728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Composters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

The Nature Mill PRO XE indoor/outdoor compost bin merges technology and composting for an automatic composting experience. Automatic mixing, continuous air flow and regulated heat work together to turn your food scraps into compost for your garden in just two weeks without the use of worms or bugs. Its lifetime carbon air filter and strong air pump make it possible to compost year around right in your kitchen with no trash odors. Add food waste every day!
Overall rating:
4.24 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product18 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product18 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago area

good for apartments

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a small urban apartment. There is really no other way to compost. Finally! It is great to be able to do this indoors. I've had this for about two and a half years and just love it. When I was growing up we had a big compost bin in the back yard and it just sat there and once a year (in the spring usually) we would harvest it and spread it out on the garden when we did the planting and the ground thawed out.
This type of compost maker is very different because it is hot all year round and you get compost every few weeks. It comes out hot and steamy which we never accomplished when I was growing up. You do have to follow the manual to balance the greens and browns but they give you everything you need and it is very easy once you get into it.
Yes overall I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in composting and lives in an apartment. Even if you have a house with a back yard you could use this because it is easier and all year round.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

it is a HOT composter but I would wait for the new version

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You will definitely get hot and steam compost out of this thing. No doubt. I've had mine for a few years and it took a little learning at first.
I would like to recommend this product but I have one reservation about that. The company is coming out with a new model called the ULTRA version on their website, and I would recommend waiting for that one. Apparently they improved some of the features that caused mine to break - probably a beefed up motor.
Mine burned out a motor at one point (I run it pretty hard due to shopping frequently at the farmers market) but they replaced it free of charge and they told me it is a new stronger motor that they will use on their new models so it shouldn't ever break again. Great service.
The compost is like hot steam dirt after just a few days and smells great. People disagree but mine smells like mud after it rains in the summer.
Overall this is a great concept and they are obviously a new company trying to do right and upgrade the quality and durability as they go.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from St. Louis, MO

Great Little Composter

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Helps me lower my overall trash to maybe a bag a month (plus recycling). Great for my container garden on the porch. Can make more compost than I can use though...its a great little worker. I leave it outside...have had some issues keeping the balance right...so it can smell if you don't get brown and green right.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from Maui, HI

Two Thumbs Up!

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was reluctant to try this product, as I thought composting would be difficult and time consuming. I've had my NatureMill Automatic Composter for a couple of months now and it works like a charm! Composting with this unit is hassle-free and the directions are easy to follow. If you have any problems, contact their Customer Service dept...they are friendly and responsive and even gave me a few tips on how I can use the compost I created! Would definitely recommend this product!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

it works well and very solid

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works well. Make compost, feed your plants, save the environment, all in one fully assembled self contained little black box. It holds up well so far (better than my first marriage anyway). I use it non-stop. The case is like something you would make a bullet proof vest out of. Also very hot inside which is how the compost process happens. Impressive. Only complaint is the price. So hard to justify. I took the plunge and don't regret it, but their prices have come down a bit and I wished I had waited and not be one of those early suckers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from San Jose

as good as it gets but following instructions is important

PostedJune 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is about the best composter there is. It's totally automatic. It works. You actually get compost, unlike the typical rot piles you get with other compost bins. It really works!
One you put food in there it starts to look like dirt after about 1 or 2 days. It mixes everything up and you can even see a little steam rising off the top. It's pretty amazing and I've had mine a few years but I am still surprised every time I look in there and yesterday's leftovers are todays fertilizer.
One thing you have to be aware of is that some foods are just not meant to be composted. You can get odors if you do all orange rinds (I tried that) and also broccoli reeks (surprise surprise). The instructions are pretty good and it is a learning experience so if you just follow the basic steps it's a piece of cake.
I got the extended warranty on mine and haven't had to use it yet (I'm three years into it now) but I have called them with questions and they were very good to me on the phone. Hurrah!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from Tulsa

very good but capacity limited

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall this is a good buy. It handles pretty much any amount of kitchen food scraps and turns it all into steamy dark compost within a couple weeks. But the capcity is limited to just food scrapings only. I don't know why it is called a 150 pound composter, because it only weights about 10 pounds and it only takes a few pounds per day it definitely can not handle all the yard leaves and grass clippings because the thing is only the size of a small trash bag. Other than the size I have nothing but good things to say about it. I called customer service twice - once before my purchase and once shortly after - and they were very good both times.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

the king of compost bins

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this product! It is a cut above the worm bins or tumbling types which don't really work. I've had this for a couple years and I think mine is the older model but it keeps chugging along and has not quit on me. It jams once in a while but just because it gets overloaded some. I wish they had a bigger one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

simple and clean

PostedJune 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a simple way to compost. It is very clean. You just follow the instructions. It's not as hard as some people make it out to be. You sure want to avoid lemons though because they do not break down. Other than that it is a breeze.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

Great Composter

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my mom one of these for mother's day and she loves it. Now that her and dad are semi-retired they do a lot of planting and gardening and what's better than fresh compost ....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from Kentucky, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good after three years!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the king of composters. I did a lot of research before buying it. All the others are basically bins or buckets with or without worms, and the food just gets stagnant and stink in those. But this machine has a motorized mixer and air pump and filter and you can see that it gets very hot inside and actually makes compost, rather than just storing it until you dump it outside. I have not had any technical difficulties with mine although I can see that if you overload it that could cause problems.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from near chicago

overall excellent compost

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall this is an excellent way to make compost. You put the food scrapings in from dinner, and by breakfast it looks and smells like dirt. I put everything in there including coffee grounds and potato peels and cut flowers after they are dead. The one complaint I have is that the buttons are sticky and sometimes difficult to press. But it is a minor problem since I only press the button to transfer once or twice per month. That's how long it takes to fill it up because I don't add scraps of food every day.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great,defintely recommend

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bin is easy to set- up. No assembly required. Just as you
would dump food etc.. into a garbage bin, that is how
you add them to the Mill. Impressed with how quickly
compost is generated.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from New Hampshire

Great composter

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a well designed and well made product. Works as advertised.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from oregon

too early to tell for sure but good so far

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am only giving this four stars for now because I have not had it long enough to know for sure. But so far it has lived up to it's expectations. Turns food into dirt. Less trash, no mess, and somehow no odors either. I'm not sure if that is due to the filter or just it turning into organic cultures before it has time to smell bad. It's been running more or less continuously for almost one year and just keeps on huming away eating up whatever we throw into it. Recently we pushed our luck and started giving it meats and dairy and amazingly it takes those with no problem. I was expecting a bad reaction with meats but so far nothing different has happened. It's all stainless steel inside so hopefully it will continue for many years without any maintenance. I got the extended warranty just in case.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED
from Boston, MA

Good Idea, But Poor Execution

PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my NatureMill for over a year. I like the idea of composting indoors, especially since I live in a cold climate area. However, the quality of their composter is not the best.
I'll start with the really bad negatives:
(1) The mixing bar breaks
(2) The release tray for the compost sometimes get stuck
After about a year of use my mixing bar broke. However, throughout that year, the tray that opens ups to dump the compost would often get stuck.
Next for the not-so-bad negatives:
(1) It leaks
(2) It is loud
It seems like a major design flaw to have a leaking composter, however they do include a drip tray which does catch most of it. Also, when the motor turns the compost, it is very loud. However, I have gotten used to it and it only goes for a minute or two.
The only positive thing about this device is being able to compost in cold climates. If I lived in a warmer climate, I would definitely not recommend this device. Also each composter, has a manufactured date on it. If it is manufactured before 2011, you probably want to be on the lookout for my first two issues.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

fast and clean way to recycle

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There is nothing faster than to compost food. All the other bins and buckets just sit there for months getting gross. This one is motorized and that seems like overkill to some but to me it just works and works and you don't have to worry about it. Done.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

easy to use and takes almost any food

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is easy to use. No assembly is required. It works right out of the box. You will have compost in a week. The speed is hard to believe. Surprisingly it takes meat and fish and cheese without odors. But there are some restrictions (lemons) so be sure to follow the instructions.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

Good but expensive - worth every penny

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works great. I'm addicted, and can't imagine life without it. I wish it was cheaper. But I use it every day and would gladly get another one again if I had to.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Automatic Kitchen Scrap Compost Bin-DISCONTINUED

Great compost in 4 days!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I keep it in my garage and it turns out great compost every 4 days
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>