728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Home Office Furniture or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase

29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase

Our bookshelves have become favorites of decorators who seek sturdy, attractive decor in the classic Mission style. This gracefully simple design offers visual charm along with function and durability. Hardwood and hardwood veneer construction with a satin-smooth hand finish complete this wood bookcase with distinctive style.
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product113 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 126 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(52)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product113 of 125reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase
Review 1 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase
from PALM BAY, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NEEDED A 12 INCH DEEP BOOKCASE

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted a bookcase in the kitchen that could be no more than 12 inches deep. I finely found this at Home Depot. The quality is very good and the parts fit good. I did strip one screw hole, but a piece of a wood tooth pick in the hole solved the problem, the screw went in just fine. Now I have all my cook books in one place. At 76 I'm learning to cook.
PS I can't be eligible for the $1000 since I don't have a digital camera. Well everyone isn't high tech.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Binghamton, NY 13901

Just as it was shown in the ad

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best book case I found and I think you should have it in stock in your stores
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase

a good buy if you are handy

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were very pleased with the quality and the warm wood tones.
Assembly took some time and patience, but they turned out to look like professionally made shelves.
They take the weight of books and decorative plates.
2 sets fit side-by-side beautifully. .
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase

good value, easy to build

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
joints were not all perfectly flush, but pretty good quality, good color tone on the wood stain, and a great value. took under 30 minutes to set up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Dinsmore CA

Clean lines

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to assemble, well manufactured & nicely finished. I would highly recommend!!!!!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase

Looks good, assembly harder than expected

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the looks of the bookcase and it suits the purpose very well. For assembly, it was difficult getting the sides into the dowels and we ended up using a hammer. Holes to fit the top were not drilled but eventually the screws screwed their way in. All this to say, just the Allen wrench they send isn't enough to assemble it
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice product but it was difficult to assemble

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was difficult to assemble this piece due to the wench which became faulty after usage of the 8th screw. One end had no grip to secure the screws. This was the end that I needed to give me leverage. Fortunately, I had a wrench from a previous purchased that I used to complete the assembly. Once completed, I was very satisfied
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, faulty wrench
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase

It was everything I expected & more

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice to have real wood at a reasonable price! We had it shipped to our local Home Depot...very easy and convenient.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, assembly could be improved

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shelf looks great, with nicely rounded fronts. The material is what is commonly described as honey pine or as honey oak (it's neither oak nor pine) in furniture stores.
The assembly is a bit of a challenge. It is very simple, but the screws seem to be designed to support elephants instead of books about elephants. Using your own tool is recommended, the little toy that came with the shelf is done and ready for the trash bin after a few screws.
Nevertheless, after going through half an hour of sweating, you have a very fine book shelf for a good price.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful, but not the most stable construction

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just couldn't find anything that was the right dimensions AND style AND stability. This was the best fit and they are so attractive! The only problem was their rigidity/stability with a full load of books. We solved this by attaching it to another bookcase at the top.
Pros: Rich Looking, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Nice Design
Cons: Not Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 29.5 in. W Honey Oak Mission-Style 5-Shelf Bookcase
Based on the average of (116) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
104 out of 116 recommend this product