728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Home Office Furniture or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase

Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase

Our Folding/Stacking Bookcase adds extra shelving in an instant, just where you need it. This home office furniture is perfect for storing your book collection, or displaying your favorite photos and other items. Our bookshelves are crafted from solid hardwood and hardwood veneer for ultimate durability. Order yours today.
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(663 reviews) 663
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product636 of 659reviews
Rating Breakdown 663 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(484)
4
(144)
3
(19)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product636 of 659reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
Review 1 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Hurricane, WV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight, easy to set up, looks good

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a bit nervous about ordering this bookcase. I read reviews indicating people had received bookcases that were damaged in shipment, but I really wanted this item to complete my living room so I ordered it and hoped for the best. It arrived safely, there was Styrofoam in the heavy cardboard shipping box that protected the bookcase so mine did not receive any damage.
Very easy to set-up, just remove the packing material, fold the sides away from the back, gently drop the shelves down, and you are done.
I purchased the Home Decorators Collection 37.5 in. W Black Mantel Top to complete the look. I had a little trouble lining up the pegs in the top of the bookcase with the holes in the bottom of the mantel, so for now it's balancing but not securely attached.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy Book Case and No Assembly Required

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bookcases are sturdy and come assembled. They look smart and fold up easily for moving. They aren't cheaply constructed, nor are they made of cheap materials. I have four of these now, which were purchased over more than the past decade. They have not deteriorated in quality. Home Depot has an excellent price on these units. You can order them online and have home delivery. Great for any room in the house. They come in a variety of colors. They sit solid.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase

comfort is not applicable. Black finish was high quality. Sturdy piece.

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shelf was already assembled, just tap in screw covers. longer width is great for fitting baskets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

perfect

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this for my grandsoms room and my daughter liked it so much,she stole it for her living room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase

Wonderful product!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A beautiful product at an affordable price. Very easy set-up too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase

Great, but a little rickety.

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It looks great and, with a little pushing, I stacked one on top of another, but they seem a little wobbly, even as a single shelf. They seem durable and able to handle the weight of the many books I than put on the shelves and won't fall over, but something seems a little uneven at the base.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Wobbles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to "assemble", looks nice, Baskets fit easily on shelves.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks nice in office/bedroom. can hold children's toy baskets as well as some desk supplies.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase

Just what I was looking for

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great bookshelf that is well made and sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase

Great design, quality alright, excellent value

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Walnut 3-Shelf Bookcase
I move rather frequently, so I like furniture light enough I can transport myself. I really like the folding, stackable design that allows me to quickly disassemble, fold-up and carry the bookshelf on to its new location. This model is ok, I would rather have spent a bit more money for something sturdier and with holes drilled closer to where they should be on the top piece, but this was the best I could find.
The material is decent, actual wood and the walnut color is nice, a medium to somewhat dark tone. Setup was very easy, though shelves tended to fly down and bang before I could stop them.
Shelves seem sturdy enough -- no sagging so far with fairly heavy books.
Having two stacked on top of each other on top of a carpet, it does sway side to side quite a bit -- I pushed it into a corner of the room and put some eye-hooks in the wall and tied some thin rope to secure it better. Will be fine unless there's a monster earthquake, I suppose.
The top piece (sold separately) has poor quality control for the holes... holes were not quite in the right places so it took some serious pushing to get it to go into the pegs. If they had been much further off I would have had to return it or drill new holes.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Wobbles
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent! Buy it!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W White 3-Shelf Bookcase
I bought a lot of furniture with this shipment and this was the sturdiest and easiest to put together. If you need a small shelf, feel comfortable getting this one. It just unfolds out of the box. It looks good and went up easily. I use it for a moderate load of books as well as some stacks of magazines and boxes of note cards, etc.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Talent, OR
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This bookshelf is attractive and adequate for my needs.

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Folding and Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Honey Oak 3-Shelf Bookcase
I had no problems setting it up. The top shelf is handy for parking things I am currently working with, and the two shelves below, in each copy, have enough space with enough overhead for all these books.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from S. California
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good bookshelf

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Folding and Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Honey Oak 3-Shelf Bookcase
It was easy to assemble and looks just fine. It is a bit flimsier than I thought it would be but it works and is the correct size for my space.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional, good enough!
Cons: not as sturdy as i thought it would be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outstanding product

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Folding and Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Honey Oak 3-Shelf Bookcase
Very attractive blends into existent room furniture. Easy assembly no tools required. Would highly recommend to others of all ages. Home Depot you did it again and more affordable than the leading comparative home improvement retailer.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks great & easy assembly

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Walnut 3-Shelf Bookcase
I assembled this product n less than 5 minutes, which includes wiping it down to remove packaging leftovers. It looks beautiful & the measurements are spot on from the website. I am very happy with this bookcase. I definitely will be purchasing another one!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made
Cons: doesn't come 2 to a set
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W White 3-Shelf Bookcase
These shelves are perfect for books and plants. The unit is very well made and could not have been easier to assemble.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase

Looks good, but crooked/wobbly stacked

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comfort 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Walnut 3-Shelf Bookcase
I bought 2 and stacked them. Walnut color is good; lightweight shelves hold lots of books without bending. Top bookshelf bends a little to right; entire set of 2 bookshelves wobbles side to side about 3 inches, but are located in a corner away from traffic. Too much trouble to return.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Wobbles, Not Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W White 3-Shelf Bookcase
Solid and strong bookcase, and oh so easy to assemble right out of the box. Using primarily as a bookcase, but has many possible uses for display and storage.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Well Made, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Buchanan, TN 38222, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

nice bookcase

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W White 3-Shelf Bookcase
I had been looking for bookcases that could go in the kitchen and bedroom for cookbooks and dodads. Hard to find inexpensive that are made well and are actually wood. These fit the bill...bought 2. They arrived timely...ordered on-line for free pick up at the store. They are just what I wanted, look nice, made well, and not a lot of putting together time...just fold out the sides and place the shelves. Also bought the top mantle to finish the unit. It adds stability and you really need the top shelf.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Natural 3-Shelf Bookcase
I would rate it higher but I cannot get the wood plugs to go into the holes to cover the screws
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W Black 3-Shelf Bookcase
from East Lyme, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A Great product

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Folding/Stacking 38 in. H x 35 in. W White 3-Shelf Bookcase
This bookcase was easy to assemble and is very well made. There are a few places where the paint is a litle thin but this isn't a major issue. Well priced and a great product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>