was cut a 4"x4" hole in the asphalt and drive the anchor into the ground. If I tried to dig a hole with a shovel it would have been much bigger leaving a big asphalt repair job. Also, instead od using 4"x4" wood posts I used 4" diameter poles and they fit just fine with the help of a little shimming.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice way to attach a fence post

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Nice and secure way to attach a fence post, especially in ground with thick tree roots. Only downside is if you are going to pound the anchors in using a piece of 4x4 wood the wood splits and is useless to continue pounding the anchor in, renting a jackhammer is not cost effective and cumbersome, would like to see an insert to use for pounding the anchors in with a sledge hammer that would not split or splinter. Other than that a nice product that makes fairly quick work of building a fence.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: can be difficult to pound in
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for T4-600 4 in. Square Fence Post Anchor 8/CA

So easy to use

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rent a jack hammer and it installs in less than a minute!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.