728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct

Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct

The Dundas Jafine space saver aluminum duct is ideal for use in tight fitting clothes dryer applications. This duct allows the dryer to be placed 3 in. from the wall for optimum space utilization. With a 2-piece aluminum construction this duct also extends from 28-45 in. in length.
Overall rating:
3.467 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product20 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(7)
3
(8)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product20 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Review 1 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
BJM1026
from Cranford, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The overall function of this product is great it allows me to get the dryer pretty close to the wall. It is however VERY flimsy and only tack welded which makes it very susceptible to breaking. Use extreme caution when pushing the dryer back against the wall after installation. I was too forceful and crushed the device. You will also need to buy aluminum foil tape to seal all of the seams. Another helpful addition to your purchase of this item is a duct extender to use from the dryer to the device. My dryers exhaust port was not long enough to attach with out an extender. My issue was ultimately solved but I would have gladly paid a bit more for the product if it was made better and included some foil tape.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Tepeyac74
from Mission, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good concept, a bit flimsy

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The idea is very good, solves the issue of misalignment between the outlet of the dryer and the vent hole on the wall. Have you ever had an instance where these two match? There should be a standard. I installed the device on a Whirlpool Duet Steam (with a bottom drawer) horizontally, not vertically. I needed to go behind the washer to reach the vent hole on the wall on the opposite side of the washer. The outlet on the dryer was in the middle and the duct was not long enough for what I needed, so I had to add round ducting. In the end it worked OK. I used duct tape first to keep it together, but switched to aluminum tape, worked much better. Tricky to keep the duct from falling off the dryer while moving it back in place. There is not much room to tape the duct to the dryer outlet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: flimsy, must use tape to hold
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Snowjoe
from British Columbia

Misleading manufacturer's description

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit consist of 3 pieces. The description says it is adjustable to 45 inches. The lengths of narrow parts designed to fit behind dryer are: 23 7/8", 17 7/8" plus 2" of adaptor rectangle flange. The pieces have to overlap min. 1". It makes space saving section of assembled unit only 43 3/4" long. If this unit is assembled with 1" overlap there are about 1/2" gaps in joints. The fit is absolutely terrible and it has to be riveted and sealed with duct tape.
Pros: Very good idea
Cons: Worst acceptable quality good only for handy mans DIY project..
Pros: good idea
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, flimsy, bad fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Bruce
from MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product --- just what I was looking for -- with a straight end rather than a right angle at the outlet end. Could have had a longer extension sleeve -- one could always cut off for short applications.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: could have a longer extension sleeve
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
yagottabekiddingme
from northeast
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job but poorly made.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It did what I needed but had to fix it up a little and cover a bunch of holes in it with metal ducting tape. The Rect to round adapter was particularly bad. The rectangle part was more oval and had to be bent straight along with many small to medium holes (poorly made seams etc) that needed to be covered. In the end it did exactly what I needed but I was surprised about the numerous irritants due to the poor construction.
Pros: does the job
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, poor construction, has to be modified
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
carbocaine
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Nice design average construction, fair price, nice when you need it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Pops64
from North Ridgeville, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is NOT as .pictured. On the one I got ,the top connector is not attached and when you get it on you have a 1/2 to 3/4 inch gap. I don't understand how they expect you to seal that big of an opening so there is no air leak. I do not intend to use this item.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Handyman2

Well made, does exactly what I needed it to do

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I looked all around locally for a duct like this that would allow the dryer to fit nearly flush to the wall but then neatly transition to a round duct that goes into the ceiling. This unit did exactly that I I didn't have to fabricate anything or call the local tin shop to make anything either. I do highly recommend this for anyone else with the same problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
garys
from East Northport, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

provides the extra clearance to do the job

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works and looks as advertised.low profile dimensions are perfect for tight spaces.as the instructions say, seal up the joints with a good aluminum tape.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
mike6
from Hartsdale, NY, USA

It's built on the cheap side, but it does its intended job.

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you have little clearance behind your dryer to connect your vent, and need to go with a low profile (or periscoping) solution, this is the one to buy. It's periscoping feature and its ability to adapt to a circular opening on either the top, back, or front make it very flexible for most installations. I was able to connect my dryer vent to a duct that was located in the ceiling. I only had about 3.5 inches of clearance in the back; so I had no hope of using a standard 4 inch elbow.
**NOTE: You WILL need to buy a roll of HVAC foil tape, and possibly some sealer as well, before performing the installation. I would also recommend a couple straps to mount the duct to the dryer for safe keeping. There are so many open seams in the duct (from the sparse welds) that leak lint and gas that it's really not practical to use this duct without thoroughly sealing it BEFORE installation.
It's built on the cheap side, but it does its intended job.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Angelfire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great to use when you have limited space behind the dryer. I had a closet with doors in front so I had limited space to fit the dryer in, this product allowed me to place the dryer within 3 inches of the wall. I would also recommend purchasing some duck tape to seal up the joints once you get it correctly sized.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Ventman
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The vent tube did what it was supposed to do.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the straight vent tube because my wall vent connection was straight to the right of the dryer vent. It was the only product I could find that would meet my needs. Warning to potential buyers: Be prepared to buy high-temp-resistant sealer and HVAC tape to seal up all the holes in the tube before installation. It is not well made and has several open seams that must be sealed or lint will fly out into the dryer area. However, once that was done, it did what it was supposed to do.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
skip
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not comfortable using this product.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rectangle to round adapter end has very poor fit and construction. Large gaps mating to rectangular tube portion caused by folded and rivited metal of adapter end. Recommended aluminum tape sealing is insufficient for such large cracks.
Cons: bad construction
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Earthwoman

Great solution for a tight spot

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this space saver dryer duct to replace a jerry rigged eyesore when we replaced our dryer. It's easy to install, well-designed, saves space in a tight spot, and is invisible after installation. It allowed us to install a new dryer without having to retrofit the space. It was a great solution for us.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Robert
from Greentown, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked well. Easy to adjust.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This part works well. It is easily adjusted. You need to purchase aluminum tape to close all seams where pieces join each other. It gave us more room to push the washer/dryer back further.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Grampy
from Southeast Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well constructed

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very helpful item. It was very, very easy to install and it fills the bill beautifully. If you do not have the space for a conventional vent tube this is a great answer, Even without any space considerations, I would use it anyway!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Homeowner
from Wilson, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product did what I needed it to and didn't seem as flimsy as some other reviewers had indicated

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It was fairly easy to install and did enable me to put my dryer in a smaller space than would have been required with standard vent parts. I'll have to wait and see how long it lasts and how quickly it clogs (If at all).
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
usafdrew

Works good and saves space

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This basically does what it's supposed to - saves space and allows you to move the dryer close (4-6") to the wall. However, be sure to use plenty of HVAC tape on all the seams as they are just tack welded and crimped together. I even went sofar as to use some tape inside the unit where the collar mates with the periscope section because it's more of a slip on connection. Once at the correct height and all taped up, airflow will be quite good through it. For those worried about how this design will affect the overall length of their dryer exhaust run, it worked just fine for me in a 35' overall run w/ one 90. I would have given this 5 stars if it were not for the prep time it took with HVAC tape to get this installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
hands
from Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

seems thin on the input side.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It worked for my application but was very thin in gauge
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Adjustable 28 in. to 45 in. Space Saver Aluminum Dryer Duct
Duke
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable quality

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has poorly made seams that need taping, the metal is very thin and the bottom of the duct does not have enough material to securely attach to a dryer. I had to cut another 4 inch pipe and add it to the duct to get a secure fit on my dryer.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>