728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED

12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED

This RIDGID 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower includes 2 extension wands, a utility nozzle, a car nozzle, a blowing adapter and a VF4000 filter and features an accessory storage space to accommodate the included attachments. The 5.0 peak HP motor provides powerful suction for heavy-duty cleanup, and the 170 MPH detachable blower cleans debris from your decks and driveways.
Overall rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(153 reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product140 of 144reviews
Rating Breakdown 153 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(108)
4
(39)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product140 of 144reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Great Addition to my Auto Detailing Biz

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Going to keep it plain and simple.
---- Pros ----
Quiet
Very powerful
Easy to use
Large Bin
Got it on sale, best purchase iv'e made from Home Depot
---- Cons ----
Hose Length
Thickness of Hose (For my job, works well for others)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Earth
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is beast! I had recently bought a new house and had projects to do and the Rigid is one of the best purchases I've made; I mean let's face it, it's no 3 wolves howling at the moon t-shirt, but it's right up there!
I use it all time on small projects, or even to vacuum the tile floors and or car. I recently used it when cutting out a hole in the ceiling to install a fan, the hose and extender attachments had no problem reaching a vaulted ceiling. It picks up everything! I haven't seen the cat in over a week now!
+80points
80out of 80found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent Value

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 12-Gallon Rigid Shop Vac with Blower is an excellent product. It is a super value for a 5.0 HP motor and the blower has come in extremely handy.
I've cleaned up a flooded basement, construction sites, garage debris and much more with this vacuum. The motor detaches from the top of the vacuum and becomes an impressive blower, great for cleaning up grass clippings, saw dust off tools and blowing large debris in a pile that can be picked up with the vacuum.
The only complaint I have is the attachments sit loosely in the feet of the vacuum. They fall of or get tangled in the hose and chord. Still, this is a small problem for a great vacuum. 5 stars all the way!
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Bridgeville, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Vac

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have toasted two other small shop vacs. I am drywalling an entire house. I use the vac to pick up the dust from sanding the tape joints. I have had this Rigid vac for a month now and used it a lot. No problems at all. It is the quietest shop vac I have ever had. When you are stuck in a room with it for several hours quite is good. Two minor quibbles. The ears for the cord winder are a bit short. The cord tends to fall off when you invert the power head to remove the filter and the stiffening flange around the top makes it hard to dump all of the dust. Some gets caught behind the flange.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Dust Chamber
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Loveland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Works as good as the one it replaced

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this 12-gallon wet/dry vacuum to replace a previous Rigid 12-gallon wet/dry vacuum that I had spent the last few years abusing to the extent of destruction. The first one held up to my abuse so well that I thought I'd purchase a second one to replace the first. My favorite use for this vacuum is in sucking all the debris out of the gutters on my house. I have several large oak trees with limbs that extend near and above my roof and the leaves, twigs, acorns, etc. do their best to clog my gutters year round. I've made an extension using PVC pipe which has one end that 90's into the gutters and the other end fits on the end of the vacuum hose. This makes short work out of cleaning my gutters which I must do at least 6-to-8 times a year. Additionally, the last vacuum was regularly used for vacuuming out our 6 cars and 1 van as well as helping to clean-up after 2 floods.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
Usage frequency:Monthly

Good deal

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it seems more powerful than other stronger model that I tried. The only drawback is connecting the differnt attachement design.
Pros: Looks Great, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from San Fernando Valley, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

great vac for the warehouse

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The blower is a great feature. I can clean a 5k sf warehouse quickly. it has good power and is lightweight. the vac is typical, good power, does the job, the connectors fall off if you don't really push them together hard. i would rather have a little click in option on those, but it is a solid product and works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED

AWESOME

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This vacuum is incredible.
I cleaned the entire garage attic using it.
It is amazing. It saved me 550 dollars. That is how much one company wanted to charge.
And I still own the vacuum :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED

Great value, Strong and powerful.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This vac has more features than many $79-89 shop vacs, plus a detachable blower. You can't find another 5.0HP vac for this price. I went to Sears first and looked, a comparable unit was $90. I found this and it was a no-brainer. Relatively quiet too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED

Killer shop vac for the price

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great capacity but still short enough to store under my workbench (it's shorter than advertised, too) The removable blower is suprisingly useful. Suction is great, check out the SCFM ratings compared to the others- this vacuum really moves some air. My hot water heater blew about a month after I bought this vacuum... ended up vacuuming up about 70 gallons of water from my carpet with the vac. Would buy it again in a heartbeat!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Newton, Kansas

Good Vac

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The vac is a little on the bulky side, but has excellent suction power. I really like the removable blower, and that it has a longer power cord and hose the most vacuums.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Nearly perfect

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Probably not an issue for most people. I didn't realize until after I bought it that you can't use bags and I love to be able to plug a 1 1/2" hose in to the vac to use with power tools. Other than that it's great. Fairly quiet and much more power than my "other" vac. There are time I like to use a bag. Call me lazy but it's convenient on occasions. I'd buy it again for sure.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

More than I expected

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first Rigid wet/dry vac that I have purchased. I would absolutely be willing to buy one again. It has a great deal of power and a great value for the price.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED

amazing

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i don't ever write reviews (although i frequently read them) but i had to write about this vac. this is the most amazing vac i have ever used. i was shocked at how quiet it was and how much suction it has. when using the floor attachment it will actually stick to the floor if it is held exactly in line with it. the fact it has a blower is just an added bonus. this thing was sucking up huge peices of tile with no problem. buy this vac. it is awesome.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Glen Gardner, NJ

Good for a female user

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought it to clean pellet stove once/wk. Has good suction to pull fine dust that rises during cleaning. Easy enough to move around. The only thing I find a bit awkward is the placement of the on/off switch. It's sort of tucked in on the lid in a strange place, but you get used to it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from United States

wet/dry Vac

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was easy to assemble with the exception of the wheels. They were hard to snap into place. Has good suction and moves about easily and is somewhat less noisy than other wet/dry vacs.Overall am very pleased with this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED

Great Vac!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've always used Shop-Vac's before but I saw this one on sale and I figured I would give it a try. So far it's a great unit. I like how the hose swivels and the way the wheels are design which makes it very difficult to tip over. It has a long power cord and is very powerful and not as noisy as some others that I've had in the past. I haven't tried it as a blower as of yet but I really just purchased it as a vac and the blower option was just a plus.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Southern Missouri

Better than advertised

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This vacuum exceeded our expectations. We ordered this on line and it arrived on the third morning. Just bought an old house, and have been using it daily in the renovation. The power, capacity, mobility, and value are better than anticipated. You don't have to make excuses for this one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
PRODUCT HAS EVERYTHING I WANTED AND MORE . 12 GAL TANK IS PLENTY LARGE ENOUGH, BLOWER IS EASY TO USE AND REINSTALL, LOTS OF SUCTION AND QUICK RELEASE FILTER IS GREAT. PURCHASED ONLINE WITH EASE AND RECEIVED VACUUM WITHIN A FEW DAYS.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: electric cord could be longer
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum with Detachable Blower-DISCONTINUED
from Coeur d Alene
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Works great & I like the detachable blower

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very good shop vac. Works great. The only thing I wish they'd change is to make it taller instead of so wide. Takes up too much room in the storage shed. But, it works well and does everything I want it to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>