728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ceiling Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan

Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan

With its antique brass finish, clean lines and reversible distressed pine or walnut blades, the Hampton Bay Lyndhurst Antique Brass Ceiling Fan offers an elegant look that complements any home decor. The ceiling fan's 3-speed and reverse functions give you plenty of cooling options and the 4-Light kit with Amber scavo glass creates an elegant glow in your home. Uses four 60 watt equivalent medium base CFL bulbs (included).
Overall rating:
3.957 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(8)
3
(6)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
KayB
from Newburgh, IN 47630, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks great, quiet and easy to install

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with product. Was on sale, so got a bargain. Easy to install and blade has two sides with different colors and you can choose which color goes better with your room--a plus
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Bill
from lewisville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy install and works great!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pretty easy to install. Good instructions and some nice covers to hide installation screws. I installed it with separate LED dimmer and fan control switches - no pull chains needed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
DJ55

SATISFIED W/PRODUCT

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
INSTALLATION A BIT TRICKY BUT OVERALL I'M VERY IMPRESSED WITH PRODUCT.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Annie

Love the sytle of the fan

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The style of this fan is rustic looking and it goes great in our living and dining area.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Phyllis
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very attractive

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought it was a great product until one of the light sockets seemed faulty as I have to keep jiggling the bulb when it goes out. It is not burned out, but the connection is not good so it causes the light to keep going out.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: socket not best quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Hampdenhills
from Hampden, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking fan

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Bought this to replace a bedroom fan that stopped working. Some tips on wiring to connect to a wall switch. Do not get a dimmer for the lights of this fan. They are not dimmable. just buy a regular wall switch. For the fan, but a 3 speed (low, med., high) fan switch. Connections: black to black of fan lights, red to blue of fan/lights, green to copper, white to white of fan/lights.
Our old downrod (24") did not fit the fan, so we figured out how to attach it inside (it was a smaller diameter) the one that came with the fan. This worked OK, and saved buying a new downrod.
The assembly, to me, was difficult. I never noticed the decorative piece that fits atop of the motor until after it was hung from the downrod and decided it wasn't worth the effort to disassemble everything to put it on. It was frustrating balancing the lights while trying to line up the screw holes and then, trying to fit in tiny screws and screw them in place. I don't know how anyone can do it themselves without help.
Flicked the switch and nothing happened! I hope the wiring info is helpful to someone and will save them lots of frustration.
The end result is great. The fan is super quiet and looks great after replacing the bulbs. The ugly flourescent screw-type bulbs that come with the fan I replaced with nice flourescent chandeleir bulbs that look great.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, ugly bulbs, needs more thorough assembly directions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Jeremy
from Pasadena, TX

Nice fan once you finish tricky installation

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After looking online for a ceiling fan with the right finish, size, mounting options, and light bulbs (hate the candelabras) I settled on this fan. The instructions were mostly spot on, but had some trouble figuring out what to do with the excess wiring going from the fan motor through the extension rod to the electrical box in the ceiling. The instructions did not touch on this at all and finally figured it out on my own. Installation took me over 2 hours because I was trying to figure it out, but the finished product looks very nice in my living room. One of the only downsides is the globes included - they are frosted with a sandy tint and the result turned my white walls a shade of orange (yuck) into the garbage they went. I used the clear ones from the fan I was replacing and it looked fine after that. You might like them ok, but I did not, so be prepared to have an alternate set of globes.
Cools nicely, no wobble.
Pros: Beautiful finish; cools nicely; 4 CFL bulbs included. Decent price.
Cons: Walnut side of blades is hideous...use the pine side. Instructions are lacking in places. Ugly orange color of globes when light is on.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
DoItYourselfGuy
from New Mexico, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looks, not as silent as desired

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: The two Lyndhurst 52" ceiling fans in antique brass finish look great in my great room. The installation was fairly pain free once I figured out the instructions.
Cons: The fan motors are not as silent as desired -- they make a subtle whine. The instructions also forbid the use of an electronic fan speed control -- it sure would have been nice if the box or the Home Depot web site had mentioned that limitation. The installation instructions are difficult to follow; it took me three or four tries to get all the pieces installed on the down rod correctly. The included compact fluorescent lamps are quite bright; they're a bit glaring but OK if you want illumination you can read by.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
DaveK
from Fitzwilliam, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fan, quiet, great replacement for old fan

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace old fan. This was easy to install, fit right where the old one was installed, and it very quiet at all speeds. It has a very rich-looking appearance with the antique brass.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
burnsy
from Livonia, MI

Lots of nice features

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The fan itself is very nice looking and is very quiet. We also like the ease of changing speeds and changing directions. The light kit is a different story. The light kit itself is very pretty and we like the muted shade of the glass shades. But the light bulbs that came with it are so bright that we currently only have one bulb screwed in. The light bulbs really take away from the overall appearance of the fan assembly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
teacherpro

Good fan for the money

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good fan with attractive features at a good price. Would buy again.
Pros: Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
AHousewife
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cannot believe this fan was less than $100

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan looks incredible. I would consider it to be transitional in style. The blades are reversible (one side is medium oak and the other a darker walnut). We used the darker walnut and it truly looks beautiful. I didn't think there was any way we were going to find a ceiling fan that I would like the style of that was less than $200 and then I saw this one in the store. I was worried the shades would make the lighting seem yellow, but because it is downlighting it doesn't affect the coloring at all. Fan gives GREAT light and it is reversible for winter and summer. We also got the bronze finish and it couldn't look any better. The quality and value of this fan for the price is outstanding. I HIGHLY recommend it. My husband also installed it himself in about 30-45 minutes. The fan doesn't wobble and is extremely quiet as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
NickName
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very attractive, but manufacturing issues.

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall, my wife and I have been very pleased with the fan. In fact, we bought two of them. Unfortunately, the light kit on one of them hangs slightly cock-eyed and the forward/reverse switch is crooked on the other, and so I dinged the fan on quality in this review. I opted not to return the fans, however, as each took me 45 minutes to install (partly due to old wiring in our house).
We most liked this fan because it provides a clean look, it uses standard base bulbs (something increasingly rare nowadays), and it boasts an attractive finish in antique brass (something difficult to come by). Moreover, the crystal bells are held in place by simple clips on the inside of the bells, adding to the clean look. Attention also was given to the the forward/reverse switch; an attractive antique brass cap was placed over the normally cheap-looking switch part so that it, too, blends cleanly into the rest of the fan.
I should mentioned that the fan is not a quick installation--the second took me about 45 minutes even though I had already installed four fans in our home--but it can probably be done in a half-hour if your home has decent wiring. Bottom line--this is no Five-minute Fan.
Despite the few drawbacks I have mentioned, I would gladly buy another for our home. Appearance is important, as well as quiet operation. This fan has both.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, manufacturing defect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
turtlady
from Sacramento
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liked a previous style better; but it was not available.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wish it had a remote; used remote from previous fan, which I liked style and quietness much better.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
jrs1
from tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This looks and works great.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is a replacement. It looks great and works like it should.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Rick

Good quiet fan but not powerful

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros:
- Attractive styling and Impressive quality for a low cost fan
- Very Quiet (don't hear anything in our kitchen)
- Single wiring plug make light attachment easy
- Mounting bracket easy to install, fits existing electrical
box, clever slide in-place screw slots allow you to install screws first, then tighten after attaching the bracket.
- Choice of pole or close mount
- Long lead wires (maybe 3 feet) allow using longer pole
- Good English instructions
- Uses standard "medium socket" light bulbs
Cons:
- It's high speed is only equivalent to medium speed on the 25 year old Casablanca fan it replaces.
- Box implies you can use 4 60 Watt bulbs, but inside instructions warn you only to use 14 watt CFL bulbs
- Diagrams in instructions too small and difficult to understand.
- Somewhat challenging to install "close mount" (holding fan up while wiring) but I suspect no worse than others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
GBCary
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value but difficult install and large canopy does not fit a medallion

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Great look and function for the price, included CFL bulbs are a plus.
But the installation manual leaves out some key details, resulting in 2 tries before I could complete the installation. The fan blade slots come with protective pieces that immobilize the fan, which should be removed before installing the blades -- manual is completely silent on this, though there is yellow sticker on motor base that says this -- but hard to read standing under the fan looking up. I figured this out after a few frustrating minutes. Also fan blades must be installed before screwing in the light fixture.
Canopy was a real pain to install -- hence 3 stars. It is large (about 6") and the holes don't align nicely with the base making it really hard to put the screws in,
I was planning to put a medallion around the fan on the ceiling, but the 6" canopy makes it impossible to use it with ANY medallion. So forget medallion if you want to install this fan!
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, large canopy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Nicki
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very pleased with all the features.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Fan looks very nice, moves air well, very quiet and plenty of light. All in all, we're very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
HDBusy
from Arcadia, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple Installation

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this on sale for my father. Had it installed in 30 minutes. The fan is nice and quiet too.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyndhurst 52 in. Indoor Antique Brass Ceiling Fan
Limey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Top class for the price.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An excellent product. Good value and easy to assemble and install, well within two hours for two fans. Perfect balance with both fans.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>