728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ceiling Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan

Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan

With its antique brass finish, clean lines and reversible distressed pine or walnut blades, the Hampton Bay Lyndhurst Antique Brass Ceiling Fan offers an elegant look that complements any home decor. The ceiling fan's 3-speed and reverse functions give you plenty of cooling options and the 4-Light kit with Amber scavo glass creates an elegant glow in your home. Uses four 60 watt equivalent medium base CFL bulbs (included).
Overall rating:
3.97 / 5
4
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product27 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(9)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product27 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from South Jordan, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Beautiful, but Instructions Aren't Great

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Looks great once we finally got it installed, but for someone like me, the instructions were far too vague. I went online and watched some videos, but even at that the instructions felt incomplete and confusing. Still, once we got it up, it looks great and works perfectly.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor/unclear instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice fan...

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a well built, very quiet ceiling fan. The directions were clear and concise and it was fairly easy to install. I liked the fact that it takes regular sized light bulbs and not the candelabra ones a lot of the fans are coming with of late. Double sided blades give you a choice of dark or lighter shades of wood to match your decor. All in all, I'd buy another one of these if the need arises in my house again.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design, standard sized cfl bulbs included
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice colors

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install, very beautiful color only thing fan only lasted me a week before it started making funky noises.
Pros: Unique, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: doesn't work after a week
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from Chicago, Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

FAN

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found the same fan I bought a few weeks earlier on sale . That was a wonderful find because I live it!
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from Southington, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NO COMPLAINTS, ALL GOOD

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
From start to finish, this whole process was easy, efficient and a pleasure....The results are great. just what we wanted in all 4 rooms.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from Newburgh, IN 47630, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks great, quiet and easy to install

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with product. Was on sale, so got a bargain. Easy to install and blade has two sides with different colors and you can choose which color goes better with your room--a plus
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from lewisville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy install and works great!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pretty easy to install. Good instructions and some nice covers to hide installation screws. I installed it with separate LED dimmer and fan control switches - no pull chains needed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT fan, MUCH better looking than photo.

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fan quietly moves air well and looks great-- for some inexplicable reason Home Depot no longer shows photos of the fan with the alternate blade pattern, "distressed pine", which is FAR superior...it looks a little bit like the fur pattern on a tortoiseshell cat. I downgraded the bulbs to 9w CFLs from the included 13w CFLs since there are 4 of them instead of the usual 3 and give plenty of light. Only small issue I had was with the mounting bracket which was needlessly restrictive for my purposes-- I had to drill a hole in it to allow a wire to pass through more easily since it was hung on a round 3" 76-year-old ceiling box. I have appx 15 Hampton Bay fans, mostly Landmarks, Glendales and Lyndhursts with a Brookhurst in 2 homes and this is my favorite of all of them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from OKC, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ouosur1

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Piece of junk! Only lasted one year before motor went out!
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: motor out after one year!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from Pasadena, TX

Nice fan once you finish tricky installation

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After looking online for a ceiling fan with the right finish, size, mounting options, and light bulbs (hate the candelabras) I settled on this fan. The instructions were mostly spot on, but had some trouble figuring out what to do with the excess wiring going from the fan motor through the extension rod to the electrical box in the ceiling. The instructions did not touch on this at all and finally figured it out on my own. Installation took me over 2 hours because I was trying to figure it out, but the finished product looks very nice in my living room. One of the only downsides is the globes included - they are frosted with a sandy tint and the result turned my white walls a shade of orange (yuck) into the garbage they went. I used the clear ones from the fan I was replacing and it looked fine after that. You might like them ok, but I did not, so be prepared to have an alternate set of globes.
Cools nicely, no wobble.
Pros: Beautiful finish; cools nicely; 4 CFL bulbs included. Decent price.
Cons: Walnut side of blades is hideous...use the pine side. Instructions are lacking in places. Ugly orange color of globes when light is on.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very quiet

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good looking fan. Very nice and quiet as well. The installation was easy as well as I was just replacing another fan. Great buy. Glad that I purchased this fan.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from Hampden, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking fan

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Bought this to replace a bedroom fan that stopped working. Some tips on wiring to connect to a wall switch. Do not get a dimmer for the lights of this fan. They are not dimmable. just buy a regular wall switch. For the fan, but a 3 speed (low, med., high) fan switch. Connections: black to black of fan lights, red to blue of fan/lights, green to copper, white to white of fan/lights.
Our old downrod (24") did not fit the fan, so we figured out how to attach it inside (it was a smaller diameter) the one that came with the fan. This worked OK, and saved buying a new downrod.
The assembly, to me, was difficult. I never noticed the decorative piece that fits atop of the motor until after it was hung from the downrod and decided it wasn't worth the effort to disassemble everything to put it on. It was frustrating balancing the lights while trying to line up the screw holes and then, trying to fit in tiny screws and screw them in place. I don't know how anyone can do it themselves without help.
Flicked the switch and nothing happened! I hope the wiring info is helpful to someone and will save them lots of frustration.
The end result is great. The fan is super quiet and looks great after replacing the bulbs. The ugly flourescent screw-type bulbs that come with the fan I replaced with nice flourescent chandeleir bulbs that look great.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, ugly bulbs, needs more thorough assembly directions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan

wobbling fan

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
fan was easy to install but have not been able to balance the fan blades no matter what I do. It is out of balance, one of the blades is more than an inch different than the other blades.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: out of balance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and install. But, best of all it's really nice and quite!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from New Mexico, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looks, not as silent as desired

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: The two Lyndhurst 52" ceiling fans in antique brass finish look great in my great room. The installation was fairly pain free once I figured out the instructions.
Cons: The fan motors are not as silent as desired -- they make a subtle whine. The instructions also forbid the use of an electronic fan speed control -- it sure would have been nice if the box or the Home Depot web site had mentioned that limitation. The installation instructions are difficult to follow; it took me three or four tries to get all the pieces installed on the down rod correctly. The included compact fluorescent lamps are quite bright; they're a bit glaring but OK if you want illumination you can read by.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan

SATISFIED W/PRODUCT

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
INSTALLATION A BIT TRICKY BUT OVERALL I'M VERY IMPRESSED WITH PRODUCT.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from Livonia, MI

Lots of nice features

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The fan itself is very nice looking and is very quiet. We also like the ease of changing speeds and changing directions. The light kit is a different story. The light kit itself is very pretty and we like the muted shade of the glass shades. But the light bulbs that came with it are so bright that we currently only have one bulb screwed in. The light bulbs really take away from the overall appearance of the fan assembly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan

Love the sytle of the fan

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The style of this fan is rustic looking and it goes great in our living and dining area.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very attractive

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought it was a great product until one of the light sockets seemed faulty as I have to keep jiggling the bulb when it goes out. It is not burned out, but the connection is not good so it causes the light to keep going out.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: socket not best quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cannot believe this fan was less than $100

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan looks incredible. I would consider it to be transitional in style. The blades are reversible (one side is medium oak and the other a darker walnut). We used the darker walnut and it truly looks beautiful. I didn't think there was any way we were going to find a ceiling fan that I would like the style of that was less than $200 and then I saw this one in the store. I was worried the shades would make the lighting seem yellow, but because it is downlighting it doesn't affect the coloring at all. Fan gives GREAT light and it is reversible for winter and summer. We also got the bronze finish and it couldn't look any better. The quality and value of this fan for the price is outstanding. I HIGHLY recommend it. My husband also installed it himself in about 30-45 minutes. The fan doesn't wobble and is extremely quiet as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>