728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ceiling Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan

Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan

Three speeds and a reversing function lend great versatility to the Hampton Bay Lyndhurst White Ceiling Fan. This fan comes complete with a 4-light kit that uses white Venetian scavo glass to cast an elegant glow. Constructed from MDF for strength and style, the fan blades are finished in matte white and light maple to create a lovely look that complements any home decor. Uses four 14-Watt CFL medium base bulbs, 60-Watt equivalent (included).
Overall rating:
4.426 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(289 reviews) 289
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product250 of 277reviews
Rating Breakdown 289 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(189)
4
(63)
3
(19)
2
(7)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product250 of 277reviews
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer reviews for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Nampa, ID
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Fan at a great price!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We put this 52" fan in a 10.5 x 11 room. It was purchased because of it's size, low ceiling and tilt options, as well as the numerous positive reviews.
As a first time fan installation it took 1.5 hours because because of user error.
I was looking at the picture wrong and I forgot to put on EE: rubber gasket for close to ceiling mounting. So I cut it and screwed it on after installation. (I hate extra parts, even if it wasn't needed for normal installation).
Pros: 1. Very quiet, low setting is good for us, medium is nice, and high I use for cooling off the room when my computer is putting out too much heat from graphics intensive games. 2. The 60 watt lights are bright and we only have 2 of them on. 3. Standard size energy efficient light bulbs. 4. White frosted glass covers came with white fan. 5. Being on sale for $54 helped.
Cons: Took some time to balance on high speed. I used levels on four sides of the top as matching the chain to the center of the hole didn't work in our apartment. Grounding wire hook up was a little weird. I just taped the wire to the ground. Slight ticking if unbalanced on high.
Pros: Functional, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, easy to balance, canopy bracket included
Cons: screws for blades strip, instructions skipped feature, no video
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Clarksburg, MD

Great ceiling fan/light fixture at a very reasonable price!

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a beautiful, very well priced fan that offers a lot of light. We purchased the remote control that is compatible with this make/model and it was worth every penny. It's particularly nice to be able to adjust the fan when you're sleeping without having to get out of bed. We had an electrician out to do other work, so he took care of the installation. But it only took him about 30 minutes/fan (we purchased 4 of them).
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Columbia MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ceiling Fan and Light

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Originally a piece of the light kit portion of this ceiling fan was broken. I contacted Home Depot for a replacement part. Once we received the new part, the fan/light was installed and works fine.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Fan - Difficult Installation

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Challenging Installation. Follow all instructions even though you think you have a better way. We had to redo some steps. The fan works great -- quiet, good air movement. Added a universal remote, and it works fine. Using the included bulbs makes the light very bright, and with a remote, you can't use the dimmer. Looks like you can replace with regular bulbs and use a dimmer. I prefer the look of a single dome light instead, but I can live with the 4 separate shades. It's a great ceiling fan, and the price is fantastic!
Pros: Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, great price
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Blairstown, NJ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too noisy for the bedrom

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Another junk winner from China, proudly labeled as made by Chien Luen Industries (Zhong Shan) LTD. The motor wobbles inside the housing due to badly mounted or bent shaft. Very loud motor, possibly due to the wobble overstressed bearings. Since ALL fans sold at Home Depot come from China, it is a lottery to find the one that is quiet and assembled right.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, not useable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from North Las Vegas, Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult to get replacement part

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fan arrived with broken globe. It took many phone calls to Customer services and eight weeks of being told the part was being shipped to finally get the replacement part. Not a good experience! When installing the fan the holes did not line up. Had to drill new holes to put it together. Once installed, the fan looks nice and works fine. The fan went on sale after I purchased it, Homedepot did honor their policy to match the price within 30 days of purchase.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan

Great ceiling fan

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this fan in my son's room and liked it so much I purchased another one to install in my other son's room. Relatively easy to install. The lights are very bright which I like.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was easy to installed and it brings the beauty in a room.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Kona Hawaii
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install fan

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great fan for the price. No remote control but it looks great and is cooling my living room. Easy installation. Nice and quiet.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Snellville, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this fan!

PostedJune 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this fan! I cannot attest to the ease of installation because I hired an electrician to do it as a deal a bought on Angie's List. The fan is beautiful, well-made, sturdy, looks more expensive than it is and looks great in my master bedroom. The lights are also fantastic! The bulbs that came with the fan are very bright
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Maryland
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value and Good-Looking Fan!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The original ceiling fan in the dining/living room of my vacation home was too small for the area and was older so I decided to replace it, since I'd already replaced all of the other ceiling fans in the bedrooms of my vacation home. Since this would be installed in the front room, I decided to spend a bit more money on the ceiling fan. The other ceiling fans I installed in my vacation home are also Hampton Bay, though are the less-expensive models. The CFL light bulbs included in the box are bright, and give a nice, white glow from them. The ceiling fan is silent, and moves plenty of air. I flush-mounted the ceiling fan because the ceiling in the dining/living room of my vacation home is rather low and the ceiling fan is mounted directly over a table. The ceiling fan doesn't wobble at all. I would highly recommend this ceiling fan! (:
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, silent, wobble-free, versatile mounting options
Cons: a bit difficult to install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Cocoa Beach, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Watch out buying this ceiling fan

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There are three major problems I had installing this fan.
1. The instructions between the two mounting options was less than clear, as they were mixed together. They should had two complete set of instruction layouts in the installation manual. Not major but still annoying.
2. One of the installation steps was to remove three screws from the top of the fan housing for the ceiling mount. to install a rubber gasket. They were Phillips head screws that were in so tight I had to use a vise grip pliers to remove them which was not easy. I could not budge them with my Phillips head screw driver.
3. Once the fan was in place getting the lighting portion connected to the fan was another challenge that should not have been, but the tolerance are so tight it was a task getting the screw holes to line up was next to impossible.
I've put up several ceiling fans, and do not consider myself a novice. If you purchase this fan be aware of the challenges you will experience. I would not have selected this fan knowing the challenges I went through to get it installed.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, see review
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Clermont, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really nice fan and worth the extra $20 over basic fans

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've installed many ceiling fans in my homes over the years and the installation process is pretty much identical with all of them. Install was very easy and instructions if you need them are easy to understand. The quality of this fan is very nice. It's extremely quiet and balanced right out of the box, I bought 2 of them and they were both perfect. The best part is they put out a ton of air on high if thats what you're looking for. They really circulate the air and do it quietly. They also come with CFL bulbs which is a plus and saves you having to buy bulbs and it is extremly bright, I mean really really bright. The only down side to the energy efficent CFL bulbs is you can't dim them so I may eventually switch out to dimmable LED's but at the moment they are fine. Love the product and plan to buy two more in the next couple of weeks. I used to buy Hunter but kept having issues, this is a better product in my opinion and a little less expensive.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Torrance, CA, USA

Fan looks great and operates wonderfully

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son bought 3 of these for his new house and they worked great. I bought this as replacement for our older hugger ceiling fan because of the no rod design for a close fitting to ceiling. The issue that a remote receiver could not fit is true unless you remove ceiling pole bracket inside ceiling fitting. I drilled out rivets and the receiver fits fine.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great fan for the price - regular or on sale!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan is easy to asemble and was an unbelievable bargain at $20 close-out price. Simple clean lines make this a nice touch for a room with a light or if you are in need of replacing an older fan.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Buy

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered this fan online for store pickup. It was waiting for me at the service desk and I received great customer service. Fan was easy to install and working great. I am very pleased with the overall experience.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan

Well worth the price!!!

PostedMay 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently purchased this Hampton Bay fan to replace a 15 year old Hampton Bay that has been running nearly 24/7 since I purchased my current home. Installation was a breeze. The fan runs quietly at all speeds and the lights provide great illumination. My only complaint involves inserting 2 of the 4 screws used to mount the unit to the ceiling mounting bracket. Those 2 screws will not insert totally in the holes. The bracket and unit are secure, but it lacks that finished look (cannot use the canopy collar). I would suggest trying Steps 1 and 2 under the Instruction heading "FINISHING the FAN INSTALLATION" in the owner's manual before you mount the assembly, perhaps on a table or floor.
I will do this step with my next purchase (I'll probably buy 3 more to replace other rooms).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Doylestown, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hampton Bay ceiling fan/light kit

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fan and light kit easy to assemble and install. This fixture replaced a 15 year old fixture whose fan had quit, but lights still worked. Looks great and provides lots of lighting. We love it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice surprise

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Electrician wired and installed this fan for us, with an optional universal remote added on. We opted for a flush mount, and he installed right to the joist. The fan has zero wobble, and the ONLY noise you can hear on low, medium, or high is the movement of the air. Amazing. Not one little tick. Very nice. Wish it came with a remote.
Pros: Functional, Quiet
Cons: no remote
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyndhurst 52 in. White Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Atlanta
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A Large Pain

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Using tiny poor quality screws sprayed with white lacquer, assembling this fan was a pain. Starting with attaching the fan blade the screws are cheap, the screw head mangles easily, and threads don't match resulting in a LOT of frustrating effort for a most basic task. Want install your fan using the flush ceiling mount? Good luck. Putting a small half inch screw through a hard to match hole, a quarter inch from the ceiling where your fingers don't fit does not work. Went to the hardware store and got half inch quality screws and everything went together easily. The quality of the components used in this fan are extremely poor. If you have someone to install this for you... GREAT! Thinking about doing it yourself? Look out.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>